Clogged Toilet in Old High Rise Condo, As title

TSKinggnik87
post Jul 25 2023, 09:40 AM, updated 3y ago

191 posts

Sorry if this is not the place to ask, feel free to move this thread if needed.

Has anyone experience clogged toilet in high rise condo? Apparently I have tried calling the plumber a few times and they seem to can't fix it. They tried many methods and eventually resort to using a mop to push/clean the toilet pipe. It works for a day or two and it came back.

I suspect is the air vent/pressure problem. Any sifus here know any suggestion or can share personal experience on handling this? We have been bugged by this problem for many weeks, hope can listen to some suggestions.

This post has been edited by Kinggnik87: Jul 25 2023, 10:19 AM
taurean
post Jul 25 2023, 09:43 AM

90 posts

Try to call the maintenance team from the apartment's management office to troubleshoot. It is better to get their people and not external people, so that there is record of inspection, and "warranty".
Virlution
post Jul 25 2023, 10:06 AM

481 posts

your plumber need to do inspection.... feed a camera link down the pipe to unclog the source or air lock

usually is wet wipes stuffing it up
Roadwarrior1337
post Jul 25 2023, 10:07 AM

979 posts

When u have irresponsible tenant that throw thier sanitari pad, condom and tissue paper down the toilet , this is where the problem is.

Those low unit yg kesihan
TSKinggnik87
post Jul 25 2023, 10:07 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(taurean @ Jul 25 2023, 09:43 AM)
Try to call the maintenance team from the apartment's management office to troubleshoot. It is better to get their people and not external people, so that there is record of inspection, and "warranty".
Thanks! It actually makes sense. I have informed the management team and see how it goes. Hope it works out well.

TSKinggnik87
post Jul 25 2023, 10:08 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ Jul 25 2023, 10:06 AM)
your plumber need to do inspection.... feed a camera link down the pipe to unclog the source or air lock

usually is wet wipes stuffing it up
The plumber unfortunately didn't do this last time. But we will ask him again soon.
TSKinggnik87
post Jul 25 2023, 10:09 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Jul 25 2023, 10:07 AM)
When u have irresponsible tenant that throw thier sanitari pad, condom and tissue paper down the toilet , this is where the problem is.

Yeah, I heard a lot about this too. We just moved in so hopefully this is not the case.
MR_alien
post Jul 25 2023, 10:15 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Jul 25 2023, 10:07 AM)

my brother who lives at bukit jalil...13th floor
he told me he can't throw/flush toilet paper down...else it will clog rclxub.gif
nihility
post Jul 25 2023, 10:35 AM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 25 2023, 10:15 AM)
my brother who lives at bukit jalil...13th floor
he told me he can't throw/flush toilet paper down...else it will clog rclxub.gif
What is the size of the main pipe stack? Serving how many floors?
max_cavalera
post Jul 25 2023, 10:40 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Got use those high pressure waterjet with nozzles that go into the piping or not?

Sometimes its just the P elbow/junction stuck there. To access it u need the mgmt ppl to call/email the owner below and let ur plumber access the elbow from there by opening its cap and unclogged it.
acbc
post Jul 25 2023, 10:47 AM

9,048 posts

For condos, u need to access the service port from the unit below. Inside your unit are the service ports from the top unit.

Everything then goes to the master pipe which is usually quite large and over 6 inches in diameter.

Any leaks or damages below u need to fix and pay.
mushigen
post Jul 25 2023, 11:05 AM

4,952 posts

Blockage should be from your own unit. If the main pipe is blocked, you will have sewage overflowing from your toilet bowl when upstairs users flush their toilet.
TSKinggnik87
post Jul 25 2023, 11:19 AM

191 posts

Thanks for the input, guys. We have got the management team attention and they will send a team to inspect and see how it goes.

Hopefully we can find the root of the problem and get it fixed. And hopefully it is free too biggrin.gif
mushigen
post Jul 25 2023, 11:32 AM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jul 25 2023, 10:40 AM)
Got use those high pressure waterjet with nozzles that go into the piping or not?

Sometimes its just the P elbow/junction stuck there. To access it u need the mgmt ppl to call/email the owner below and let ur plumber access the elbow from there by opening its cap and unclogged it.
Under strata regulations, can the downstairs unit refuse entry?
YummyFriedOnions
post Jul 25 2023, 11:50 AM

62 posts

In my case, the original contractor didn't place the rubber properly when placing the toilet bowl.

Was OK at first, then toilet bowl kept getting clogged later on. Not sure why it deteriorated.

Had to hack and remove the toilet bowl and fix it back.

[attachmentid=11474126]

This post has been edited by YummyFriedOnions: Jul 25 2023, 11:50 AM

MR_alien
post Jul 25 2023, 12:43 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jul 25 2023, 10:35 AM)
What is the size of the main pipe stack? Serving how many floors?
no idea...don't bother to ask either
only asked u lived so high up, why can't u flush toilet paper?
he also got no answer...owner also don't bother to fix

TSKinggnik87
post Jul 25 2023, 06:56 PM

191 posts

Update:

The management team has found the problem to be the clogged pipe which requires us to fix it at the unit below. Now we are trying to arrange to fix it.

Never knew staying in high-rise will have this problem
hihihehe
post Jul 25 2023, 08:24 PM

13,789 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jul 25 2023, 11:32 AM)
Under strata regulations, can the downstairs unit refuse entry?
can tell them dont blame if the pipe burst lol

i bet they will not refuse
SUSticke
post Jul 25 2023, 09:03 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

blood vessel also will clot la...ini summore pvc pipes...
mushigen
post Jul 25 2023, 09:23 PM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(Kinggnik87 @ Jul 25 2023, 06:56 PM)
Update:

The management team has found the problem to be the clogged pipe which requires us to fix it at the unit below. Now we are trying to arrange to fix it.

Never knew staying in high-rise will have this problem
Landed pun can have this issue. Only difference is you don't have to coordinate with the neighbour to rectify.

0.0491sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:03 PM