Michelin Starred Restaurants, And other good eats

gashout
post Oct 7 2023, 03:54 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

Nakajima. 1 Michelin star

First day landed went to try the famous sardine meal mentioned here.

Queue isn't long if you queue 10 ish. Restaurant opens at 11.

Theyve the counter table and some private rooms. But if you miss the first round expect to wait till they finish eating.

Very organized. The cashier auntie managed the flow of the place while 4 to 5 people are at the kitchen.

As a woman, my rice got halved. It was still good. When I finished, I felt I could eat more.

990 yen. Worth a try.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
gashout
post Jan 25 2024, 12:09 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jan 25 2024, 04:35 AM)
Having said that, I’m glad they picked the venue, and I was merely in charge of picking up the tab:

wah, i don't have a friend who does that ... biggrin.gif

yes, the best question to if a restaurant is nice is : will you go back again.

gashout
post Apr 3 2024, 03:48 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Apr 2 2024, 05:12 PM)
Yesterday had my special omakase dinner at Ushi.. The food was great.. I had Sushi Taka few months back

https://guide.michelin.com/my/en/kuala-lump...restaurant/ushi
https://guide.michelin.com/my/en/kuala-lump...rant/sushi-taka

Both are Michelin selected restaurants
which one do you recommend more? ushi or taka?
gashout
post Apr 3 2024, 03:49 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Feb 1 2024, 08:35 PM)
The menu:

Cukur, I can buy an iPhone with this….. but not as high spec as a certain someone’s hahaha
it's ok, SIA gave you two free phones, consider the meal free biggrin.gif
gashout
post Apr 3 2024, 10:47 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Apr 3 2024, 09:49 AM)
Ushi special omakase dinner part 1

the presentation for ushi is beautiful. it's not the typical presentation like taka.

looks yummy, you are making me hungry already!

gashout
post Apr 3 2024, 06:36 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Apr 3 2024, 03:51 PM)
Do you mean the total price of the dinner ?

I went to Ushi during their special anniversary 2 days ago

The price is RM 1,484 (including SST) for 2 pax as the restaurant had a buy 1 free 1 promotion

Below is the list of menu in Ushi. I had the special omakase

how did you find out about this?
gashout
post Apr 12 2024, 05:52 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 11 2024, 06:41 PM)

Menu looks very promising
The food looks heavenly.

Question. Will you go back again? How do you rate it? Does it beat your fav restaurant?
gashout
post Apr 12 2024, 08:06 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 12 2024, 07:33 AM)
There have been some restaurants that I’ve been back over and over - the 2 starred Waku Ghin and its sibling restaurant Wakuda being prime examples, and of course, Les Amis and Odette being the others.

This, as gut bursting and relatively affordable as it was, probably wouldn’t be one of them.

The service was a major let down. Firstly, they ran out of ingredients (the oyster) and while the replacements (octopus and prosciutto) were tasty in their own right, the waiter forgot to ask if we took pork or octopus. I had to let her know that waifu says notto to octo and without checking with us, she brought waifu the pork based replacement.

Secondly, they changed cutlery for every dish - and promptly forgot to give us cutlery for the 2nd mains!

Thirdly, for the tea, they ran out of peppermint tea which was what waifu wanted….

When we dine at a Michelin starred restaurant, we obviously expect not only good food but impeccable service.

This, sadly, wasn’t one of those places.

I’d be surprised if they kept their 1 star ….
doesn't sound like a good experience at all, apart from the dishes.

they do need to train their staff better.
gashout
post Apr 27 2024, 06:31 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 27 2024, 06:20 PM)
Another weekend, another Michelin Star restaurant on the menu.

ish! you go to michelin restaurants more frequent than i do my grocery shopping biggrin.gif

enjoy doc!
gashout
post Apr 28 2024, 01:28 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 27 2024, 07:31 PM)
A5 Miyazaki Wagyu that fcuking melted in the mouth
was about to ask this. yumm smile.gif

what about the 32 egg yolks? im sure it symbolizes something
gashout
post Apr 28 2024, 01:50 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

Apr 28 2024, 02:04 PM
This post has been deleted by hksgmy because: Mistake

gashout
post Apr 28 2024, 02:22 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 28 2024, 02:05 PM)
Sorry, had to delete the menu because it had my personal details on it.
no problem. didn't notice that at all.

i just saw 32 egg yolks biggrin.gif
gashout
post Apr 28 2024, 02:55 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 28 2024, 02:41 PM)
Latest update…

Michelin restaurants that I've had the privilege to try both in Singapore and abroad...

In the UK:
Moor Hall (**)

In Tokyo:
Shinjuku Nakajima (*)

In Singapore:
Les Amis (***), Zen (***), Odette (***),
Waku Ghin (**), Andre (** - interestingly, this was the premise that Zen took over),
Putien (*), Crystal Jade Paragon (*), Alma (*), Cut (*), Summer Place (*), Lei Garden (*), Corner House (* - sadly, closed last year), Imperial Treasures (*), Candlenut (*), added Reve (*) and Marguerite (*), latest 2 are Buona Terra (*) and Braci (*)
i think can put a rating next to them as well smile.gif
gashout
post May 31 2024, 06:38 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ May 30 2024, 08:17 PM)
Recently went to Gai by DC.

It's... disappointing to say the least. Chim by Chef Noom was miles better.
will you say Chim is THE restaurant to go for malaysian michelin restaurant?

I need to pay a visit when I am back.
gashout
post May 31 2024, 02:37 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ May 31 2024, 02:26 PM)
Not really la, it's just Chim is better Thai food compared to Gai.

Gai's more like an expensive Thai food place, even though it's from a Michelin chef.

Dewakan is the only 2 star in MY for now, so many probably looks to it when it comes to benchmark.

I'll probably ask you to try Potager, it's not yet a star but very likely will be one soon.
Not really, given how popular Japanese restaurants are around here. It's more a difference in taste buds in my view.

Like France is the capital of Michelin, but frankly most of the food I had there wasn't great, just they had excellent service and attention to detail.

In comparison, Malaysian would likely rate a western fusion or Japanese or even Thai cuisine way higher because it fits our rich taste buds more.
Yes, I have followed Potager Insta acc after you or someone mentioned about it...

Will try it one day smile.gif

0.0341sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:37 AM