Chromebook ke arah kuasa besar, Acer and Lenovo already make a move

samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:10 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

Using Acer Chromebook Spin 714 (i5 gen12 with 8GB RAM)

Very premium feel, and I guess it has its advantages in term of getting a touch screen, stylus, flexible screen - and ChromeOS itself is very easy to use (and instantaneous update and start-up time compare to the clunky Windows 11)

I guess the only thing I miss is MS Excel desktop version as it still works terrible on Web edition
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:11 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Aug 7 2023, 01:06 PM)
Aren't you afraid ChromeOS after some time will lag hard like Android ?
LOL, never...

Because it really has nothing else and literally is a thin client, it can last longer than your Windows based laptop
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:13 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Aug 7 2023, 12:51 PM)
mahal gila, intel 12th gen with chrome OS? i rather pick windows OS doh.gif

chromebooks rm150 can la, nowadays tiktok got sell alot, rm150 to 200 can get ledi, noob OS dont need intel 12th gen to run la
I actually love my premium chromebook. You get better screen, less constraint by processor and RAM, better speaker, built quality etc..

It's not just about hardware/specs but other perks as well
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:15 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ Aug 7 2023, 01:12 PM)
surface is better
to each their own, depending how much is it you're invested into the Windows ecosystem.

If you need native desktop apps badly, then I guess it's a better choice.
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:16 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Aug 7 2023, 01:14 PM)
What is your premium chromebook?
Using Acer Spin 714

https://www.acer.com/sg-en/chromebooks/acer...n-714-cp714-1wn
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:16 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Aug 7 2023, 01:16 PM)
How much you bought it?
SGD1090 after all the discounts in LZD (bought Nov last year)
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:18 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(Gen000 @ Aug 7 2023, 01:14 PM)
question can it run window base program ?
no leh... web-based program only.
Can run linux and Android apps but it's not very optimized.. I rather use web
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:19 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Aug 7 2023, 01:18 PM)
Wow! Expensive wey.
haha yeah and very difficult to sell in second hand market. I feel it's good to use as a secondary device (one that you can bring around, the convertible touch screen with stylus also quite handy), but not your daily driver to do the heavy lifting
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:20 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Aug 7 2023, 01:19 PM)
Btw, don’t support google lah….google is a company that not worthy for us.

You pay to their service but they still access to your data
but with GMail, Google Photos and Drive... it's hard not to get rid of them without sacrificing convenience, isn't it?
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:21 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Aug 7 2023, 01:19 PM)
Why you buy cheomebook btw? LoL
battery life super good!
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:21 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Aug 7 2023, 01:20 PM)
How to get their repair or service if your chromebook rosak?
Acer service center
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:25 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Aug 7 2023, 01:24 PM)
But you didn’t get the performance
you can't have it all bro... depends on what's priority to you.

Guess even with MacBook there's no awesome GPU that allows you to play the latest games in steam.
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:28 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Aug 7 2023, 01:26 PM)
Obviously you didn’t know macbook can get both balance performance and battery life…

Gaming? Your chromebook can do steam gaming?
I can do cloud gaming in any shitty laptop.

Anyway, I have dedicated gaming PC which is Windows based.
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:30 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(awol @ Aug 7 2023, 01:29 PM)
as i said, nope. macOS is not for me.  biggrin.gif

for my usage, im looking into android tablet.
moving on from chromeOS to proper android tablet.
Samsung Tab S9 is a good one!
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:33 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Aug 7 2023, 01:32 PM)
You are contradicting yourself
No... I'm not smile.gif

I'm simply saying that what you prefer might not be what other people prefer. I'm not tied to any single ecosystem and simply getting the devices that suit my need
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:37 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Aug 7 2023, 01:30 PM)
Gmail, google photo and drive can be replaced by apple native service.

Instead, google access all your data regardless you are googleone subscriber…
On this point. I've to agree with you (although if you read carefully Google access some of your data, not all)

But not enough for me to switch the entire ecosystem choice.
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:39 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Aug 7 2023, 01:35 PM)
You’re not providing the real solutions to the real needs…you just here to confused people and give people wrong hope and wrong expectations
Sorry... not sure what solutions I need to provide here, what are the real needs and who am I confusing?

I'm only speaking from my experience and use case. Which may not be the same as yours. Hope I didn't mislead anyone into buying a Chromebook!
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:47 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Aug 7 2023, 01:43 PM)
nobody ask you to switch your google ecosystem to apple ecosystem....uncle just want to tell ppl that no need to waste time & money on google ecosystem...
you don't use Youtube or Google search engine? Guess you don't even use Chrome for browser and stick to Safari?
samurai1337
post Aug 7 2023, 01:50 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Aug 7 2023, 01:48 PM)
uncle didn't use FB/IG/whatsapp

and yes....no youtube/Google search/Chrome
Good for you! My data is not as important as yours