For those car without spare tyre ...., will you get a spare tyre?

TSclaudetan
post Jul 15 2023, 04:19 PM, updated 3y ago

711 posts

Will you purchase one and put on boot? especially outstation....

I going to change tyre , 1 of the trye still look good, plan to get a rim and put the tyre on and become spare tyre .....

btw, i only do city drive, since the got extra tyre, might as well just spend few more buck to make it a spare ...
ileys
post Jul 15 2023, 04:37 PM

41 posts

Your car use normal tyre or run-flat?

AbbyCom
post Jul 15 2023, 04:45 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(claudetan @ Jul 15 2023, 04:19 PM)

I going to change tyre , 1 of the trye still look good, plan to get a rim and put the tyre on and become spare tyre .....

btw, i only do city drive, since the got extra tyre, might as well just spend few more buck to make it a spare ...
3 days ago the first time I used spare tire after more than 5 yrs of driving that car. Was just discussing with other half that without the spare tyre (I sent the damaged tyre to change since cannot patch), the car feels much lighter, then kena marah - it's a cost-benefit analysis ma, just talking also kena marah.

Cause of the puncture. This is the tyre of the car that kena 5 mins after my car kena. I didn't know what hit me on MRR2, then when I saw another car, same left side rear tyre kena, I know much be the same cause. Tyre shop say no way can patch (mine only damage on the thread side, the car that came after me kena thread and sidewall - that one confirmed cannot patch).

TSclaudetan
post Jul 15 2023, 05:29 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Jul 15 2023, 04:45 PM)
3 days ago the first time I used spare tire after more than 5 yrs of driving that car. Was just discussing with other half that without the spare tyre (I sent the damaged tyre to change since cannot patch), the car feels much lighter, then kena marah - it's a cost-benefit analysis ma, just talking also kena marah.

Cause of the puncture. This is the tyre of the car that kena 5 mins after my car kena. I didn't know what hit me on MRR2, then when I saw another car, same left side rear tyre kena, I know much be the same cause. Tyre shop say no way can patch (mine only damage on the thread side, the car that came after me kena thread and sidewall - that one confirmed cannot patch).

yea, i also kena before, run over some metal piece, tyre repair kit useless at all as it only can temporary fix a small hole, end up i drive slowly to tyre shop nearby ..... end up need to change the whole tyre because the merchanic said it cant be patch, the hole around 1cm.

in city without spare tyre still ok as most of insurance cover towing, anything just call insurance, what i think of is when outstation (tho i seldom go that far), was just thinking to make a spare tyre if the rim is cheap, since i going to change tyre.

This post has been edited by claudetan: Jul 15 2023, 05:32 PM
TSclaudetan
post Jul 15 2023, 05:31 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(ileys @ Jul 15 2023, 04:37 PM)
Your car use normal tyre or run-flat?
just normal tyre i think
littlefire
post Jul 17 2023, 11:42 AM

2,712 posts

Usually if no spare tire ride come with run-flat tires nowadays, even run flat with serious side wall damage you can still drive slowly to the nearest tire shop as run flat are made with stiffer side wall. But for sure after you reach tire shop also need to change new tire.. laugh.gif
If anything serious just call the tow truck service, nowadays most insurance got free tow truck service around Malaysia (Refer to your insurance policies) you can call their hotline, tell them your location they will arrange the nearest authorized tow truck service to your side 24/h whole day. My recent experience only wait for 1hour for the free tow truck service to come, but due to want faster time sent to my mechanic i paid for the toll (Yes, some tow truck service from insurance did not include Plus toll) still cheaper compare to getting random tow truck service.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 17 2023, 11:44 AM
TSclaudetan
post Jul 17 2023, 12:26 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 17 2023, 11:42 AM)
Usually if no spare tire ride come with run-flat tires nowadays, even run flat with serious side wall damage you can still drive slowly to the nearest tire shop as run flat are made with stiffer side wall. But for sure after you reach tire shop also need to change new tire..  laugh.gif
If anything serious just call the tow truck service, nowadays most insurance got free tow truck service around Malaysia (Refer to your insurance policies) you can call their hotline, tell them your location they will arrange the nearest authorized tow truck service to your side 24/h whole day. My recent experience only wait for 1hour for the free tow truck service to come, but due to want faster time sent to my mechanic i paid for the toll (Yes, some tow truck service from insurance did not include Plus toll) still cheaper compare to getting random tow truck service.
yup, insurance tow truck always my solution .... what if at midnight? all tyre shop closed, where the car should be towed to?

SUSceo684
post Jul 17 2023, 12:31 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(claudetan @ Jul 17 2023, 12:26 PM)
yup, insurance tow truck always my solution .... what if at midnight? all tyre shop closed, where the car should be towed to?
Tow to outside your regular tyre shop and come back tomorrow to settle
littlefire
post Jul 17 2023, 01:39 PM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(claudetan @ Jul 17 2023, 01:26 PM)
Just tow to the front mechanic shop and keep the keys, get grab or go nearest motel or hotel to sleep over if too far from your house if no one willing to pick you up. Nowadays just simple google can get to know nearest hotel/model, your grown person dude. Another thing, tow truck also can fetch you go nearby place if they are not in hurry, just utilize it.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 17 2023, 01:40 PM
zairee2580
post Jul 17 2023, 01:43 PM

385 posts

If it's not given to you, then you have no place to store it also. Choice are to call tow truck
TSclaudetan
post Jul 17 2023, 02:37 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(zairee2580 @ Jul 17 2023, 01:43 PM)
If it's not given to you, then you have no place to store it also. Choice are to call tow truck
thinking of put inside trunk, maybe some plywood to fixed it to avoid movement
6UE5T
post Jul 17 2023, 04:09 PM

1,704 posts

Personally no, I just get an electric pump and tire repair kit which should cover 99% of the risk.
TSclaudetan
post Jul 17 2023, 06:53 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jul 17 2023, 04:09 PM)
Personally no, I just get an electric pump and tire repair kit which should cover 99% of the risk.
initially i was thinking the same until i need to use the temporary repair kit and know it's limitation
6UE5T
post Jul 18 2023, 09:06 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(claudetan @ Jul 17 2023, 06:53 PM)
initially i was thinking the same until i need to use the temporary repair kit and know it's limitation
I got permanent repair kit, like those used in tyre shops.
hksgmy
post Jul 19 2023, 08:56 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

I have a tyre repair kit and a space saver spare in the Cayenne, but still end up getting someone to fix it for me after I copped a nail - not confident to DIY

Edited for typo: space saver

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jul 21 2023, 06:32 AM
6UE5T
post Jul 21 2023, 06:12 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 19 2023, 08:56 AM)
I have a tyre repair kit and a save safer spare in the Cayenne, but still end up getting someone to fix it for me after I copped a nail - not confident to DIY
Only use the repair kit in emergency when you are travelling interstate for example where no tire shops nearby.
haturaya
post Aug 15 2023, 09:57 PM

2,553 posts

I've been driving for more than 30+ years. Only twice hand a tyre puncture / problem. Just calculate the odd. No need to carry extra dead weight. sweat.gif

Last tyre puncture was in 2019, somewhere near Bentong. I hit a huge rock (maybe falled from quary lorry). Called insurance tow truck, tow my car to Shah Alam for free. sweat.gif

0.0241sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:54 AM