im using chromeOS on regular thin 2-1 laptop.
with shitty spec, it perform good enough compare to windows 10.
Chromebook ke arah kuasa besar, Acer and Lenovo already make a move
Aug 7 2023, 01:19 PM
916 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Selangor |
im using chromeOS on regular thin 2-1 laptop.
with shitty spec, it perform good enough compare to windows 10. |
Aug 7 2023, 01:21 PM
Aug 7 2023, 01:27 PM
Aug 7 2023, 01:29 PM
Aug 7 2023, 01:32 PM
Aug 7 2023, 01:33 PM
Aug 7 2023, 01:34 PM
Aug 7 2023, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(loserguy @ Aug 7 2023, 01:35 PM) Manufacturers making the same mistake as netbooks again. i have to agree with this.This should be targeted at the low cost segment. Once you reach laptop level prices, what's the point? they should focus on low to mid spec, not high end. given the price point, you can get a "proper" laptop, why bother with chromeos. chromebook main point last time is cheap laptop with reasonable operating system. rooney723 liked this post
Aug 7 2023, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(rooney723 @ Aug 7 2023, 01:36 PM) chromeOS is a linux (gentoo base) itself.also support debian base linux VM build into it. got playstore for android support too. rooney723 liked this post
Aug 7 2023, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(acbc @ Aug 7 2023, 01:39 PM) Nope. install chromeOS on it (4th gen above). I already have laptops from Intel 1st to 8th gen of various models. All were upgraded to a max of 16GB RAM and 500GB SSD. In total, I have 15 laptops. All are restored to perfect health and used daily or weekly. Each ran W10 or W7. Data is all synced to the cloud so each laptop will have the same data. Media kept on 2TB external NVME. All 15 laptops are still cheaper than a MacBook M2 Air 15 inch with 16GB RAM and 512GB storage. As a result, I never need to carry a charger or power bank whenever out for work as each laptop can use up to 5 hours. Older models max also 2-3 hours. |
Aug 7 2023, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(acbc @ Aug 7 2023, 01:52 PM) Every day, I carry 2 laptops when going out. That's 10 laptops per work week of mostly 12 to 14 inches. The remaining 5 will be mostly Precision and Latitude models over 15 inches and are mostly for outstation use due to workstation capabilities. why need 2 laptops? dual screen purpose? |
Aug 7 2023, 01:55 PM
Aug 7 2023, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(rooney723 @ Aug 7 2023, 01:58 PM) nice, i also have a few laptops and a surface pro but i struggle to find use case for them haha, end up i sell them away yeah. the max i can use is 2 device. 1 always on and act as PC, 2nd is portable to bring from 1 room to another.QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Aug 7 2023, 01:58 PM) this time MS nak buat utk semua. tak kira apa devices & OS u guna. i tot when they launch in 2021 already for normal user, not only for business. i might be wrong thosebelum ni hanya bussiness & commercial can use Windows 365 rooney723 liked this post
Aug 7 2023, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(acbc @ Aug 7 2023, 02:01 PM) I have an old Precision M2800 lying around. Currently converting into a DS as a side project. I bought a dead Latitude E6540 for 100 bucks for this. The FHD screen is working and only need to find a way to mount to the M2800 cleanly. sorry, what is DS?QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Aug 7 2023, 02:01 PM) yup. subscription base.and i was wrong, during 2021, still for business. QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Aug 7 2023, 02:01 PM) not really. laptop did not suck watt like full desktop with RTX3090.when not using, i put it on sleep. while the "portable" laptop is always on battery, quick charge using USB-C 65W. |
Aug 7 2023, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(Gen000 @ Aug 7 2023, 02:02 PM) because both OS live at the same time last time.now chromeOS boss become google boss. it also able to run android 11 natively. and yes, i agree. better use android tablet. thats they way im heading to. |
Aug 7 2023, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(acbc @ Aug 7 2023, 02:05 PM) If those have 8GB RAM and SSD, still can use and will fly with some W10 tweaks. for me, anything below 8GB ram, should only boot linux. My rarest is the ThinkPad X61 Tablet. Since it only has 4GB RAM, I tried to tweak and debloat W10 as much as possible so it will run smoothly and fast. w10 with 4GB, really challenging. |
Aug 7 2023, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(rooney723 @ Aug 7 2023, 02:06 PM) yup, as much as i want to try or own multiple laptops or devices (tablets), but realistically can only use max 2 of them, the rests will be wasted and kept in drawers untouched used to own SP7, sold it due to battery no longer last long. good ebook reader tho.recently i tried MS surface laptop and was amazed by its build quality, very premium, feels like a windows version of macbook, so i have been using it now and older laptops going to be decommissioned again QUOTE(acbc @ Aug 7 2023, 02:06 PM) Dual Screen ah.. i see. you DIY for dual screen. The top case for M2800 and E6540 are the same so with some hinges and a controller board, I can make a dual-screen add-on for it. Perfect when traveling. QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Aug 7 2023, 02:06 PM) android tablet hard to do multitasking. chrome OS good for multitasking. thats why i go for samsung s9+. dex interface more or less like chromeOS.imagine tablet with 11 inch , 8GB Ram , 256gb SSD , snapdragon 7c with Chrome OS. |
Aug 7 2023, 02:11 PM
Aug 7 2023, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(rooney723 @ Aug 7 2023, 02:13 PM) microsoft products mostly pakai buang punya, damn cibai, same like apple devices, want to change battery also need like 50 steps and damn hard to disassemble the surface pro, my SP6 also facing same issue as u, battery degraded, and the type cover also degraded premium feeling but only last 2 hours or so, not good enough la.but have to admit their products really give premium feeling the price to change battery is like a brand new tablet, so nope, let it go n move on to other device. rooney723 liked this post
Aug 7 2023, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(netmatrix @ Aug 7 2023, 02:29 PM) If you read it between an app or even network, yes. macOS can read NTFS but cannot natively write on it.But Mac os cannot read directly from ntfs formatted drive like an external drive. Exfat is the best method for Mac os/ win compatibility. You can try pick a random usb hard drive from anyone not using Mac, and chances are you can't see what's in it. need 3rd party app to enable NTFS write. need to use exFAT for compatibility with other(almost all) device. QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Aug 7 2023, 02:32 PM) haip. die2 need to go to apple ecosystem la. xiaojohn liked this post
| Change to: | 0.2604sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:03 PM |