Did TNB just screwed Solar users?

maxpudding
post Aug 9 2023, 10:59 PM

165 posts

Easy to explain

The first bill says that person imports more than what he uses. If the usage hits more than 1500kWh, that person will be hit with ICPT anyways. And then whatever cost incurred after deducting the energy they exported, they still need to pay la. If the exported energy is more, he'll get more rebate. But with ICPT, it'll be harder to get, unless use another generator to supply power to their EV.

The second bill shows ICPT is negative, meaning, tak kena la. Dapat rebate on top of the solar rebate lagi kot.

This post has been edited by maxpudding: Aug 9 2023, 11:01 PM
maxpudding
post Aug 9 2023, 11:04 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Aug 9 2023, 10:50 PM)
I’m sure there will be a walk back for this
Didn’t that idiot Rafizi announced that people can now earn money from renting their rooftops for RE generation. So fast already kantoi?
If no EV, they sure can.

But the NEM mechanism was designed to always side with the gomen tongue.gif
maxpudding
post Aug 9 2023, 11:06 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 05:24 PM)
But look at the bill, even if you use during daytime, it still feeds off the grid, the energy generated is only to contra to the grid no?
NEM mechanism should allow for the PV installation to consume the solar energy first, and then any excess will be exported.

Seems like that guy in the first picture used more than what he generated.

In ICPT mechanism, it's always based on the amount of energy imported. Whatever left after the NEM rebate, you will still need to pay.
maxpudding
post Aug 10 2023, 11:40 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 10 2023, 10:45 AM)
no battery

1. from the NEM website, energy generated from the solar will be consumed first. so it should not go to the Net meter.
2. when u draw energy from grid = u consume energy from grid which is chargeable.
look like need to see how the solar setup is.
No need to see

EV charging usually at night

Of course at night energy is drawn from the grid la

Btw, ST specifically say you cannot use battery to offset the capacity. That’s why it’s based on per use basis.
maxpudding
post Aug 10 2023, 11:43 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Aug 10 2023, 11:39 AM)
That is why you are paid for what is sold la.
ICPT = clawback/rebate mechanism to offset increased/reduced cost of generation

ICPT is not done one stroke apply to all. It is adjusted by gov to implement targeted subsidy. For example if TNB cost of generation went up on average RM0.3/kWh:

- an equality approach is by putting ICPT surcharge of RM0.3/kWh to ALL consumers (domestic, commercial, industrial).
- an equitable approach can be by putting ICPT surcharge of RM0.4/kWh to top 50% highest consumers using > xxxx kWh, and ICPT surcharge of RM0.2/kWh to lower 50% spending consumers
Now in our case, the government chose the 2nd option, but not that method la. Its more fine tuned
- commercial and industrial had RM0.20/kWh surcharge from jan-jun but all domestic users dont get ICPT surcharge but a rebate of RM0.02/kWh
- then in july onwards, ICPT further fine tuned now commercial and industrial reduced to RM0.17/kWh, and domestic users split to 2 categories, those below 1500kWh will still get rebate of RM0.02/kWh while high users using more than 1500kWh will get surcharge of RM0.10

Gov has been saying they are trying to fine tune the ICPT framework to reflect a targeted subsidy approach.
The above is totally separated from solar electricity generation, whether u domestic <1500kwh or domestic >1500kwh or you commercial or industrial. You generate u sell TNB buys.
Some people just dont realize yet there are two different mechanisms involved here which translated into complex energy generation, distribution and transmission systems.
maxpudding
post Dec 26 2023, 04:51 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Dec 26 2023, 04:10 PM)
Based on this actually your consumption 1619kWh (total consumption) - 673 (NEM excess) actually after offset you are not supposed to be charge surcharge
so can complaint to ST(Suruhanjaya Tenaga Bureau) this because ST wasn't aware.

I got this news from my Solar installer company just now, they are compiling all the complaints and forward to ST.
Not that ST isn’t aware of it, they certainly aware about it, but the NEM and ICPT mechanisms are inherently based on different policy tools. Unless if ST would streamline the total bill somewhere in the future, you guys are stuck with the current way of energy calculations, i.e. total usage if more than 1500kwh will be charged ICPT, and then offset with NEM.

Good luck.
maxpudding
post Dec 26 2023, 06:03 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Dec 26 2023, 05:09 PM)
The news came from my solar dealer so have to trust them lo.... anyway my current usages are below 1500 so no worries.
Solar dealer is not the policy maker…they can claim anything, but the truth is, it’s more complicated than what you guys are led to believe. What’s more, the new tariff rate next week will increase EV user bills by at least 6%…pray harder lorrr
maxpudding
post Dec 26 2023, 10:14 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Dec 26 2023, 10:06 PM)
If they said so then we just wait and see lo ... logically and hopefully it's true.
No need to doubt them or not... just chill bro no need so pessimistic geh...
With all things going on, we’ll just hope for the best la..

0.0164sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:46 PM