Did TNB just screwed Solar users?

mushigen
post Aug 9 2023, 10:39 PM

4,954 posts

All this while, I thought the monthly bills are calculated based on: Consumption - Export , and tariffs are applied accordingly after that.

If it's like someone said, where the consumption is charged according to the tariffs and export is paid using highest tariff, macam give and take kan?
mushigen
post Aug 10 2023, 11:52 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(mars2003 @ Aug 10 2023, 11:30 PM)
ev main purpose is not I repeat not to make it more environmental  better. its just serve as an alternative to fossil fuel .
our world current way of producing electricity is still harmful to the environment.
unless only renewable energy such  as solar panels  is massy adopted.
and thirdly I see those ppl installing solar in their house and talks about money save or money earn ( if can ) its just running round and round 10 year cycle period.
all also talked roi here and there but after 10 years. they repeat the same thing. that is invest again in whatever form and wait another 10 years.
If your reason for saying ev is not environmentally good is due to batteries, I can still agree.
But if you say it's because of "dirty electricity", I have to disagree.

Our power plants are more efficient than an ICE car can ever be. It means, less wastage of energy from power plant compared to ICE cars. Power plants recover the heat from flue gas by having a waste heat boiler/recovery/heater, whereas in cars you actually need to spend energy (radiator fan) to remove excess heat from engine.

Let's not mention how ICE cars require petrol and diesel - something that requires energy to produce.
Also, fuels need to be distributed to petrol stations around the country by road tankers, further consuming energy.
mushigen
post Aug 11 2023, 08:43 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Aug 11 2023, 06:31 AM)
If you are a science student, you should understand why our electricity tranmisssion/conversion are inefficient and thus dirty if our power generation is relying on gas and oil.
Could you do this non-science student a favour by explaining why electricity transmission is more dirty than hydrocarbon fuel distribution from refinery to individual petrol stations using road tankers?
mushigen
post Aug 11 2023, 08:53 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(KarchKiraly @ Aug 11 2023, 05:21 AM)
Only way to make ice car more carbon neutral is by using 100% biofuel. The trees absorb co2 and biofuel create co2 from combustion in the ice.

There are ways to recover low grade heat from the ice car, but it will the car bulky or more expensive. Maybe ammonia based gas power cycle plus thermoelectric chips down the line.
Possible, but I think it also depends on how the biofuel raw materials are sourced. If forests are cleared to plant crops like corns etc to produce biofuels, its environmental impacts may not be better than the impact from using fossil fuels.

As for the ways to minimize energy wastage in ICE cars, I think nobody will invest anything for it as 20 years from now many countries will outlaw the sale of new ICE cars.
mushigen
post Aug 11 2023, 11:13 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Aug 11 2023, 10:46 AM)
I am not saying more dirty. Please don't quote me wrong. There is no need to compare which one dirtier as both are dirt in different ways.

Back to my original point: There are a lot of energy loss using grid electricity. Along the transmission lines, the voltage transformation between power plant and power distribution hub and even to your house, and also AC to DC transformation at household power adapters, even charging your EV also has energy loss as heat.

To me, EV is just a hyppie and trendy stuffs. You want clean energy, it should be hydrogen fuel cell or hydrogen ICE where hydrogen is generated using solar energy or hydroelectric.
Why cannot compare, since I was comparing the environmental impact of ICE vs EV in terms of carbon footprint?

The question is, battery impact on environment aside, are EVs cleaner than ICE ? Keyword is cleaner, not clean.

0.0142sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:53 PM