Travel All About Hong Kong, Info moved to Facebook Page now!!

sE_vIxEn
post Nov 22 2007, 02:39 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

northasian thanks for your collection of info, i'll be departing for HK this December 22nd. smile.gif 5D4N Free and Easy, living in Tsuen Wan Dorsett Fareast Hotel. smile.gif

it will be a great shopping spree for me and my mom! wanna get some nice boots and clothes~ too bad my boyfriend can't come with us. sad.gif

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Nov 22 2007, 02:43 PM
sE_vIxEn
post Nov 23 2007, 09:02 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Nov 23 2007, 10:19 AM)
Hi sevixen,

Tsuen Wan is fairly good for shopping, the price may a bit cheaper than downtown... there is a Citistore (a mid-range department store), Tsuen Wan City Plaza (small scale shopping centre) behind Citistore, Nam Fung Shopping Centre right beside the Tsuen Wan MTR station, and small scale shopping centre opposite the Citistore named as Tsuen Fung shopping centre, all of them are selling things at local residents price.

Take MTR from Tsuen Wan for 3 stations to the Kwai Fong MTR station, there are 2 shopping centres right opposite the MTR exit : 1 is Metroplaza, a mid-range shopping mall, and another one is Kwai Chung Plaza, a low-range shopping mall that you can shop at cheaper price than downtown, but a bit crowded like Sugai Wang in KL, but if you are looking for non-branded stuff at local price, I think this is the place for you. I can guarantee you may find the same item sold in Mongkok & Causeway bay for 1/3 more or even double priced!
It won't be far away walking from Nathan Hotel to the nearest MTR - Jordan Station, it's just 4 blocks away. But if you're walking with elderly or children then it may take longer time, like 10mins la... Anyway it won't be too far.
It will be late spring during Apr-May. Summer clothing will be just launched during that period, so again, it will be at its highest price. Let me just list the season changing pattern in HK to let you all have an idea when is good for your shopping, 'coz seems quite a few of you don't know the season pattern in northern hemisphere... (including my bf... T_T) :

Spring (Mar-May) ->  Summer (Jun-Sept) -> Autumn (Oct-Nov) -> Winter (Dec-Feb)

Sale period normally during Summer end (Aug-Sep) and Winter end (Jan-Feb). So the best shopping period for you summer folks will be the Summer end sale... 
April - May not yet "very summer", still not as hot as in July and August. Btw, seems you visit HK quite often.. for business, isn't it?
HK is a multi-cultural city, so generally we don't hate particular tourists... only if you're not too rude, not too demanding then it's alright. We normally hate those cheapskates demanding for cheap price but very high quality stuff, that's not reasonable, right?
thanks much for the info! i really appreciate it! biggrin.gif and btw, would like to get a SmarTone Vodafone phone there, dunno whether you got any knowledge about it? i'm not sure which models can be used here although i have done some research. was aiming for Sharp 705SH. and based on your reply to another fellow traveler, now is a good time for shopping liao? biggrin.gif where all the summer clothes are going off cheap?! biggrin.gif

4 shopping centers in just one district, my God. rclxub.gif unbelievable. but a Sungei Wang equivalent sounds tempting. grrrrr.

planning to shop in one district per day. is that a good idea?! it's a 5D4N for us, but 2 days are spent by traveling liao. sad.gif so technically have 3 days left.
sE_vIxEn
post Nov 24 2007, 09:35 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Nov 24 2007, 05:24 PM)
Haha.. yep, girls are born fans for pink... hahaha...

Thanks~ yea, the feeling is like, "oh, finally there is an ending".. haha... can't said it's a nice dating session 'coz my fiance and I are always apart.

Any problem on planning just ask me la~ My pleasure to help~ wink.gif

Why still gotta spend 2 days in travelling? HK Express not arriving in HK?
we'll be arriving midnight in HK, so technically it will be 1 day spent, no?! unsure.gif i will miss Singapore Airlines, have grown used to the simple luxury it gives but yet to see what HK Express can provide. smile.gif

and no, it's not an ending, it's just the beginning of a wonderful life. all the best~ biggrin.gif

thanks again for all the help! nod.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Nov 24 2007, 10:50 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Nov 24 2007, 10:33 PM)
What's your itinerary like? arriving in midnight... sweat.gif what time do you get in here? HK Express is a budget airline, can't expect too much... maybe better than Airasia? I'm not sure... tongue.gif Tell me after you finish the trip, ok? I'm curious to know... tongue.gif

Yep.. shouldn't be an ending.. it's just a beginning of another kind of life~ nod.gif
I can't tell 'coz 1. I'm not a computer expert (I don't even know the price in HK) 2. I'm not living in M'sia, so can't compare.. sweat.gif
i dunno, the papers are in my office and my mom did the arrangements. anyway this was a sort of rushed planning and last minute so kena rip off also not surprised. but never mind lah... we leave KL at 9 pm and arrive around 12 pm i guess. so we'll be sleeping in HK (how interesting doh.gif).

will inform you guys bout HK Express in my blog. stay tuned! biggrin.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Nov 25 2007, 09:14 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Nov 25 2007, 03:43 PM)
Is it the UO732 flight? The schedule is like 19:45 depart from KLIA and arriving HK at 23:30. So I think you shouldn't count the 1st day as a day in your trip...
Welcome back~ How's your trip?

Hm.. HK is not a country, HK is a city only, under administration of People Republic of China, which is a country.
You calculate yourself la... RMB rate is now higher than HKD... and HKD is still the prevailing currency used in HK.

As I know, most M'sian budget traveller used AirAsia, but now they haven't launched direct flight to HK, at least not until next year. Other airline, as mentioned above by Se_vixen, he will take Hong Kong Express. But don't ask me about the price 'coz I don't have any idea of it. You have to do some research and planning on your own.

Budget hotel/hostel/guesthouse/lodge list I've put on the #1 post. Please look thru them and find the best for yourself. We also had some posts talking about cheap and tidy hostel in HK, you can try find them out around page 6-9.

Spa/massage in HK is expensive, even myself will only have spa/massage in China/Thailand/Bali/M'sia, I never have those treatments in HK... Sorry can't recommend.

Large Bubbhist Temple offering Chinese Veggie meal is located in Lantau Island, the Big Buddha. The Veg meal is not free, my bf's parents had it a few years back at about HKD60 per head. Not sure the price changed now.

1 person no need join tour la... plan your own is more free~
yeah yeah! that one, shouldn't count a day but that's what the tour planned for us, so it's not up to us to decide. smile.gif

psst, i'm a she, using the male tag for Kopitiam purposes. tongue.gif

as for HK Express, will do a review and post it up on my blog so future travelers who wish to use the airline can have a look since i found out not much feedback from consumers to be found on the Internet.
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 1 2007, 11:09 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

hey girl, would like to know whether the prices for cosmetics in HK are generally cheaper than Malaysia. any idea? can't seem to find out about this thru discussions in other forums. sad.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 2 2007, 05:09 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Dec 2 2007, 09:05 AM)
I guess it would be more or less the same price... Try shopping from Bonjour instead of Sasa in HK, 'coz I always find Sasa selling at higher price for the same product than Bonjour (it's a shop like Sasa selling cosmetics/skincare products and branches are everywhere)
I'm not sure about the train, but I guess there are ways to go on ground instead of in air (but nowadays most people go by air...). Maybe you have to take trains and transit in some cities in China lor...

How much to you is expensive and how much to you is inexpensive? You can't stay at your gf's place in HK?
gotcha girl. thanks for the header. was thinking about raiding Sasa on my trip. sweat.gif so it's all over the streets? looking forward to eat in Hui Lau San and this store you recommended. smile.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 2 2007, 08:13 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(myc04 @ Dec 2 2007, 05:50 PM)
hey vixen, how much was your air ticket (hk express)
we're following a tour, approx RM1600 per head. so i can't pinpoint the exact figure for the air ticket for you, sorry. sad.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 7 2007, 09:04 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

hey girl. been checking out the weather, it's like 16 degree Celsius even during daytime! is it that cold? need to lug our winter clothing around during shopping time then. sad.gif

btw, how's the society there? not as teruk as Malaysia is it?! two gals going and my mom is a bit worried for ourselves.
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 8 2007, 11:12 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Dec 7 2007, 09:40 PM)
16'c is night time temperature, very warm during daytime if it's sunny day, must be over 20'c in daytime. But you still need to bring along jacket just in case catching cold..

sorry I don't understand what's teruk... does it mean safety?

don't worry, I've said HK is a safe city. I use to back home even after 1am midnite alone by bus + walking 5 mins to home. Nowadays in HK, people die from suicide are more than killed by rapist or robber... sweat.gif Just in case (touch wood) if anything happen then just scream loudly la, most HKers will help.
teruk meaning terrible. were you a Malaysian before you moved to HK?! smile.gif

so the reports weren't that accurate, was wondering why daytime is getting colder than what i've experienced last year. thank God for your answer. smile.gif

and lol'd at your bolded comment, my mom also sweat.gif when she saw your statement. laugh.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 9 2007, 07:23 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(mad-d0g @ Dec 9 2007, 03:05 PM)
it's not cold to me. in fact i think it's hot during the day and afternoon! perhaps it's only chilly in the evening and before sunrise.
hot? whoa. meaning i can stock up some slightly sexier clothes, if not later look like a typical bundled up dumpling in trendy HK. shakehead.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 10 2007, 08:24 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Dec 10 2007, 09:16 AM)
of coz la... you book so late..
No, I was born in HK, 100% HKer... I'm in this forum becoz my bf is M'sian. smile.gif

What weather reports you're looking at? Daytime is quite warm, today's highest temp. is 23'c with plenty of sunshine.

Haha.. that's true ma... everyday read the newspaper, most of them are suicides, accidents... long time didn't read someone got raped or robbed then killed.
Yes, still closed, but expect to re-open during Christmas. Will update #1 post once it's re-opened.
nod.gif
Wear winter clothes doesn't mean not trendy...... sweat.gif I think you all M'sian doesn't have the "season fashion sense" 'coz there are no seasons difference there. In summer we have summer look, in winter we have winter look. If someone wear summer look (i.e. bright colourful wear, tank top, hot pants plus sandal) in winter, we would think they are out of trend. On the other hand, if some wear winter look (i.e. Dark colour wear, wool scarf, down feather jacket + boots) in summer, we would think they are crazy... So if you wanna be trendy in HK, you may flip some recent HK magazines or Japanese magazines like Non-no and MORE to see the latest winter fashion here. Or can go to your local ZARA and MNG to have a glance, I used to buy winter fashion there when I visited my bf during HK's winter time~ ('coz it's cheaper than HK wink.gif )
Go into the crowd in Tsim Sha Tsui or Lan Kwai Fong lor..

Yes still closed please refer above post.
There are so many choices to fly to HK, you don't need to fly on Cathay.
i lol'd after reading your message. not that desperate to proving myself a fashionable person in HK lah, just wanna be in tune mah. walao eh, wear hot pants during winter time in HK, my hair will fall off just like that! laugh.gif anyway, you're right about lacking seasonal fashion sense but i get your point after walking around in KLCC after college. winter wear is starting to rev up here in KL and i'm tempted to buy sooooo badly BUT! my initial plan is to purchase from HK and wear it right off immediately! traveler cum shopper mah. tongue.gif i got a pair of boots that i got from HK but can't take them lah, coz i'm planning to take 2 more pairs BACK to Malaysia, not bringing my own over there. probably gonna bring a shoes that i'm prepared to throw and substitute with new ones there. brows.gif

but i'll take your advice and stick to the so-called seasonal look. i love leggings paired with short skirt, looks cute and sweet. wub.gif but coz i'm not used to it i freezed during night time there on my last trip, ha ha. oi leng ng oi meng~ love pretty dun scare die as the cantonese saying goes. doh.gif

OT: back on my previous trip in HK, i was mistaken as a China aborigine by a local there due to my colorful clothing, boots and hair. doh.gif

QUOTE(mad-d0g @ Dec 10 2007, 11:09 AM)
haha...yea dress sexy abit, then can i ask you out for a date in hk? when u coming?

i think the trendy winter look in hk is high heel/boots wear mini skirt, thick black stockings and a jacket. all the girls seem to like this look, correct me if i'm wrong northasian  tongue.gif
i'm coming this 21st. would you and northasian be my tour guide?! tongue.gif i'd be honoured. smile.gif

and your winter look is what i was aiming for, lol. i guess a couple of sleeveless shirts with a jacket won't hurt. tongue.gif

sE_vIxEn
post Dec 11 2007, 10:35 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(mad-d0g @ Dec 10 2007, 09:17 PM)
21st dec? by that time i'd be in hk for 43 days already, haha. gosh, now i feel like i havent been exploring hk much! i know northasian very busy at work one!  tongue.gif maybe u can tell me wat u wanna do here....i go explore in the weekends, haha
you're just a traveler there or what? confused. unsure.gif so, wanna be my host? i don't mind as long as you don't mind my mom is with me. laugh.gif

QUOTE(northasian @ Dec 11 2007, 02:00 PM)
You got so many boots back to M'sia for what ne? doh.gif So hot there you still wanna have a winter look there??? Seasonal look means wear appropriate material and colour according to the weather. If it's hot in the place you live, no matter the winter look is in trend in Japan, HK, USA, it's still not suitable to wear in tropical countries like M'sia, S'pore, Thailand and Australia! So I really clueless about ZARA and MNG still selling so many winter fashion there.... but I could benefit from that anyway, hohoho... Oh yea, weather in this winter seems not very cold.. so I think it's ok for you to wear legging+mini skirt or "mini" pants.

Yep, now colourful look is not in trend 'coz it's winter. If you're too colourful all over the body then people really think you're from Mainland China... doh.gif

Btw, in winter, "layering" is the point of fashion~ icon_idea.gif 
Yea la, you should be a good host to se_vixen on behalf of me  rclxm9.gif  'coz I'm working on shift...  people are having holiday happily but I gotta work.... sad.gif I won't have holidays during Christmas... T_T
ankle boots are fine for wear in Malaysia my dear, those knee high ones are just crazy to wear here. besides, it's rainy season now so a waterproof pair of boots might be good help when i'm walking in my big campus. sweat.gif so i know what i'm doing geh, don't worry. tongue.gif mainland China meaning 'chickens'?! gosh, need to tone down then.

and you're right bout Zara and MNG, there are still suckers willing to pay for it, so it stands till now. no offence to you lah since you're bringing the stuff back for winter. and why are you shopping from MNG and Zara here? if compared to HK it's cheaper?! whoa. shocking.gif

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Dec 11 2007, 10:48 PM
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 12 2007, 07:02 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Dec 12 2007, 01:57 PM)
mad_d0g is being sent by his company to work here... I just know this, you ask him for more details la... tongue.gif

ankle boots are ok ge.. but quite difficult to match, so make sure you buy something that can match them, otherwise you will look like one of the Snow white's seven dwarfs... (this is what my colleauges said when we talked about ankle boots... no one dare to wear... laugh.gif )

Hm.. Mainland China not really means chicken ge... Those chickens usually dress sexy.. tongue.gif So in HK, unless you look like those being brought-up in foreign country, if not then better don't dress so sexy or people will ask you price... haha.. laugh.gif (just kidding... no offense... notworthy.gif )

Yes, MNG and ZARA in M'sia is cheaper than in HK's Mango & ZARA, especially during Sale, so I always shop there when I fly to visit my bf. But now my bf is not in M'sia, so this winter I shopped a bit of winter clothes in London instead when I visit him there~ smile.gif 
No, not yet... I guess they plan to give "surprise" to CX's management and the passengers during X'mas... sad.gif
lol, Hongkies dun dare to wear ankle boots? sweat.gif that's news to me. anyway anything reaching near my calf area is also fine de, ankles are quite hard to match actually, you're right. tongue.gif

i can't believe MNG and Zara here is cheaper than there! oh my god... lol... and i was about to attack HK's MNG for a bag that i was aiming here. shakehead.gif

OT again: bf was in Malaysia now in London? and you guys are getting engaged after a LDR relationship?! salute girl, congratz and all the best! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Dec 12 2007, 07:03 PM
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 12 2007, 09:34 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Dec 12 2007, 08:24 PM)
Not all HK gals don't dare to wear ankle boots, just me and my colleagues je... i.e. not so many girls dare to wear.. sweat.gif

Yes, HK's MNG and ZARA is more expensive. I've compared the skinny jeans I bought from KL MNG during sale, and the same jeans sold in HK's Mango also on sale, the price of KL MNG is lower... Maybe becoz the living standard in HK is higher than M'sia, so the price of these kinda international brands is also higher in HK, 'coz people afford to pay. Come HK of coz buy HK brands la... come shop the Esprit, G2000, U2, giodano and www.izzue.com la... the price is lower than your side for sure!

Yea.. my bf is in London now... sweat.gif we LDR for 4 years already... and hopefully will finally get married and stay together next year... sweat.gif
i see i see, will look around lah, i think i will be spoilt for choice in winter season leh! tongue.gif

HK brand is Esprit, G2000 and all those?! i see i see~ i didn't know where these brands originate from, and sometimes brandless stuff are the best IMHO. laugh.gif

dun keep sweating at your relationship, have confidence! biggrin.gif is he a forummer here?

btw, mom asked whether are there nice marketplaces to walk and see see in HK. coz see TVB drama always got see those fella sell fish and all those seafood, wanna have a look too. smile.gif *checks the first page again*
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 12 2007, 10:30 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Dec 12 2007, 09:58 PM)
Yep, sometimes brandless stuff has more choices~! So you must walk around Mongkok, there are a lot of brandless boutiques~~! But no fitting lor...

Nope, he isn't a forumer here... At first I came this forum was to know more about local culture in M'sia, just in case I need to move and live in M'sia in the future ma... But now I think the chance of moving there is slim, 'coz most probably he will move to HK in the future~ rclxm9.gif

Oh you mean the wet market selling fresh seafood, meat, fruits and veggie stuff? Which hotel you will be staying? If in Mongkok, there is a Mongkok Market on Argyle Street... If you're talking about purely seafood, it may be the seafood place in Sai Kung or Lei Yue Moon, where you can choose fresh seafood and then ask the restaurant to cook for you according to your preference~
what? no fitting?! shocking.gif alah~ cry.gif

you want to know the dark side of Malaysia? hang out more in Kopitiam. laugh.gif but yeah, LYN is thick with Malaysian essence if you filter out the stupidity. tongue.gif and really wish you guys well man, sounds like a long love story to me. brows.gif

yeah i meant those wet markets, selling anything and particularly seafood. ooooh, the Lei Yue Moon place sounds very very delicious, choose and cook on the spot? oh yeah, that's what i'm talking about! my hotel is in Tsuen Wan, so i guess we need to take public transport over the the place. hopefully the food won't be disappointing, i'm already drooling after you tell me about these places. drool.gif

wanna change a hairstyle over in HK, but scare later get ripped off by the stylists if they realise we're tourists. laugh.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 13 2007, 11:33 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Dec 12 2007, 10:54 PM)
Those brandless boutiques selling cheaper clothes are mostly no-fitting le... so choose carefully la.. wink.gif

Haha.. I get to know some "dark side" of it from my bf's mouth and Kopitiam as well.. I joined a chat thread in Kopitiam and make some friends from there~ biggrin.gif Haha.. yea, quite a long love story indeed...... can write a book already.. tongue.gif

In Sai Kung / Lei Yue Moon not really cook on the spot, but inside the restaurant's kitchen of coz... but frankly, price might be quite expensive especially if they know you're tourists... sweat.gif

Nearly all salons in HK have a pricelist show out on the front door, they won't quote a higher price for tourists. Hair cutting in HK is quite a lot more expensive than in KL.. I have my hair-cut with my favourite hairstylist in Kwai Fong at HKD160 each time, shampoo + cut + blow dry only.. (too cheap one afraid not good..)
thanks for the heads up again and again. so many reminders, luckily i've asked. can tell me your love story? i love juicy ones, not those who change bf every 3 months. pathetic. shakehead.gif

my mom just asked me to ditch the seafood and look for good dai pai dong instead. yum~ drool.gif

last time i looked around the places, hair salons seems to be cheaper, i guess not since this is coming out from the mouth of a Hongkee itself. sad.gif

QUOTE(mad-d0g @ Dec 13 2007, 05:17 PM)
G2000 cheap leh in Hk. Give membership number and you can get 30% off for all the clothes if I've not mistaken. Esprit also cheap, there's an Esprit outlet in Mongkok with lots of discounts, haha.
this time sure will raid the 4 storey Esprit coz last time my dad exploded when he said we girls are mad to shop in a place like that. doh.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 14 2007, 09:12 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Dec 14 2007, 08:58 AM)
Haha.. my love story.. it's very OT here and I'd like to keep it as secret..  blush.gif

It's very few dai pai dong in HK now... I just know there is one in Yuen Long but very far away lor...

Some salons are cheap, like HKD69 or 89 for shampoo+cut+blow, but not sure the stylist is good or not lor... I just think, if you pay such price, in KL maybe you can find a good stylist to cut liao, right? But in HK this is just the price for "not-guarantee-standard" stylist only... So, you judge yourself la~

The 4-storey Esprit in Mongkok is not factory outlet, the price might be higher but they are all in-season fashion. Ar, yes, there is an Esprit Salon in the 4-storey Esprit in MK, see if you wanna try, but aware the price... tongue.gif
Thanks for sharing!! Yep, the steamed custard egg is famous in Australian Dairy Co~~! Really yummy isn't it? drool.gif

Ya la, HK public transportation is totally different from KL... we don't need to own a car for every family~ car is somehow a luxury thing to us.. tongue.gif
yes, there is. Please check #1 post.

Added on December 14, 2007, 9:02 am
Take MTR to Hong Kong Station, then change to Tung Chung Line to Tung Chung. The Citygate Outlet Mall is just outside the MTR station.

brows.gif you plan to bring se_vixen to there..? brows.gif
yeah, never mind, everyone got their own secret, lol. where can i get access to factory outlets rather than the main store itself? seems like the price difference is extremely big wor. unsure.gif and Esprit salon? never heard before here, sounds interesting though. tongue.gif

very few dai pai dong liao? and i thought it's a trademark of Hong Kong?! unsure.gif

cars are indeed a luxury there. heard from my previous tour guide modern Hongkees prefer to keep a nice pet than raise a child. overpopulation perhaps?

sE_vIxEn
post Dec 14 2007, 07:07 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Dec 14 2007, 09:26 AM)
Yep, and I think in-season winter clothes may not be suitable for you to wear in M'sia, right? So better shop in its outlet la, the 4-storey one can walk around lor.. I know there is one Esprit Outlet in Tsim Sha Tsui, near Hankow Road. It's at the back of Seibu Department Store (i.e. if you're walking on the Nathan Road near Kowloon Hotel, when you see Seibu, just take the very small street beside it, walk thru it and then the outlet is on your right, on your left is Starbucks. I tried to have my hair cut and perm in Esprit Salon years ago.. it was having promotion 50% off but I still need to pay nearly HKD1000 for the final bill.. sweat.gif

Yes lor, HK gov't doesn't like dai pai dong ma.. most of them has been take up for building new buildings... sad.gif But yesterday I heard from news that gov't is applying to put HK's Cha Charn Teng as World's Cultural Heritage, so go to Cha Charn Teng more la~~ wink.gif

Yes ga... nowadays modern local born HKers tend to raise pet instead of child 'coz child needs more time and effort and money... some surverys said we roughly need HKD4m to raise a child until grown-up, haha~ So my mum has invested HKD8m already, hahaha... XD No la, HK not really over-population, indeed HK gov't does as us to have more babies 'coz the population is aging.. (old population is larger than the young, not enough young working population to support the old retiring population, it's a very big problem)
yeah, but i dun believe the whole island is just flocked with winter clothes, since as stated by you, not very cold only, right?! smile.gif HKD1000 for a hair? that is freaking ridiculous man. sweat.gif and thanks, will check out the factory outlet store. my mom loves Clarks shoes, she bought one in HK last year and has never seen a similar pair here in KL.

the Cha Charn Teng is a shop itself, or all those shops like Coral and Kim Gary?! unsure.gif too bad need to travel so far off to get in touch with good street food, sigh. small stalls are everywhere though, i've noticed.

now that you mention it... really seldom see kids around the island. now i know why. laugh.gif

Added on December 14, 2007, 7:19 pmbtw, i heard it's cheaper to use a HK line when i'm traveling. as in, phone line. considering whether to buy a prepaid card to use there. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Dec 14 2007, 07:19 PM
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 15 2007, 10:31 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(mad-d0g @ Dec 14 2007, 09:52 PM)
i think buy an idd card...the sim card fits malaysian phones. one funny thing about hk lines is....the caller needs to pay...the receiver needs to pay as well!

northasian....can give me some forums that hv property sections where ppl want to rent apartments or share apartments? i wanna find new place...and dowan give money to property agent...haha
IDD card? you mean one in HK or those DiGi Chatz card? unsure.gif

QUOTE(northasian @ Dec 15 2007, 08:29 AM)
Maybe there are some "not very winter" clothes sold in the market but I can say the choice is limited. That HKD1000 was already a 50% discounted price... sweat.gif But quite worth I can say.. blush.gif There is a Clark factory outlet in Tung Chung Citygate Outlet Mall, maybe you can pay a visit there~

Cha Charn Teng is the common name for all those types of local typical cafe. Don't talk about Kim Gary, I don't think Kim Gary is up to standard of any cha charn teng here flex.gif After you try Hk's cha charn teng, you will not eat at Kim Gary any more ga la.. wink.gif

Kids are more in recent years already.. economy good then people is willing to have kids.

Well.. Actually HK is not an island. Not like Singapore, HK consists several islands and 1 big peninsula linking to the Mainland China.

You mean pre-paid sim card? yea it's cheap. Under HKD50 you can get one which is good enough to make quite a lot of local calls already. 
HK's phone charge is that cheap of coz need both parties to pay. You see other countries that receiver no need to pay one, all are more expensive than HK!! HKD68 per month with thousands minute to talk and with the call divert function, really can talk until having brain cancer!! laugh.gif

Have you read thru the discuss.com.hk? I saw that forum includes property section too... see if any info you need there.. I don't need to find property yet, so I don't have much info.. sorry about that..

But you're tenent still need to pay money to property agent ga meh????? Not the property owner who want to rent out their property need to pay to agent only?????
Make it as your next destination la~~~! icon_idea.gif
then i will filter out those that are suitable. that's the joy of shopping, isn't it? rclxm9.gif worth spending HKD1000 on hair? girls, we are. laugh.gif

actually i dun like Kim Gary, i have no idea why those locals are willing to line up for their food here. doh.gif will try out as you mentioned then. what i've tried and seen everywhere is Coral.

so i'll be getting a prepaid SIM card to use then. won't be talking a lot but will be smsing my darling a lot. can't stand 5 days without contact. blush.gif and i guess HKD50 will last me 5 days. dunno about the call charges to overseas though, sigh.

it's readily available isn't it? so i don't need to worry about not being able to get one? i got 2 missions: get Octopus and prepaid SIM once i land. smile.gif

Added on December 15, 2007, 10:31 am
QUOTE(david tamiya @ Dec 15 2007, 10:30 AM)
shatin new town plaza
ARGH! uber cuteness. i tell you, KL is seriously lacking Christmas atmosphere. sad.gif

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Dec 15 2007, 10:31 AM

0.0754sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:51 PM