Selling in Carousel, New user made an offer

TSxSean
post Jul 26 2023, 11:13 PM, updated 3y ago

2,768 posts

This is my first time selling in Carousel. I have been pm-ed and offered but few buyers. 2 of them are new users and they acoount created few days ago and no transaction history . I have not reply to them.

Are they legit buyer?
Gargamel_gibson
post Jul 26 2023, 11:25 PM

526 posts

Yes most probably scam or fake. Insist on COD if possible, otherwise carousel got their secure feature also not bad but still COD the best
Steponlego
post Jul 26 2023, 11:28 PM

938 posts

Probably scam. Check back in few hours, you'll see that the account will be banned. Carousell is pretty fast detecting bot accounts. Oldest trick in the book will be they try to make you message them outside carousell. Latest I heard they ask for your email because they can't pay via carousell pay.

First step is always to get your personal number/email so that they can slowly fish you in to make you believe that they're a legit buyer, later will ask you for payment to release bank payment. This may sound very stupid trick, but it worked since the beginning of online scams and has been proven the best low effort scam out there.
teikboon
post Jul 26 2023, 11:29 PM

1,384 posts

if new account or no transaction history, better be extra careful a bit
SUSrtk74
post Jul 26 2023, 11:32 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

No problem.....
only deal either through COD or carousell payment method/escrow
nottherealme
post Jul 26 2023, 11:42 PM

61 posts

ahh carousel, the heaven of scalpers. hahaha.
SUSifourtos
post Jul 26 2023, 11:51 PM

2,256 posts

reply u also scared????
what kind of tofu is this???

seasoned seller on many platform.

reply all message.
Strict SOP of dealing.

Cash/Credit Card/TnG + CoD

Question? check FAQ in my item description...

hightechgadgets8
post Jul 26 2023, 11:53 PM

\(^o^)/
6,017 posts

Not all new accs are scammers. Just gotta be careful
IpohGuyz
post Jul 27 2023, 12:27 AM

160 posts

Scammers confirmed. I also lazy sell in carousel d. Half of those pm you are scammers
chaukeng
post Jul 27 2023, 05:23 AM

2,345 posts

Scammers in carousell usually has username ends in a strings of random numbers cause these accounts are software generated.

WebDpot
post Jul 27 2023, 06:05 AM

1,026 posts

Never ship the item until you received the money even though they send you a payment prove.
gashout
post Jul 27 2023, 06:10 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

if they say buy for their friends, and send to kampung area. or whatever kampung place. then it's scam

to be safe, do face to face meet up
jorakman
post Jul 27 2023, 08:50 AM

106 posts

i am new to carousell as seller. Recently join carousell to sell some item that i not needed.

I think nowadays all the platforms are same, need to careful.

my experience so far: there were 2 people who wanted to buy the item and insist to use carousell secure payment. later on their account got suspended. another item i manage to sell it off face-to-face. buyer come collect and pay on the spot.

i think best is to deal with buyer face-to-face.

Sha91
post Jul 27 2023, 09:13 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(chaukeng @ Jul 27 2023, 05:23 AM)
Scammers in carousell usually has username ends in a strings of random numbers cause these accounts are software generated.
This.
Zeliard
post Jul 27 2023, 09:14 AM

286 posts

They will ask for your email. Citing carousell protection mandates email validation.

Then they will send to your email, saying they excessively sent more money, and asks U to bank in them. Broken english, inappropriate capital letters, U figure.
Angry Clerk
post Jul 27 2023, 09:22 AM

253 posts

Carousel and Mudah... I'm tired to sell anything there... was selling clothes hanger for RM20.. want me to discount to RM15.

+ deliver to his house.

Nope I threw them away lol

This post has been edited by Angry Clerk: Jul 27 2023, 09:22 AM
MegaCanonF
post Jul 27 2023, 09:33 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ Jul 26 2023, 11:13 PM)
This is my first time selling in Carousel. I have been pm-ed and offered but few buyers. 2 of them are new users and they acoount created few days ago and no transaction history . I have not reply to them.

Are they legit buyer?
Most likely scam.

Always ask for COD if possible.

However , my rule is i just deal with those people with star rating. / " responsive" status. Unresponsive / no star i just tell them fly kite.

This post has been edited by MegaCanonF: Jul 27 2023, 09:33 AM
synical
post Jul 27 2023, 10:32 AM

657 posts

Always possible. Normally I don't reply right away and see if they got banned later down the road.

My COD policy is you come to me, not I meet you in the middle of nowhere or what
KevProp
post Jul 27 2023, 12:31 PM

81 posts

it is a scam

their tactics ;

-buy for another person asking you to chat in another platform

- need your email address for verification in the carousel protection payment
carz
post Jan 28 2024, 08:14 PM

189 posts

I'm a carousell user.
Sometimes I ask prospective buyers for the phone number, and seldom get a reply.

Sonetimes when I try to send my phone number, it kind of refused to allow the post.

How come? Once we conclude to transact, how are we to contact reach other?

Or if the person wants to view the item

0.0199sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:01 AM