Public Bank Pbe no longer compatible with my phone, Can't access Pbesecuresign

nuvi
post Jun 25 2023, 08:56 AM

27,789 posts

Crazy world we're living where banking security responsibility is passed to the phone and user while bank wash hand.
loserguy
post Jun 25 2023, 08:57 AM

500 posts

I wish they would start using passkeys or TOTP via third party apps like Google Authenticator. Each bank has their own app wadepak.
vapanel
post Jun 25 2023, 08:59 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(nuvi @ Jun 25 2023, 08:56 AM)
Crazy world we're living where banking security responsibility is passed to the phone and user while bank wash hand.
I don't see wat is the problem
SUSAccord2018
post Jun 25 2023, 09:02 AM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(Akaashi @ Jun 25 2023, 08:46 AM)
Sooner or later other banks will folo one.
any current cheap xiaomi phone also got 10 already i think. Tat why ccp so rich now.
MyProLife
post Jun 25 2023, 09:04 AM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,065 posts

Believe it or not PBB actually realise that many account holders got the same issue huashit or samseng old phones (from 2018 or older) still stuck at android 9

That's why PBB give alternative for FREE: a physical token device that resemble a mini calculator you can get for free from PBB. Of course you may need to get it during lunch hour or take leave to go branch for that

If you don't want the hassle of getting to the branch, then no choice get a new phone only can use app

This post has been edited by MyProLife: Jun 25 2023, 09:07 AM
Raexim
post Jun 25 2023, 09:05 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(Chowda @ Jun 25 2023, 08:45 AM)
Bruh, my emails are clean, I always check the details proper from any Bank.

The only thing I managed to scour from the internet is their own website announcement:
https://www.pbebank.com/Announcement.aspx

Only Chinese news agency reported on the announcement, so I guess we English news consuming customers can go die lo.

tvcat
post Jun 25 2023, 09:12 AM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,885 posts

QUOTE(Chowda @ Jun 25 2023, 08:17 AM)
Android Version 9.

No update that I can find to 10; my phone is old I know, but no warning whatsoever from Public Bank is what triggered me.
No warning? PBB send out early notice in app and email. Either you rarely use the app or never check email or just blind.

For this kind of stupid user better get the free token, no need to worry for a long time.

This post has been edited by tvcat: Jun 25 2023, 09:13 AM
TSChowda
post Jun 25 2023, 09:13 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(Raexim @ Jun 25 2023, 09:05 AM)

Aside from the last one that I could have missed, the first 4 topics didn't have ANDROID 9 IS NO LONGER supported as the contents. That bottom grey area is not properly conveyed.
It just says the bank is using Securesign which I am already using.
TSChowda
post Jun 25 2023, 09:15 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Jun 25 2023, 09:12 AM)
No warning? PBB send out early notice in app and email. Either you rarely use the app or never check email or just blind.

For this kind of stupid user better get the free token, no need to worry for a long time.
Yes I did receive notification to use Pbe Securesign, as I have been using it for many years.
But I have never received a notice about Android 9.0 not being supported, as per my post above, those pictures are not specifying Android 9 being locked out.
Raexim
post Jun 25 2023, 09:22 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(Chowda @ Jun 25 2023, 09:13 AM)
Aside from the last one that I could have missed, the first 4 topics didn't have ANDROID 9 IS NO LONGER supported as the contents. That bottom grey area is not properly conveyed.
It just says the bank is using Securesign which I am already using.
No need to justify anything else. Just say salah email, salah bank, salah newspaper, salah DAP, salah PMX, salah Shamsiah, salah grey colour, but not salah me for not reading email properly.
Imp Bron
post Jun 25 2023, 09:24 AM

143 posts

Later kena hack you the one cry mother father
lahart
post Jun 25 2023, 09:27 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(nuvi @ Jun 25 2023, 08:56 AM)
So ur house security not ur problem but ur neighbour and police?
TSChowda
post Jun 25 2023, 09:28 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(Raexim @ Jun 25 2023, 09:22 AM)
No need to justify anything else. Just say salah email, salah bank, salah newspaper, salah DAP, salah PMX, salah Shamsiah, salah grey colour, but not salah me for not reading email properly.
Sure, blame the many customers that are facing this issue, ownself PR fail, gaslight customer for being stupid yeah?
guysmiley
post Jun 25 2023, 09:30 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(Chowda @ Jun 25 2023, 08:08 AM)
Hello,

Any Public Banker IT staff here?

P/S: Using Huawei Nova 3i, guess I need to withdraw Cash now like some uncivilized barbarian.
they need to comply to bnm new rules especially the sms thing and new apps dont support older androids. or perhaps your droid is rooted? else just upgrade ler. can get newer used phones for rm400.
tvcat
post Jun 25 2023, 09:31 AM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,885 posts

QUOTE(Chowda @ Jun 25 2023, 09:15 AM)
Yes I did receive notification to use Pbe Securesign, as I have been using it for many years.
But I have never received a notice about Android 9.0 not being supported, as per my post above, those pictures are not specifying Android 9 being locked out.
I suggest you use the free token since you really don't know how to read email or in app notification.

atook
post Jun 25 2023, 09:32 AM

36 posts

get a new phone la
Raexim
post Jun 25 2023, 09:32 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(Chowda @ Jun 25 2023, 09:28 AM)
Sure, blame the many customers that are facing this issue, ownself PR fail, gaslight customer for being stupid yeah?
QUOTE(Chowda @ Jun 25 2023, 08:45 AM)
Bruh, my emails are clean, I always check the details proper from any Bank.

The only thing I managed to scour from the internet is their own website announcement:
https://www.pbebank.com/Announcement.aspx

Only Chinese news agency reported on the announcement, so I guess we English news consuming customers can go die lo.
Nuff said.

This post has been edited by Raexim: Jun 25 2023, 09:35 AM
la bella
post Jun 25 2023, 09:34 AM

962 posts

Change phone je or change bank

Not going to cost much compared to losing money to hacker or scammer due to outdated poor security phone
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 25 2023, 09:35 AM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(lahart @ Jun 25 2023, 09:27 AM)
So ur house security not ur problem but ur neighbour and police?
More like if you house(the bank) security was breached immediately blame it's your neighbor or the police were the culprits.

Did you ever consider the house occupants within among one of your family members were suspects?
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 25 2023, 09:37 AM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Jun 25 2023, 09:34 AM)
Change phone je or change bank

Not going to cost much compared to losing money to hacker or scammer due to outdated poor security phone
If I'm a long time customer and old, I might consider change bank and move my funds just as investors losing trust in this country moving out all their FDIs.

PB is not the only bank in Malaysia.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0167sec    0.85    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:22 AM