Chat A brief review of current digimon v-pets

TSMegaCanonF
post Aug 2 2023, 08:50 AM, updated 3y ago

875 posts

Hey guys. I'm sure many of you have been playing the original digimon V-Pet back in the day right?

Currently if you go shops like M4G, or even impulse gaming, you may come across a section where they are still selling some of these novelty items.

Last weekend I'm stuck there for a good 30 minutes thinking what to buy.

After some reading and research, hence this post :

If you (like me ) are thinking of buying one , but not sure which one to get , come let me story a bit my experience:

for checking digimon rosters, go to this website : https://humulos.com/digimon/dmx/2/

1. Vital Bracelet (BE)

remove duplicate keywords

Initially, I had gotten the Vital Bracelet BE. This is the latest vital bracelet. This features a color screen, and can connect with your phone.

My experience:

This is quite good and fun.
'
Pros:

-Interesting roster of digimons
-expandable roster by just buying the DM cards seperately
- can do NFC battle (random battles)
- waterproof to an extent
- can connect to an app on the phone

However as a busy adult, I had to let it go for a few things:

- no raise to wake . I often had to touch the keys to see the time, which is quite annoying when i'm busy
- if you are not using it, the vital points may drop and evolving the mons will be a pain (you can make them sleep but oh well)
- the evolution requirements to get cool mega digimon sometimes is hard (need to have high vital points, high winrate,need to invest a lot of time to train)

Remember to get the BE version at least, as the new cards released are only compatible with the BE version. DONT GET THE NORMAL VERSION.

overall i'd get this for a nice birthday gift to your anak buah.

Some other digimon that I found on sale now :

1. Digimon colour

- This is really nice, but are not worth the steep RM300 price. only got 1 gen roster. Get it only if you like it so much.

2. Digimon Vpet 20th

- This is OK as well. A good entry point. The price would be around RM80 - RM100. The roster is quite expansive as well. (gen 1-5), dual egg .

3. Digimon Vpet 20th revival

-OK, this is same like the above, but with the pause (freezing) digimon ability. I'd say its good but not worth the RM180 ish price

4. Digimon Pendulum 20th

- This is the best pendulum device as the roster is good. But the price is getting absurd (on carousell is selling for RM400-500) . Not worth it. Instead, get the below:

5. Digimon Pendulum Z series

- It is basically the same as digimon X, but with added pendulum system (got shake shake). Higher price (cheapest RM190). For me , X is more worth it than this. This is mostly for collectors.

The best v-pet to get currently is the digimon X series

I got one at RM90. Most importantly it has a freeze feature, so if you busy, you can just freeze the mons and get on with your life. Also there's a quest area which is pretty interesting.

Here is mine :

A bit expensive as i bought in at the shop

However buy at shop for me more fun. Reminds me of olden days, dulu2 as kids where got money to buy. Now can raba2, look around, feel2 1st, definitely nicer experience.

M4G mid valley is the place i went for cuci mata. Really great place to quench that nostalgic feels.

Other place to check is the impulse flagship in sungai besi.

This post has been edited by MegaCanonF: Aug 2 2023, 10:43 AM
Silfer
post Aug 2 2023, 08:59 AM

1,053 posts

quality bebenang here. thanks for sharing
nebula87
post Aug 2 2023, 09:03 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

I recalled my 3rd vpet device, (1st and 2nd device is the brick style)

SUSrtk74
post Aug 2 2023, 09:03 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

Now just money making machine x10
JoeK
post Aug 2 2023, 09:06 AM

1,099 posts

Can share link to buy like yours for rm90?
soulseeker6187
post Aug 2 2023, 09:08 AM

2,774 posts

It used to be rm19.90.
Now already 10x. Wtf
SUSWahlberg
post Aug 2 2023, 09:27 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Aug 2 2023, 08:50 AM)
Hey guys. I'm sure many of you have been playing the original digimon V-Pet back in the day right?

Currently if you go shops like M4G, or even impulse gaming, you may come across a section where they are still selling some of these novelty items.

If you (like me ) are thinking of buying one , but not sure which one to get , come let me story a bit my experience:

for checking digimon rosters, go to this website : https://humulos.com/digimon/dmx/2/
1. Vital Bracelet (BE)

Initially, I had gotten the Vital Bracelet BE. This is the latest vital bracelet. This features a color screen, and can connect with your phone.

My experience:

'
Pros:

- no raise to wake . I often had to touch the keys to see the time, which is quite annoying when i'm busy
- if you are not using it, the vital points may drop and evolving the mons will be a pain (you can make them sleep but oh well)
- the evolution requirements to get cool mega digimon sometimes is hard (need to have high vital points, high winrate,need to invest a lot of time to train)
Remember to get the BE version at least, as the new cards released are only compatible with the BE version. DONT GET THE NORMAL VERSION.

1. Digimon colour

- This is really nice, but are not worth the steep RM300 price. only got 1 gen roster. Get it only if you like it so much.

2. Digimon Vpet 20th

- This is OK as well. A good entry point. The price would be around RM80 - RM100. The roster is quite expansive as well. (gen 1-5), dual egg . 

-OK, this is same like the above, but with the pause (freezing) digimon ability. I'd say its good but not worth the RM180 ish price

4. Digimon Pendulum 20th

- This is the best pendulum device as the roster is good. But the price is getting absurd (on carousell is selling for RM400-500) . Not worth it. Instead, get the below:

- It is basically the same as digimon X, but with added pendulum system (got shake shake). Higher price (cheapest RM190). For me , X is more worth it than this. This is mostly for collectors.

I got one at RM90. Most importantly it has a freeze feature, so if you busy, you can just freeze the mons and get on with your life. Also there's a quest area which is pretty interesting.
Here is mine :

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Aug 2 2023, 09:03 AM)

lucky you
some people didnt get any or only tis

youngy
post Aug 2 2023, 09:32 AM

389 posts

I wanted to get a Digimon device as well but ended up collecting the TCG. LOL

Doubt I have the time to jaga Digimon now cry.gif
TSMegaCanonF
post Aug 2 2023, 09:52 AM

875 posts

That is nice .

If u still have it now working condition, surely can fetch some real good price

Back then we just had the normal gen 1 vpets

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Aug 2 2023, 09:03 AM)
Now just money making machine x10
True

QUOTE(JoeK @ Aug 2 2023, 09:06 AM)
Can share link to buy like yours for rm90?
https://shp.ee/ctih582

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Aug 2 2023, 09:08 AM)
It used to be rm19.90.
Now already 10x. Wtf
Inflation lol

QUOTE(youngy @ Aug 2 2023, 09:32 AM)
I wanted to get a Digimon device as well but ended up collecting the TCG. LOL

Doubt I have the time to jaga Digimon now  cry.gif
Deswai need to find those with freeze (pause) function. I oso play in office only just to relieve from always watching at PC screen.

youngy
post Aug 2 2023, 09:57 AM

389 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Aug 2 2023, 10:52 AM)
Deswai need to find those with freeze (pause) function. I oso play in office only just to relieve from always watching at PC screen.
BTW... Can Digimon X do online battle like the Vital Bracelet?
SUSwilsonjay
post Aug 2 2023, 10:03 AM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

Pendulum used to be T20 version, everyone sure gather around that kid with the pendulum lel
SUSBafflinbook
post Aug 2 2023, 10:06 AM

I got both the 20th pendulum versions collecting dust in my drawers... they are worth RM 400 each??!!!

I wanna let go.
nebula87
post Aug 2 2023, 10:07 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Aug 2 2023, 09:52 AM)
That is nice .

If u still have it now working condition, surely can fetch some real good price

I sold it away for RM50 last time to my friend back at year 2002. biggrin.gif

This version quite OP, my champion level of digimon can win ultimate level of brick type vpet. brows.gif

This post has been edited by nebula87: Aug 2 2023, 10:09 AM
nebula87
post Aug 2 2023, 10:10 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(Bafflinbook @ Aug 2 2023, 10:06 AM)
I got both the 20th pendulum versions collecting dust in my drawers... they are worth RM 400 each??!!!

I wanna let go.
Now it's time to sell you device at RM200 brows.gif

But first, do some short video and upload into FB Reels or TikTok.. icon_idea.gif
TSMegaCanonF
post Aug 2 2023, 10:11 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(youngy @ Aug 2 2023, 09:57 AM)
BTW... Can Digimon X do online battle like the Vital Bracelet?
nope, all brick style v-pet cannot online battle. just can battle among same brick style vpets.

only the vital bracelet series have NFC so can connect with NFC terminals / online battles via app.

QUOTE(Bafflinbook @ Aug 2 2023, 10:06 AM)

I wanna let go.
yes, check out carousell listings. some even go for rm600 (if brand new in box) since they are considered a collector piece now (no longer produced). so ppl goreng harga kaw kaw biggrin.gif
SUSBafflinbook
post Aug 2 2023, 10:24 AM

Crazy.....fetches for RM650 !!!

I was thinking of getting rid of them for 100 each.

This post has been edited by Bafflinbook: Aug 2 2023, 10:25 AM
Silfer
post Aug 2 2023, 10:29 AM

1,053 posts

It used to be rm19.90.
Now already 10x. Wtf
30 years ma. of course inflation.
milky12388
post Aug 2 2023, 10:37 AM

108 posts

It used to be rm19.90.
Now already 10x. Wtf
used to be 19.90 in 20 year ago, it cost big sum of money for my parents to buy for 3 children of us back then.
pandah
post Aug 2 2023, 10:42 AM

719 posts

They should just make it into android apps or something and play on phone sahaja
shadowglow
post Aug 2 2023, 10:58 AM

462 posts

why have not they make it mainstream in smartphone?

can fight via bluetooth, or even better wifi. globally..

the better infra structure to market it but they are not doing it
youngy
post Aug 2 2023, 11:02 AM

389 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Aug 2 2023, 11:11 AM)
nope, all brick style v-pet cannot online battle. just can battle among same brick style vpets.

only the vital bracelet series have NFC so can connect with NFC terminals / online battles via app.
I see... then can the Digimon evolve to Ultimate+ without battling other player?
TSMegaCanonF
post Aug 2 2023, 11:02 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(shadowglow @ Aug 2 2023, 10:58 AM)
why have not they make it mainstream in smartphone?

can fight via bluetooth, or even better wifi. globally..

the better infra structure to market it but they are not doing it
knowing how restrictive bandai is, they just want to milk it as long as they can lol. in 2023, they just introduced colour screen and USB-C. see few years down the road lol

plus once they release the app to phone, for sure will have someone crack/mod it, then they lose their money making avenue.

the best we got currently is the vital bracelet series with vital arena app for online battles.
vin39
post Aug 2 2023, 11:06 AM

I LOVE MALAYSIA!!!!
2,550 posts

I want to park for later read. Avid digimon collector here. Hopefully soon can upload my humble collections.
TSMegaCanonF
post Aug 2 2023, 11:07 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(youngy @ Aug 2 2023, 11:02 AM)
I see... then can the Digimon evolve to Ultimate+ without battling other player?
can. all modern vpets can go ultimate + without battle others.

20th version since you can raise 2 mons, you can battle those two mons together . hence will get the win condition needed to get to ultimate.

digimon X and pendulum, the evo are locked behind quest , so u need to clear quest to evolve them . do note some pendulum some evo lines are locked behind jogressing mechanic . so u need more pendulum to unlock (if you are a completionist)

vital bracelet more straight forward, just need to meet requirements to evolve (eg : squat 15 times (lol) ) , the battles can just use random NFC battle (just touch your bracelet to back of your NFC phone or any other NFC terminal
hirano
post Aug 2 2023, 11:10 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

Park for nostalgia. Too expensive feels not worth it
SUSMr Mercedes
post Aug 2 2023, 11:12 AM

424 posts

This app > all.

Used to play this app. My username R0smahgem0k

Can battle and Jogress online.

Ronin_Amin
post Aug 2 2023, 11:13 AM

490 posts

I remember during school we brought v1 and fight against each other in the toilet so that teachers wouldn't find out. Also still remember the plastic strip trick to get to ultimate straight away
pipedream
post Aug 2 2023, 11:13 AM

2,353 posts

Only have the 20th anniversary digivice in yamato blue. Bought it to collect but Bandai as usual shafted the collectors by mass releasing a cheaper version
SUSMr Mercedes
post Aug 2 2023, 11:23 AM

424 posts

I saw Digimon X in Isetan KLCC. also RM109.

Remember buying the original V-Pet from Toy's R Us Subang parade for RM28.

Got the Pendulum 3.0 Nightmare solders from One U for RM150.

Got the Pendulum 4.0 Wing Guardians from Orchard Road for SGD50.

Got the Pendulum 5.0 from Sungai Wang, RM128.
TSMegaCanonF
post Aug 2 2023, 12:04 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Aug 2 2023, 11:23 AM)
I saw Digimon X in Isetan KLCC. also RM109.

Remember buying the original V-Pet from Toy's R Us Subang parade for RM28.

Got the Pendulum 3.0 Nightmare solders from One U for RM150.

Got the Pendulum 4.0 Wing Guardians from Orchard Road for SGD50.

Got the Pendulum 5.0 from Sungai Wang, RM128.
those pendulums very valuable now if in good condition and complete in box
damnkids01
post Aug 2 2023, 12:25 PM

still playing with my office colleague biggrin.gif

i got a question, my kolik say her x antibody vpet dies after 2 days becoming mega, but is well taken care off.. few times ady. the mega dies so fast.. then appear a shiny egg. any idea why? she dont want the shiny powered up egg she just wanna keep her mega level

TSMegaCanonF
post Aug 2 2023, 12:33 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(damnkids01 @ Aug 2 2023, 12:25 PM)
still playing with my office colleague biggrin.gif

i got a question, my kolik say her x antibody vpet dies after 2 days becoming mega, but is well taken care off.. few times ady. the mega dies so fast.. then appear a shiny egg. any idea why? she dont want the shiny powered up egg she just wanna keep her mega level
nice wei. what version is this?

https://wikimon.net/Digital_Monster_X

TRAITED EGG System If your Digimon fades away after a certain condition is met, the Digimon hatched from this shiny egg will start from Level 3 and makes it easier to win battle now.

https://www.reddit.com/r/digimon/comments/f...y_digimon_beel/

https://www.reddit.com/r/digimon/comments/g..._a_traited_egg/

If you keep your Digimon alive 48 hours after its last evolution, you will be given a Traited Egg, which (probably) increases your odds of evolving into the Perfect.

too bad, maybe should backup that mon instead . machiem kenot keep forever. unlike vital bracelets, the mega will stay there and only gone if you transfer to phone
shadowglow
post Aug 2 2023, 12:42 PM

462 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Aug 2 2023, 11:12 AM)
This app > all.

ohmy.gif WHAT APP IS THIS!!

TELL MII!!
damnkids01
post Aug 2 2023, 12:54 PM

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Aug 2 2023, 12:33 PM)
nice wei. what version is this?

https://wikimon.net/Digital_Monster_X

TRAITED EGG System If your Digimon fades away after a certain condition is met, the Digimon hatched from this shiny egg will start from Level 3 and makes it easier to win battle now.

https://www.reddit.com/r/digimon/comments/f...y_digimon_beel/

https://www.reddit.com/r/digimon/comments/g..._a_traited_egg/

If you keep your Digimon alive 48 hours after its last evolution, you will be given a Traited Egg, which (probably) increases your odds of evolving into the Perfect.
too bad, maybe should backup that mon instead . machiem kenot keep forever.  unlike vital bracelets, the mega will stay there and only gone if you transfer to phone
is the first batch of the vpet device from the japanese 20th biggrin.gif rare limited edition, i straight book from sinobali once i heard the news lmao
mowlous
post Aug 2 2023, 01:32 PM

542 posts

I'm curious, I have one super old decade ago digimon , (maybe v2 ? idk it has night glow) ....... can I battle with anyone that have the two connector on the top like I used to?

Last time I was able to breed all sorts of monster, this days so busy I'm almost always guaranteed sukamon most of the time ...
ry8128
post Aug 2 2023, 10:52 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,645 posts

Ts, x series can battle with 20th series?
ry8128
post Aug 2 2023, 10:53 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,645 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Aug 2 2023, 11:07 AM)
can. all modern vpets can go ultimate + without battle others.

20th version since you can raise 2 mons, you can battle those two mons together . hence will get the win condition needed to get to ultimate.

digimon X and pendulum, the evo are locked behind quest , so u need to clear quest to evolve them .  do note some pendulum some evo lines are locked behind jogressing mechanic . so u need more pendulum to unlock (if you are a completionist)

vital bracelet more straight forward, just need to meet requirements to evolve (eg : squat 15 times (lol) )  , the battles can just use random NFC battle (just touch your bracelet to back of your NFC phone or any other NFC terminal
So for 20th version, just buy 1 unit is enoiugh already? Since can raise 2 and battle together?

Do not need to buy 2 unit just to battle?

QUOTE(damnkids01 @ Aug 2 2023, 12:54 PM)
is the first batch of the vpet device from the japanese 20th  biggrin.gif  rare limited edition, i straight book from sinobali once i heard the news lmao
Is it eng or jap version?
e_mc_square
post Aug 2 2023, 10:56 PM

768 posts

I got this too. Glow at the dark.
This version call nightmare soldiers.

It has Wukong which evolve from a poop. biggrin.gif
SUSMr Mercedes
post Aug 2 2023, 11:03 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(shadowglow @ Aug 2 2023, 12:42 PM)
ohmy.gif  WHAT APP IS THIS!!

TELL MII!!
Digimon unlimited
UnknownMy
post Aug 2 2023, 11:06 PM

296 posts

save this tered. A fan of Digimon vpet.

Once got a 1st generation Digivice that glow in the dark, but spoil after accidentally let it "shower" in the washing machine.

Think of getting one
sagethesausage
post Aug 2 2023, 11:07 PM

657 posts

Owned one as a kid... Honestly kinda shallow and boring...probably because no friends to battle with... Missed out on the entire battle system
RyoKenzaki
post Aug 2 2023, 11:20 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Aug 2 2023, 11:12 AM)
This app > all.

I used to play also, I think I remember your name....
Im from DS clan, DS RYO but with fancy font...
I use megidramon x and beelzemon blast mode
I still got my megidramon x backup file, it was the strongest megidramon x in the server that time haha

It's a shame developer have to remove this apps due to copyright issue....
This app have everything, even digimons that doesnt exist in the real digivice, the roster was freaking huge.

This post has been edited by RyoKenzaki: Aug 2 2023, 11:23 PM
SUSMr Mercedes
post Aug 2 2023, 11:28 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Aug 2 2023, 11:20 PM)
I still got my megidramon x backup file, it was the strongest megidramon x in the server that time haha

This app have everything, even digimons that doesnt exist in the real digivice, the roster was freaking huge.
Good times bro.

Think they still have the apk file available for download.
sagethesausage
post Aug 2 2023, 11:33 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Aug 2 2023, 11:20 PM)

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Aug 2 2023, 11:28 PM)
Good times bro.

What's the name of the app?
SUSMr Mercedes
post Aug 2 2023, 11:33 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(sagethesausage @ Aug 2 2023, 11:33 PM)
What's the name of the app?
Digimon Unlimited
damnkids01
post Aug 2 2023, 11:53 PM

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Aug 2 2023, 10:53 PM)
Is it eng or jap version?
japanese
damnkids01
post Aug 2 2023, 11:54 PM

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Aug 2 2023, 11:33 PM)
Digimon Unlimited
still got people play ka? server still alive?
RyoKenzaki
post Aug 3 2023, 02:29 AM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Aug 2 2023, 11:28 PM)
Good times bro.

I tried download that few months ago.
Not sure why but the shake can't function with my phone (Pixel 5)
and the apps keep resetting back to egg...
TSMegaCanonF
post Aug 3 2023, 07:24 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Aug 2 2023, 10:52 PM)
Ts, x series can battle with 20th series?
can
shadowglow
post Aug 8 2023, 05:07 PM

462 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Aug 2 2023, 08:50 AM)

1. Vital Bracelet (BE)

My experience:

'
Pros:

1. Digimon colour

2. Digimon Vpet 20th

4. Digimon Pendulum 20th

Here is mine :

A bit expensive as i bought in at the shop

However buy at shop for me more fun. Reminds me of olden days, dulu2 as kids where got money to buy. Now can raba2, look around, feel2 1st, definitely nicer experience.

M4G mid valley is the place i went for cuci mata. Really great place to quench that nostalgic feels.

Other place to check is the impulse flagship in sungai besi.
Hey TS, i got mine too, but i think i went to the wrong shop XD , i went to ACE, next to MY DIY, RM130 there, for digimin X

turns out mine is X-D version, purple. Was trying to Ogre-kind of mon, end up i got Numemon, urghhh

Interesting now, got quest area to clear to meet certain requirement..bu tnow with numemon, to get the next evo i want, need to clear up to area 45..fahhhhking hell, within 36 hours
joykeanu
post Aug 8 2023, 05:41 PM

36 posts

https://wickedgoodgaming.com/digimon-fans-h...-ive-ever-seen/

you need a dcom to play online drool.gif

This post has been edited by joykeanu: Aug 8 2023, 05:44 PM
TSMegaCanonF
post Aug 8 2023, 05:54 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(shadowglow @ Aug 8 2023, 05:07 PM)
Hey TS, i got mine too, but i think i went to the wrong shop XD , i went to ACE, next to MY DIY, RM130 there, for digimin X

turns out mine is X-D version, purple. Was trying to Ogre-kind of mon, end up i got Numemon, urghhh

Interesting now, got quest area to clear to meet certain requirement..bu tnow with numemon, to get the next evo i want, need to clear up to area 45..fahhhhking hell, within 36 hours
XD?

Nicee..

Haha
I also pause my mon now. At quest 19. Need 22 to get metaltyranomon virus .

Doing quest when i free a bit
shadowglow
post Aug 9 2023, 01:26 PM

462 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Aug 8 2023, 05:54 PM)
XD?

Nicee..

Haha
I also pause my mon now. At quest 19. Need 22 to get metaltyranomon virus .

Doing quest when i free a bit
yea got X.a ver,
X.b
X.c
X.e & X.f is only for japanese market i think or just the language.

not sure how to truly identify from the packaging but version D has some issue before.

some digimon exclusive to that version

now i need to clear area 45! to get what i want because i got Numemon, mtfkerrr, just got to 23, dayum this dice rolls.
all the mob now is all 1 evo higher to fight..

https://humulos.com/digimon/dmx/exclusives/

This post has been edited by shadowglow: Aug 9 2023, 01:29 PM

0.0297sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:28 AM