Michelin Starred Restaurants, And other good eats

TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 07:39 AM, updated 2y ago

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Now that the Michelin Guide has come to Malaysia, I was wondering if fellow foodies have any good recommendations for my wife and I to try? We might be thinking of squeezing in a trip to Malaysia to visit some relatives after we return to Singapore from Sydney in November.

There are no Michelin-starred restaurants in Sydney, the closest thing to one they have is the "hats" award system, and we particularly like one, called Tetsuya's, in Sydney CBD. They actually have a branch in Singapore, called Waku Ghin (2 Michelin stars).

The above is Tetsuya's signature ocean trout - a mainstay of the restaurant and the primary reason (in addition to its unbelievably fresh oysters) that we keep going back.

In Singapore, we've done all the 3 starred ones - Les Amis, Odette & Zen.

Les Amis was the granddaddy of them all, and we've been fans of that since even before Michelin came to Singapore. We watched it grow from good, to 2-star good, to finally 3-star expensive good. The last we went was in April last year, when I took my family members from UK & Australia who were visiting after the COVID restrictions were lifted. We're due to head back again next week.

Odette was a relatively new place we tried out - we were attracted to it because it ranked 6th best restaurant in the whole of Asia, and walked away with nothing but superb impressions of the service, the attention to detail and of course, the food, especially their signature rosemary onsen egg. We will definitely be back for seconds. I found it funny that they would print the bill with the date represented the American way... but, it's their restaurant, so it's their rules...

And finally, Zen - it was ranked amongst the top 50 restaurants in Asia, and since we'd already done 2 out of the 3 Michelin 3-starred joints, we thought, why the hell not. So, last week, we tried Zen. I have to say, it was different. Whilst Les Amis and Odette was French/Japanese fusion, Zen was more Scandinavian and I guess our palates preferred the former presentation (which, incidentally, was also Tetsuya's motif). It's still an excellent, excellent experience spread over 3 levels of dining, but it may be a while again before we think we would revisit.

I like the way the bill is presented though, haha...

So, if any of you have any good suggestions for Malaysian Michelin starred fine dining restaurants, we'd be grateful to hear about your experiences.

Thanks in advance!

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jun 17 2024, 09:02 PM
DarkNite
post Jul 27 2023, 07:54 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Please dun come to over-rated Penang.

The list is exclusively for tourist tongues particular ang moh's & places for locals to avoid.

Malaysia's top 10 favourite, Nasi lemak & nasi Kandar not on the list, too spicy for Ang Moh? laugh.gif

Every BKT kaki knows the bestest bak kut teh is in Klang.
You see their BKT list doh.gif

TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 08:00 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jul 27 2023, 07:54 AM)

The list is exclusively for tourist tongues particular ang moh's & places for locals to avoid.

Malaysia's top 10 favourite, Nasi lemak & nasi Kandar not on the list, too spicy for Ang Moh? laugh.gif

Hahaha.. I appreciate the honest and candid assessment! I'm local (still a Malaysian) and my palate is obviously very Malaysian, so I was hoping that Michelin would have taken that into consideration when they awarded their stars, but judging from your comment, the guide may have just been another shiok sendiri gegosok bebird moment for the Ang Mohs.... Have you tried any of their Michelin starred places yet?
DarkNite
post Jul 27 2023, 08:04 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 27 2023, 08:00 AM)
Hahaha.. I appreciate the honest and candid assessment! I'm local (still a Malaysian) and my palate is obviously very Malaysian, so I was hoping that Michelin would have taken that into consideration when they awarded their stars, but judging from your comment, the guide may have just been another shiok sendiri gegosok bebird moment for the Ang Mohs.... Have you tried any of their Michelin starred places yet?
Not out of Pg.
Eaten at most places before they were mentioned/awarded.
Now it is list of places to avoid.

TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 08:07 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jul 27 2023, 08:04 AM)
Not out of Pg.
notworthy.gif Goodness gracious! Penang was exactly where we were thinking of flying up to! rclxub.gif
Pugbunny
post Jul 27 2023, 08:23 AM

717 posts

Ok, places to skip
wong_86
post Jul 27 2023, 08:31 AM

DUDE
565 posts

When we hear a lots positive reviews, the more disappointment when we eat.
normal nasi lemak even better than these overated restaurants, especially tourism places..

This post has been edited by wong_86: Jul 27 2023, 08:32 AM
arubin
post Jul 27 2023, 08:37 AM

Holy Pastafarian
670 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jul 27 2023, 08:04 AM)
Not out of Pg.
Yeah, some folks seem to think that getting the Star is license to raise prices or franchise. But quality drops when they scale up production.
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 09:42 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Ok, thank you for all your candid views.

What about restaurants in Malaysia that you’ve eaten that you felt was deserving of their awards?
etan26
post Jul 27 2023, 10:15 AM

323 posts

Over rated, need a tyre company to tell you what to eat? . . .. owai
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 10:23 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Jul 27 2023, 10:15 AM)
Over rated, need a tyre company to tell you what to eat? . . .. owai
The story behind Michelin is quite interesting, and well, it’s just a thing to try if I’m in Malaysia. Pity the view of the majority here is that it’s not worth the trouble.
rx330
post Jul 27 2023, 10:27 AM

11,811 posts

haven't been to les amis in ages, happy to hear they are still up to par, but with the current exchange and the bill you posted, I don't think the missus will allow me to makan there hahahahaha
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 27 2023, 10:47 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Nope. I've been to all the rated ones in KV.

None of them is really worth it. If have to, I'd probably recommend Dewakan and Nadodi at best from those.

If you go and try Helena Darroze or CORE, then can see why they are 3 stars. Even that I still felt it could be better.
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 11:08 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 27 2023, 10:27 AM)
haven't been to les amis in ages, happy to hear they are still up to par, but with the current exchange and the bill you posted, I don't think the missus will allow me to makan there hahahahaha
The bill was for my family of 7 or 8. Wifey and I will be going next week before our overseas trip so I’ll post an update then…
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 11:10 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jul 27 2023, 10:47 AM)
Nope. I've been to all the rated ones in KV.

None of them is really worth it. If have to, I'd probably recommend Dewakan and Nadodi at best from those.

If you go and try Helena Darroze or CORE, then can see why they are 3 stars. Even that I still felt it could be better.
Oh, are these the ones in the UK? I’ve only been to Moor Hall, a 2 starred item in Lancashire - but to be honest, I wasn’t particularly overwhelmed by the offerings there - I would say it was similar to my experience at Zen.
Root-X
post Jul 27 2023, 11:16 AM

35 posts

No good foods in any part of MY. Every good stuffs you can find in SG already. Please don't come to MY
rx330
post Jul 27 2023, 11:22 AM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 27 2023, 11:08 AM)
The bill was for my family of 7 or 8. Wifey and I will be going next week before our overseas trip so I’ll post an update then…
I remember those days I paid 600 sgd for 3 person for lunch with champagne tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by rx330: Jul 27 2023, 11:23 AM
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 27 2023, 11:27 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 27 2023, 11:10 AM)
Oh, are these the ones in the UK? I’ve only been to Moor Hall, a 2 starred item in Lancashire - but to be honest, I wasn’t particularly overwhelmed by the offerings there - I would say it was similar to my experience at Zen.
Yep. Helena Darroze I think just got its 3 star last year. Its very typical french though, I'm still salivating over their simple things like butter.

CORE is by Clarye Smith (?), and its a more modern take on British food.

For MY, you can try Dewakan, Nadodi, Akar and Entier. Wouldn't say its a 3 star experience, but okay enough to be a 1 star lo.

sagethesausage
post Jul 27 2023, 11:29 AM

657 posts

Meh most of the michelin food is pay for atmosphere, ambience and presentation only.
ccschua
post Jul 27 2023, 11:41 AM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jul 27 2023, 11:27 AM)
Yep. Helena Darroze I think just got its 3 star last year. Its very typical french though, I'm still salivating over their simple things like butter.

CORE is by Clarye Smith (?), and its a more modern take on British food.

For MY, you can try Dewakan, Nadodi, Akar and Entier. Wouldn't say its a 3 star experience, but okay enough to be a 1 star lo.
how much is akar per pax?

icemanfx
post Jul 27 2023, 11:50 AM

21,457 posts

Michelin star rating in Asia is different from and lower than Europe. Advised not to have high expectation in Asia.

Due to limitations of ingredients and raw materials I.e halal in this country, advised to save money to eat outside the country.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 27 2023, 11:52 AM
SUSWahlberg
post Jul 27 2023, 11:52 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Jul 27 2023, 08:37 AM)
Yeah, some folks seem to think that getting the Star is license to raise prices or franchise. But quality drops when they scale up production.
It is somehow the profit maker to think of it
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 12:00 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 27 2023, 11:22 AM)
I remember those days I paid 600 sgd for 3 person for lunch with champagne  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Those were the days bro… those were the days.
icemanfx
post Jul 27 2023, 12:01 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Jul 27 2023, 08:37 AM)
Most if not all good restaurants in Europe have limited seating every day. They raise menu price rather than number of seating.

QUOTE(sagethesausage @ Jul 27 2023, 11:29 AM)
Meh most of the michelin food is pay for atmosphere, ambience and presentation only.
Quality of ingredients, method of preparation and chefs passion played major role. Ambience, service and presentation are part of dining experience. If the chef could charge euro >200 per pax, could you accept mamak stall experience?

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 27 2023, 12:47 PM
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 12:07 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(sagethesausage @ Jul 27 2023, 11:29 AM)
Actually, the food and quality of ingredients on offer do make a difference. I’m not talking about the “Michelin starred” Hainanese chicken rice that saw lines of curious foodies after the news broke, but that of proper fine dining restaurants.

That’s what I was hoping to solicit feedback from the forum users about the Michelin fine dining scene in Malaysia… not the hawker or street food, which certainly wouldn’t need some Ang Moh to tell us what’s good or not.
icemanfx
post Jul 27 2023, 12:18 PM

21,457 posts

One could bring a man out from kampung/bagan but hard to bring kampung/bagan out from a man. How ones eat is how one was brought up.

Most locals are accustomed to spicy, cheap ingredients, banjir meals and plastic plates, find alternative e.g bone china tableware unsettling and less desirable.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 27 2023, 12:53 PM
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 01:06 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jul 27 2023, 12:18 PM)
One could bring a man out from kampung/bagan but hard to bring kampung/bagan out from a man. How ones eat is how one was brought up.

Most locals are accustomed to spicy, cheap ingredients, banjir meals and plastic plates, find alternative e.g bone china tableware unsettling and less desirable.
I suppose they’ll find it pretentious and unnecessary. I mean, why the need for a charger plate, for example? But, I enjoy the ambience and the experience - after all, as the saying goes, you can’t take a cent of it with you. If not now then when?
gaijin
post Jul 27 2023, 01:17 PM

172 posts

Looking at TS pics , the price per pax seems dollar to dollar with malaysia .... so its a bargain to dine here

The most is RM1k here eg DC restaurant
icemanfx
post Jul 27 2023, 01:32 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 27 2023, 01:06 PM)
I suppose they’ll find it pretentious and unnecessary. I mean, why the need for a charger plate, for example? But, I enjoy the ambience and the experience - after all, as the saying goes, you can’t take a cent of it with you. If not now then when?
Tableware and cutlery are part of dining experience. Those find butter and margarine indifference are unlikely to appreciate finer things in life.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 27 2023, 07:39 PM
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 03:18 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gaijin @ Jul 27 2023, 01:17 PM)
Looking at TS pics , the price per pax seems dollar to dollar with malaysia .... so its a bargain to dine here

Yes, that’s what I was thinking. Dollar for dollar, without the conversion rate, it would be a good experience at an affordable price.

Where is this DC restaurant please?
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Jul 27 2023, 03:40 PM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,756 posts

Since u earn SGD, do try Sushi Taka and Ushi..

Both are the most expensive restaurants in KL / Malaysia now

They are also Michelin Selected restaurants

This post has been edited by -PuPu^ZaPruD3r-: Jul 27 2023, 03:40 PM
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 27 2023, 04:16 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 27 2023, 11:41 AM)
how much is akar per pax?
Around 500 or so?

QUOTE(gaijin @ Jul 27 2023, 01:17 PM)

I spent slightly more in DC. But yea 1k+ is the benchmark for the 1 stars.

Holocene
post Jul 27 2023, 07:18 PM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

https://youtube.com/@alexandertheguest
mesothelium
post Jul 27 2023, 07:39 PM

105 posts

Auntie Gaik Lean’s in Penang used to be my family’s go to but we’ve stopped for years after they started watering their recipes down and developing an attitude. The story I’ve heard from people who’ve been there post-Michelin is that it’s not improved the cooking or the experience.

We also tried Kebaya in the Seven Terraces hotel once. If you have a Malaysian or an Asian palate though, it might not satisfy. We thought it was too French-Peranakan fusion but without the endearing characteristics of either cuisine.

Our go-to for Penang-style Peranakan and Hainanese food is the Yeng Keng cafe, adjacent to the hotel with the same name, on Chulia Street. We like the spring rolls, the gulai tumis, and the yam duck. They even have bombe Alaska if you have a taste for kitschy 1980s desserts.

I also like Jawi House on Armenian Street. The kitchen is run by a formally trained chef and tries to be authentically Jawi Peranakan, a relatively unknown and unique Penang culture. His mom is a retired professor who wrote and taught about Jawi Peranakan culture so the space is also a museum of sorts.

In short, I think Penang is not the place to go for high-end restaurants. It’s more of a street food place. Nevertheless, you can still get a decent experience if you go for a curated list of upper-midrange places.
dickybird
post Jul 27 2023, 07:43 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(mesothelium @ Jul 27 2023, 07:39 PM)
Auntie Gaik Lean’s in Penang used to be my family’s go to but we’ve stopped for years after they started watering their recipes down and developing an attitude. The story I’ve heard from people who’ve been there post-Michelin is that it’s not improved the cooking or the experience.

We also tried Kebaya in the Seven Terraces hotel once. If you have a Malaysian or an Asian palate though, it might not satisfy. We thought it was too French-Peranakan fusion but without the endearing characteristics of either cuisine.

Our go-to for Penang-style Peranakan and Hainanese food is the Yeng Keng cafe, adjacent to the hotel with the same name, on Chulia Street. We like the spring rolls, the gulai tumis, and the yam duck. They even have bombe Alaska if you have a taste for kitschy 1980s desserts.

I also like Jawi House on Armenian Street. The kitchen is run by a formally trained chef and tries to be authentically Jawi Peranakan, a relatively unknown and unique Penang culture. His mom is a retired professor who wrote and taught about Jawi Peranakan culture so the space is also a museum of sorts.

In short, I think Penang is not the place to go for high-end restaurants. It’s more of a street food place. Nevertheless, you can still get a decent experience if you go for a curated list of upper-midrange places.
Thank you for the tips
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 08:05 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Thank you for sharing your personal experience! Much appreciated.

sagethesausage
post Jul 27 2023, 09:26 PM

657 posts

Now I feel like flying to Penang just to taste bombe Alaska

icemanfx
post Jul 27 2023, 10:22 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(sagethesausage @ Jul 27 2023, 09:26 PM)
Now I feel like flying to Penang just to taste bombe Alaska
Bombe Alaska is on regular menu in lake club, kl.

mesothelium
post Jul 27 2023, 11:27 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 27 2023, 08:05 PM)
Thank you for sharing your personal experience! Much appreciated.
Oh! And in KL, I liked DC (Taman Tun Dr Ismail) and Nadodi (Jalan Ampang). Nadodi served me the single best thing I had ever eaten in Malaysia, but that was years ago under Chef Johnson Ebenezer, who has since moved on.
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 11:49 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(mesothelium @ Jul 27 2023, 11:27 PM)
Oh! And in KL, I liked DC (Taman Tun Dr Ismail) and Nadodi (Jalan Ampang). Nadodi served me the single best thing I had ever eaten in Malaysia, but that was years ago under Chef Johnson Ebenezer, who has since moved on.
It’s great to have your input! Thanks so much!
Koranshita
post Jul 27 2023, 11:50 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 27 2023, 08:00 AM)
I purposely go try the so called Michelle 1star putien restaurant at gurney. It was good but other place also same as good
I never will understand why they can get star.others don't.

Owai singpore also have hahaha
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 11:54 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Koranshita @ Jul 27 2023, 11:50 PM)
I purposely go try the so called Michelle 1star putien restaurant at gurney. It was good but other place also same as good
I never will understand why they can get star.others don't.

Owai singpore also have hahaha
We just came back from dinner at Putien tonight.

Won’t be trying that in a hurry anytime soon.

Enough said.
TShksgmy
post Aug 10 2023, 07:49 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

This afternoon, I'll be back at Les Amis - it's been a year since our last visit. Should be good - and I'll post updates later smile.gif
gashout
post Aug 10 2023, 09:14 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 27 2023, 11:54 PM)
We just came back from dinner at Putien tonight.

Won’t be trying that in a hurry anytime soon.

Enough said.
Not a fan of putien.

The table setting is so packed, worse than school canteen, so they can max out their revenue per Sqf.

Table is so tiny you can barely put anything on it. Food meh.

No need to go back, agree.
gashout
post Aug 10 2023, 09:16 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 10 2023, 07:49 AM)
This afternoon, I'll be back at Les Amis - it's been a year since our last visit. Should be good - and I'll post updates later smile.gif
Enjoy, doc. 🙂

For me, Sg restaurants are top class. Malaysia street food is stop class. Eating at a fancy place actually stressed me out as I need to dress eat and behave in a certain way. The different sizes of cutleries confuse me as well. I just need a spoon a knife and a fork max. 😁
TShksgmy
post Aug 10 2023, 09:28 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 10 2023, 09:16 AM)
Enjoy, doc. 🙂

For me, Sg restaurants are top class. Malaysia street food is stop class. Eating at a fancy place actually stressed me out as I need to dress eat and behave in a certain way. The different sizes of cutleries confuse me as well. I just need a spoon a knife and a fork max. 😁
Thank you! To be honest, at restaurants like Les Amis, Odette and/or Zen, they place the cutlery for you at the start of every course - and for the canapés, they even recommend how best to eat it with your fingers: one whole bite, or 2 separate bites.

It’s stress free… except when it comes to paying the bill hahaha
gashout
post Aug 10 2023, 09:58 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 10 2023, 09:28 AM)
Thank you! To be honest, at restaurants like Les Amis, Odette and/or Zen, they place the cutlery for you at the start of every course - and for the canapés, they even recommend how best to eat it with your fingers: one whole bite, or 2 separate bites.

It’s stress free… except when it comes to paying the bill hahaha
biggrin.gif paying bill would be the less stressful for me cause it's expected.

enjoy. look forward to your photos later smile.gif
TShksgmy
post Aug 10 2023, 04:50 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 10 2023, 09:58 AM)
biggrin.gif paying bill would be the less stressful for me cause it's expected.

enjoy. look forward to your photos later  smile.gif

That’s the bill for today’s lunch… worth every penny

Just a selection of the food on offer today. Lots and lots of caviar and the most juicy Wagyu tenderloin steak this side of town. The langoustine and the blue lobster were delicious - and the first photo, with the pomme de terre, that’s a Les Amis signature.

All in, a good lunch.
rx330
post Aug 10 2023, 05:12 PM

11,811 posts

aiyoh.... the pricing nowadays with the stars....
so sexpensive

I like putien though, something different eastern cuisine that I had compare to the daily ones
but the one I tried was in sg

of cos certain putiens are not so cramp
Knnbuccb
post Aug 10 2023, 05:22 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 10 2023, 07:49 AM)
have u tried thevar

heard the owner is marehsian

#doneclaim

This post has been edited by Knnbuccb: Aug 10 2023, 05:23 PM
TShksgmy
post Aug 10 2023, 06:53 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Aug 10 2023, 05:22 PM)
have u tried thevar

heard the owner is marehsian

#doneclaim
Actually, I wouldn't be surprised - a LOT of the top chefs helming excellent restaurants here are from Malaysia! Another case of the brain drain syndrome ... sigh.

Sometimes, as a Malaysian, I don't know whether to be proud or to be sad ... or both.
gashout
post Aug 10 2023, 07:46 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 10 2023, 04:50 PM)

That’s the bill for today’s lunch… worth every penny

Just a selection of the food on offer today. Lots and lots of caviar and the most juicy Wagyu tenderloin steak this side of town. The langoustine and the blue lobster were delicious - and the first photo, with the pomme de terre, that’s a Les Amis signature.

All in, a good lunch.
They look super good. Glad you and wife enjoyed it. I see they also take pride in decorating their food.

Were you full after the lunch?
TShksgmy
post Aug 10 2023, 07:50 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 10 2023, 07:46 PM)
They look super good. Glad you and wife enjoyed it. I see they also take pride in decorating their food.

Were you full after the lunch?
Yes ... it was a 4 course meal, but we added extras as you can see from the bill (the supplements & the additional "potato caviar" - in actual fact, we added the blue lobster as an extra, but they charged us the cheaper "pomme de terre" since we are regulars. Quite nice of them to do so.
TShksgmy
post Aug 10 2023, 07:53 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

The desserts ... by this time, we were struggling to fit anything else in our tummies.
mesothelium
post Aug 11 2023, 12:35 AM

105 posts

I'm curious what you guys had for dinner after that. Looks like enough to keep you going until tomorrow.

This post has been edited by mesothelium: Aug 11 2023, 12:36 AM
TShksgmy
post Aug 11 2023, 01:11 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(mesothelium @ Aug 11 2023, 12:35 AM)
I'm curious what you guys had for dinner after that. Looks like enough to keep you going until tomorrow.
Haha. I skipped dinner altogether…. Honestly couldn’t fit anything else.
Knnbuccb
post Aug 11 2023, 02:01 AM

118 posts

Tmrw going where. I go drop by for the scraps
gashout
post Aug 11 2023, 03:50 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 10 2023, 07:50 PM)
Yes ... it was a 4 course meal, but we added extras as you can see from the bill (the supplements & the additional "potato caviar" - in actual fact, we added the blue lobster as an extra, but they charged us the cheaper "pomme de terre" since we are regulars. Quite nice of them to do so.
QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 10 2023, 07:53 PM)

The desserts ... by this time, we were struggling to fit anything else in our tummies.
Another beautiful platings by them! Now I can see why you're so full 😁

Maybe I should try and visit one soon, you piqued my interest to try them out 😃

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Aug 11 2023, 02:01 AM)
Tmrw going where. I go drop by for the scraps
😁
TShksgmy
post Aug 11 2023, 06:50 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 11 2023, 03:50 AM)
Another beautiful platings by them! Now I can see why you're so full 😁

Maybe I should try and visit one soon, you piqued my interest to try them out 😃
😁
That’s an excellent idea. Which one and where would you go?
TShksgmy
post Aug 11 2023, 06:52 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 10 2023, 05:12 PM)
aiyoh.... the pricing nowadays with the stars....
so sexpensive

Actually, lunch at Les Amis was a little bit cheaper than at the other 2 similarly starred joints. But like I said, the restaurant did give us a slight discount (the server did anyway) as we are loyal customers, so maybe that made a difference.
gashout
post Aug 11 2023, 07:14 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 11 2023, 06:50 AM)
That’s an excellent idea. Which one and where would you go?
I'm such a noob at this. I see there isn't any Michelin in NZ. Now I am out of choices.

I am heading to Tokyo next month and Malaysia end of the year, let's see if I have time to research where to dine smile.gif
quadcube
post Aug 11 2023, 07:42 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 11 2023, 07:14 AM)
I'm such a noob at this. I see there isn't any Michelin in NZ. Now I am out of choices.

I am heading to Tokyo next month and Malaysia end of the year, let's see if I have time to research where to dine  smile.gif
The ones in Tokyo, unless u have half a day to queue.
Tried some of them…some are worth the queue, but I never went back the 2nd time due to the queue even if they are great laugh.gif
Mavik
post Aug 11 2023, 07:53 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 27 2023, 10:23 AM)
The story behind Michelin is quite interesting, and well, it’s just a thing to try if I’m in Malaysia. Pity the view of the majority here is that it’s not worth the trouble.
Actually to be frank, it is mostly the opinions of some of the folks here in the forum which probably haven't experienced what is means to eat at a Michelin star restaurant as they can't seem to differentiate the diferences between those awarded a star and those were noted in the guide and those with a bib gourmand.

But based on the cuisine that I like eating, so far I have always had a great experience with the food at Burnt Ends in SG.
ccschua
post Aug 11 2023, 08:26 AM

1,630 posts

can anyone share photo shots of derek chin 4 course menu ?
TShksgmy
post Aug 11 2023, 08:28 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 11 2023, 07:14 AM)

I am heading to Tokyo next month and Malaysia end of the year, let's see if I have time to research where to dine  smile.gif
Tokyo has a great choice of Michelin starred restaurants, and some of them aren't even expensive, but yeah, be prepared to queue for HOURS.

There isn't any Michelin items in Australia or New Zealand yet. The closest Australia has the chef's hat system.
rx330
post Aug 11 2023, 10:28 AM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 11 2023, 06:52 AM)
Actually, lunch at Les Amis was a little bit cheaper than at the other 2 similarly starred joints. But like I said, the restaurant did give us a slight discount (the server did anyway) as we are loyal customers, so maybe that made a difference.
next time can I quote you for discount ar tongue.gif tongue.gif
gashout
post Aug 11 2023, 11:16 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Aug 11 2023, 07:42 AM)
The ones in Tokyo, unless u have half a day to queue.
Tried some of them…some are worth the queue, but I never went back the 2nd time due to the queue even if they are great laugh.gif
QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 11 2023, 08:28 AM)
Tokyo has a great choice of Michelin starred restaurants, and some of them aren't even expensive, but yeah, be prepared to queue for HOURS.

There isn't any Michelin items in Australia or New Zealand yet. The closest Australia has the chef's hat system.
Queue for HOURS. If only I am in the mood. Do you have any restaurants to recommend, let me check them out. Staying near Tokyo station.

Thanks a lot in advance.
SUSfuzzy
post Aug 11 2023, 11:27 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 11 2023, 11:16 AM)
Queue for HOURS. If only I am in the mood. Do you have any restaurants to recommend, let me check them out. Staying near Tokyo station.

Thanks a lot in advance.
There's a fair few, but same you want to queue or not.

In Tokyo, there are honestly very little "hidden" gems.

You either book ahead via calls, or use one of the booking sites, else you queue in line.

TShksgmy
post Aug 11 2023, 11:32 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Thanks a lot in advance.
This is the one I tried before: 1 starred - Nakajima Tokyo. It's hidden away in Shinjuku, and incorporates SARDINES smile.gif We loved it.
Knnbuccb
post Aug 11 2023, 12:29 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 10 2023, 06:53 PM)
Actually, I wouldn't be surprised - a LOT of the top chefs helming excellent restaurants here are from Malaysia! Another case of the brain drain syndrome ... sigh.

Sometimes, as a Malaysian, I don't know whether to be proud or to be sad ... or both.
i read the odette top chef right hand man is marehsian also

meanwhile sinkie think marehsian go there sell cai png only
quadcube
post Aug 11 2023, 01:56 PM

1,924 posts

Thanks a lot in advance.
If you fancy queuing, the one that worth the queue IMO is this
https://maps.app.goo.gl/ouGZodB3NzWmiTpk9?g_st=ic

The Dan Dan noodle very delicious, also a must to add the pork topping

If near Tokyo station, do try the tendon at nihonbashi there
https://maps.app.goo.gl/3QR5YvnAThhzLENS8?g_st=ic

If u like pizza, can try pizza studio tamaki or seirinkan, both are great.

Other than that, usually I go for chain ramen shop like Afuri. No crazy queue, can find a couple of the shops around Tokyo.

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 11 2023, 11:32 AM)
This is the one I tried before: 1 starred - Nakajima Tokyo. It's hidden away in Shinjuku, and incorporates SARDINES smile.gif We loved it.
Oh I tried this one, the sardine. Brought my parents there and they were like wut…bring them eat sardine laugh.gif

https://maps.app.goo.gl/5mJuoiEv8n3cVArN7?g_st=ic
hihihehe
post Aug 11 2023, 02:05 PM

13,791 posts

always wanted to try 3 stars when im at overseas but they always need few months prior for booking

wanted to try gordon ramsay restaurant in UK but end up at savoy grill.
tried to book Noma in denmark 3 months before but still full. luckily there are plenty of michelin restaurants in denmark to try with

gashout
post Aug 11 2023, 03:56 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Aug 11 2023, 11:27 AM)
There's a fair few, but same you want to queue or not.

In Tokyo, there are honestly very little "hidden" gems.

You either book ahead via calls, or use one of the booking sites, else you queue in line.
You are such a low-key connoisseur, please share with us your amazing adventure with us in the future smile.gif

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 11 2023, 11:32 AM)
Thanks, have put in my list to go. Will update you if I visit this place.

QUOTE(quadcube @ Aug 11 2023, 01:56 PM)

Other than that, usually I go for chain ramen shop like Afuri. No crazy queue, can find a couple of the shops around Tokyo.
Oh I tried this one, the sardine. Brought my parents there and they were like wut…bring them eat sardine laugh.gif

This is an amazing list. Let me try and visit at least 2 during my trip there.

I am excited now. Thanks so much!
SUSfuzzy
post Aug 11 2023, 04:33 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 11 2023, 03:56 PM)
You are such a low-key connoisseur, please share with us your amazing adventure with us in the future  smile.gif
Thanks, have put in my list to go. Will update you if I visit this place.

For Tokyo, as I assume you are there as tourist, register an account with Omakase and Tablecheck. You pay a bit more, but if there's opening you can get one fast. Else, just ask your concierge for help but more and more restaurants are rejecting those in favour of local patrons so YMMV. Secondly, Omakase will send email for any last minute cancellations so if you are fast, you can secure a spot in some of the 3* Michelins.

Secondly, check out Tabelog, locals use that for food rating and reviews over Google or other sites, so if you want to know what's hot in local scene, there's where you can find out.

For places, on top of those the others already mentioned, maybe can also can check out Fuunji, Tempura Miyashiro, Saito, Sawada, gyukatsu motomura. And ramen wise, I think generally all has been good so I skipped a fair few of the ones that need to queue like crazy.

The only thing I can't comment is that I skipped the non-Japanese food there, so therr might be great restaurants like Joel Rabuchon but I reasoned I don't want to go Japan to eat French food haha.
gashout
post Aug 11 2023, 05:05 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Aug 11 2023, 04:33 PM)
For Tokyo, as I assume you are there as tourist, register an account with Omakase and Tablecheck. You pay a bit more, but if there's opening you can get one fast. Else, just ask your concierge for help but more and more restaurants are rejecting those in favour of local patrons so YMMV. Secondly, Omakase will send email for any last minute cancellations so if you are fast, you can secure a spot in some of the 3* Michelins.

Secondly, check out Tabelog, locals use that for food rating and reviews over Google or other sites, so if you want to know what's hot in local scene, there's where you can find out.

For places, on top of those the others already mentioned, maybe can also can check out Fuunji, Tempura Miyashiro, Saito, Sawada, gyukatsu motomura. And ramen wise, I think generally all has been good so I skipped a fair few of the ones that need to queue like crazy.

The only thing I can't comment is that I skipped the non-Japanese food there, so therr might be great restaurants like Joel Rabuchon but I reasoned I don't want to go Japan to eat French food haha.
Hi fuzzy, it will be a work trip. Michelin formal website links those restaurant to Omakase and Tablecheck. Thanks, will register an account there. You are right, I am also not keen to venture non-Japanese food. Thanks for all the tips, I am spoil for choices now biggrin.gif

SUSfuzzy
post Aug 11 2023, 05:09 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 11 2023, 05:05 PM)
Hi fuzzy, it will be a work trip. Michelin formal website links those restaurant to Omakase and Tablecheck. Thanks, will register an account there. You are right, I am also not keen to venture non-Japanese food. Thanks for all the tips, I am spoil for choices now  biggrin.gif
If your hotel is high end, you can email/call your concierge and see if they can help you book. Smaller ones they don't give a shit, and many just don't want to allow booking without a local number or local person.

So for those hard to get ones, either get your colleagues to help, get the hotel to help, or try your luck on those two sites.

For Omakase, they will email you on the cancellation open spots in damn random time and places get picked out fast so my advice is put in your credit card information ready.

I lost Sushi Saito because I said yes but can't remember my CC num in that couple of minutes haha.
TShksgmy
post Aug 11 2023, 05:34 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Aug 11 2023, 05:09 PM)
If your hotel is high end, you can email/call your concierge and see if they can help you book. Smaller ones they don't give a shit, and many just don't want to allow booking without a local number or local person.

So for those hard to get ones, either get your colleagues to help, get the hotel to help, or try your luck on those two sites.

For Omakase, they will email you on the cancellation open spots in damn random time and places get picked out fast so my advice is put in your credit card information ready.

I lost Sushi Saito because I said yes but can't remember my CC num in that couple of minutes haha.
Haha. That's why I have my AMEX number memorized smile.gif
TShksgmy
post Aug 11 2023, 05:49 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 11 2023, 05:05 PM)
Hi fuzzy, it will be a work trip. Michelin formal website links those restaurant to Omakase and Tablecheck. Thanks, will register an account there. You are right, I am also not keen to venture non-Japanese food. Thanks for all the tips, I am spoil for choices now  biggrin.gif
If you're flying SQ, from NZ to Japan, you could ask for a layover in Singapore - and you could try out one of the Michelin starred places (plenty for you to choose from) before you fly over to Japan smile.gif - just a thought.
icemanfx
post Aug 11 2023, 06:17 PM

21,457 posts

Some credit cards and bank offer concierge service. Their restaurants recommendation is often better than website, at least not biased.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Aug 11 2023, 06:20 PM
SUSfuzzy
post Aug 11 2023, 06:19 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Aug 11 2023, 06:17 PM)
Some credit cards and bank offer concierge service.
Does it work for JPN? Some of the restaurant owners are asshats that won't entertain unless they talk in Japanese etc.

I rely a lot on my local friends to get things done haha.
icemanfx
post Aug 11 2023, 06:40 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Aug 11 2023, 06:19 PM)
Does it work for JPN? Some of the restaurant owners are asshats that won't entertain unless they talk in Japanese etc.

I am happy with the concierge service and recommendations in France, Spain, UK, Australia and Italy but haven't try Japan. With their network, believe shouldn't be issue in Japan.

'best 50 restaurant in the world' hasn't disappointed me so far, is worth exploring.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Aug 11 2023, 06:50 PM
TShksgmy
post Aug 11 2023, 07:45 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Aug 11 2023, 06:40 PM)
I am happy with the concierge service and recommendations in France, Spain, UK, Australia and Italy but haven't try Japan. With their network, believe shouldn't be issue in Japan.

'best 50 restaurant in the world' hasn't disappointed me so far, is worth exploring.
I'm happy just to eat my way through the best 50 restaurants in Asia, much less the world. You're the man!
TShksgmy
post Aug 11 2023, 08:47 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Aug 11 2023, 06:19 PM)

It actually works worldwide bro. thumbsup.gif
gashout
post Aug 12 2023, 05:54 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

I have a few colleagues and close friends in Tokyo, now that you have mentioned, I will definitely get them to help.

Ah damn, lost a sushi spot! If you are free, 16 + 3 digits is pretty easy to remember, can start memorizing biggrin.gif

(Will have many chances to do so, almost go there every year except Covid time).

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 11 2023, 05:49 PM)
If you're flying SQ, from NZ to Japan, you could ask for a layover in Singapore - and you could try out one of the Michelin starred places (plenty for you to choose from) before you fly over to Japan smile.gif - just a thought.
I am, but all itinerary has been set. I will only stopover for 2 hours and it's night. Return flight stopover will also be wee hours of the morning and a short period. Will keep that in mind, thanks.

TShksgmy
post Aug 12 2023, 05:57 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 12 2023, 05:54 AM)
I have a few colleagues and close friends in Tokyo, now that you have mentioned, I will definitely get them to help.

Ah damn, lost a sushi spot! If you are free, 16 + 3 digits is pretty easy to remember, can start memorizing  biggrin.gif 

(Will have many chances to do so, almost go there every year except Covid time).
I am, but all itinerary has been set. I will only stopover for 2 hours and it's night. Return flight stopover will also be wee hours of the morning and a short period. Will keep that in mind, thanks.
That’s a shame. The cost of a ticket from NZ to SG with a few days in SG to Tokyo is about the same for a tix from NZ to Tokyo with a 2 hour layover in SG - same sector.
gashout
post Aug 12 2023, 06:08 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 12 2023, 05:57 AM)
That’s a shame. The cost of a ticket from NZ to SG with a few days in SG to Tokyo is about the same for a tix from NZ to Tokyo with a 2 hour layover in SG - same sector.
You are right. I have never thought of that, I usually don't think much about stop over. Will do better planning next time.

Will try a longer stopover when coming back to Malaysia - I do need to meet someone in Sg as well

Good morning doc smile.gif
quadcube
post Aug 12 2023, 11:57 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 11 2023, 03:56 PM)

no probs, although can't help much on the japanese food section part near tokyo station.
most of the time if I'm in tokyo, I end up eating Malaysian/SEA food instead of Japanese food laugh.gif laugh.gif they have much better asian restaurant than Ishikawa where I live.

another nice one to try near tokyo station, kaisendon near tokyo station..but also long queue (~1 hr), so probably u want to go at odd-hours
https://goo.gl/maps/S2xp6n3H5brAb13W7

will also be in Tokyo next month on the 8th for a bbq party, if that weekend coincide with your trip, can grab a meal/drink if you are free icon_idea.gif
gashout
post Aug 12 2023, 12:09 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Aug 12 2023, 11:57 AM)
no probs, although can't help much on the japanese food section part near tokyo station.
most of the time if I'm in tokyo, I end up eating Malaysian/SEA food instead of Japanese food laugh.gif  laugh.gif they have much better asian restaurant than Ishikawa where I live.

another nice one to try near tokyo station, kaisendon near tokyo station..but also long queue (~1 hr), so probably u want to go at odd-hours
https://goo.gl/maps/S2xp6n3H5brAb13W7

will also be in Tokyo next month on the 8th for a bbq party, if that weekend coincide with your trip, can grab a meal/drink if you are free icon_idea.gif
Thanks, I have added it to my list.

Your party sounds delicious. I will only land on the 16th for a week. Can meet for sure if you are still around. nod.gif
quadcube
post Aug 19 2023, 11:11 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 12 2023, 12:09 PM)
Thanks, I have added it to my list.

Your party sounds delicious. I will only land on the 16th for a week. Can meet for sure if you are still around.  nod.gif
ah too bad. will only be in tokyo from 8th to either 9/10th. next time laugh.gif do enjoy your trip!
gashout
post Aug 20 2023, 11:25 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Aug 19 2023, 11:11 PM)
ah too bad. will only be in tokyo from 8th to either 9/10th. next time laugh.gif do enjoy your trip!
Thanks, next time yup thumbsup.gif Enjoy your BBQ drool.gif
TShksgmy
post Aug 29 2023, 04:18 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Aug 19 2023, 11:11 PM)
QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 20 2023, 11:25 AM)
Thanks, next time yup thumbsup.gif  Enjoy your BBQ  drool.gif
Enjoy Japan, both of you. And post some photos of the excellent food here if you have a chance!

Wife and I, together with another couple, are due back at Les Amis in a few days’ time (yes, that’s how much she loves the food there), so I’ll update some photos if I can too!

Happy eating everyone! Itadakimas!
gashout
post Aug 29 2023, 11:23 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 29 2023, 04:18 AM)
Enjoy Japan, both of you. And post some photos of the excellent food here if you have a chance!

Wife and I, together with another couple, are due back at Les Amis in a few days’ time (yes, that’s how much she loves the food there), so I’ll update some photos if I can too!

Hi Doc, wow, another round of Les Amis where there are 8 others 2-3 stars restaurants in Singapore. Enjoy!

Will take more photos, so excited for the upcoming trip rclxm9.gif
TShksgmy
post Aug 29 2023, 11:32 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 29 2023, 11:23 AM)
Hi Doc, wow, another round of Les Amis where there are 8 others 2-3 stars restaurants in Singapore. Enjoy!

Will take more photos, so excited for the upcoming trip  rclxm9.gif
Yes, our friends are celebrating their birthdays, so I thought we'd bring them to our favourite 3-star restaurant in Singapore smile.gif

I'll slowly eat my way through the other starred restaurants ... I've been trying to get a table at Burnt Ends, but it's super booked out all the time, sadly.
trojandude
post Aug 29 2023, 11:57 AM

117 posts

Great thread. Thought I'll chime in a little. I don't have the details since memory has faded, but I'll share my experience

CUT by Wolfgang Puck (Michelin 1 star)
- Love the environment here. It's dimly lit which sets in the mood.
- I ordered steak medium rare. It was wonderfully charred and extremely tender. Slightly on the saltier side, which is what I like
- Plates were heated too so the meat stayed warm. 8/10 for me
- Girl ordered pork chop. Very soft and tender. Softer than my steak IIRC. 8.5/10. I thought the pork was better than the steak

Candlenut (Michelin 1 star)
- Nyonya cuisine. Avoid at all costs. The taste is unimpressive. As a nyonya, I'm sorely disappointed. You can find much better nyonya food in simple restaurants around Malaysia.
- What I could recall was the imbalance of taste. Some dishes were overly sour and some were too sweet.
- The dessert was disappointing. As you can see, I can't even recall how it tasted like.

Since you're looking for Michelin stars in Malaysia, this isn't one, but Kebaya Dining in Penang is actually quite decent for Nyonya cuisine. It's somewhat fine-dining ish. The creamy curry prawns were absolutely amazing. One of the best.

I have more adventures on Michelin stared restaurants around LA, NY and SF. I shall update some other time.

This post has been edited by trojandude: Aug 29 2023, 12:03 PM
TShksgmy
post Aug 29 2023, 12:43 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(trojandude @ Aug 29 2023, 11:57 AM)
Great thread. Thought I'll chime in a little. I don't have the details since memory has faded, but I'll share my experience

CUT by Wolfgang Puck  (Michelin 1 star)
- I ordered steak medium rare. It was wonderfully charred and extremely tender. Slightly on the saltier side, which is what I like
- Girl ordered pork chop. Very soft and tender. Softer than my steak IIRC. 8.5/10. I thought the pork was better than the steak

Candlenut (Michelin 1 star)
- Nyonya cuisine. Avoid at all costs. The taste is unimpressive. As a nyonya, I'm sorely disappointed. You can find much better nyonya food in simple restaurants around Malaysia.
- What I could recall was the imbalance of taste. Some dishes were overly sour and some were too sweet.
- The dessert was disappointing. As you can see, I can't even recall how it tasted like.

Since you're looking for Michelin stars in Malaysia, this isn't one, but Kebaya Dining in Penang is actually quite decent for Nyonya cuisine. It's somewhat fine-dining ish. The creamy curry prawns were absolutely amazing. One of the best.

I have more adventures on Michelin stared restaurants around LA, NY and SF. I shall update some other time.
Thanks so much for your insights! Yes - I've been to Cut @ MBS - it is very good, granted - but because I make a mean steak myself, it wasn't something that we would crave...

I've never tried Candlenut, but honestly, if comparing nyonya cuisine, I'd take the stuff I can get from Melaka or Penang anytime over anything Singapore has to offer!

and yes, please share your experiences with all of us in this thread! thumbup.gif
Mavik
post Aug 29 2023, 01:05 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 29 2023, 11:32 AM)
Yes, our friends are celebrating their birthdays, so I thought we'd bring them to our favourite 3-star restaurant in Singapore smile.gif

I'll slowly eat my way through the other starred restaurants ... I've been trying to get a table at Burnt Ends, but it's super booked out all the time, sadly.
The only two times I managed to eat at Burnt Ends without reservations was by going there around 5pm and sitting outside. It was actually more convenient for me because I was going to catch a flight later and it was just me so they actually layan me haha
gashout
post Aug 29 2023, 03:53 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

it's a larger crowd this time, of course, always go to the restaurant you are familiar with and love their food.

will wait for you to tick off all michelin starred restaurants in Singapore biggrin.gif
RonanGow
post Aug 29 2023, 03:55 PM

302 posts

Klang is in SELANGOR not Kuala Lumpur of course klang bkt not in the list
sagethesausage
post Aug 29 2023, 05:34 PM

657 posts

Just curious, 3 star fine dining in Singapore need to tip or not?
TShksgmy
post Aug 29 2023, 06:29 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(sagethesausage @ Aug 29 2023, 05:34 PM)
Just curious, 3 star fine dining in Singapore need to tip or not?
We are quite well acquainted with the service staff at Les Amis, so we usually leave tips for our favourite ones. Usually $50 per person is an acceptable amount, but there's no shame if you don't leave anything, since there's already a service charge included.
Ramjade
post Aug 30 2023, 08:05 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 27 2023, 07:39 AM)
Now that the Michelin Guide has come to Malaysia, I was wondering if fellow foodies have any good recommendations for my wife and I to try? We might be thinking of squeezing in a trip to Malaysia to visit some relatives after we return to Singapore from Sydney in November.

There are no Michelin-starred restaurants in Sydney, the closest thing to one they have is the "hats" award system, and we particularly like one, called Tetsuya's, in Sydney CBD. They actually have a branch in Singapore, called Waku Ghin (2 Michelin stars).

The above is Tetsuya's signature ocean trout - a mainstay of the restaurant and the primary reason (in addition to its unbelievably fresh oysters) that we keep going back.

In Singapore, we've done all the 3 starred ones - Les Amis, Odette & Zen.

Les Amis was the granddaddy of them all, and we've been fans of that since even before Michelin came to Singapore. We watched it grow from good, to 2-star good, to finally 3-star expensive good. The last we went was in April last year, when I took my family members from UK & Australia who were visiting after the COVID restrictions were lifted. We're due to head back again next week.

Odette was a relatively new place we tried out - we were attracted to it because it ranked 6th best restaurant in the whole of Asia, and walked away with nothing but superb impressions of the service, the attention to detail and of course, the food, especially their signature rosemary onsen egg. We will definitely be back for seconds. I found it funny that they would print the bill with the date represented the American way... but, it's their restaurant, so it's their rules...

And finally, Zen - it was ranked amongst the top 50 restaurants in Asia, and since we'd already done 2 out of the 3 Michelin 3-starred joints, we thought, why the hell not. So, last week, we tried Zen. I have to say, it was different. Whilst Les Amis and Odette was French/Japanese fusion, Zen was more Scandinavian and I guess our palates preferred the former presentation (which, incidentally, was also Tetsuya's motif). It's still an excellent, excellent experience spread over 3 levels of dining, but it may be a while again before we think we would revisit.

I like the way the bill is presented though, haha...

So, if any of you have any good suggestions for Malaysian Michelin starred fine dining restaurants, we'd be grateful to hear about your experiences.

Thanks in advance!
Don't bother about what star nonsense. You want good food, go to the morning market and buy those hot piping food from the hawkers. Lots of market in Penang selling good food. One example is jelutong market.

Cons no star rated food, no Aircon, crowded, noisy.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 30 2023, 08:07 AM
Mavik
post Aug 30 2023, 08:17 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 30 2023, 08:05 AM)
Don't bother about what star nonsense. You want good food, go to the morning market and buy those hot piping food from the hawkers. Lots of market in Penang selling good food. One example is jelutong market.

We all need a little variety and spoiling ourselves once in a while. Hawkers have a place in the world of food and having variety as well as the ability to try out from all types of food, from street food to hawkers to 3-star restaurants, that is what enjoying life is about. As this thread is specifcally to talk about Michelin starred restaurants, let's keep to the topic at hand. Which has been your favourite Michelin starred restaurant or perhaps one that is in their bib gourmand list?
rx330
post Aug 30 2023, 10:37 AM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 29 2023, 04:18 AM)

nowadays how early in advance booking Is needed for les amis?

burnt ends everyone is raving about it, really so good ar
TShksgmy
post Aug 30 2023, 10:45 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 30 2023, 10:37 AM)
nowadays how early in advance booking Is needed for les amis?

burnt ends everyone is raving about it, really so good ar
Surprisingly, Les Amis usually have 1 or 2 spots available - but we usually book at least a couple of weeks in advance.

The difficult ones to get are the newer 3 starred items - Odette and Zen, and of course, Burnt Ends. I might just try Mavik's suggestion and do a walk in and try my luck.
carloz28
post Aug 30 2023, 11:45 AM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

This is fckin ace
ClericKilla
post Aug 30 2023, 03:26 PM

1,789 posts

Lol Ramjade and his cheapskate mentality, people got money let them spend la.. kpkb for what..

2018 also want to school people on how to use cc, now people also drive porsche taycan liao lo cc furuku89
icemanfx
post Aug 30 2023, 04:08 PM

21,457 posts

Comparing hawkers with michelin star restaurant is like comparing myvi and ferrari. myvi could get you from a to b like hawker food from one meal to next but the difference is the experience, engineering, quality of ingredients, method of preparation, etc. If one satisfied with myvi is unlikely to appreciate craftmanship of ferrari.

TShksgmy
post Aug 31 2023, 07:50 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(trojandude @ Aug 29 2023, 11:57 AM)

CUT by Wolfgang Puck  (Michelin 1 star)

Just to add a little anecdote regarding CUT at MBS (Marina Bay Sands), as a Porsche driver, I used to get free parking for 6 hours at MBS, but that ended last December when Porsche Germany took back the franchise from the local Singapore dealership.

The loss of free parking might also be a contributing factor to why we stopped visiting Cut or Waku Ghin (2 stars) at MBS.

My last visit there, I even took a photo - no, not of the steaks, but - of the free valet ticket hahaha:

TShksgmy
post Aug 31 2023, 12:49 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

For tonight’s dinner, I casually mentioned that I would be bring my guests to celebrate their birthdays and Les Amis just sent me this reply in the email:

I gotta say, I’m very pleased with their thoughtfulness and attention to the small details. I am looking forward to another delicious and decadent dinner tonight:)
TShksgmy
post Sep 1 2023, 12:01 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

We just got back from another sumptuous dinner, and I won’t bother repeating the same dishes as what wifey and I had a few weeks back, but here are some new ones we had tonight;

The angel hair pasta with truffles and caviar - it’s a perennial favourite of ours, and the chef made it off menu because all 4 of us were hankering for it.

Line caught sea bass with French mussels

French egg with caviar

Warm strawberry dessert

And more of our all time classic favourites - the wagyu beef

And the langoustine

Of course, the bill…

Good things don’t come cheap…

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Sep 1 2023, 12:05 AM
gashout
post Sep 1 2023, 05:07 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

Another stunning deco. Look at those ingredients: caviar, truffle, lobster, wagyu, seabass. They don't come cheap.

And the meet up was priceless I bet 😬
TShksgmy
post Sep 1 2023, 07:06 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 1 2023, 05:07 AM)
Another stunning deco. Look at those ingredients: caviar, truffle, lobster, wagyu, seabass. They don't come cheap.

And the meet up was priceless I bet 😬
He’s my friend from primary school and the best thing is both his wife and mine can get along famously - I reckon in order for husbands to hang out, their wives need to be friends with each other too hahaha.

Not always your primary school friends grow up to be adult pals! Even rarer that both of us ended up in Singapore.

We do this at least once a year, no matter how busy life gets. And we take turns with the bill. This year’s was my turn. They were the ones that recommended and introduced us to Les Amis many many years ago hahaha.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Sep 1 2023, 07:33 AM
rx330
post Sep 1 2023, 10:13 AM

11,811 posts

yes... tat angel hair dish is really nice
TShksgmy
post Sep 1 2023, 10:16 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 1 2023, 10:13 AM)
yes... tat angel hair dish is really nice
Haha. I knew you would recognise that dish, bro!
rx330
post Sep 1 2023, 10:44 AM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 1 2023, 10:16 AM)
Haha. I knew you would recognise that dish, bro!
but damn it... 95 sgd per portion......
seriously don't think I can afford Les Amis prices now sad.gif
TShksgmy
post Sep 1 2023, 11:10 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 1 2023, 10:44 AM)
but damn it... 95 sgd per portion......
seriously don't think I can afford Les Amis prices now  sad.gif
The 3 stars also meant a significant shift in the prices of their offerings, sadly. Thankfully the quality is still there
rx330
post Sep 1 2023, 11:42 AM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 1 2023, 11:10 AM)
The 3 stars also meant a significant shift in the prices of their offerings, sadly. Thankfully the quality is still there
damn the stars...

guide keluar only, nice food all become not worth it dy
gashout
post Sep 1 2023, 01:02 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 1 2023, 07:06 AM)
He’s my friend from primary school and the best thing is both his wife and mine can get along famously - I reckon in order for husbands to hang out, their wives need to be friends with each other too hahaha.

Not always your primary school friends grow up to be adult pals! Even rarer that both of us ended up in Singapore.

We do this at least once a year, no matter how busy life gets. And we take turns with the bill. This year’s was my turn. They were the ones that recommended and introduced us to Les Amis many many years ago hahaha.
good friends are hard to find

good old friends are harder to find

good old friends where wife gets along are like searching for a needle in a hay stack

catching up is always a nice thing! thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by gashout: Sep 1 2023, 01:03 PM
icemanfx
post Sep 1 2023, 01:46 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 1 2023, 01:02 PM)
good friends are hard to find

good old friends are harder to find

good old friends where wife gets along are like searching for a needle in a hay stack

catching up is always a nice thing!  :thumbsup:
Both need to be in the same social level/circle.
TShksgmy
post Sep 1 2023, 01:47 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 1 2023, 01:46 PM)
Both need to be in the same social level/circle.
True to a certain extent - gives us more things to connect on.
icemanfx
post Sep 1 2023, 01:48 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 1 2023, 12:01 AM)
Of course, the bill…
Good things don’t come cheap…

Quality ingredients could hardly go wrong except with bad chef or chef in bad mood.

gashout
post Sep 25 2023, 04:06 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Aug 11 2023, 01:56 PM)

On plane flying back to Auckland. An update on the food I've been eating.

Nakajima Michelin 1 star was nice. Professional and the atmosphere was good too. However seeing a lady, they only gave us half a bowl of rice while others got a full bowl. Still good overall.

My favorite and best noodle so far is sobahouse Michelin 1 star. The broth is top class.

Tsujihan is not Michelin rated but it's GOOD. So good I ate twice..

Ikinari steak was super delicious. Not michelin. I could eat twice but couldn't stand my clothes ended up with sizzling smell so didn't go there again.

Now the not so nice:

The over rated one is fuunji. Long queue as well. When he asked if we wanted large size we said sure. And he got a shock and gave us normal size. Noodle was half cooked. The whole experience was bad.

Gyukatsu non Michelin which has a rating of 4.7-4.8/5 on Google. Seems like a must try. long queue but I think overrated too. Around 2k yen to sizzle some non flavored beef and the coating wasn't crispy. Ikinari wins.

Will post some photos once I settle my work stuff. The attached is tsujihan which I could eat every week if I live there 😁 sorry ts for spamming some non Michelin places as well.

This post has been edited by gashout: Sep 25 2023, 04:06 PM

TShksgmy
post Sep 25 2023, 04:13 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Thank you for your update! I’m glad you enjoyed it!! Yes pls. Spam us with more photos when you have time!
quadcube
post Sep 25 2023, 04:50 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 25 2023, 04:06 PM)
On plane flying back to Auckland. An update on the food I've been eating.

Nakajima Michelin 1 star was nice. Professional and the atmosphere was good too. However seeing a lady, they only gave us half a bowl of rice while others got a full bowl. Still good overall.

My favorite and best noodle so far is sobahouse Michelin 1 star. The broth is top class.

Tsujihan is not Michelin rated but it's GOOD. So good I ate twice..

Ikinari steak was super delicious. Not michelin. I could eat twice but couldn't stand my clothes ended up with sizzling smell so didn't go there again. 

Now the not so nice:

The over rated one is fuunji. Long queue as well. When he asked if we wanted large size we said sure. And he got a shock and gave us normal size. Noodle was half cooked. The whole experience was bad.

Gyukatsu non Michelin which has a rating of 4.7-4.8/5 on Google. Seems like a must try. long queue but I think overrated too. Around 2k yen to sizzle some non flavored beef and the coating wasn't crispy. Ikinari wins.

Will post some photos once I settle my work stuff. The attached is tsujihan which I could eat every week if I live there 😁 sorry ts for spamming some non Michelin places as well.
Glad you enjoyed your trip! biggrin.gif

For Nakajima, I brought my parents there for lunch and they were like wtf, why i bring them eat sardine laugh.gif

Haven't tried sobahouse before but will put it into my to-try list

glad you liked it, how was the queue? laugh.gif

ikinari steak is cheap and good, but i haven't eat it in a very long time, at least 3-4 years. although I'm slightly surprised about the gyukatsu experience, but after some thought, yea, it's not as flavoured as the ikinari steak..there's like soy sauce, wasabi, salt and something else to marinate the meat but it won't be as strong tasting as ikinari in anyway
gashout
post Sep 25 2023, 05:59 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Sep 25 2023, 04:50 PM)
Glad you enjoyed your trip! biggrin.gif

For Nakajima, I brought my parents there for lunch and they were like wtf, why i bring them eat sardine laugh.gif

Haven't tried sobahouse before but will put it into my to-try list

glad you liked it, how was the queue? laugh.gif

ikinari steak is cheap and good, but i haven't eat it in a very long time, at least 3-4 years. although I'm slightly surprised about the gyukatsu experience, but after some thought, yea, it's not as flavoured as the ikinari steak..there's like soy sauce, wasabi, salt and something else to marinate the meat but it won't be as strong tasting as ikinari in anyway
Sobahouse has a ticketing system. According to hour. But still need to queue. Worth going to 🙂

My overall trip has been queuing. Which made the food much more delicious 😅

SUSfuzzy
post Sep 25 2023, 08:23 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

I genuinely skipped most of the 'named' places due to the queue and just go around some random ramen places which is almost equally as good.

The queue system is crazy especially compounded with the kiasu visitors from all corners of the world.
Dark Lord
post Sep 27 2023, 12:53 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 25 2023, 05:59 PM)
Sobahouse has a ticketing system. According to hour. But still need to queue. Worth going to 🙂

My overall trip has been queuing. Which made the food much more delicious 😅
It is fine if you want to try a few really famous one, usually recommended by some magazines or articles.
Which mean, everyone will go there so you will need to queue.

But the really good ones are the traditional restaurants. Those are what the normal Japanese usually eat. A lot of them have long history.
Usually no need to queue, unless it is really cheap, and it is lunch or dinner time.
But it can be hard to find. You need to walk the area slowly and discover them yourself.
You probably are able to find them in google map, unless it is so hidden. laugh.gif

Not only in Japan, I like to do this during traveling to discover these hidden gems.
A lot of those in the magazines are overrated, imo. laugh.gif

mesothelium
post Oct 5 2023, 05:17 PM

105 posts

Back in Bangkok after a year and my first meal was a comforting bowl of shoyu soba from the Centralworld outpost of Tsuta Soba Noodles. The warm noodles in the light and comforting broth was a pleasant welcome back to the city.

TShksgmy
post Oct 5 2023, 05:18 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

That looks absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing!
gashout
post Oct 7 2023, 03:46 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

Sobahouse in Tokyo. 1 Michelin.

The best noodle I've eaten in Tokyo.

The broth is like animal bones been cooked for days. Just delicious

They'd recommend some salt broth as the most popular. Don't get that, get the animal bones broth.

Go early to get a ticket then queue. You need to get ticket and queue. The seating are by hours. 10 to 11. 11 to 12.

1250 yen. Worth every yen spent.

Nice area to walk too, nearby can see many western fast food places like domino's kfc mcd mos burger which was interesting . Nearby has garden but need to pay.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
gashout
post Oct 7 2023, 03:54 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

Nakajima. 1 Michelin star

First day landed went to try the famous sardine meal mentioned here.

Queue isn't long if you queue 10 ish. Restaurant opens at 11.

Theyve the counter table and some private rooms. But if you miss the first round expect to wait till they finish eating.

Very organized. The cashier auntie managed the flow of the place while 4 to 5 people are at the kitchen.

As a woman, my rice got halved. It was still good. When I finished, I felt I could eat more.

990 yen. Worth a try.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TShksgmy
post Oct 7 2023, 06:35 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Excellent posts and equally wonderful review! Thank you so much!
TShksgmy
post Nov 1 2023, 09:14 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

PSA: Just in case anyone will be in Singapore 16-18 November.. unfortunately I won’t be in the country, so I have to miss out.
TShksgmy
post Nov 26 2023, 01:02 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Back to our favorite 3 starred joint in Singapore:

It’s gonna be a caviar overload today….
TShksgmy
post Nov 26 2023, 01:25 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

These are the starters…caviar caviar caviar
TShksgmy
post Nov 26 2023, 01:47 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

TShksgmy
post Nov 26 2023, 02:23 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

The scallop was a new dish… with truffle julienne… when they presented the dish, the whole table was enveloped in the truffles’ aroma!
TShksgmy
post Nov 26 2023, 03:37 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

A thoroughly enjoyable lunch. Filled to the brim and bursting at the seams.
Mavik
post Nov 27 2023, 02:33 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Managed to try out Au Jarin (1-star) in Penang a couple of weeks back. Overall, enjoyed the meal, wife was happy that we had the chef's table. Great experience and service.

Enjoyed the bread and the unique butter a lot!

Oysters from Penang!

This post has been edited by Mavik: Nov 27 2023, 02:34 PM
Mavik
post Nov 27 2023, 02:34 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Continuation

Overall, bill came to about RM1.6k for two which included a bottle of wine.
TShksgmy
post Dec 7 2023, 04:15 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Congratulations to Dewakan! The first Malaysian restaurant awarded 2 Michelin stars in Malaysia!

Definitely on my to eat list when I head home.
SUSfuzzy
post Dec 7 2023, 04:52 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Dec 7 2023, 04:15 PM)
Congratulations to Dewakan! The first Malaysian restaurant awarded 2 Michelin stars in Malaysia!

Definitely on my to eat list when I head home.
It was worth it when I went, back before michelin came in. You should try Beta KL as well, newly minted 1 star. I'm slightly disappointed in DC, but its a 1 star la to be fair.

I'm surprised though, as I would have assume Nadodi might have got it over the rest.

This post has been edited by fuzzy: Dec 7 2023, 04:53 PM
TShksgmy
post Jan 11 2024, 08:45 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Another update ... just visited Cut by Wolfgang Puck (1 Michelin Star) at Marina Bay Sands. First visit since COVID put a stop to our usual dinners there. Food was excellent, although the presentation was a little bland, but the music has become even louder than I remembered, and towards the end, my ears were crying out for a little bit of silence. Didn't stay for dessert.

We ordered 4 starters to share, and 2 portions of the Japanese Wagyu fillet mignon.

The Hamachi & Scallop ceviche was an excellent start to the meal. The produce was fresh to a fault and so sweet and juicy

Our perennial favourite, the Blue Crab cake. The appearance's changed from our last visit (pre-COVID) - it used to be flatter, but this version's pretty good too: packed to the rafters with fresh crab meat

King Crab with cheese & caviar. Admittedly, not the restaurant's best starter dish. The crab meat was done well and fresh as expected, and the caviar was tasty (well, all caviar is), but the cheese was somewhat sweet and the flavours didn't quite gel together as much as I'd like. I'd probably give this one a miss on our next visit.

Bone marrow with a forest's worth of truffle - shaved and sliced. This was delicious. I wish they offered more of the bread to go with the flan, mushroom marmalade and the delicious marrow.

And the piece de resistance: Japanese full blooded wagyu fillet mignon, Sendai Prefecture 170g. It was $250 per piece and worth every penny.

Of course, the painful bit is when the bill comes a-calling, but what the heck, YOLO.

I'll try to book a table at Waku Ghin next ... it's by the same chef that we like, Tetsuya, in his eponymously named restaurant in Sydney. Will update the experience accordingly.
TShksgmy
post Jan 18 2024, 08:45 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Today, another date night with wifey. We will be eating at Waku Ghin. Will post updates smile.gif
SUSMookKai
post Jan 18 2024, 09:13 AM

20 posts

I don't think a single Michelin star was awarded to any place in Malaysia. The most was just the bib gourmand.
TShksgmy
post Jan 18 2024, 09:20 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(MookKai @ Jan 18 2024, 09:13 AM)
I don't think a single Michelin star was awarded to any place in Malaysia. The most was just the bib gourmand.
Actually, there are FIVE!

Dewakan is the only one with 2 stars
SUSMookKai
post Jan 18 2024, 10:31 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jan 18 2024, 09:20 AM)
Actually, there are FIVE!

Dewakan is the only one with 2 stars
Oh, I stand corrected. After looking a bit into their menu, I would really like to try Au Jardin. But that is just personal preference based solely on the menu. Dewakan don't post their menu up, but plenty of ppl do on their Google Maps.
TShksgmy
post Jan 18 2024, 11:13 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(MookKai @ Jan 18 2024, 10:31 AM)
Oh, I stand corrected. After looking a bit into their menu, I would really like to try Au Jardin. But that is just personal preference based solely on the menu. Dewakan don't post their menu up, but plenty of ppl do on their Google Maps.
I'm actually very very super keen to make a foodie tour of the Michelin starred restaurants in Malaysia - right now, it only has 5, so the "clean sweep" is really something that I can foresee myself completing.

Singapore has nearly 50 such restaurants, so I don't think I can visit all of them ...
Mavik
post Jan 18 2024, 11:33 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(MookKai @ Jan 18 2024, 10:31 AM)
I went to Au Jardin last year, thoroughly enjoyed the food there especially together with a nice pairing bottle of wine. If you enjoy seeing the chefs make the dishes, I would recommend that you get a seat at the counter facing the chefs. If you prefer a more private experience, then opt for the tables instead.

TShksgmy
post Jan 18 2024, 05:35 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Dinner time!
TShksgmy
post Jan 18 2024, 06:04 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

The amuse bouche is served… this is a twist on the typical chawanmushi.

Instead of egg, they used steamed custard - and a whole lot of caviar… the umami explosion was mind blowing

Chutoro carpaccio with sesame salad. Every single piece just melted in the mouth. Amazing start.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jan 18 2024, 06:27 PM
TShksgmy
post Jan 18 2024, 06:13 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

The Singapore signature. Marinated Botan shrimp with another caviar bomb on a freshly cracked sea durian, I mean, see urchin.
TShksgmy
post Jan 18 2024, 06:23 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

More caviar but this is smothered by overly generous shavings of black truffle on an onsen egg
TShksgmy
post Jan 18 2024, 06:41 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Braised lobster in shellfish stock - which was perfectly done. The meat wasn’t rubbery at all and retained all the flavour of the ocean.
TShksgmy
post Jan 18 2024, 06:55 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Tenderloin cut of beef with Japanese wasabi sauce. This was the first “ordinary” dish we’ve tasted so far. Not the same standard as the Omi Wagyu of Les Amis or the Sendai Wagyu we had last week at Wolfgang Puck’s Cut.
TShksgmy
post Jan 18 2024, 07:00 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Now for a bit of carbohydrates… Japanese ochazuke in chicken consommé. Simple but delicious
TShksgmy
post Jan 18 2024, 07:17 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Dessert is served. Japanese strawberries with lychee ice shavings and a dollop of coconut gelato
TShksgmy
post Jan 18 2024, 07:24 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Wifey’s dessert had a slightly different twist - Japanese musk melon instead of strawberries. Sheesh. I should have ordered that instead. So juicy and sweet.
TShksgmy
post Jan 18 2024, 07:38 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

The most difficult thing to swallow ….

Hahaha. But it was an excellent dinner. Well worth the money.
TShksgmy
post Jan 19 2024, 03:49 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

We've actually booked the Chef's table at Waku Ghin in early February. Will update here as to what the experience is like smile.gif
TShksgmy
post Jan 25 2024, 04:20 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Tried the 1 Michelin star Candlenut Peranakan restaurant with a visiting classmate and his family yesterday.

TShksgmy
post Jan 25 2024, 04:35 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

I have to admit, it wasn’t too bad, although if it were up to me, I’d probably not have tried Peranakan fine dining as my first choice. Having said that, I’m glad they picked the venue, and I was merely in charge of picking up the tab:

The starters were excellent - the Kueh Pie Tee had Boston lobster instead of the usual boiled shrimp, the roti jala was served with an exquisite wagyu beef short rib curry and the whimsical mee siam cubes exploded with umami from the clever use of Sakura shrimp, ebi roe and Unagi.

The chicken satay was well, chicken satay.

Then came the most delicious bowl of fish maw soup I’ve tasted in a while - the portion of ‘fa gao’ was generous and the soup broth was flavour packed without the usual telltale signs of MSG.

Followed by 5 sharing dishes that was rather heavy on curry and coconut theme, before finishing with dessert that all of us struggled to fit into our bursting bellies.

Deserving of its 1 star status for sure, but probably wouldn’t do it again, not because it wasn’t tasty, but because after the umpteenth variation of curry and rempah and coconut, once is more than enough for a long while.

gashout
post Jan 25 2024, 12:09 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jan 25 2024, 04:35 AM)
Having said that, I’m glad they picked the venue, and I was merely in charge of picking up the tab:

wah, i don't have a friend who does that ... biggrin.gif

yes, the best question to if a restaurant is nice is : will you go back again.

TShksgmy
post Jan 25 2024, 12:22 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Jan 25 2024, 12:09 PM)
wah, i don't have a friend who does that ...  biggrin.gif

Well, we’ve known each other since Uni. He’s a friend and a colleague on a conference visit and he brought his family along. Our wives get on famously and it was a good opportunity to catch up.

yes, the best question to if a restaurant is nice is : will you go back again.
To be fair, I wouldn’t say never again. Just not immediately anytime soon.

This contrasts with Waku Ghin - we made a separate reservation immediately for the next available chef’s table on the spot.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jan 25 2024, 04:33 PM
TShksgmy
post Jan 28 2024, 08:42 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Wife and I will be trying out Wakuda - apparently it’s the “more affordable” cousin to Waku Ghin (run by the same chef) - later today. We’ll compare and contrast this with our Waku Ghin experience last week as well as the one we’ve booked for this coming Thursday.

Excited.
chromatino_hex
post Jan 28 2024, 12:11 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jan 28 2024, 08:42 AM)
Wife and I will be trying out Wakuda - apparently it’s the “more affordable” cousin to Waku Ghin (run by the same chef) - later today. We’ll compare and contrast this with our Waku Ghin experience last week as well as the one we’ve booked for this coming Thursday.

Excited.
your wife also doctor?
chromatino_hex
post Jan 28 2024, 12:12 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jan 28 2024, 08:42 AM)

Excited.
Wakuda average only. tried it before.

To be honest, most Michelin-starred restaurants in Malaysia do not deliver the gastronomic experience that their stars suggest.

This post has been edited by chromatino_hex: Jan 28 2024, 12:15 PM
TShksgmy
post Jan 28 2024, 12:29 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(chromatino_hex @ Jan 28 2024, 12:12 PM)
Wakuda average only. tried it before.

To be honest, most Michelin-starred restaurants in Malaysia do not deliver the gastronomic experience that their stars suggest.
Oh… damn. That’ll be a bummer. We just made our orders so will report back soon. Hopefully they’ve upped the game since you last tried it!
TShksgmy
post Jan 28 2024, 12:30 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(chromatino_hex @ Jan 28 2024, 12:11 PM)
your wife also doctor?
No, she’s a chartered accountant (opted for early retirement as of last year, so I have to bring home the proverbial bacon until I call it a day within the next couple of years myself - aiming for early retirement before 55 as well)
TShksgmy
post Jan 28 2024, 01:03 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Seated for lunch, and we ordered 2 set lunches and as usual, topped up with their signature offerings.

A selection of starters - the chawanmushi with caviar is similar to the one we had at Waku Ghin last week but to be honest, it’s not the same quality and the custard wasn’t as silky smooth, and the umami of the caviar wasn’t as intense

Spider temaki - a whole soft shell crab, and the first of the signature starters - Wakuda Uni with Botan shrimp and a mountain of caviar in the next photo, followed by the second signature: Kyoto tofu with Uni and caviar and dashi stock/jelly.

So far so good… it better be, cause the Wakuda signature was $88 a piece!!

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jan 28 2024, 01:31 PM
TShksgmy
post Jan 28 2024, 01:29 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

The mains was Wagyu Don. Melt in mouth goodness. Not bad at all.

TShksgmy
post Jan 28 2024, 01:44 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

And dessert… which was very tasty!

Maybe we have simpler tastes, but we actually thoroughly enjoyed the lunch!

And not that big a hit to the pocket for the quality we had, so that’s always a welcome change

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jan 28 2024, 01:49 PM
TShksgmy
post Jan 28 2024, 10:04 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Just thinking of the Michelin restaurants that I've had the privilege to try both in Singapore and abroad...

In the UK:
Moor Hall (**)

In Tokyo:
Shinjuku Nakajima (*)

In Singapore:
Les Amis (***), Zen (***), Odette (***),
Waku Ghin (**), Andre (** - interestingly, this was the premise that Zen took over),
Putien (*), Crystal Jade Paragon (*), Alma (*), Cut (*), Summer Place (*), Lei Garden (*), Corner House (* - sadly, closed last year), Summer Place (*) and Candlenut (*)

I've been trying to get a table at Burnt Ends like forever ... for whatever reason, the place is always packed.

After I'm done with Waku Ghin this coming week, I'll try my luck at getting a spot at Burnt Ends again.

If anyone's had any experience with the food at Burnt Ends, I'd be grateful for your opinion!

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jan 28 2024, 10:04 PM
funfunfun
post Jan 29 2024, 04:53 PM

98 posts

Ate at Burnt ends 4 times over last 1 year... bookings down to luck, mainly because of last minute cancellation so i could get table the next day etc (need to check their website very regularly).

Cooking is of very high quality but the food is very "intensely" flavoured so it's high in fat/salt. Enjoyed it but I think I've sampled enough so most likely will only visit once a year at most going forward..
SUSfuzzy
post Jan 29 2024, 05:59 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jan 28 2024, 10:04 PM)
Just thinking of the Michelin restaurants that I've had the privilege to try both in Singapore and abroad...

In the UK:
Moor Hall (**)

In Tokyo:
Shinjuku Nakajima (*)

In Singapore:
Waku Ghin (**), Andre (** - interestingly, this was the premise that Zen took over),
Putien (*), Crystal Jade Paragon (*), Alma (*), Cut (*), Summer Place (*), Lei Garden (*), Corner House (* - sadly, closed last year), Summer Place (*) and Candlenut (*)

I've been trying to get a table at Burnt Ends like forever ... for whatever reason, the place is always packed.

After I'm done with Waku Ghin this coming week, I'll try my luck at getting a spot at Burnt Ends again.

If anyone's had any experience with the food at Burnt Ends, I'd be grateful for your opinion!
You need to try Core by Clare Smyth in UK.
TShksgmy
post Jan 29 2024, 06:42 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(funfunfun @ Jan 29 2024, 04:53 PM)
Ate at Burnt ends 4 times over last 1 year... bookings down to luck, mainly because of last minute cancellation so i could get table the next day etc (need to check their website very regularly).

Cooking is of very high quality but the food is very "intensely" flavoured so it's high in fat/salt. Enjoyed it but I think I've sampled enough so most likely will only visit once a year at most going forward..
Thanks so much for your feedback. Now you've made me even more curious and determined to get a table at the restaurant!
TShksgmy
post Feb 1 2024, 06:07 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Well, another day another restaurant… but it’s the same one which we enjoyed tremendously last week.

Back at Waku Ghin tonight for the Chef’s table.

TShksgmy
post Feb 1 2024, 06:20 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

First dish is perfectly cooked fresh oysters on a light as air egg custard

TShksgmy
post Feb 1 2024, 06:26 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Next was aburi tuna with grated daikon … melted in the mouth

And then, the signature dish… as delicious as last week’s, obviously

TShksgmy
post Feb 1 2024, 07:53 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Too busy enjoying the food for live updates so apologies for the photobomb…

I’m impressed by the use of seasonal ingredients. Super fresh and I particularly appreciate their overly generous use of caviar…

TShksgmy
post Feb 1 2024, 08:00 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Tonight’s dinner was more like the standard i was expecting of a 2 star Michelin joint. The chef’s table really elevated it compared to last week’s already excellent and decadent menu.

We also had a good time chit chatting with the chef - no prizes for guessing where he’s from: Malaysia.

Been here with his wife, for nine years.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Feb 1 2024, 08:06 PM
TShksgmy
post Feb 1 2024, 08:35 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

The menu:

Cukur, I can buy an iPhone with this….. but not as high spec as a certain someone’s hahaha

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Feb 1 2024, 08:43 PM
TShksgmy
post Feb 2 2024, 06:19 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Oh, I did some digging through this thread and I realised why Candlenut sounded so familiar - trojandude actually mentioned it in a post and shared his honest opinion... and I have to say, in retrospect, I have to admit I've definitely tasted better Nonya food in Malaysia ... 100%.

But, it was friends visiting from Sydney and they were the ones that chose the venue, so as long as they enjoyed it, IMVHO, it was money well spent.
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Apr 2 2024, 05:12 PM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,756 posts

Yesterday had my special omakase dinner at Ushi.. The food was great.. I had Sushi Taka few months back

https://guide.michelin.com/my/en/kuala-lump...restaurant/ushi
https://guide.michelin.com/my/en/kuala-lump...rant/sushi-taka

Both are Michelin selected restaurants
gashout
post Apr 3 2024, 03:48 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Apr 2 2024, 05:12 PM)
Yesterday had my special omakase dinner at Ushi.. The food was great.. I had Sushi Taka few months back

which one do you recommend more? ushi or taka?
gashout
post Apr 3 2024, 03:49 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Feb 1 2024, 08:35 PM)
The menu:

Cukur, I can buy an iPhone with this….. but not as high spec as a certain someone’s hahaha
it's ok, SIA gave you two free phones, consider the meal free biggrin.gif
TShksgmy
post Apr 3 2024, 06:11 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Apr 2 2024, 05:12 PM)

Share la photo di sini sikit….
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Apr 3 2024, 09:47 AM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,756 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Apr 3 2024, 03:48 AM)
which one do you recommend more? ushi or taka?
I prefer Ushi among the 2. I like beef and ok only with seafood

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 3 2024, 06:11 AM)
Share la photo di sini sikit….
Ok, I'll share the pics in the next 2 posts. Hope nobody report my posts

-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Apr 3 2024, 09:49 AM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,756 posts

Ushi special omakase dinner part 1

-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Apr 3 2024, 09:49 AM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,756 posts

Ushi special omakase dinner part 2

-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Apr 3 2024, 09:50 AM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,756 posts

Sushi Taka Hana omakase part 1

-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Apr 3 2024, 09:50 AM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,756 posts

Sushi Taka Hana omakase part 2

gashout
post Apr 3 2024, 10:47 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Apr 3 2024, 09:49 AM)

the presentation for ushi is beautiful. it's not the typical presentation like taka.

looks yummy, you are making me hungry already!

TShksgmy
post Apr 3 2024, 11:26 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Apr 3 2024, 09:49 AM)
Thank you so much for sharing! Those photos are EXCELLENT, and I'm sure the food tasted as good as it looked! I'm keen to try the next time I'm up in Malaysia. Thanks for the recommendation!
differ
post Apr 3 2024, 02:53 PM

404 posts

https://guide.michelin.com/sg/en/pulau-pina...d-school-eatery

https://guide.michelin.com/sg/en/pulau-pina...urant/au-jardin
TShksgmy
post Apr 3 2024, 03:30 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- ... I know it's considered impolite to enquire, but for reference, would it be OK for you to share with us the cost for such a sumptuous spread?

I'd certainly like to compare prices ... because from the photos you shared, I don't see how this can be inferior to the 2 starred Waku Ghin that I dined at, and for which I paid a small fortune.
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Apr 3 2024, 03:51 PM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,756 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 3 2024, 03:30 PM)
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- ... I know it's considered impolite to enquire, but for reference, would it be OK for you to share with us the cost for such a sumptuous spread?

I'd certainly like to compare prices ... because from the photos you shared, I don't see how this can be inferior to the 2 starred Waku Ghin that I dined at, and for which I paid a small fortune.
Do you mean the total price of the dinner ?

I went to Ushi during their special anniversary 2 days ago

The price is RM 1,484 (including SST) for 2 pax as the restaurant had a buy 1 free 1 promotion

Below is the list of menu in Ushi. I had the special omakase

TShksgmy
post Apr 3 2024, 04:14 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Apr 3 2024, 03:51 PM)

The price is RM 1,484 (including SST) for 2 pax as the restaurant had a buy 1 free 1 promotion

Damn it! That's a seriously good deal for such excellent ingredients and food! Well done & congrats bro!
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Apr 3 2024, 05:02 PM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,756 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 3 2024, 04:14 PM)
Damn it! That's a seriously good deal for such excellent ingredients and food! Well done & congrats bro!
That's why I went because it was a steal.. Normal price I can't afford unless on special occasions like birthday

The restaurant had B1F1 for Tenshin and Taka as well but I already tried Taka so decided to go with Ushi

Will try Tenshin in the near future smile.gif
gashout
post Apr 3 2024, 06:36 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Apr 3 2024, 03:51 PM)

how did you find out about this?
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 3 2024, 07:14 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Tried Potager, brainchild of chef from Entier and one of the new up and coming contenders for the Michelin Star.

-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Apr 3 2024, 07:22 PM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,756 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Apr 3 2024, 06:36 PM)
how did you find out about this?
I follow their IG and FB page to get the latest info smile.gif
TShksgmy
post Apr 3 2024, 07:37 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Apr 3 2024, 07:14 PM)
Tried Potager, brainchild of chef from Entier and one of the new up and coming contenders for the Michelin Star.

I checked out their website ... they even have a collaboration with Odette, my 2nd favourite 3-star Michelin restaurant in Singapore! Impressive stuff ... and again, at a fraction of the price. Man, you guys are lucky smile.gif
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 3 2024, 07:41 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 3 2024, 07:37 PM)
I checked out their website ... they even have a collaboration with Odette, my 2nd favourite 3-star Michelin restaurant in Singapore! Impressive stuff ... and again, at a fraction of the price. Man, you guys are lucky smile.gif
Oh I didn't know! I've been a fan of Chef Masashi since his Entier days, so I made it a point to go. A lot of the stuff is carried from Entier just at a more fine dining scale. We got to meet and have a chat with him, and he made it clear that Potager is made with getting a star in mind.

Still some work to be done on the service level part, but I believe they will get one soon enough, considering I don't think it's any lesser in terms of quality from Beta KL, which I tried and is also now a 1 star.
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Apr 4 2024, 03:34 PM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,756 posts

Ushi and Beta are having a collaboration this month.. Can go if anyone interested smile.gif

This post has been edited by -PuPu^ZaPruD3r-: Apr 4 2024, 03:35 PM
Mavik
post Apr 5 2024, 07:20 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Apr 3 2024, 07:14 PM)

Thanks for sharing! Time to book a slot for dinner there
TShksgmy
post Apr 9 2024, 03:15 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Apr 5 2024, 07:20 PM)
Thanks for sharing! Time to book a slot for dinner there
Share with us your review after that, mate!
SUSw19
post Apr 10 2024, 02:04 AM

412 posts

Michelin Starred Restaurants for Malaysia!?

For me, Its a joke as some restaurants cook is handle by foreigner!!!! Beside that, food nothing to hu ha............
ClericKilla
post Apr 10 2024, 04:24 AM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(w19 @ Apr 10 2024, 02:04 AM)

For me, Its a joke as some restaurants cook is handle by foreigner!!!! Beside that, food nothing to hu ha............
Eat & Cook , DC , Dewakan head chef is local. Anyways you just like to shit on things without even understanding the context of Michelin stars.

Anyways some of them use local ingredient some imported. Would prefer those who bring up the best of local ingredients should deserve the 2* and above
icemanfx
post Apr 10 2024, 09:39 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(w19 @ Apr 10 2024, 02:04 AM)

What and how one eat is how one was brought up.

TShksgmy
post Apr 11 2024, 08:36 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

My nephew who is a doctor in the UK is finally awarded his FRCP and they managed to book a table at Core by Clare Symth. I’ve asked them to send me some photos … I’ll share them here when I receive them. That’s one of my target restaurants when I’m next back in the UK.
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 11 2024, 05:21 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 11 2024, 08:36 AM)
My nephew who is a doctor in the UK is finally awarded his FRCP and they managed to book a table at Core by Clare Symth. I’ve asked them to send me some photos … I’ll share them here when I receive them. That’s one of my target restaurants when I’m next back in the UK.
It's pretty great, and relatively cheap as well compared to the other MS restaurants around.

TShksgmy
post Apr 11 2024, 06:30 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Well, I can’t wait that long so Ive taken the waifu out for a simple 1-star dinner tonight… will update later

TShksgmy
post Apr 11 2024, 06:41 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Menu looks very promising
TShksgmy
post Apr 11 2024, 07:56 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

TShksgmy
post Apr 11 2024, 07:59 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

They ran out of oysters… I know, shocking. I guess there are just too many rich Singaporean diners out there, so they replaced that dish with:

Octopus for me (yummy)

For her, prosciutto with lavender bread

TShksgmy
post Apr 11 2024, 08:01 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

TShksgmy
post Apr 11 2024, 08:06 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

So far so good. All according to the menu after that initial hiccup

The wagyu beef tartare was heavenly

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Apr 11 2024, 08:07 PM
TShksgmy
post Apr 11 2024, 08:08 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

The supplements (we usually order them whenever available. Gotta give everything a try if possible!)

TShksgmy
post Apr 11 2024, 08:21 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Back on course… we’re really starting to struggle to fit anything in….
TShksgmy
post Apr 11 2024, 08:35 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Finally… dessert
TShksgmy
post Apr 11 2024, 09:15 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

For the amount of stomach bursting food we had, the bill was, IMHO, very reasonable by Singapore Michelin standards.
SUSw19
post Apr 12 2024, 01:47 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Apr 10 2024, 04:24 AM)
Eat & Cook , DC , Dewakan head chef is local. Anyways you just like to shit on things without even understanding the context of Michelin stars.

Anyways some of them use local ingredient some imported. Would prefer those who bring up the best of local ingredients should deserve the 2* and above
Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!

What I know the restaurant owner you say are busy to open more Michelin Restaurant!? Most of time, for business not about food!!!! Soul busy for money!!!! Are you sure this is right please!? Please dont make me laugh!!!!!

This post has been edited by w19: Apr 12 2024, 01:55 AM
TShksgmy
post Apr 12 2024, 01:58 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(w19 @ Apr 12 2024, 01:47 AM)

What I know the restaurant owner you say are busy to open more Michelin Restaurant!? Most of time, for business not about food!!!! Soul busy for money!!!! Are you sure this is right please!? Please dont make me laugh!!!!!
If the food quality isn’t maintained by the chef and the restaurant, they lose their coveted star(s) - problem solved.
gashout
post Apr 12 2024, 05:52 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 11 2024, 06:41 PM)

Menu looks very promising
The food looks heavenly.

Question. Will you go back again? How do you rate it? Does it beat your fav restaurant?
TShksgmy
post Apr 12 2024, 07:33 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Apr 12 2024, 05:52 AM)
The food looks heavenly.

Question. Will you go back again? How do you rate it? Does it beat your fav restaurant?
There have been some restaurants that I’ve been back over and over - the 2 starred Waku Ghin and its sibling restaurant Wakuda being prime examples, and of course, Les Amis and Odette being the others.

This, as gut bursting and relatively affordable as it was, probably wouldn’t be one of them.

The service was a major let down. Firstly, they ran out of ingredients (the oyster) and while the replacements (octopus and prosciutto) were tasty in their own right, the waiter forgot to ask if we took pork or octopus. I had to let her know that waifu says notto to octo and without checking with us, she brought waifu the pork based replacement.

Secondly, they changed cutlery for every dish - and promptly forgot to give us cutlery for the 2nd mains!

Thirdly, for the tea, they ran out of peppermint tea which was what waifu wanted….

When we dine at a Michelin starred restaurant, we obviously expect not only good food but impeccable service.

This, sadly, wasn’t one of those places.

I’d be surprised if they kept their 1 star ….
gashout
post Apr 12 2024, 08:06 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 12 2024, 07:33 AM)
There have been some restaurants that I’ve been back over and over - the 2 starred Waku Ghin and its sibling restaurant Wakuda being prime examples, and of course, Les Amis and Odette being the others.

This, as gut bursting and relatively affordable as it was, probably wouldn’t be one of them.

The service was a major let down. Firstly, they ran out of ingredients (the oyster) and while the replacements (octopus and prosciutto) were tasty in their own right, the waiter forgot to ask if we took pork or octopus. I had to let her know that waifu says notto to octo and without checking with us, she brought waifu the pork based replacement.

Secondly, they changed cutlery for every dish - and promptly forgot to give us cutlery for the 2nd mains!

Thirdly, for the tea, they ran out of peppermint tea which was what waifu wanted….

When we dine at a Michelin starred restaurant, we obviously expect not only good food but impeccable service.

This, sadly, wasn’t one of those places.

I’d be surprised if they kept their 1 star ….
doesn't sound like a good experience at all, apart from the dishes.

they do need to train their staff better.
ClericKilla
post Apr 12 2024, 08:34 AM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(w19 @ Apr 12 2024, 01:47 AM)

doh.gif thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif
TShksgmy
post Apr 12 2024, 08:48 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Apr 12 2024, 08:34 AM)
doh.gif  thumbsup.gif  thumbsup.gif
Bro, it's OK. Different people, different opinions. They are entitled to theirs, just as how some are entitled to enjoy the experience that a 3 star restaurant can offer. The world is big enough to accommodate all of us.
ClericKilla
post Apr 12 2024, 09:14 AM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 12 2024, 08:48 AM)
Bro, it's OK. Different people, different opinions. They are entitled to theirs, just as how some are entitled to enjoy the experience that a 3 star restaurant can offer. The world is big enough to accommodate all of us.
Yeap I'm well aware of that.

TShksgmy
post Apr 14 2024, 12:31 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

This was an unexpected find. Most Michelin places don’t open on a Sunday so we were lucky that Marguerite (1 star) had a slot for us.

Gonna enjoy the lunch and report back!

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Apr 14 2024, 12:32 PM
TShksgmy
post Apr 14 2024, 12:46 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Excellent start so far! The smoked eel with caviar was delicious!
TShksgmy
post Apr 14 2024, 01:12 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

TShksgmy
post Apr 14 2024, 01:53 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

TShksgmy
post Apr 14 2024, 02:12 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

The desserts were excellent!!
TShksgmy
post Apr 14 2024, 02:28 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

And to finish:

TShksgmy
post Apr 14 2024, 02:29 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

A very reasonable bill for a delicious lunch

TShksgmy
post Apr 14 2024, 09:30 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Just to update…

In the UK:
Moor Hall (**)

In Tokyo:
Shinjuku Nakajima (*)

In Singapore:
Putien (*), Crystal Jade Paragon (*), Alma (*), Cut (*), Summer Place (*), Lei Garden (*), Corner House (* - sadly, closed last year), Imperial Treasures (*), Candlenut (*), added Reve (*) and Marguerite (*)

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Apr 25 2024, 09:52 PM
Epci
post Apr 15 2024, 06:09 AM

125 posts

Makan satay at Satay Street@Lau Pa Sat.
TShksgmy
post Apr 15 2024, 07:23 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Epci @ Apr 15 2024, 06:09 AM)
Makan satay at Satay Street@Lau Pa Sat.
For satay, anything from Kajang beats whatever they serve in Singapore hands down
TShksgmy
post Apr 20 2024, 05:55 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Back at Marguerite … it was good enough at lunch to warrant a repeat visit but for dinner

Seated at dinner now…
TShksgmy
post Apr 20 2024, 06:49 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

TShksgmy
post Apr 20 2024, 07:17 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

TShksgmy
post Apr 20 2024, 07:42 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

This was a special off the menu treat… lamb tartare in a tart!

TShksgmy
post Apr 20 2024, 08:23 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

TShksgmy
post Apr 20 2024, 08:25 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

It was a very reasonable price for a Michelin star restaurant… and the dinner menu had enough variety to stand out differently from their lunch’s.

However, we will probably try different restaurants next… the menu changes once every 3 or 4 months., Chef said that they will only change one or two items on the menu.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Apr 20 2024, 10:00 PM
TShksgmy
post Apr 25 2024, 12:06 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Another day, another new Michelin Star (1 star) restaurant… Buona Terra.

Will update later.

TShksgmy
post Apr 25 2024, 01:05 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Cold tomato soup in cocoa butter shell

user posted image[/url]

Squid ink and crab tart

A4 wagyu carpaccio with black truffles
[url=https://pictr.com/image/EDjVBq]
TShksgmy
post Apr 25 2024, 01:34 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

TShksgmy
post Apr 25 2024, 01:36 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

The carabineiros tagliatelle was perfectly done. The pasta and the prawn…. That prawn was goddamnit gigantic.
TShksgmy
post Apr 25 2024, 03:20 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Honest to goodness, this was one of the most enjoyable and relatively affordable Michelin starred lunches we had.

This we will definitely go back again.
TShksgmy
post Apr 27 2024, 06:20 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Another weekend, another Michelin Star restaurant on the menu.

gashout
post Apr 27 2024, 06:31 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 27 2024, 06:20 PM)
Another weekend, another Michelin Star restaurant on the menu.

ish! you go to michelin restaurants more frequent than i do my grocery shopping biggrin.gif

enjoy doc!
TShksgmy
post Apr 27 2024, 06:34 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Apr 27 2024, 06:31 PM)
ish! you go to michelin restaurants more frequent than i do my grocery shopping biggrin.gif

enjoy doc!
Well, I don’t have 40 million ringgit (I only have a fraction in RM of what the 40 million RM man has) but at least I can still enjoy my Michelin starred joints.

TShksgmy
post Apr 27 2024, 07:06 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

TShksgmy
post Apr 27 2024, 07:07 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

So far so good. Servers are locals and they really take the trouble to engage the diners. Super friendly and informal atmosphere for a Michelin starred restaurant
TShksgmy
post Apr 27 2024, 07:30 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

TShksgmy
post Apr 27 2024, 07:31 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

A5 Miyazaki Wagyu that fcuking melted in the mouth
TShksgmy
post Apr 27 2024, 07:36 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

A refreshing finish to an excellent meal. The last 3 restaurants were a great recovery for 1-starred joints after the rather poor service experience at Reve.
adele123
post Apr 27 2024, 07:44 PM

4,726 posts

I would like to see you visit the few michelin restaurant in malaysia. And see how it stands compared to the ones in singapore.
TShksgmy
post Apr 27 2024, 07:50 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Apr 27 2024, 07:44 PM)
I would like to see you visit the few michelin restaurant in malaysia. And see how it stands compared to the ones in singapore.
I intend to do just that when we’re retired, as part of our round the world/Australasia trip!

And the last bits of a gut bursting meal:

TShksgmy
post Apr 27 2024, 07:54 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Again, a very reasonable price for some excellent food!
gashout
post Apr 28 2024, 01:28 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 27 2024, 07:31 PM)
A5 Miyazaki Wagyu that fcuking melted in the mouth
was about to ask this. yumm smile.gif

what about the 32 egg yolks? im sure it symbolizes something
TShksgmy
post Apr 28 2024, 01:43 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Apr 28 2024, 01:28 PM)
was about to ask this. yumm  smile.gif

what about the 32 egg yolks? im sure it symbolizes something
It takes 32 egg yolks to make a batch of the pasta - though, thankfully, not all 32 yolks were fed to us hahaha

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Apr 28 2024, 02:05 PM
gashout
post Apr 28 2024, 01:50 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

Apr 28 2024, 02:04 PM
This post has been deleted by hksgmy because: Mistake

TShksgmy
post Apr 28 2024, 02:04 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Apr 28 2024, 01:50 PM)
wow 32 egg yolks, must be creamy to the max.

kewpie mayo takes pride in using lots of yolk for their mayo, hence it tastes so nice.
It was definitely smooth and creamy!!
TShksgmy
post Apr 28 2024, 02:05 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 28 2024, 02:04 PM)
It was definitely smooth and creamy!!
Sorry, had to delete the menu because it had my personal details on it.
gashout
post Apr 28 2024, 02:22 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 28 2024, 02:05 PM)
Sorry, had to delete the menu because it had my personal details on it.
no problem. didn't notice that at all.

i just saw 32 egg yolks biggrin.gif
TShksgmy
post Apr 28 2024, 02:41 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Latest update…

Michelin restaurants that I've had the privilege to try both in Singapore and abroad...

In the UK:
Moor Hall (**)

In Tokyo:
Shinjuku Nakajima (*)

In Singapore:
Putien (*), Crystal Jade Paragon (*), Alma (*), Cut (*), Summer Place (*), Lei Garden (*), Corner House (* - sadly, closed last year), Imperial Treasures (*), Candlenut (*), added Reve (*) and Marguerite (*), latest 2 are Buona Terra (*) and Braci (*)
gashout
post Apr 28 2024, 02:55 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 28 2024, 02:41 PM)
Latest update…

Michelin restaurants that I've had the privilege to try both in Singapore and abroad...

In the UK:
Moor Hall (**)

In Tokyo:
Shinjuku Nakajima (*)

In Singapore:
Putien (*), Crystal Jade Paragon (*), Alma (*), Cut (*), Summer Place (*), Lei Garden (*), Corner House (* - sadly, closed last year), Imperial Treasures (*), Candlenut (*), added Reve (*) and Marguerite (*), latest 2 are Buona Terra (*) and Braci (*)
i think can put a rating next to them as well smile.gif
TShksgmy
post Apr 28 2024, 02:57 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Apr 28 2024, 02:55 PM)
Good idea. I could rank it subjectively….

Lemme get it organized. And I’ll come up with my personal reasons for our ratings.
TShksgmy
post Apr 30 2024, 08:57 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Apr 28 2024, 02:55 PM)
I've finally started (because a semi-retired old fogey has time on his hands and nothing better to do), to rank my Michelin epicurean adventures ... and I realised there were a couple of other restaurants (not many) that I've missed... Anyway, I've ranked the restaurants (in reverse), starting from (what is my opinion), the lowest rank...

15. Candlenut (*) – I was told about this by trojandude and thought I’d do well to give it a miss, until my colleague & his family from Sydney came a-visiting and thought they’d like to try a Michelin-starred place with a local Peranakan twist. They enjoyed the flavours and the restaurant’s interpretation and elevation of humble Nyonya cooking, but wife and I found it to be no different (if anything at all, someone over-interpreted) than humbler (but no less tastier) offerings from places in Malaysia. The service was as usual, attentive and genuine, but trojandude was spot on … I’ve had better. Not one I’d go back unless another lot of Uni mates from Down Under end up craving for it…

More to follow...
TShksgmy
post Apr 30 2024, 12:38 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

14. Reve (*) – we tried this on a whim, and we were lucky that they had a table for us on the night we wanted to dine out (which has been a little bit too often of late, much to the delight of our domestic helper). The dishes were well presented, but we felt let down by 2 glaring errors that shouldn’t have crept up, given the 1-star the restaurant holds: the menu had to be changed at the last minute because what was on offer on paper was not available on plate – the restaurant did not receive the delivery/stocks in time. That in itself is not a failing, the choice of the replacement which was offered without consultation being the greater crime. Wife was offered a pork dish without first checking if she even took pork, whereas I was offered an octopus dish, again, without asking if I was OK with that option.

And, as I mentioned, they served us a dish without any cutlery! The food was OK for this standard, but with the service lacking, we’d probably not be heading back anytime soon.

15. Candlenut (*) – I was told about this by trojandude and thought I’d do well to give it a miss, until my colleague & his family from Sydney came a-visiting and thought they’d like to try a Michelin-starred place with a local Peranakan twist. They enjoyed the flavours and the restaurant’s interpretation and elevation of humble Nyonya cooking, but wife and I found it to be no different (if anything at all, someone over-interpreted) than humbler (but no less tastier) offerings from places in Malaysia. The service was as usual, attentive and genuine, but trojandude was spot on … I’ve had better. Not one I’d go back unless another lot of Uni mates from Down Under end up craving for it…

TShksgmy
post Apr 30 2024, 06:42 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

13. Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodle (*) – there were 2 hawker stalls that were awarded a Michelin star in Singapore. One was for a chicken rice stall (the owner was an ex-Malaysian – not surprising), but we never got a chance to try that and the stall subsequently lost their 1-star. The second was this Bak Chor Mee stall. I had it once and while it was nice, and the noodles springy, and the fried dried plaice (fish) was extremely yummy, it wasn’t something that I would line up for 3 hours to get a bowl of. Done, ticked the box & probably wouldn’t go back for seconds.

14. Reve (*) – we tried this on a whim, and we were lucky that they had a table for us on the night we wanted to dine out (which has been a little bit too often of late, much to the delight of our domestic helper). The dishes were well presented, but we felt let down by 2 glaring errors that shouldn’t have crept up, given the 1-star the restaurant holds: the menu had to be changed at the last minute because what was on offer on paper was not available on plate – the restaurant did not receive the delivery/stocks in time. That in itself is not a failing, the choice of the replacement which was offered without consultation being the greater crime. Wife was offered a pork dish without first checking if she even took pork, whereas I was offered an octopus dish, again, without asking if I was OK with that option.

And, as I mentioned, they served us a dish without any cutlery! The food was OK for this standard, but with the service lacking, we’d probably not be heading back anytime soon.

TShksgmy
post May 1 2024, 09:40 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

12. Alma (*) – we visited this place years ago, before it came to be called Alma and before it was awarded its 1-star status. So, when Maybank reminded me that there was this little nook hidden away in the city oasis that is Goodwood Park, I made a booking and traipsed our way there one evening for a cozy dinner. And sadly, realised that there may be a reason why a 1-star joint needed advertising by Maybank Private Diamante Card’s concierge. The uni was less than fresh and left a rather strong and unpleasant aftertaste, and my wife’s fish dish was decidedly fishy to her (admitted sensitive) olfactory bulbs. There wasn’t anything extraordinarily memorable about the experience, and when I did a quick online search, it seems that there was at least one other reviewer that walked away with the same impression. Not one I’d go back again.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: May 1 2024, 04:33 PM
TShksgmy
post May 1 2024, 09:56 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

11. Corner House (*) – sadly, this quaint little hidden gem in the corner of the UNESCO listed Botanic Gardens of Singapore is no more, having closed down as another silent victim of the COVID pandemic. Wife and I dined there once and once only – before the pandemic struck, and never got the chance to return. The standout feature was the local Chef Jason Tan’s extensive use of vegetable ingredients – and while I’m no fan of greens, even I had to acknowledge the magic he weaved in being able to extract the last distillate of flavour and infuse that onto the plate. They used to give us free buggy rides from the car park to the restaurant and that was a bit of a treat itself. Ah well. At least we got a chance to tick that box off the list.

TShksgmy
post May 1 2024, 09:57 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

10. Marguerite (*) – strategically nestled within the magnificent greenhouse that’s the Flower Dome and housed within the Gardens by the Bay complex is this 1-starred place that we loved so much we went back for seconds the very next week. The food was tasty, the service was attentive, and there were a bunch of Malaysian wait staff that we connected with immediately (although we didn’t talk politics haha). Similar to the now closed Corner House, there’s a heavy theme of vegetable ingredients on the table, and also a free buggy ride from the pick up point at the car park to the restaurant. An additional treat: after dinner, patrons get to roam the air-conditioned Flower Dome for free! Wife and I will plan our next trip to coincide with the tulip blossoms on display…

TShksgmy
post May 1 2024, 02:46 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

9. Cut (*) – the second of 2 Michelin-starred restaurants located within Marina Bay Sands, and the one that we go to for our carnivore fix, seeing how I’ve been waiting in vain for a reservation slot to pop up over at Burnt Ends for months to end now… Wolfgang Puck’s curtly named meat-lover joint serves a good mix of USDA prime cuts and Japanese Wagyu, and although the price is a little on the high side for the quality of meat (I can do as good as steak for half the price, with meat bought from the butchery) and the music way too loud (they jack up the volume after 730pm), there’s no denying that we will be back again for seconds and thirds and more.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: May 1 2024, 04:34 PM
TShksgmy
post May 1 2024, 04:31 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

8. Zen (***) – to be honest, I thought I would like this a lot more than I did. I had a patient who worked there as a pastry chef, and I read many positive reviews about how Zen deserved its place amongst the holy trinity of 3-starred restaurants in Singapore (alongside Les Amis & Odette), and it took over the old unit that housed Andre, one of our favourite restaurants. Took my wife there once and unfortunately, we were a little overwhelmed by how loud the music was and underwhelmed by the food. It was Scandinavian and perhaps our untrained palate weren’t used to the flavours, but both of us felt the Kingfish sashimi (crudo) was less fresh than other variants we’ve tasted, and the main course of duck had so much gristle that both our jaws ached after we manfully chewed and swallowed our way through. Some of the flavours were amazing, but in the end, for a bill that was nearly SGD1,500 for a party of 2, the experience was not as memorable as we’d hoped it would be.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: May 1 2024, 04:34 PM
TShksgmy
post May 1 2024, 04:36 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

7 (Tied). Summer Palace (*), Lei Garden (*), Putien (*), Imperial Treasures (*), Shang Palace (*) & Crystal Jade Paragon (*) – these are a cluster of 1-starred restaurants that serve excellent renditions of Chinese cuisine. To be honest, in my humble opinion based on my unlearned palate, I can’t really distinguish one from another in terms of the Chinese cooking that was presented, but it was tasty and the setting was opulent.

Summer Palace’s “Golden Pumpkin Seafood Soup (金瓜海鲜汤)” ranks as one of my go-to favourites for comfort food, Imperial Treasures’ steamed pomfret (清蒸鲳鱼) & cold crab (凍蟹) would bring me back to my uncle’s cooking without me needing to fly back to Hong Kong for it and while it wouldn’t taste like home, it certainly reminds me of it. Shang Palace at Shangri-La, Lei Garden and Crystal Jade are great for dim sum, but one has to be prepared to pay for that privilege. One thing I found rather, err, objectionable, is how some wait staff over at Crystal Jade (which has since lost its 1 star status) can be a little pushier than is necessary, when it comes to pushing/recommending expensive dishes.

I placed all of them together and ranked them 7th on my list of favourite restaurants as I’d definitely go back there again –not necessarily because of their coveted Michelin status, simply because they serve honest to goodness Chinese cuisine.

Having said that, wife and I have recently started going for weekend dim sum at Hai Tien Lo, and we find their carrot cake (white radish cake) to be almost as good as the version my uncle cooks up for Chinese New Year… Hai Tien Lo doesn’t have a star yet, but that’s not stopped us from being repeat customers!

TShksgmy
post May 1 2024, 05:08 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

6. Braci (*) –another Italian fine dining establishment but one with a decided local Singaporean flavour. The wait staff was local and super friendly and casual – in fact, probably the most casual amongst the lot of wait staff we’ve encountered. The food however, was anything but. They had their version of pasta with caviar, but that was embellished with a generous dollop of rich, creamy uni, but my personal favourite would have to be the A5 Miyazaki Wagyu steak which was butter in my mouth. They’ll be looking for a new premise soon, and we’re lucky we had a chance to dine there before they shuttered.

TShksgmy
post May 1 2024, 05:10 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

5. Waku Ghin (**) – You can’t go wrong with Chef Tetsuya. We enjoyed his 3-hat rated restaurant in Sydney and was delighted to try his 2 starred joint over at Marina Bay Sands after finally scoring a reservation post renovation (they were closed for a bit during COVID). The setting was very intimate, since we ordered the chef’s table, and at nearly SGD750 per person, hardly cheap, but the quality of ingredients justified the price we forked out for the privilege. From live Japanese abalone to Wagyu steak, to fresh sashimi and of course, the signature Botan shrimp with more uni and caviar than you can shake a stick at, packing more flavour than your tongue knew what to do with. We’ve been there twice already, and if I had 4 stomachs like a cow, I’d definitely be back there more often.

TShksgmy
post May 1 2024, 05:41 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

4. Buona Terra (*) – this was based on a recommendation we received from a patient of mine who has what can only be described as impeccable taste for wine and food, so we obviously made a beeline for it and we were swept off our feet by the food on the degustation menu. The use of expensive ingredients was restrained but precise, and was planned to give it the extra oomph that helps elevate a dish from excellent to unforgettable. We will definitely be back there again, and again, and again. So far, wife likes the gigantic prawn carabineiro tagliatelle and the excellent bread selection. Me, I’m just happy that it was affordable for something so tasty – and that relative affordability gives it the tiniest of edges over Waku Ghin, in my humble opinion.

TShksgmy
post May 1 2024, 05:44 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

3. Andre (**) – this was such a unique experience. The chef is Chinese (Taiwanese) and we were lucky to have him greet departing guests - and he speaks French! The food is now a distant memory, but one not easily forgotten. The foie gras with truffle was a standout signature and one that was worth coming back for… if only he didn’t decide to pack up and leave Singapore for adventures anew.

TShksgmy
post May 1 2024, 07:55 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

2. Odette (***) – we’ve been there twice. The first was because Odette was voted best restaurant in Singapore and number 6 (IINM) in Asia. And yes, I have to say it certainly lived up to our expectations. The food was exquisite; the ingredients were fresh and the service definitely attentive. The second was because we loved the pigeon so much we went back for more. It’s a very close tussle between this and Les Amis, but the latter just nudges it for us, as the quality of ingredients are somewhat more expensive, compared to what Odette uses. Wife loved the pigeon, I loved their signature, the egg with caviar presented in a carton with dry ice.

TShksgmy
post May 1 2024, 08:00 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

1. Les Amis (***) – our introduction to the Michelin experience started here, before it was even rated or starred, and we were there to see it gain its 2 stars and later still, it becoming the first 3 star restaurant in Singapore. There is a certain familiar atmosphere in the form of classic dishes and from the staff - we’ve gotten to know a few of them really well and we make our bookings through them by way of an informal WhatsApp request.

I even had 2 patients that worked there at one time and we often got extra goodies (langoustines, waiver of supplement charges etc) on goodwill. All this and the food par excellence endeared the granddaddy of fine dining in Singapore to our hearts. Even if their menu prices have skyrocketed exponentially ever since their 3rd well deserve star landed. Our personal favourites? The Angel Hair Pasta with caviar and shaved truffle and the potato with caviar.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: May 1 2024, 08:01 PM
TShksgmy
post May 2 2024, 03:31 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

We didn’t go to a new Michelin star restaurant this afternoon, but we did try a new Japanese joint, run by the same owners that gave us the excellent 1-star Buona Terra.

TShksgmy
post May 2 2024, 03:34 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

SUSfuzzy
post May 30 2024, 08:17 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Recently went to Gai by DC.

It's... disappointing to say the least. Chim by Chef Noom was miles better.
TShksgmy
post May 30 2024, 08:20 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ May 30 2024, 08:17 PM)

Is that his new restaurant? I did a quick search, it hasn't been awarded any stars yet? Give us a review please, when you have time smile.gif thumbup.gif
SUSfuzzy
post May 30 2024, 09:21 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 30 2024, 08:20 PM)
Is that his new restaurant? I did a quick search, it hasn't been awarded any stars yet? Give us a review please, when you have time smile.gif  thumbup.gif
Yes, Gai is his take on Thai food, Bref is his take on French fusion and DC is the only one that has Michelin star.

gashout
post May 31 2024, 06:38 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ May 30 2024, 08:17 PM)

will you say Chim is THE restaurant to go for malaysian michelin restaurant?

I need to pay a visit when I am back.
Raddus
post May 31 2024, 08:47 AM

239 posts

Malaysians like to overate their own food
TShksgmy
post May 31 2024, 08:55 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Raddus @ May 31 2024, 08:47 AM)
Well, I think many Malaysians (or in general, the more conservative Asians amongst us) tend to do the opposite - and talk down our efforts. It’s the classic Confucius teaching of “country before family, family before self”… so we attribute our success to everyone and everything but don’t nearly claim enough credit for it.

As a result, our food is not recognized for the culinary value and expertise that it should be, and not given its proper place in the context of culinary appreciation.

Just my 2 cents worth.
icemanfx
post May 31 2024, 09:15 AM

21,457 posts

Most seldom or don't venture outside their comfort zone, unwilling to pay or couldn't afford better quality ingredients or restaurants. Hence, find their comfort food bestest in the universe.
TShksgmy
post May 31 2024, 09:27 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 31 2024, 09:15 AM)
Most seldom or don't venture outside their comfort zone, unwilling to pay or couldn't afford better quality ingredients or restaurants. Hence, find their comfort food bestest in the universe.
But to be fair, there is much to be loved about our comfort foods, the taste that we all grew up eating.
SUSfuzzy
post May 31 2024, 02:26 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ May 31 2024, 06:38 AM)
will you say Chim is THE restaurant to go for malaysian michelin restaurant?

I need to pay a visit when I am back.
Not really la, it's just Chim is better Thai food compared to Gai.

Gai's more like an expensive Thai food place, even though it's from a Michelin chef.

Dewakan is the only 2 star in MY for now, so many probably looks to it when it comes to benchmark.

I'll probably ask you to try Potager, it's not yet a star but very likely will be one soon.

Not really, given how popular Japanese restaurants are around here. It's more a difference in taste buds in my view.

Like France is the capital of Michelin, but frankly most of the food I had there wasn't great, just they had excellent service and attention to detail.

In comparison, Malaysian would likely rate a western fusion or Japanese or even Thai cuisine way higher because it fits our rich taste buds more.

gashout
post May 31 2024, 02:37 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ May 31 2024, 02:26 PM)

Gai's more like an expensive Thai food place, even though it's from a Michelin chef.

Dewakan is the only 2 star in MY for now, so many probably looks to it when it comes to benchmark.

I'll probably ask you to try Potager, it's not yet a star but very likely will be one soon.
Not really, given how popular Japanese restaurants are around here. It's more a difference in taste buds in my view.

Like France is the capital of Michelin, but frankly most of the food I had there wasn't great, just they had excellent service and attention to detail.

In comparison, Malaysian would likely rate a western fusion or Japanese or even Thai cuisine way higher because it fits our rich taste buds more.
Yes, I have followed Potager Insta acc after you or someone mentioned about it...

Will try it one day smile.gif
Raddus
post May 31 2024, 02:39 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ May 31 2024, 02:26 PM)

Alot of these fusion food get lost in translation

Neither here nor there

Its like try too hard and become a mess. Only very few can do it well

SUSfuzzy
post May 31 2024, 03:28 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Raddus @ May 31 2024, 02:39 PM)
Alot of these fusion food get lost in translation

Neither here nor there

Its like try too hard and become a mess. Only very few can do it well
Yea, most like just follow trend then end up nothing.

It's a bit sad even for Michelin, there's not that many really pure Malaysian cuisine that is listed.

No one wanna take it into a higher level, but good thing our kopitiam level still not bad. Definitely better than SG but much behind TH I feel.
TShksgmy
post May 31 2024, 10:28 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ May 31 2024, 03:28 PM)
Yea, most like just follow trend then end up nothing.

It's a bit sad even for Michelin, there's not that many really pure Malaysian cuisine that is listed.

No one wanna take it into a higher level, but good thing our kopitiam level still not bad. Definitely better than SG but much behind TH I feel.
Well, there is Seroja, a 1 star joint in Singapore that claims to serve Malaysian food. I’ve been trying to convince the waifu to go try with me but she just can’t seem to justify paying $300 per person for food that she grew up with which would normally cost a fraction of that asking price… sigh.
SUSfuzzy
post Jun 1 2024, 01:21 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 31 2024, 10:28 PM)
Well, there is Seroja, a 1 star joint in Singapore that claims to serve Malaysian food. I’ve been trying to convince the waifu to go try with me but she just can’t seem to justify paying $300 per person for food that she grew up with which would normally cost a fraction of that asking price… sigh.
Definitely not worth it.

There's a new one star in New York serving Malaysian food, where the owner has never even been to Malaysia hahaha.
TShksgmy
post Jun 17 2024, 09:09 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

So we were over in Sydney for winter (and got back), which would explain why I was suddenly so free to be full-time on /k, but had no time to update any food photos.

And, before we left, we saw this:

As I've previously mentioned, there's no Michelin starred joint in Australia, but this scored the max 3 hats of their local rating system for decades. It's a veritable icon of fine dining in Sydney, and it's closing down. We were lucky to have one last dinner there, and I thought I'd post it for the memories when it's well and truly closed.

The oysters (an additional extra) were crisp and sweet and unbelievably fresh. Obviously, we've had fresh oysters - we ate the entire way down NSW's coast - from Merimbula to River Moruya and continued eating all the way to Tasmania during our epic road trip there last year, but there's something special about the way it's done at Tetsuya's.

Tuna line caught from Queensland with caviar

Hokkaido scallops

Our personal (evergreen) favourite, the famous ocean trout

TShksgmy
post Jun 17 2024, 09:13 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

We swapped the squid noodles (not a big fan) for toothfish and were super happy that we did

Next was pork with cabbage and it tasted a lot better than it sounded

Melt in mouth full-blood wagyu steak

Desserts:

TShksgmy
post Jun 17 2024, 09:16 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

And a little memento box for us to remember them by. Inside was a churn of Tetsuya's butter.

The menu (we didn't order additional caviar, and as mentioned, the oysters were an off menu item)

And since this was a treat by my colleague (the same family that I took to Candlenut when they visited us in Singapore earlier this year), I don't have the bill to show, but per person was about AUD300. Well worth it, and cheaper than anything equivalent in Singapore.
TShksgmy
post Jun 17 2024, 09:52 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Gotta say… I felt the same tinge of sadness when Andre closed down his eponymously named 2 star place …. Saddening
adele123
post Jun 18 2024, 01:58 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 31 2024, 10:28 PM)
Dr, when you come back to malaysia, try out Beta. It's malaysian food theme and Beta got 1 star michelin recently.

I havent been there myself but a good friend recommended to try even before they got the 1*. All in (tax included) is about RM500++ per person. It is cheaper than $300 per person.

Maybe she might be more open to that. Think of it as contributing to malaysia economy. smile.gif
TShksgmy
post Jun 18 2024, 02:40 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 18 2024, 01:58 PM)
Dr, when you come back to malaysia, try out Beta. It's malaysian food theme and Beta got 1 star michelin recently.

I havent been there myself but a good friend recommended to try even before they got the 1*. All in (tax included) is about RM500++ per person. It is cheaper than $300 per person.

Maybe she might be more open to that. Think of it as contributing to malaysia economy. smile.gif
Hahah. Thanks for the tip. I’m obviously keen as I’m a foodie … My accountant wife, well, accountants being accountants, old habits of frugality die hard.
funfunfun
post Jun 18 2024, 03:56 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 18 2024, 02:40 PM)
Hahah. Thanks for the tip. I’m obviously keen as I’m a foodie … My accountant wife, well, accountants being accountants, old habits of frugality die hard.
Burnt ends has slot now for 2nd Aug. I recalled you wanted to try before..
TShksgmy
post Jun 18 2024, 04:23 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(funfunfun @ Jun 18 2024, 03:56 PM)
Burnt ends has slot now for 2nd Aug. I recalled you wanted to try before..
Damn it... thank you but false hope leh. I went to book, but only the lunch slots are left. Dinner slots all kena sapu'ed already!!!!

Geram!
funfunfun
post Jun 18 2024, 04:30 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 18 2024, 04:23 PM)
Damn it... thank you but false hope leh. I went to book, but only the lunch slots are left. Dinner slots all kena sapu'ed already!!!!

Geram!
Need to check very (very) regularly.. the slots I got are usually last-minute cancellations. Couple of times I got dinner slot within same week (even Friday and Sat) so cancellation happens a number of times as it's free to cancel within 48 hrs i think..

TShksgmy
post Jun 18 2024, 04:38 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(funfunfun @ Jun 18 2024, 04:30 PM)
Need to check very (very) regularly.. the slots I got are usually last-minute cancellations. Couple of times I got dinner slot within same week (even Friday and Sat) so cancellation happens a number of times as it's free to cancel within 48 hrs i think..
Bro, you’re a lucky man to have dined there. World’s 68th best restaurant wor! I’m jelez.

If you happen to see a slot for dinner pls lemme know o in this thread please please.

Gam Xia Many Many
funfunfun
post Jun 18 2024, 07:31 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 18 2024, 04:38 PM)
Bro, you’re a lucky man to have dined there. World’s 68th best restaurant wor! I’m jelez.

If you happen to see a slot for dinner pls lemme know o in this thread please please.

Gam Xia Many Many
I’m more excited to see you try and get your honest opinion because having tried few times I really think it’s somewhat overhyped haha…

The cooking is good and they deserve 1 star for sure but i dont understand why it’s so hard to reserve…
TShksgmy
post Jun 18 2024, 08:46 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(funfunfun @ Jun 18 2024, 07:31 PM)
I’m more excited to see you try and get your honest opinion because having tried few times I really think it’s somewhat overhyped haha…

The cooking is good and they deserve 1 star for sure but i dont understand why it’s so hard to reserve…
Maybe it’s because they don’t ask for a deposit prior to booking… all the others require a $300 deposit which will be forfeited if you don’t turn up.
icemanfx
post Jun 19 2024, 12:02 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 18 2024, 04:38 PM)

Gam Xia Many Many
https://www.theworlds50best.com/the-list/disfrutar.html

We visited this restaurant a few years ago smile.gif

TShksgmy
post Jun 19 2024, 06:53 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 19 2024, 12:02 AM)
https://www.theworlds50best.com/the-list/disfrutar.html

We visited this restaurant a few years ago smile.gif
If you still remember your experience and still have the photos, post a review please!
icemanfx
post Jun 19 2024, 10:45 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 19 2024, 06:53 AM)
If you still remember your experience and still have the photos, post a review please!

a portion of foods, the dinner took us 3.5 hours.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jun 19 2024, 10:46 PM
pg84
post Jun 19 2024, 11:00 PM

289 posts

All these Mxxxxx stars are just BS trying to rip ppls $$ . It’s not the food that costs u arms n legs ,it’s the environment n hyped up advertisement , look at the food …work of art ?or just some bs
TShksgmy
post Jun 19 2024, 11:02 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(pg84 @ Jun 19 2024, 11:00 PM)
All these Mxxxxx stars are just BS trying to rip ppls $$ . It’s not the food that costs u arms n legs ,it’s the environment n hyped up advertisement , look at the food …work of art ?or just some bs
If you say so bro, if you say so.

What was your experience with a Michelin starred restaurant that out you off so badly?
kevinc
post Jun 20 2024, 11:44 AM

437 posts

rx330
post Jun 20 2024, 11:49 AM

11,811 posts

niamah, burnt ends still so hard to book?
hype die down pls update yea
TShksgmy
post Jun 20 2024, 12:34 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ Jun 20 2024, 11:44 AM)
Bro, kasi sikit write up and review please?
TShksgmy
post Jun 20 2024, 12:34 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 20 2024, 11:49 AM)
niamah, burnt ends still so hard to book?
hype die down pls update yea
Dunno why …. I think it’s because there’s no booking fee so people just book for fun
kevinc
post Jun 20 2024, 01:53 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 20 2024, 12:34 PM)
Bro, kasi sikit write up and review please?
not much lol went just for a quickie. atmos good but lousy view lol the 2001 deadarm was scrumptious
TShksgmy
post Jun 20 2024, 02:00 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ Jun 20 2024, 01:53 PM)
not much lol went just for a quickie. atmos good but lousy view lol the 2001 deadarm was scrumptious
Thank you! I’m not familiar with the wine. Is it a red? Shiraz? Pinot Noir? Bordeaux? Burgundy?

We usually prefer Bordeaux wines - waifu has developed quite a taste for the usual suspects, Mouton, Lafite and her personal favorite, Cos d’Estournel. I don’t mind the nose of a Margaux but I’m really not a big fan.
kevinc
post Jun 20 2024, 02:20 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 20 2024, 02:00 PM)
Thank you! I’m not familiar with the wine. Is it a red? Shiraz? Pinot Noir? Bordeaux? Burgundy?

We usually prefer Bordeaux wines - waifu has developed quite a taste for the usual suspects, Mouton, Lafite and her personal favorite, Cos d’Estournel. I don’t mind the nose of a Margaux but I’m really not a big fan.
was a red shiraz. i prefer right bank pomerol. goes with medium well angus
TShksgmy
post Jun 20 2024, 02:55 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ Jun 20 2024, 02:20 PM)
was a red shiraz. i prefer right bank pomerol. goes with medium well angus
Ah, no wonder. Waifu is, as you can see from my listing, more of a left bank girl with her Cos.
icemanfx
post Jun 20 2024, 04:33 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(pg84 @ Jun 19 2024, 11:00 PM)
Culture couldn't be bought. what one eat is how he was brought up.

TShksgmy
post Jun 20 2024, 04:44 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 20 2024, 04:33 PM)
Culture couldn't be bought. what one eat is how he was brought up.
To be fair, sometimes it’s less of culture and more of a case of sour grapes.

A Michelin starred restaurant meal in Singapore for 2 can approach $1,500 to $2,000 excluding wine and beverages. Convert that using 3.5 and this is easily the month’s take home pay for some people.

Now most would just read about the experience quietly and perhaps aspire to one day achieve the financial clout to entertain the idea of splashing out RM7,000 for a meal for 2 - whether they do it or not is irrelevant - it’s the ability to do so that’s important.

Some may choose to criticize what they don’t know.
funfunfun
post Jun 21 2024, 10:11 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 20 2024, 12:34 PM)
Dunno why …. I think it’s because there’s no booking fee so people just book for fun
Dinner available 19 july. Quickkkk
kevinc
post Jun 21 2024, 10:59 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 20 2024, 04:44 PM)
Some may choose to criticize what they don’t know.
lol true
TShksgmy
post Jun 21 2024, 01:22 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(funfunfun @ Jun 21 2024, 10:11 AM)
Dinner available 19 july. Quickkkk
AIYooOoOoOoooooo... taken! These slots get taken up so quickly!!!!!

But thanks so much anyway. I will keep trying
funfunfun
post Jun 21 2024, 01:52 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 21 2024, 01:22 PM)
AIYooOoOoOoooooo... taken! These slots get taken up so quickly!!!!!

But thanks so much anyway. I will keep trying
Yeah usually it gets taken up super quickly...
Maybe try and look at 10am and 10pm every day (I think they release new ones in morning but cancellation usually happen at night in my experience).

My wife don't allow me to book anymore as she jelak already haha

TShksgmy
post Jun 21 2024, 02:37 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(funfunfun @ Jun 21 2024, 01:52 PM)
Yeah usually it gets taken up super quickly...
Maybe try and look at 10am and 10pm every day (I think they release new ones in morning but cancellation usually happen at night in my experience).

My wife don't allow me to book anymore as she jelak already haha
You should try the other restaurants out there with the stars... we are spoilt for choice in Singapore!

Which other Michelin starred joint else have you been?
funfunfun
post Jun 21 2024, 05:36 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 21 2024, 02:37 PM)
You should try the other restaurants out there with the stars... we are spoilt for choice in Singapore!

Which other Michelin starred joint else have you been?
In Singapore I've been to Zen, Odette, Les Amis, Labyrinth, Cloudstreet, Cut, Marguerite, Corner House (lost their star and closed). Favourite in Singapore is probably Zen but I heard standard has dropped since they changed chef. I also really like Corner House..

Best so far I had is Per Se in New York and a 2 Star Restaurant (L'abeille) in Paris Shangri-La which has long closed.
Per Se is a controversial choice because most people think that the food is boring and rather dated but the cooking and service were really on point during my visit. I couldn't secure booking to Atomix when I was in NY but would like to try it..

Worst for me are Le Bernardin in New York (really bad, even side bread was cold) and Restaurant Gordon Ramsay (the 3 stars one in London).

This post has been edited by funfunfun: Jun 21 2024, 05:48 PM
TShksgmy
post Jun 21 2024, 05:59 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(funfunfun @ Jun 21 2024, 05:36 PM)
In Singapore I've been to Zen, Odette, Les Amis, Labyrinth, Cloudstreet, Cut, Marguerite, Corner House (lost their star and closed). Favourite in Singapore is probably Zen but I heard standard has dropped since they changed chef. I also really like Corner House..

Best so far I had is Per Se in New York and a 2 Star Restaurant (L'abeille) in Paris Shangri-La which has long closed.
Per Se is a controversial choice because most people think that the food is boring and rather dated but the cooking and service were really on point during my visit. I couldn't secure booking to Atomix when I was in NY but would like to try it..

Worst for me are Le Bernardin in New York (really bad, even side bread was cold) and Restaurant Gordon Ramsay (the 3 stars one in London).
A seasoned connoisseur! I didn’t find Zen particularly appealing and I would be very surprised if they kept their 3 stars this latest round (due later this week, IINM) - would probably not go back now that you’ve more or less confirmed my suspicions.

Labyrinth and Cloudstreet are the 2 I’ve not been in your list of restaurants in Singapore… might give them a try, since I never seem to be able to get a table at Burnt Ends!

Thanks for sharing!
funfunfun
post Jun 21 2024, 06:03 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 21 2024, 05:59 PM)
A seasoned connoisseur! I didn’t find Zen particularly appealing and I would be very surprised if they kept their 3 stars this latest round (due later this week, IINM) - would probably not go back now that you’ve more or less confirmed my suspicions.

Labyrinth and Cloudstreet are the 2 I’ve not been in your list of restaurants in Singapore… might give them a try, since I never seem to be able to get a table at Burnt Ends!

Thanks for sharing!
Zen was not good at all on my first visit (acidity is out of whack; I could only taste sourness in everything). Second visit after 1 year gap was much much better. So the inconsistency is not so good.... it may dropped off from my ranking if I visit the third time so I won't do it.

Should definitely try Labyrinth.. it's a fun experience.

This post has been edited by funfunfun: Jun 21 2024, 06:04 PM
TShksgmy
post Jun 21 2024, 06:08 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(funfunfun @ Jun 21 2024, 06:03 PM)
Zen was not good at all on my first visit (acidity is out of whack; I could only taste sourness in everything). Second visit after 1 year gap was much much better. So the inconsistency is not so good.... it may dropped off from my ranking if I visit the third time so I won't do it.

Should definitely try Labyrinth.. it's a fun experience.
Will research and report back!
kevinc
post Jul 4 2024, 07:14 PM

437 posts

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

sushi yuki, sg. yuki-san's ex-boss's friend. i eat for free lol
TShksgmy
post Jul 4 2024, 07:18 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ Jul 4 2024, 07:14 PM)
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

sushi yuki, sg. yuki-san's ex-boss's friend. i eat for free lol
You have friends in high places notworthy.gif
kevinc
post Jul 5 2024, 07:00 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 4 2024, 07:18 PM)
You have friends in high places notworthy.gif
i'm freeloader lol
kevinc
post Jul 5 2024, 07:59 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 20 2024, 02:00 PM)
for half d price of estournel my personal fav if left bank wud b grand puy lacoste. decant an hr
TShksgmy
post Jul 5 2024, 08:28 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ Jul 5 2024, 07:59 AM)
for half d price of estournel my personal fav if left bank wud b grand puy lacoste. decant an hr
You are a man of culture! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
kevinc
post Jul 5 2024, 09:32 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 5 2024, 08:28 AM)
You are a man of culture!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
that also free yum laugh.gif
TShksgmy
post Jul 5 2024, 09:34 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ Jul 5 2024, 09:32 AM)
that also free yum  laugh.gif
Wife just opened a case of the 2016 Cos… 100 pointers from multiple sources. We’re keeping an unopened case for the next 10 days years to see if it gets any better than what it already is now.

Edited typo

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jul 6 2024, 06:34 PM
kevinc
post Jul 5 2024, 10:01 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 5 2024, 09:34 AM)
Wife just opened a case of the 2016 Cos… 100 pointers from multiple sources. We’re keeping an unopened case for the next 10 days to see if it gets any better than what it already is now.
next 10yrs or 10 days ? cos d'estourn peak maturity shud b 15-20yrs. try get a 2009 though is 2x price of 2016 but was a great vintage. or just get more 2016 n keep a decade lol
TShksgmy
post Jul 5 2024, 10:26 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ Jul 5 2024, 10:01 AM)
next 10yrs or 10 days ? cos d'estourn peak maturity shud b 15-20yrs. try get a 2009 though is 2x price of 2016 but was a great vintage. or just get more 2016 n keep a decade lol
Sorry, 10 years. Silly typo. 10 days for what!?

We have a few 2009 bottles left ... it was her favourite Cos, until the 2016 came about. But, I have to admit, the 2009 was a superb, superb year for all Bordeaux!
kevinc
post Jul 5 2024, 12:34 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 5 2024, 10:26 AM)
10 days for what!?
TShksgmy
post Jul 5 2024, 02:55 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ Jul 5 2024, 12:34 PM)

A case stored in our basement… maybe I’ll update this page 10 years from now eh?
kevinc
post Jul 5 2024, 06:02 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 5 2024, 02:55 PM)

A case stored in our basement… maybe I’ll update this page 10 years from now eh?
basement cellar fuiyo
Chinoz
post Jul 5 2024, 06:40 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 5 2024, 02:55 PM)

I dunno how you do it.

If I had my cellar downstairs, confirm it’ll be empty before the weekend is over laugh.gif
TShksgmy
post Jul 5 2024, 06:45 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Jul 5 2024, 06:40 PM)
I dunno how you do it.

If I had my cellar downstairs, confirm it’ll be empty before the weekend is over laugh.gif
I don’t drink … waifu does and I didn’t tell her about the back up case I bought for her. Keeping it for a rainy day to get me out of the dog house.
kevinc
post Jul 6 2024, 05:57 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 5 2024, 06:45 PM)
I don’t drink … waifu does
how u survived all these yrs
lol
TShksgmy
post Jul 6 2024, 06:50 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ Jul 6 2024, 05:57 AM)
how u survived all these yrs
lol
I’m a typical Asian with insufficient alcohol and aldehyde dehydrogenase…
kevinc
post Jul 6 2024, 11:36 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 6 2024, 06:50 AM)
I’m a typical Asian with insufficient alcohol and aldehyde dehydrogenase…
lol
SUSfuzzy
post Jan 22 2025, 03:09 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

hksgmy have you tried Odette and Zen or Les Amis?

Which will you recommend?

0.1429sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:21 PM