How to calculate how many LED downlights do i need

TSgoolie
post Aug 11 2023, 09:57 AM, updated 3y ago

795 posts

How many led downlights do i need for a living room? My living room has 10.8 ft (width) x 21 ft (lenght) x 9 ft (height).

Is it enough if I use 8 LED downlight and each comes with 5 inch, 13 watt, 960 lumen?
Example https://shopee.com.my/product/244022032/622...VpX7Jufk1n4Y7xB
tvcat
post Aug 11 2023, 10:15 AM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,892 posts

Philips lighting planner

https://www.lighting.philips.co.in/consumer...l-lighting-plan
TSgoolie
post Aug 11 2023, 10:22 AM

795 posts

I use this calculator to calculate, not sure if it is useful. But, i dont understand what mean by Illumination Intensity. Low Illumination Intensity means that area less exposed to sunlight?
https://blog.alconlighting.com/residential-...ed-for-a-space/

This post has been edited by goolie: Aug 11 2023, 10:24 AM
mystvearn
post Aug 11 2023, 10:33 AM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Aug 11 2023, 09:57 AM)
How many led downlights do i need for a living room? My living room has 10.8 ft (width) x 21 ft (lenght) x 9 ft (height).

Is it enough if I use 8 LED downlight and each comes with 5 inch, 13 watt, 960 lumen?
Example https://shopee.com.my/product/244022032/622...VpX7Jufk1n4Y7xB
You want bulb or long type? What kind of mood do you want? Needs to be very bright?

For me, I learned hard way.

Bought a 1 chandelier with 5 places for bulbs. Put standard led bulb. Sweating a lot. Then went back to shop and changed to 2w bulbs. 2 chandelier. 20 watt. Now bearable. Previously was 2x 10" normal circular light. This one way better compare to the current setup. Less space, uniform lighting.

Another one was the kitchen. Started with normal kalimantang light. Changed to 2 led bulbs. Worse lighting than before. Shadow. Few years on, now change back to led kalimantang light. Put 2 in kitchen. Way better now.

To test, Just use one light bulb, bulb and 3 pin socket bulb holder, extension plug, duct tape, put and see ok not that area. Gantung from ceiling at intended place. Immediately can tell if shadow or not. Bright or not.

arffrhn
post Aug 11 2023, 10:00 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Aug 11 2023, 10:22 AM)
I use this calculator to calculate, not sure if it is useful. But, i dont understand what mean by Illumination Intensity. Low Illumination Intensity means that area less exposed to sunlight?
https://blog.alconlighting.com/residential-...ed-for-a-space/
It means how bright you want the area to be. Your living/dining will look like an office with 8x960lumen downlight. I would go for lower wattage or less downlight and use warmer hue to make it more cozy.

Put a few floor/table lamps for accent lighting.

This post has been edited by arffrhn: Aug 11 2023, 10:00 PM
Bijisss
post Aug 12 2023, 11:31 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Aug 11 2023, 10:33 AM)
You want bulb or long type? What kind of mood do you want? Needs to be very bright?

For me, I learned hard way.

Bought a 1 chandelier with 5 places for bulbs. Put standard led bulb. Sweating a lot. Then went back to shop and changed to 2w bulbs. 2 chandelier. 20 watt. Now bearable. Previously was 2x 10" normal circular light. This one way better compare to the current setup. Less space, uniform lighting.

Another one was the kitchen. Started with normal kalimantang light. Changed to 2 led bulbs. Worse lighting than before. Shadow. Few years on, now change back to led kalimantang light. Put 2 in kitchen. Way better now.
To test, Just use one light bulb, bulb and 3 pin socket bulb holder, extension plug, duct tape, put and see ok not that area. Gantung from ceiling at intended place. Immediately can tell if shadow or not. Bright or not.
QUOTE(arffrhn @ Aug 11 2023, 10:00 PM)
It means how bright you want the area to be. Your living/dining will look like an office with 8x960lumen downlight. I would go for lower wattage or less downlight and use warmer hue to make it more cozy.

Put a few floor/table lamps for accent lighting.
Hi sirs,

I am planning to install PHILIPS Meson LED Surface Downlight in my living & dining area. From y
I have 2 options as attached diagram (option syok sendiri haha), from your opinion which Option is the best in term of brightness of the area?
I am totally open for any suggestion and advise..

mystvearn
post Aug 13 2023, 02:39 AM

6,639 posts

A lot of light for just 2 M apart also, too near tv. 1 center?
Bijisss
post Aug 13 2023, 11:37 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Aug 13 2023, 02:39 AM)
A lot of light for just 2 M apart also, too near tv. 1 center?
You were saying that the options I have are too much of lights, is it? Then how many of light is sufficient with the size of living and dining area. I wont install plaster ceiling, so I will use surface downlights (from OSRAM or Philips).

I really has zero knowledge about all this, the plan of lighting layout was simply my syok sendiri. sweat.gif Please help me...
fireballs
post Aug 13 2023, 11:39 AM

5,646 posts

can use dialux to calculate

but just be aware, 5inch is not common.
later it will be more difficult for you to change to other lights.
common is 4" 6"

as a general rule, try as much as possible to use e27 for easy bulb replacement.

This post has been edited by fireballs: Aug 13 2023, 11:43 AM
Bijisss
post Aug 13 2023, 11:45 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(Bijisss @ Aug 13 2023, 11:37 AM)
You were saying that the options I have are too much of lights, is it? Then how many of light is sufficient with the size of living and dining area. I wont install plaster ceiling, so I will use surface downlights (from OSRAM or Philips).

I really has zero knowledge about all this, the plan of lighting layout was simply my syok sendiri. sweat.gif Please help me...
Owh you mean to install 1 light in the centre. Is it 1 light of Philips Meson LED Surface Downlight or OSRAM LEDVANCE sufficient to cover the whole living area? and from my little research, lights also have different size/watt? so which size/watt is most suitable if I use 1 light?

How about dining area, also install 1 light?
Bijisss
post Aug 13 2023, 11:47 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Aug 13 2023, 11:39 AM)

common is 4" 6"

as a general rule, try as much as possible to use e27 for easy bulb replacement.
wow so many technical jargons, i already pening a bit haha.. ok I will try do more research on what you said...
Bijisss
post Aug 13 2023, 11:59 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Aug 13 2023, 11:39 AM)

common is 4" 6"

ok let say i use 1 light, i cant install it at the centre as a ceiling fan will be installed. so which side would be better. on sofa or tv side?

fireballs
post Aug 13 2023, 01:50 PM

5,646 posts

QUOTE(Bijisss @ Aug 13 2023, 11:59 AM)
ok let say i use 1 light, i cant install it at the centre as a ceiling fan will be installed. so which side would be better. on sofa or tv side?

I would suggest put 4 corners.downlight. e27 so you can play with remote control eg yee light
Strip lights indirect shining up on the wall, separate circuit
The light should not shine on people eye when sit down on sofa
fireballs
post Aug 13 2023, 01:52 PM

5,646 posts

QUOTE(Bijisss @ Aug 13 2023, 11:47 AM)
wow so many technical jargons, i already pening a bit haha.. ok I will try do more research on what you said...
Ceiling recessed downlight means you have to dig out the light to change. The ceiling may be damaged in the process

E27 means just screw in bulb. Tak suka color just change them easily.
Bijisss
post Aug 13 2023, 03:53 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Aug 13 2023, 01:50 PM)
I would suggest put 4 corners.downlight. e27 so you can play with remote control eg yee light
Strip lights indirect shining up on the wall, separate circuit
The light should not shine on people eye when sit down on sofa
QUOTE(fireballs @ Aug 13 2023, 01:52 PM)
Ceiling recessed downlight means you have to dig out the light to change. The ceiling may be damaged in the process

E27 means just screw in bulb. Tak suka color just change them easily.
THANKS SO MUCH!! I think ceiling mounted downlight with E27 at the 4 corners is a brilliant idea for my case.

I will just buy casing for the bulb. I might consider strip lights as well, from google pictures it looks so fancy and giving me atas vibes..

0.0246sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:17 AM