My amoi colleague's car timing belt broken...

acbc
post Jul 25 2023, 10:44 AM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ Jul 25 2023, 10:39 AM)
95k & putus liao? What CB car is that? Or must be coz in idle mode for a long significant time.
I kena before putus at 33k km on 4G63 before. Entire head need to be replaced. Luckily not expensive.
acbc
post Jul 25 2023, 10:52 AM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Jul 25 2023, 10:51 AM)
My sis myvi also timing belt broken...
Old first gen myvi.....
She say the car suddenly lose power...and the road got tiny bit of metal....
I search Google and found out timing belt putus....
Kena tarik...
Myvi is chain la.

If belt putus is not timing but the accessories belt.
acbc
post Jul 25 2023, 11:18 AM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Jul 25 2023, 11:14 AM)
Soli soli...
Forgot maibi is chain.....
Also when the accessories belt putus, the car will have no power steering, aircon and alternator hence no power. But the engine still runs from the battery. Once the battery kaput, the engine will die.

Timing chain will control both water and oil pumps so the engine will survive long enough to get it fix at the workshop.
acbc
post Jul 25 2023, 11:21 AM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Jul 25 2023, 11:20 AM)
My sis punya is total lost power....
Gam gam go down from Bridge....
So she let the car slide down nia.....to road side...
Smart girl. An ordinary person would have panicked and still drive on.
acbc
post Jul 25 2023, 02:52 PM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(Bill888 @ Jul 25 2023, 02:37 PM)
Timing chain better no need change. Timing belt you have to be careful, need to change after some mileage.
True but the chain guides usually made from plastic and will wear out cause noisy chain rattles.

0.0180sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:42 PM