Gears of War, In stores 12th November 07!!!!!!

choyster
post Oct 21 2007, 05:13 PM

1,802 posts

izzit gonna be a rig killer?
choyster
post Oct 22 2007, 02:38 AM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(Archaven @ Oct 21 2007, 08:30 PM)
UT3 engine rocks. Look at Bioshock tongue.gif. Hopefully it is completely optimised like Bioshock and run smooth smile.gif
Lets just hope it is as smooth as bioshock icon_idea.gif
choyster
post Oct 23 2007, 01:03 AM

1,802 posts

19" Wide screen consider HD or not
choyster
post Oct 23 2007, 07:18 PM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 23 2007, 06:56 PM)
From a PC and XBox360 owner, I can tell you that the feeling of playing on a big LCD and a small LCD is worlds apart.

If comparing my XBox360 connect  to these 2:

1. 20" widescreen LCD monitor, at 12x10 stretch, wide
2. 37" widescreen LCD TV, 768p

#1 actually has more pixels and the picture is sharper, but #2 is a WAY superior gaming experience.

On the other hand, playing PC games on the LCD TV at 13x7, is inferior, because of lots of small text and icons and etc.
37" and 20" how to compare doh.gif
choyster
post Nov 5 2007, 06:07 PM

1,802 posts

yea waiting for this game too,i dont think it will be a hardware eater la cause this game is last year's game and crysis is next gen game.
choyster
post Nov 12 2007, 09:48 PM

1,802 posts

i also got wargame-g4wlive.exe has encountered a problem" error
choyster
post Nov 13 2007, 12:13 AM

1,802 posts

yes this game damn buggy haiz
choyster
post Nov 13 2007, 02:14 AM

1,802 posts

yea the live problem keep crashing cant even play
choyster
post Nov 13 2007, 02:38 AM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(alive88 @ Nov 13 2007, 02:30 AM)
owh..have u dwnlded tht latest nforceware?and hve u installed the xlive?
coz b4 i run the game for the first time, it ask me dwnload those things first , if not it will lag
everything install alry if you checked the Gow forums also many people having problems sigh a good game gone down the drain
choyster
post Nov 13 2007, 03:39 AM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(alive88 @ Nov 13 2007, 02:47 AM)
owh..ur game lag when u just start to play?or while loading, or while playing around 10mntes?
after a while when they come out from the prison then then errors pops up and crashes
choyster
post Nov 13 2007, 07:21 PM

1,802 posts

the alt tab thing did not work for me
choyster
post Nov 14 2007, 12:50 AM

1,802 posts

i can play after i uninstall omega and use catalyst 7.10
choyster
post Nov 15 2007, 06:24 AM

1,802 posts

lag wei this game
choyster
post Nov 16 2007, 08:24 PM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 16 2007, 08:19 PM)
WTF?!?

All also sparrow? doh.gif
Duh shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
choyster
post Nov 18 2007, 12:25 AM

1,802 posts

this whole game is so dark,the enviroment dont give a single happy feeling everything is just dull and lifeless but the jokes from Cole and Braid is funny
choyster
post Nov 28 2007, 08:17 PM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Nov 28 2007, 07:32 PM)
This is what i got from playing a few chapters so far.

At the start of the game, it would have been 14 years since Emergence Day, or the coming of the Locust hell bent on the destruction of the earth. Marcus Fenix is held in prison because of some trial that ensued years ago. The Locust is led by this General RAAM, and you'll be kicking his @$$ later. The current mission would be to get a resonator that would blow up the Locust underground and win the war.

I think at the end there might be some plot twists. I'm not sure. But thats what I got so far.

And i am seriously getting more frustrated with this game. Hoping that M$ hurries up the fix. Or else, its refund time and a whole of bashings.
He was called a taritor because he abandoned his team for his father
choyster
post Nov 30 2007, 06:12 PM

1,802 posts

has anyone tried the patch yet?
choyster
post Dec 3 2007, 06:36 PM

1,802 posts

i cant get the patch to work also
choyster
post Dec 4 2007, 04:44 AM

1,802 posts

Here is a better fix for the stuttering.

In the following files:

My Documents/My games/Gears OF War/War game/Config:

1)WarEngineUserSettings.ini

and in the game directory: in Gears of war /Engine/Config:

1)BaseEngineUserSettings.ini
2)BaseEngine.ini

Replace the following section with what's posted below. Be sure to backup those files before you edit them.

[TextureLODSettings]
TEXTUREGROUP_World=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=1024,LODBias=1)
TEXTUREGROUP_WorldNormalMap=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=512,LODBias=1)
TEXTUREGROUP_WorldSpecular=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=512,LODBias=1)
TEXTUREGROUP_Character=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=1024,LODBias=1)
TEXTUREGROUP_CharacterNormalMap=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=512,LODBias=1)
TEXTUREGROUP_CharacterSpecular=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=512,LODBias=1)
TEXTUREGROUP_Weapon=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=1024,LODBias=1)
TEXTUREGROUP_WeaponNormalMap=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=512,LODBias=1)
TEXTUREGROUP_WeaponSpecular=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=512,LODBias=1)
TEXTUREGROUP_Vehicle=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=1024,LODBias=1)
TEXTUREGROUP_VehicleNormalMap=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=512,LODBias=1)
TEXTUREGROUP_VehicleSpecular=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=512,LODBias=1)
TEXTUREGROUP_Effects=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=1024,LODBias=1)
TEXTUREGROUP_Skybox=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=1024,LODBias=1)
TEXTUREGROUP_UI=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=4096,LODBias=0)
TEXTUREGROUP_LightAndShadowMap=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=1024,LODBias=1)
TEXTUREGROUP_RenderTarget=(MinLODSize=1,MaxLODSize=4096,LODBias=0)

Thanks goes to the guys on the Guru3D forums for this fix. It works like a charm. The key seems to be the change in the LODBias values from 0 to 1.

choyster
post Dec 4 2007, 12:39 PM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(Taman Linkin @ Dec 4 2007, 12:12 PM)
What the LODBias do?
dunno i tested it works for me

0.0290sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:04 PM