Car insurance betterment charges

TSAeon_Clock
post Aug 2 2023, 06:36 PM, updated 3y ago

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

Are you guys aware of this new addition to car insurance? Seems that it had started since the flood in KL a year or two ago.

https://www.zurich.com.my/en/knowledge-hub/...n-car-insurance
1. What is betterment in car insurance or takaful?
The term betterment means that something has been made better or has been upgraded, and this leads to an increase in value.

In Malaysia’s car insurance or takaful, the replacement of a damaged car part with a brand-new original part after an accident claim is considered betterment.

2. Why is the betterment charge imposed?
If damaged car parts are replaced with new parts after an accident, you may benefit as the car will be in a better condition compared to prior to the accident.

So, betterment charge may be applied where you are required to bear a portion of the part replacement costs.

3. How do you determine the betterment charge?
The betterment charge that you will have to pay depends on the age of your car. For most comprehensive car insurance or takaful, the betterment charge is based on the betterment rate table shown below. The betterment rate is multiplied on the cost of the new replacement car parts to determine the betterment charge.

Age of your car Betterment rate applied (%)
0-5---------------0%
5----------------15%
6----------------20%
7----------------25%
8----------------30%
9----------------35%
10 and above---40%

4. How is the betterment charge applied in an accident claim?
For example, your 9-year-old car runs into an accident and you choose to replace the accident-damaged car parts with new ones that cost RM5,000.

Based on the table above, the betterment charge that you need to pay is 35% of the new part cost and this is equivalent to RM1,750 (RM5,000 x 35%). Your comprehensive car insurance or takaful will cover the remaining remainder of the cost, which amounts to RM3,250.

5. Is there a way around betterment?
To avoid paying for any betterment charges, you can request for used spare parts subject to availability. There could also be possible in a situation where there is no re-condition or used spare parts available, and the only option is to replace with brand new parts. In such cases, betterment may still be applied.

In some car insurance and takaful, you may have the option to purchase an add-on cover to waive the betterment charge in the event of an accident.

So when someone hits your car...you have to pay this betterment charges for any car older than 5 years old...even if you're claiming their insurance.

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Aug 2 2023, 06:40 PM
AbbyCom
post Aug 2 2023, 06:58 PM

456 posts

Sudah lama ade lo.
ktek
post Aug 2 2023, 07:20 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

all the while got. and i paid for it
becos getting ori parts and not expensive.

certain brand insur offer 12yr without betterment
ktek
post Aug 2 2023, 07:24 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

So when someone hits your car...you have to pay this betterment charges for any car older than 5 years old...even if you're claiming their insurance.

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Today, 06:40 PM

^this is incorrect ya^
TSAeon_Clock
post Aug 2 2023, 07:32 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 2 2023, 07:24 PM)

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Today, 06:40 PM

^this is incorrect ya^
wrong, insurance is asking me to pay
FrogBlob
post Aug 2 2023, 08:33 PM

466 posts

ya, kena before.
someone hit me, got towed and claim their insu. the panel workshop also asked me to pay this, no way around it.

edit: and this was during 2020 i think.

This post has been edited by FrogBlob: Aug 2 2023, 08:36 PM
okuribito
post Nov 3 2023, 10:01 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Aug 2 2023, 06:36 PM)
Are you guys aware of this new addition to car insurance? Seems that it had started since the flood in KL a year or two ago.

https://www.zurich.com.my/en/knowledge-hub/...n-car-insurance
1. What is betterment in car insurance or takaful?
The term betterment means that something has been made better or has been upgraded, and this leads to an increase in value.

In Malaysia’s car insurance or takaful, the replacement of a damaged car part with a brand-new original part after an accident claim is considered betterment.

2. Why is the betterment charge imposed?
If damaged car parts are replaced with new parts after an accident, you may benefit as the car will be in a better condition compared to prior to the accident.

So, betterment charge may be applied where you are required to bear a portion of the part replacement costs.

3. How do you determine the betterment charge?
The betterment charge that you will have to pay depends on the age of your car. For most comprehensive car insurance or takaful, the betterment charge is based on the betterment rate table shown below. The betterment rate is multiplied on the cost of the new replacement car parts to determine the betterment charge.

Age of your car Betterment rate applied (%)
0-5---------------0%
5----------------15%
6----------------20%
7----------------25%
8----------------30%
9----------------35%
10 and above---40%

4. How is the betterment charge applied in an accident claim?
For example, your 9-year-old car runs into an accident and you choose to replace the accident-damaged car parts with new ones that cost RM5,000.

Based on the table above, the betterment charge that you need to pay is 35% of the new part cost and this is equivalent to RM1,750 (RM5,000 x 35%). Your comprehensive car insurance or takaful will cover the remaining remainder of the cost, which amounts to RM3,250.

5. Is there a way around betterment?
To avoid paying for any betterment charges, you can request for used spare parts subject to availability. There could also be possible in a situation where there is no re-condition or used spare parts available, and the only option is to replace with brand new parts. In such cases, betterment may still be applied.

In some car insurance and takaful, you may have the option to purchase an add-on cover to waive the betterment charge in the event of an accident.

Is this a rider that we add to the policy when we renew our insurance? Or is it something we opt for when we submit claim?

babisotong
post Nov 3 2023, 10:23 AM

654 posts

walauweh, just realized this .. if you cant afford to pay the betterment, what happen?
General_Nic
post Nov 3 2023, 12:14 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(babisotong @ Nov 3 2023, 10:23 AM)
walauweh, just realized this .. if you cant afford to pay the betterment, what happen?
there stated

pray your car popular enough have lots of recon or 3rd party parts, or hunt in junkyard/half-cut shops

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Nov 3 2023, 12:15 PM

0.0198sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:27 PM