Continental Tires APAC Product Differentiation, CC7, UC7, MC6 & UC6 SUV

TSepjx31
post Aug 3 2023, 04:15 PM, updated 3y ago

21 posts

Hey guys,

Edwin from TopTireReview

One of the most question I got when it comes to Continental tires is about their range of products in Malaysia. Most of them time the conversation would end in a question asking which one is better?

So I thought I would just answer this directly in a post below

Continental APAC tire lineup

Hope this helps!
Mr. Najib Razak
post Aug 3 2023, 08:12 PM

321 posts

just curious edwin,
did u join the development of cc7 haha?
TSepjx31
post Aug 4 2023, 11:46 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Najib Razak @ Aug 3 2023, 08:12 PM)
just curious edwin,
did u join the development of cc7 haha?
Nope. Left to another department before it was started sad.gif
constant_weight
post Aug 30 2023, 09:53 AM

914 posts

QUOTE(epjx31 @ Aug 3 2023, 04:15 PM)
Hey guys,

Edwin from TopTireReview

One of the most question I got when it comes to Continental tires is about their range of products in Malaysia. Most of them time the conversation would end in a question asking which one is better?

So I thought I would just answer this directly in a post below

Continental APAC tire lineup

Hope this helps!
Time-to-market of PremiumContact and SportContact of Continental Malaysia is really poor. If you have contact with their senior executive, please feedback.

We are either forced to pay insane 3x price buying from car dealer, grey import from Singapore, or jump to others brands (most of the time Michelin PS4S).

Malaysia only start selling PemiumContact6 after 2 years of global launch.
When they did, only 2x non OE stock in Malaysia hub, everything have to wait and they not sure about OE.

Now PremiumContact 7 and SportContact 7 availability is no where to be seen.

I ended up with upgrade from OE PC6 to SC7 grey import.

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Aug 30 2023, 09:55 AM
haroldz123
post Dec 22 2023, 05:01 PM

1,062 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Aug 30 2023, 09:53 AM)
Time-to-market of PremiumContact and SportContact of Continental Malaysia is really poor. If you have contact with their senior executive, please feedback.

We are either forced to pay insane 3x price buying from car dealer, grey import from Singapore, or jump to others brands (most of the time Michelin PS4S).

Malaysia only start selling PemiumContact6 after 2 years of global launch.
When they did, only 2x non OE stock in Malaysia hub, everything have to wait and they not sure about OE.

Now PremiumContact 7 and SportContact 7 availability is no where to be seen.

I ended up with upgrade from OE PC6 to SC7 grey import.
What the difference premium contact C and these?
khreve
post Dec 22 2023, 05:39 PM

130 posts

nice! very informative article, keep it up~

I would suggest you to study(scientifically) and write an article comparing UC7 vs UC6 SUV before i decide which to choose.

Main criteria would be:
dry handling
dry road noise
dry stopping distance
wet handling
wet braking distance

many SUV owner can't made up their mind between a normal tyre or a SUV tyre...
constant_weight
post Dec 22 2023, 10:41 PM

914 posts

QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Dec 22 2023, 05:01 PM)
What the difference premium contact C and these?
Premium Contact C seems available in South Aast Asia only, and is a eco, low rolling resistance tyre.

Never driven this tyre, but my take is it is spawn due to more and more Econobox B-segment cars are getting larger 17", but still want narrow width like 195mm, 205mm.
So there is market for "high end" Comfort Contact.

Whereas Premium Contact 6, 7 are real Touring/UHP tyre, that can compete with both Michelin Primacy4 and PilotSport4/5.

Sport Contact 6, 7 are UUHP, and is the same league as Michelin PilotSport 4S, Bridgestone Potenza Sport, Goodyear F1 Asymmetric 6 etc.
andrekua2
post Dec 23 2023, 09:46 PM

13,465 posts

Maybe Continental realized their tyres are too hard for Malaysian roads that are uneven, badly patched and filled with potholes.

Performance is definitely not bad but comfort and noise.. I think Michelin still win
haroldz123
post Dec 24 2023, 07:14 AM

1,062 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Dec 22 2023, 10:41 PM)
Premium Contact C seems available in South Aast Asia only, and is a eco, low rolling resistance tyre.

Never driven this tyre, but my take is it is spawn due to more and more Econobox B-segment cars are getting larger 17", but still want narrow width like 195mm, 205mm.

Whereas Premium Contact 6, 7 are real Touring/UHP tyre, that can compete with both Michelin Primacy4 and PilotSport4/5.

Sport Contact 6, 7 are UUHP, and is the same league as Michelin PilotSport 4S, Bridgestone Potenza Sport, Goodyear F1 Asymmetric 6 etc.
I think it is a cheaper version of premium contact series.
Just bought to replace stock toyo proxes r45.
Quieter than toyo, rm500 per donut, fitted to crv awd
Quazacolt
post Feb 22 2024, 10:37 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(epjx31 @ Aug 3 2023, 04:15 PM)

Edwin from TopTireReview
Bro Edwin! epjx31

When continental MC7 releasing in Malaysia?
Chiggah
post Feb 22 2024, 06:15 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 22 2024, 10:37 AM)
Bro Edwin! epjx31

When continental MC7 releasing in Malaysia?
Already released. Found some shops selling MC7 on Facebook marketplace
Quazacolt
post Feb 22 2024, 06:41 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Chiggah @ Feb 22 2024, 06:15 PM)
Already released. Found some shops selling MC7 on Facebook marketplace
Woah! That is good news! Thank you very much wub.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Feb 22 2024, 06:41 PM
ads398
post Feb 25 2024, 02:17 AM

142 posts

Saw in Conti Malaysia website new luanched

MC7 and UCJ ??? What J stand for?

ktek
post Feb 28 2024, 03:05 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Dec 22 2023, 10:41 PM)

from my experience cpc is much better grip & lifespan than mc serie.
not sure about "cpcc"
kc_soo
post Apr 11 2024, 01:03 AM

511 posts

QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Dec 24 2023, 07:14 AM)
I think it is a cheaper version of premium contact series.
Just bought to replace stock toyo proxes r45.
Quieter than toyo, rm500 per donut, fitted to crv awd
Hi, How about compare to PROXES CR1 SUV?
Is researching for upcoming crv tyre ^^
kc_soo
post Apr 12 2024, 02:12 AM

511 posts

surveying for CRV tyre, below is my current list ^^

1. Toyo PROXES CR1 SUV
2. Continental Premium Contact C
3. Continental PC7 (Malaysia tak ada)
4. Michelin Primacy 4+
5. Goodyear EfficientGrip 2 SUV (Malaysia tak ada)

0.0192sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:29 PM