What is alternative to UNIQLO Ultra Heattech

TSate
post Jul 24 2023, 10:12 AM, updated 3y ago

629 posts

any other brand that give same output at uniqlo ultra heattech which about the same price?
MR_alien
post Jul 24 2023, 10:19 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

if you're buying here, i don't think u have any other choice other than uniqlo

if you're buying it in JP, u have more choice..i bought one before but i have no idea what brand is it, it's all in japanese
there is even a demonstration station for it

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Jul 24 2023, 10:28 AM
Akaashi
post Jul 24 2023, 10:26 AM

199 posts

What's wrong with Uniqlo heattech? I find them works well when I go Hokkaido during winter.
marfccy
post Jul 24 2023, 10:33 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 24 2023, 10:19 AM)
if you're buying here, i don't think u have any other choice other than uniqlo

if you're buying it in JP, u have more choice..i bought one before but i have no idea what brand is it, it's all in japanese
there is even a demonstration station for it
dont OP can just find those base layers made from merino wool from other shops hmm.gif

granted it may cost additional than heattech but its as good if not better

i used to buy long johns from Universal Traveller anyway, they worked fine also
MR_alien
post Jul 24 2023, 10:36 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 24 2023, 10:33 AM)
dont OP can just find those base layers made from merino wool from other shops  hmm.gif

granted it may cost additional than heattech but its as good if not better

i used to buy long johns from Universal Traveller anyway, they worked fine also
i think the reason why people go for uniqlo heattech or equivalent is how thin it is and how light it is
it's much more preferable if you're travelling light....those other alternative doesn't seem to be light at all

same reason i bought the unknown brand one when i'm in japan, it's very thin after folded

it's actually thinner than your cotton t-shirt

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Jul 24 2023, 10:37 AM
SUStolongking
post Jul 24 2023, 10:43 AM

20 posts

h&m, decathlon, A&F, gap... so many
marfccy
post Jul 24 2023, 10:45 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 24 2023, 10:36 AM)
i think the reason why people go for uniqlo heattech or equivalent is how thin it is and how light it is
it's much more preferable if you're travelling light....those other alternative doesn't seem to be light at all

same reason i bought the unknown brand one when i'm in japan, it's very thin after folded

it's actually thinner than your cotton t-shirt
yeah i understand this but comparisons to the thicker ones are abit unfair as i believe those can cater to even colder weathers below subzero temps than Heattech which designed for city winter temps (5 to -5C range). getting those outdoor base layers are as light and thin with higher heat rating albeit costing more

MR_alien
post Jul 24 2023, 10:58 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 24 2023, 10:45 AM)
yeah i understand this but comparisons to the thicker ones are abit unfair as i believe those can cater to even colder weathers below subzero temps than Heattech which designed for city winter temps (5 to -5C range). getting those outdoor base layers are as light and thin with higher heat rating albeit costing more
i think malaysian don't care enough yet
they put portability as first priority first
not how well it can insulate u against the cold

for me, just put another layer on if not enough
i'd be more willing to spend more covering my head+face+hands and legs after my last encounter with winter
marfccy
post Jul 24 2023, 11:01 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 24 2023, 10:58 AM)
i think malaysian don't care enough yet
they put portability as first priority first
not how well it can insulate u against the cold

for me, just put another layer on if not enough
i'd be more willing to spend more covering my head+face+hands and legs after my last encounter with winter
yah agree its easy as hell to find lol, uniqlo is everywhere so anyone can buy/wear it instead of hunting those specific base layers from other brands

though malaysians dont really know proper layering also during cold winters, not many has the experience of actual brutal winter

heck i dealt with -2C in city which is my lowest so far and i was suffering cause didnt layer correctly. lesson learnt the hard way
Current Events guy
post Jul 24 2023, 11:04 AM

966 posts

I find uniqlo heatech to be meh vs columbia or northface but they cost more

Then you can go to explorer outfitter to buy base layers which I found to be quite good for winter sports

This is my input if you want to ski or do recreational activity in winter countries or if you have young kids/old people who really cannot take the cold. If you just going around town, heatech should be okay.
sanosizo
post Jul 24 2023, 11:07 AM

4,553 posts

I wore my motorcycle rain jacket when I went to Iceland. It's windproof, also trap heat really well, it was -5C that time.

The only downside was, when taking pictures with flash at night, the reflective strips will ruin it.
Ayer
post Jul 24 2023, 11:09 AM

206 posts

Virlution
post Jul 24 2023, 11:09 AM

484 posts

wool or merino wool as outer layer over cotton shirt also can.

Uniqlo they have different thickness/material and some marketing make it interesting for people to gauge the usage.

that say, uniqlo jackets are quite cheap, but if you go outlet sometimes can find even cheaper stuffs. if you want light and warm, hard to beat uniqlo down puff jackets.
knives.
post Jul 24 2023, 11:12 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 24 2023, 11:01 AM)
yah agree its easy as hell to find lol, uniqlo is everywhere so anyone can buy/wear it instead of hunting those specific base layers from other brands

though malaysians dont really know proper layering also during cold winters, not many has the experience of actual brutal winter

heck i dealt with -2C in city which is my lowest so far and i was suffering cause didnt layer correctly. lesson learnt the hard way
-4 in Munich, couldn’t stay outside for 10 minutes. Ears and fingers felt like they were going to melt off
marfccy
post Jul 24 2023, 11:18 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(knives. @ Jul 24 2023, 11:12 AM)
-4 in Munich, couldn’t stay outside for 10 minutes. Ears and fingers felt like they were going to melt off
yah i didnt even want to use phone at all. the moment take out from pocket instantly can feel joints and finger numbing

not to mention end of day cucuk liberal amount of moisturiser and lip balm otherwise hello skin peeling

though ill say without wind its quite acceptable, with wind its just NARP
lee82gx
post Jul 24 2023, 11:55 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

you can go to sports direct they have some. I have worn them in -25C outside, but total 4 layers for top and 2 layers for jeans. Yes, cold me die.

Quantum Geist
post Jul 24 2023, 11:57 AM

109 posts

north face? patagonia? canada goose?

not sure the availability if buy in Malaysia though
knives.
post Jul 24 2023, 11:59 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(Quantum Geist @ Jul 24 2023, 11:57 AM)
north face? patagonia? canada goose?

not sure the availability if buy in Malaysia though
Lmao OP aint droppin bags on Canada Goose
mcdonald13
post Jul 24 2023, 12:37 PM

224 posts

i find uniqlo heat tech working too, unless you have budget, then go for north face
SUSceo684
post Jul 24 2023, 12:39 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 24 2023, 11:01 AM)

six layers of top
two layers of bottom
survived 6C with wind chill

rclxm9.gif
marfccy
post Jul 24 2023, 12:40 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 24 2023, 12:39 PM)
six layers of top
two layers of bottom
survived 6C with wind chill

rclxm9.gif
lolol that sounded overkill for top
submergedx
post Jul 24 2023, 12:42 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(ate @ Jul 24 2023, 10:12 AM)
any other brand that give same output at uniqlo ultra heattech which about the same price?
nowadays wear UNIQLO very geli
you wear one go shopping mall
atleast got 10pax same shirt with you
same colour same pattern
yucks

I boycott UNIQLO few years ago
too geli when everybody same outfit like you
s-works
post Jul 24 2023, 12:44 PM

45 posts

timberland
outdoor
mont bell
patagonia
columbia
sle7in
post Jul 24 2023, 02:26 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(ate @ Jul 24 2023, 10:12 AM)
Decathlon got. But only in some outlet. Not everyday people buy winter cloth.
Shah Alam got.
Mytown no.
Virlution
post Jul 24 2023, 02:35 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(knives. @ Jul 24 2023, 11:12 AM)
at -4, with 4 layers, I can still tahan....
then at night hit -5.... just 1 deg difference, beh tahan liao.... next day went out to hunt for another thicker puffer jacket.
TSate
post Jul 24 2023, 02:36 PM

629 posts

QUOTE(sle7in @ Jul 24 2023, 02:26 PM)
Decathlon got. But only in some outlet. Not everyday people buy winter cloth.
Shah Alam got.
Mytown no.
Thanks i will pay them a visit.

0.0169sec    1.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:08 PM