The job’s requirements during application
TSalexander9408
Jul 7 2023, 10:52 PM, updated 3y ago
Hello everyone. I have been working for a few years, and I want to have a career shift, so I will position myself as ‘fresh grad’ with no relevant experience. But when I am trying to apply for the new position in the job portal, there are always a few requirements that I didn’t meet, especially experience and education.
I don’t have any education or experience related to the field, but most of the time, diploma/degree related to the field or 1-2 years of experience is required despite being an entry position. It is very frustrating when I think I can handle the job, but I back off because I don’t meet the requirements stated.
I heard that those requirements listed are more like a wishlist, it is still acceptable if I didn’t meet 1 or 2 criteria, as long as I am competent in the job, is that true? Is it okay to just apply despite not having any education and experience in the related field? Is it true that some requirements listed are just bonus? Is the “Must posses at least Diploma/Bachelor Degree in relevant field” is a must when applying for the job?
I am confident with the job since I did self-study and utilize the skills that I have learned for my personal project, which does not count as formal education or experience.
Any HR person or sifu that can give me clarification on this matter? Any advice on career shift or anything related is also welcome. Thank you.
siang930615
Jul 7 2023, 11:15 PM

Just go ahead and apply only it’s free
This post has been edited by siang930615: Jul 7 2023, 11:16 PM
daisiesdontdoit92
Jul 7 2023, 11:26 PM
It said "a degree in a relevant field", what major did you study? you can try to relate your major and your experience to the new position. I'm sure you have gained a lot of skills in your prior position or major, which will apply to your new position. All you need to do is to edit your resume, make it related to your new position, and apply for it! Who knows maybe there is no other candidate and you will be hired since you are the only one. Goog luck!
Eulm585
Jul 10 2023, 11:25 AM
Just apply since there is no harm. But let’s say a job posting has 300 applicants, the HR guy dont have so much time to see and read all your projects and understand the background. Normally first level of being by HR is check education requirements and job experience requirements. No degree - decline/come back if really no applicants Work less than xx years - decline/come back if really no applicants
This is before you even reach the hiring manager that have knowledge in the technical skills required. So normal job postings are not going to be easy for you. For a person as yourself would be better to use linkedin so that you can post or DM to give youself better odds at landing the job