4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

IELTS / IDP, let us know your experience

moto-moto
post Oct 22 2007, 04:48 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Oct 21 2007, 02:13 PM)
just took mine early august. pretty simple, 4 components and its quite fun especially the reading and listening part. I got 8/9 for listening, I lapsed and didnt catch the sentence on the radio. and 9/9 for reading. however i screwed my writing and i got a score of 6.5 only. as for speaking i didnt do as well as expected , 7.5! giving me a band score of 8. =)

if english is your main medium of communicating you wont have any problems with the exam.
wow...so u r trying to say sometimes when we did not perform what we expected still can get high marks?
by the way,for transfer programme u need to take IELTS if u r applying the Uni that is not a partner Uni for ur college.
TSmooze
post Oct 22 2007, 06:04 AM

Just A Normal Person With 2 Kids
1,406 posts

QUOTE(moto-moto @ Oct 22 2007, 04:48 AM)
by the way,for transfer programme u need to take IELTS if u r applying the Uni that is not a partner Uni for ur college.
but of course if could do credit transfer(skip year 1 of degree), IELTS isn't a requirement?
azarimy
post Oct 22 2007, 06:13 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

if there's no partnership between a college in msia with any overseas universities, then u still need to take IELTS/TOEFL regardless if u could transfer credit or not. my wife used her diploma to skip 1st year of her degree in de monfort U, leicester, but still had to take IELTS.
kikurazz
post Oct 22 2007, 11:19 AM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

uhm...i took mine earlier this year and there's only 2 parts to the writing component.
mine was general IELTS and both questions are essays, one in letter format and the other one in argumentative format. you gotta write damn fast and dun waste too much time on the 1st part. a lot of ppl (including my frens sitting the same exam with me) actually did not finish writing the 2nd essay coz the time given is not really long. 1 hour for 2 essays if i rmbered correctly.
TSmooze
post Oct 22 2007, 03:49 PM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(kikurazz @ Oct 22 2007, 11:19 AM)
uhm...i took mine earlier this year and there's only 2 parts to the writing component.
mine was general IELTS and both questions are essays, one in letter format and the other one in argumentative format. you gotta write damn fast and dun waste too much time on the 1st part. a lot of ppl (including my frens sitting the same exam with me) actually did not finish writing the 2nd essay coz the time given is not really long. 1 hour for 2 essays if i rmbered correctly.
bro the letter is telling what story? business? personal?

argumentative is kind of like given a topic and "do u agree with this? declare your reasons for it" ?

This post has been edited by mooze: Oct 22 2007, 03:50 PM
kikurazz
post Oct 22 2007, 04:32 PM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

letter asked u to complained about a development in your local area.
argumentative question was about technical school. do you agree or disagree stuffs.

foofoosasa
post Oct 22 2007, 04:42 PM

3,482 posts

From my experience, it is hard to score well if u do not have strong english based.if u speak english as easy as pie for you,then i think there should be no problem for you to score between 6-8 point. smile.gif if you do not have, i advise you to read a lot of book or newspaper especially related to social and learn some formal words.speak more too with ur frens and listen more english Tv programmes such as CNN haha~ thumbup.gif
TSmooze
post Oct 23 2007, 06:03 PM

1,406 posts

i went to the IDP exhibition beside Taylors College subang jaya today... the "application fee waived for on-the-spot booth" deal got me up on my feet..
was quite impressed with IDP staff helping clueless people out(well yeah i know its their job) in finding the their right places..
i applied three universities for next intake(feb2008)..
highly hoping get my naval architecture/marine engineering degree offer letter soon....
though money is another matter..
hrmm... in any case,at least i know i've tried.. smile.gif

anyone going to australia education exhibition at klcc this weekend though?
it'd be a lot more booths than IDP i guess, and wide open space(minus the huge crowd gathering soon)..

any tips u guys can give me of my further study oversea attempt?

This post has been edited by mooze: Oct 23 2007, 06:07 PM
genejere
post Oct 26 2007, 12:51 PM

24 posts

The australian education exhibition at IDP that day was really great. I've got my on-the-spot offer, haha, feeling so funny.
TSmooze
post Oct 26 2007, 02:30 PM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(genejere @ Oct 26 2007, 12:51 PM)
The australian education exhibition at IDP that day was really great. I've got my on-the-spot offer, haha, feeling so funny.
i know the feeling,bro...
eh,wait.. what do u mean "on-the-spot" offer? u mean u applied n accepted without conditions that same day?
or u just meaning u filled up the form n applied only, no official answer(letter) from the university?

This post has been edited by mooze: Oct 26 2007, 02:30 PM
alex13
post Oct 26 2007, 02:49 PM

400 posts

IELTS is nice...well if you can write n read English rather well. I guess you are good to go. If you still unsure, take some course, IDP got offered but I think fees applied.

Or, you can go to MPH, Borders or any book shop to look for exercise books.

Last time when I wanted to go Australia to study, I took the 3 days after i register and managed to get a 6.5 without much effort.

By the way, if you study using English during your college time, you might not need to take IELTS as what you studied already is in English.

jasperng
post Oct 26 2007, 02:54 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

can i apply using a bachelor honour degree from UK university to study in Australia for postgraduate programme ? .. .do i need IELTS ?
alex13
post Oct 26 2007, 02:57 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Oct 26 2007, 02:54 PM)
can i apply using a bachelor honour degree from UK university to study in Australia for postgraduate programme ? .. .do i need IELTS ?
As long as you are taught in English then I guess its exempted. What I do not understand is why you want to study UK honours in Australia? Both of them had different system...albeit slightly.

I myself used to study a UK degree in INTI. But after 2 years I credit transffered to Australia. Is that similar to your case?
TSmooze
post Oct 26 2007, 08:26 PM

1,406 posts

but in any case,u'd hv to ask the university personally,contact them by email or something,each course differs.. and ur UK -> Australia system might also differ..
azarimy
post Oct 26 2007, 08:38 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

UK degree -> aussie postgrad degree = YES.

IELTS = no.

when i apply for my masters at UCL using my UTM degree, i was required to take IELTS. after graduating masters, i applied to RMIT in aust, sheffield, UCL and nottingham in the UK, all did not require IELTS. the only one requiring IELTS was JPA, bcoz of protocol bla bla bla.
genejere
post Oct 28 2007, 09:57 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(mooze @ Oct 26 2007, 02:30 PM)
i know the feeling,bro...
eh,wait.. what do u mean "on-the-spot" offer? u mean u applied n accepted without conditions that same day?
or u just meaning u filled up the form n applied only, no official answer(letter) from the university?
I handed in my application form, the counsellor checked through my forecast results, and took out the official letter, wrote my name, and gave it to me.
feynman
post Oct 28 2007, 10:39 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(genejere @ Oct 28 2007, 09:57 AM)
I handed in my application form, the counsellor checked through my forecast results, and took out the official letter, wrote my name, and gave it to me.
What university was that?
Blumarooz
post Oct 28 2007, 12:00 PM

67 posts

I just sat for my IELTS a few months back. The result was..... satisfactory; 7.5. It was as if me and my friend went to a war without any armour or fighting equipment. HAha. The ILETS exam was just a few days after our final semester exam for our degree. So we don't have enuf time for any preparations whatsoever. Hmm... well, it's not necessary for you to be a native english speaker to score well in IELTS. As long you have a solid foundation you'll pull through it. If you usually scores A or A- in your school exam, you'll definitely get 7.0 or above. I kinda enjoy the examination though because it was quite relaxing. The environment wasn't too stiff or make you nervous. HOWEVER, please take extra cautious for your reading paper. I ran out of time for that paper since we're required to read as fast as possible but at the same time extracting the important points out. Don't spend your own sweet time for that paper or you might regret!!

I have not done anything for the IELTS preparations so I cannot recommend you on any tips to study for it. However, it'll be very useful to get the sample papers. You can purchase it when you register for you exam. I got mine from British council KL (near KLCC). At least you'll get a rough idea on wat to expect from the exam.

Finally, good luck to you and don't worry too much icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Blumarooz: Oct 28 2007, 12:05 PM
TSmooze
post Oct 28 2007, 09:44 PM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(Blumarooz @ Oct 28 2007, 12:00 PM)
I have not done anything for the IELTS preparations so I cannot recommend you on any tips to study for it. However, it'll be very useful to get the sample papers. You can purchase it when you register for you exam. I got mine from British council KL (near KLCC). At least you'll get a rough idea on wat to expect from the exam.
bro, how much paid for the sample papers?? ya,i want a rough idea on what to expect smile.gif
Blumarooz
post Oct 28 2007, 10:53 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(mooze @ Oct 28 2007, 09:44 PM)
bro, how much paid for the sample papers?? ya,i want a rough idea on what to expect smile.gif
If I'm not mistaken, it's RM80 for the preparatory book. BTW, I'm a gal. Haha. tongue.gif
The book also comes along with a CD for the listening and speaking part. There will be samples of conversation by a few IELTS candidates that got different bands. You can roughly estimate where you stand in this exam.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0162sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:26 AM