Movies Oppenheimer (2023), Things Go Boom!

TSMov_freak
post Jul 21 2023, 11:31 AM, updated 3y ago

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Oppenheimer is a 2023 narrative drama film that chronicles the life of J. Robert Oppenheimer. The film script was adapted from the 2005 Robert Oppenheimer biography, American Prometheus, written by Kai Bird and Martin J. Sherwin. The film was written and directed by Christopher Nolan.

J. Robert Oppenheimer was an American theoretical physicist and the director of the Los Alamos Laboratory during World War II. He is often credited as the "father of the atomic bomb" for his role in organizing the Manhattan Project, the research and development that created the first nuclear bombs which ushered in the Atomic Age.

Cillian Murphy stars as the titular character, with Emily Blunt as Oppenheimer's wife, Katherine "Kitty" Oppenheimer, Matt Damon as General Leslie Groves, Oppenheimer's military handler, and Robert Downey Jr. as Lewis Strauss, a senior member of the United States Atomic Energy Commission. Other members of the supporting cast include Florence Pugh, Josh Hartnett, Casey Affleck, Rami Malek, and Kenneth Branagh.

The project was announced in September 2021, after Universal Pictures won a bidding war for Nolan's screenplay. Murphy signed on to portray Oppenheimer in October, with others in the main cast joining between November 2021 and April 2022. Pre-production was underway by January 2022, with filming taking place from February to May. Oppenheimer was filmed in a combination of IMAX 65mm and 65mm large-format film—including, for the first time, sections in IMAX black-and-white analog photography. As with his previous works, Nolan utilized extensive practical effects and minimal computer-generated imagery.

(Excerpt from Wikipedia)
TSMov_freak
post Jul 21 2023, 11:32 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Oppenheimer (2023)

I cannot talk about Christopher Nolan's Oppenheimer, without talking about Roy Orbison: Black and White Night (1988). This intimate concert of his had Tom Waits, Jennifer Warnes, J.D. Souther, Jackson Browne, k.d. lang, Elvis Costello, Roy Orbison, T-Bone Burnett, Bonnie Raitt, Steven Soles, Bruce Springsteen, playing instruments and singing backup!!!

Christopher Nolan's Oppenheimer has Cillian Murphy, Emily Blunt, Robert Downey Jr. & Matt Damon as "leads" and have to add followed by Alden Ehrenreich, Jason Clarke, Josh Hartnett, Alex Wolff, Josh Zuckerman, Florence Pugh, Dane DeHaan, Josh Peck, Jack Quaid, Rami Malek and Casey Affleck (some in blick and you'll miss them) in small roles.

I don't think anyone else in Hollywood now would have the clout to attract such an assemble of talents to be in his/her movie!!!

Could Christopher Nolan has single handedly put Hollywood back to work? laugh.gif

I am getting ahead of myself.

First and foremost, get you head in the right frame of mind before heading into this movies.

This is a dialogue-ee and drama driven movie.

You have to have a rudimentary understanding of World War II, the aftermath of the nuclear bombing of Japan and the Red Scare in the States during the 50s. Otherwise, you will be

A) Bored
B) Lost
C) Both the above.

I honesty know more about Einstein and Stephen Hawkins compared with Oppenheimer.

Nolan seem to be geniunely want to unfold this persons story to the world as "honestly" as he possible can.

Every single actor brought their A game.

Robert Downey Jr. is flexing his acting muscle like nobody's business showing he can be more then a assholey-wiz billionaire.

Pushing practical effect to display a nuclear explosion (some fans speculated his actually detonated a really nuclear bomb for the shot sweat.gif) is no easy feat!

I whole heartedly applaud him for this work.

My concern is, are there alot more people who would do the same?...

My Two Sen.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jul 21 2023, 11:32 AM
RedBishop
post Jul 21 2023, 12:35 PM

2,167 posts

Watched it, love it

The pace is too fast and can barely digest before the next scene.

Definitely going to watch again
masterelr
post Jul 22 2023, 06:27 PM

1,003 posts

May I know how much of the nude scenes were cut and if it's obvious? I believe there were important dialogues during those scenes and I'm curious to know how the censors handled it.
skylinelover
post Jul 23 2023, 04:18 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,244 posts

As a guy who still enjoys TENET today i think i skipping this till IMAX ticket 80% off hahahaha

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jul 23 2023, 04:19 PM
TSMov_freak
post Jul 24 2023, 11:10 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 23 2023, 04:18 PM)
As a guy who still enjoys TENET today i think i skipping this till IMAX ticket 80% off hahahaha
'

Or go all out and fly to Melbourne and watch it here

TSMov_freak
post Jul 24 2023, 11:18 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(masterelr @ Jul 22 2023, 06:27 PM)
May I know how much of the nude scenes were cut and if it's obvious? I believe there were important dialogues during those scenes and I'm curious to know how the censors handled it.

masterelr
post Jul 24 2023, 07:45 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jul 24 2023, 11:18 AM)

skylinelover
post Jul 25 2023, 02:56 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(masterelr @ Jul 24 2023, 07:45 PM)

I wait for streaming then laugh.gif laugh.gif

Watch Barbie better

At least its more family friendly "as uncle roger likes 2 say" rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
rx330
post Jul 27 2023, 11:48 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 25 2023, 02:56 PM)
I wait for streaming then laugh.gif laugh.gif

Watch Barbie better

At least its more family friendly "as uncle roger likes 2 say" rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
barbie is not for kids unfortunately.... bangwall.gif
skylinelover
post Mar 11 2024, 11:33 AM

11,244 posts

Woohoo as predicted Oppen dominates the Oscars laugh.gif rclxm9.gif

No actress and supporting actress win though😭😭
GravityFi3ld
post Mar 11 2024, 02:27 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 11 2024, 11:33 AM)
Woohoo as predicted Oppen dominates the Oscars laugh.gif rclxm9.gif

No actress and supporting actress win though😭😭
Tommy Shelby menang, Ironman menang, Pak Nolan pun menang - ni memang gender discrimination, kan? laugh.gif
but i got to hand it to RDJ - rarely you can hate an onscreen character so deeply, and he did just that in this film, what a petty shoe salesman shakehead.gif - pffft laugh.gif
skylinelover
post Mar 12 2024, 09:51 AM

11,244 posts

Still waiting Academy up RDJ press speech sweat.gif rclxub.gif

0.0212sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:49 PM