Phone dying, looking for recommendation ...

TSmowlous
post Jul 6 2023, 06:11 PM, updated 3y ago

542 posts

My xiaomi 1st gen dying, no more update support, battery drain too fast.

Since I'm gonna get a new phone, there is a blast of everyone saying almost every in range brand with all the good and almost no weakness phone, well, my phone lasted almost a decade+ at the price of RM800 back then .... so I'm expecting my new phone to sort of match up as long as it coulld.

My requirement quite simple, since I'll be venturing into video production as a hobby I intend to record and edit video for my upcoming channel. So I need a phone that can record few hrs, fairly clear , long lasting battery for that purpose. would be nice if I can stream on twitch etc. able to keep updating ni issue syncing with PC. Don't really need it to be a powerful gaming device since its more of a working tool then a gaming tool so I won't be doing anything graphic heavy.

I am fine with any brand as long as it has a good reputation of being budget solid. Good enough space for video storage so I can work with my editing. If the hobby grows maybe in the future may consider upgrade ...... but at this point I'm just experimenting, So I'm not going for all too crazy gadget spec with no return.

Budget is RM800 - RM1000 +- ...... suggestion not restricted to the range but anything above RM1200 priority will be very low for the above reason. Help a potential youtuber out here .... your opinion might shape a new venture.
Gargamel_gibson
post Jul 6 2023, 06:16 PM

526 posts

You want something with good video? Get a used Pixel full stop. The best cameras in the game are Apple, Google Pixel and Samsung S series. Used Pixel prices are much lower compared to others. Then you can use stuff like type c dongles for external SSD if you need to expand storage, SSD very cheap now. Battery life can always buy powerbank
SUSWahlberg
post Jul 6 2023, 06:23 PM

144 posts

800 ~ 1000 a lot of choice you can make
qsub
post Jul 6 2023, 06:26 PM

110 posts

Honor X8a
IccyAsd
post Jul 6 2023, 06:28 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(mowlous @ Jul 6 2023, 06:11 PM)
My xiaomi 1st gen dying, no more update support, battery drain too fast.

Since I'm gonna get a new phone, there is a blast of everyone saying almost every in range brand with all the good and almost no weakness phone, well, my phone lasted almost a decade+ at the price of RM800 back then .... so I'm expecting my new phone to sort of match up as long as it coulld.

My requirement quite simple, since I'll be venturing into video production as a hobby I intend to record and edit video for my upcoming channel. So I need a phone that can record few hrs, fairly clear , long lasting battery for that purpose. would be nice if I can stream on twitch etc. able to keep updating ni issue syncing with PC. Don't really need it to be a powerful gaming device since its more of a working tool then a gaming tool so I won't be doing anything graphic heavy.

I am fine with any brand as long as it has a good reputation of being budget solid. Good enough space for video storage so I can work with my editing. If the hobby grows maybe in the future may consider upgrade ...... but at this point I'm just experimenting, So I'm not going for all too crazy gadget spec with no return.

Budget is RM800 - RM1000 +- ...... suggestion not restricted to the range but anything above RM1200 priority will be very low for the above reason. Help a potential youtuber out here .... your opinion might shape a new venture.
TS can you provide your current phone model? at least ppl know what is consider an upgrade to your needs.
Baconateer
post Jul 6 2023, 06:33 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

you are in luck

https://www.facebook.com/XiaomiStoreMalaysi...?flyingspaghettimonster=embed_post

xiaomi having clearance sales
MyProLife
post Jul 6 2023, 06:36 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

used iphone 11/12
TSmowlous
post Jul 6 2023, 06:36 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Jul 6 2023, 06:16 PM)
You want something with good video? Get a used Pixel full stop. The best cameras in the game are Apple, Google Pixel and Samsung S series. Used Pixel prices are much lower compared to others. Then you can use stuff like type c dongles for external SSD if you need to expand storage, SSD very cheap now. Battery life can always buy powerbank
Interesting, I've never dove into used phone, given the bad rep of 2nd hand phone was 2nd hand for a reason I'm always assuming the worst had happen to the phone which is why it was 2nd hand. I guess its fair if a powerful phone half because 2nd hand would allow me to reach new height w/o spending as much is an option that I've never looked into it. Higher gambling element though.

QUOTE(Wahlberg @ Jul 6 2023, 06:23 PM)
800 ~ 1000 a lot of choice you can make
which is the purpose of this thread.

QUOTE(qsub @ Jul 6 2023, 06:26 PM)
Honor X8a
Will look into this.
TSmowlous
post Jul 6 2023, 06:41 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(IccyAsd @ Jul 6 2023, 06:28 PM)
TS can you provide your current phone model? at least ppl know what is consider an upgrade to your needs.
Xiaomi Mi 2
Natsukashii
post Jul 6 2023, 06:52 PM

^^
1,084 posts

How did you even survived this long with Mi1??

TSmowlous
post Jul 6 2023, 07:01 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Jul 6 2023, 06:52 PM)
Mi 2 sry. I have a neck for protecting gadgets until its way past their life support. my ipad 2, nokia old phone all still can turn on, just no longer supported. Not to mention from time to time I still play with my game boy (original black).
SUSxiaojohn
post Jul 6 2023, 07:03 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Jul 6 2023, 06:52 PM)
uncle also wonder.

many years back....uncle use mi 3 also cannot tahan the heat when call....

mi 1 is stock google?
pisces88
post Jul 6 2023, 07:22 PM

3,970 posts

Honor
MrBaba
post Jul 6 2023, 07:33 PM

2,506 posts

Topkek our weather + video + power bank don't need 1 year u can say good by to the battery dy .
lagenda110
post Jul 6 2023, 07:36 PM

148 posts

poco f5
Natsukashii
post Jul 6 2023, 08:14 PM

^^
1,084 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Jul 6 2023, 07:03 PM)
uncle also wonder.

many years back....uncle use mi 3 also cannot tahan the heat when call....

mi 1 is stock google?
TS use Mi2.. but still, hard to believe.

QUOTE(mowlous @ Jul 6 2023, 07:01 PM)
Mi 2 sry. I have a neck for protecting gadgets until its way past their life support. my ipad 2, nokia old phone all still can turn on, just no longer supported. Not to mention from time to time I still play with my game boy (original black).
Mi2 don't have 4G. With 3G shut down, you been on 2G all these while??

Parking also now must use app.. you were on 2G?

That CIMB bank sotong also requires Android 9 for their apps.

Gameboy different thing, it's just game console..
TSmowlous
post Jul 6 2023, 08:52 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Jul 6 2023, 08:14 PM)
TS use Mi2.. but still, hard to believe.
Mi2 don't have 4G. With 3G shut down, you been on 2G all these while??

Parking also now must use app.. you were on 2G?

That CIMB bank sotong also requires Android 9 for their apps.

Gameboy different thing, it's just game console..
Idk, the phone I rarely use anything advance that absolutely require upgrade, mostly calls, msg, check email, surf crome, whatsapp ..... take picture, take video ..... was running ok. Until I was inform that everything is not upgradable and by the end of the year I need to get a new phone to continue ..... so here I am.
Natsukashii
post Jul 6 2023, 09:09 PM

^^
1,084 posts

QUOTE(mowlous @ Jul 6 2023, 08:52 PM)
Idk, the phone I rarely use anything advance that absolutely require upgrade, mostly calls, msg, check email, surf crome, whatsapp ..... take picture, take video ..... was running ok. Until I was inform that everything is not upgradable and by the end of the year I need to get a new phone to continue ..... so here I am.
Check out redmi note 12. See youtube reviews.
GTA5
post Jul 6 2023, 09:36 PM

1,412 posts

For the price range, Redmi Note 12 is your best bet
Steponlego
post Jul 6 2023, 09:56 PM

938 posts

the pixel will overheat. guy wants to record video for hours.

0.0174sec    0.94    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:24 PM