Homeschooling vs public schooling in malaysia

TSngaisteve2
post Jul 8 2023, 01:36 PM, updated 3y ago

231 posts

https://www.maplewood.com.my/homeschooling-...oling-malaysia/

Does anyone opt for homeschooling or unschooling for their children also? Can share your experience or challenges you faced? What are your thoughts on homeschooling in Malaysia?

I have some friends who decided to let go of public schooling in Malaysia and gave their children homeschooling. Some of them opt for "unschooling" and after some years, their children did very well.

One of them studied culinary vocational school and in his journey to become a chef at a young age. One of them is passionate about baking since young and now became a professional artist baker and open a baking school in her 20s.

My girl is still young but I want to start planning now for her education. I was thinking maybe sending her public schooling until Standard Six / PT3. During that period to discover her talent and passion and consider switching to Technical and vocational education and training (TVET)?
Buffalo Soldier
post Jul 8 2023, 01:49 PM

444 posts

Have a few friends who homeschool their kids. Common factor:
- one of the parent becomes the at-home teacher.
- one of the parent either have some background in education (one of them early retirement from teaching, another mmg belajar jadi cikgu tapi tak pernah mengajar)
- a room in their house dedicated and conducive for learning.

For co-curriculum:
- grouped outdoor activities with other homeschool (ada whatsap group)
- muzium/jabatan orang asli (somewhere in gombak i think)... belajar basic jungle survival (memancing, jerat binatang, buat shelter)
Just Visiting By
post Jul 8 2023, 05:38 PM

1,846 posts

Under normal circumstances, I do not recommend home-schooling. Unless your kid suffers from some actual medical conditions (physical or psychological) that would make it difficult for him/her to mingle with a group of people (like maybe Down's), I would suggest getting your kid out to socialise. They need friends and an environment that fosters relationships. Academic achievements can never only be the sole considerations in considering a kid's education.

If you've no confidence in public education system, at the very least go for a private one. If it's too unaffordable, at least try public until standard 6. Then, decide what to do again when your kid completes primary education. One step at a time. I would not recommend home schooling.
andrekua2
post Jul 10 2023, 12:37 PM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(Just Visiting By @ Jul 8 2023, 05:38 PM)
Under normal circumstances, I do not recommend home-schooling. Unless your kid suffers from some actual medical conditions (physical or psychological) that would make it difficult for him/her to mingle with a group of people (like maybe Down's), I would suggest getting your kid out to socialise. They need friends and an environment that fosters relationships. Academic achievements can never only be the sole considerations in considering a kid's education.

If you've no confidence in public education system, at the very least go for a private one. If it's too unaffordable, at least try public until standard 6. Then, decide what to do again when your kid completes primary education. One step at a time. I would not recommend home schooling.
Yeah, true enough. Like my friend, one of her kid is having fear/phobia towards school attendance due to the heavy burden of homework when going to SJKC. Left with no choice, she pulled him out, put him in a homeschooling, and he recovered. No homework at all, positive learning, more time for outdoor activities to mix with other kids.
iSean
post Jul 13 2023, 10:35 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(Just Visiting By @ Jul 8 2023, 05:38 PM)

Depends where you go for home schooling. Places like Campus Rangers in Seri Petaling are home schooling despite being very international school model like...
Even Kasturi Tuition Centre last time I surprised. Kids are going there for home schooled for SPM/IGCSE.

At the end of the day, how lessons are conducted. Is the teaching any good.
Is home schooling centres are good as international schools.
iSean
post Jul 13 2023, 10:38 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve2 @ Jul 8 2023, 01:36 PM)
https://www.maplewood.com.my/homeschooling-...oling-malaysia/

Does anyone opt for homeschooling or unschooling for their children also? Can share your experience or challenges you faced? What are your thoughts on homeschooling in Malaysia?

I have some friends who decided to let go of public schooling in Malaysia and gave their children homeschooling. Some of them opt for "unschooling" and after some years, their children did very well.

One of them studied culinary vocational school and in his journey to become a chef at a young age. One of them is passionate about baking since young and now became a professional artist baker and open a baking school in her 20s.

My girl is still young but I want to start planning now for her education. I was thinking maybe sending her public schooling until Standard Six / PT3. During that period to discover her talent and passion and consider switching to Technical and vocational education and training (TVET)?
ahhhh.... you so fast determined your kid not the book smart study type ah.
So fast already plan join TVET without giving her tuition classes and basic training wheels to survive Primary School Leaving Exams or PT3 ....?

Again the typical route most kids who too poor to afford private is until SPM, join Diploma or Foundation then Degree.
Just let her explore her own options. And ask her what she wants.
Just Visiting By
post Jul 15 2023, 10:57 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jul 13 2023, 10:35 PM)
Depends where you go for home schooling. Places like Campus Rangers in Seri Petaling are home schooling despite being very international school model like...
Even Kasturi Tuition Centre last time I surprised. Kids are going there for home schooled for SPM/IGCSE.

At the end of the day, how lessons are conducted. Is the teaching any good.
Is home schooling centres are good as international schools.

My entire point was that the bolded sentences you wrote should not be the sole determinator of whether home-schooling should be opted over public schooling.
Parentintraining P
post Sep 26 2025, 02:47 AM

Probation

Can i revive this thread? Anyone has more perspective?
Homeschool vs public school vs vernacular (SJKC)

I think its a stereotype that homeschool kids are less sociable. From my observation, they're generally more mature and can think critically. The public or SJKC school kids are mostly just rote memory kids and rarely show the ability to think outside the box.

However, i also heard that there are some repercussions to not having SPM e.g. may not be able to enter public uni or be a government worker.
ProSuperSchool
post Oct 23 2025, 04:01 PM

573 posts

Hm, I'm just wondering, how would the kids grow up mentally and emotionally if they are always at home?

0.0170sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 10:25 PM