Anonymous34
post Aug 2 2023, 05:18 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(bigduck @ Aug 2 2023, 04:58 PM)
how often do you wash your car?

my car wash guy told me not to coat if i don't wash consistently

dunno true or false
Definitely if your car is parked outside and not in garage. Water marks will etch into the coating if car is left under the sun after rain. Need to wash every 3 days if everyday also rain like kucing and anjing.
Anonymous34
post Aug 2 2023, 07:20 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Aug 2 2023, 05:41 PM)
Me use alcohol base products or higher ph car shampoo to remove watermark

Sometimes if windscreen with watermarks i will use cheaper option like glaco windshield remover windows then once prep is done apply glaco water repellent then water mark will gone unless the water repellent depleted after 6 months only start to build up

Sonax have polymer type coating for exterior is better than hard coating and can remove the layers just using their own sonax remover without need constantly Polish just for remove coating

Just my experience lah maybe you more pro than me.
Higher PH can remove watermark? I usually opt for neutral PH for routine wash. Previously was using CarPro Reset, then now I switch to ecoCoat wash, more economical.

For watermark remover usually they use acidic base that is lower PH, I have a bottle that is CarPro Spotless 2.0. Works splendidly but the coating will be removed each time I use it.

Windscreen watermark I just use the copper powder to polish but I don't care all that much, I had CarPro CQ UK3.0 on it but that one didn't last. Now I just use top coat such as CarPro Reload or EcoCoat Enchancer.

Polymer type coating I think much better for our cars that our exposed to elements all the time. Especially flat surfaces such as roof, hood and trunk. Bloody headache whenever the surface becomes flat. I have given up for the past few months tbh. Just maintenance wash.

For vertical surfaces I use CQ UK 3.0 that kind of worn away after 6 months, then I recoat with ecoCoat EZ. One is ceramic, the other is Graphene Infused top coat. Vertical surfaces they hold up great, hydrophobicity still there after like 6 months - 1 year with regular wash. Never use any detailer also.

Far from pro, I think I rush through the process too much. I feel like prep for coating is not done well especially with panel wipe. I suspect got oil left on the panel after polish then I go coat. Then it wears off. Determined to do it again this month for one last time. Otherwise I will go crazy haha.
Anonymous34
post Aug 2 2023, 09:48 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Aug 2 2023, 08:34 PM)
Yes prep work is important and is time consuming then OCD like i guess already but not sure wash that part again hahaha , because those carwash sikit sikit Polish dang the clear coat getting thinner and thinner most of the time i don't care exterior much lah, just if got mood only do it properly .
Yeah thats why I am reluctant to send it to those acah2 detailer. For those higher end ones who you know can do a good job, it isn't worth it for my cheap car either. My dad sends his car to get it "polish" every few weeks but I'm pretty sure they just wax. I don't have time to tinker with his car but I told him about clear coat thinning also.

Exterior important but not as important as interior cleanliness of course. But most important thing is mechanical health of your car haha. I spend more money on that
Anonymous34
post Aug 2 2023, 09:55 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Aug 2 2023, 07:42 PM)
I learn, if u didn't start treating ur car nicely from the start.
Ull need a lot of treatment before even looking in to coating

I started with wax, but hate it with Malaysia weather.

Now using RESET as weekly car wash
Using soft99 window repellent
Using Reload 2.0 for coating
Using Degrease for stripping old coating
Using clay bar + lube for iron removal
CarPro really sinks your money doesn't it? I was going to buy Reload 2.0 1L bottle but decided against it. Went with bead maker as weekly top coat. Then now I give up haha. plan to recoat with ecocoat ez and enchancer as weekly topper

0.0126sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:51 PM