Bored at work after 30/40s

TSHappyA_Q
post Jun 22 2023, 06:12 AM, updated 2y ago

869 posts

Anyone here feel bored working after 30s/40s?
Not that excited or passionate after working for over 15+ years.
Not the same as back in the 20s where everything seems fresh and new, and earning money is exciting.

At the same time, blessed that I still have a job given that there's a lot of retrenchment out there.

So question here is how do you guys keep yourself passionate, keen and all excited?
Do you set yourself a further goal? What goals do you set?
Have you thought about starting own business instead?

**** Updates****
I have taken up company's redundancy package and have gone to interviews with 5 companies.
Blessed enough, 3 companies offered me and managed to negotiate a good package compare to previous company.

I have now joined the company for a few weeks now. Somehow, I feel a bit lost still.

Any suggestions, appreciate them thank you

This post has been edited by HappyA_Q: Nov 4 2023, 04:17 AM
TSHappyA_Q
post Jun 22 2023, 10:32 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(joshgm_119 @ Jun 22 2023, 08:00 AM)
Question for TS - how long have you been in the same kind of role?

Definitely look for other companies or roles to challenge yourself and keep the "new" feel going.

I'm not so much of a set up own business kinda guy, so makan gaji with different types of roles.

I can relate, get bored every couple of years. LOL
Same role for close to 3 years now, getting bored.
Yeah, actively applying for roles now with more fun.

I am the same as you! Get bored every couple of years.. Haha

TSHappyA_Q
post Jun 22 2023, 10:35 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 22 2023, 08:23 AM)
When you hit 40s... you tend to contemplate your life much more and prioritize balance more than work itself. meeting up with people and spending more time with family and doing the things you like .

The age old questions comes into play askin' yourself : If you were to die tomorrow, do you have any regrets?...

If you feel reluctant, that means you have not resolved your inner peace of doing what you want or have unsettled things that needed to be done but you do not have it yet.

Work is end of the day, a means for you to save up , put a shelter n food on the table along with giving you time for planning your final phases in life. Some people start thinking about it at mid 30s what they wanna do when their old. Some might rather do the job they do not really like but the pay is good just to save enough to move on to the next phase of life faster.

If you're burned up from work, take some extended leave or sabbatical. last 3 years has been tough for everyone... with covid and lockdowns..,. companies has pressure to push everyone to work harder to make up for lost income cutting headcounts at the same time so at the same time we employees being squeezed more.

End of the day all of us have a choice, we might not know what is right or wrong in making the choice. But we definitely would know what makes us happy. Making a choice that leans towards that is never wrong...
My previous job was too exhausted until I don't have time for myself and family.
But the projects are very interesting and challenging, but management and culture are toxic.

Current company actually not too bad, WFH hybrid mode. Work-life balance, get time to spend with family.
Not burned out but need more challenges to get me excited again.

I think if I am mortgage free, I would be happy. Probably I need to go for a vacation somewhere
TSHappyA_Q
post Jun 22 2023, 10:40 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(BS8110 @ Jun 22 2023, 10:26 AM)
Boredom could be due to being in comfort zone for a long time. 

Try to push or stretch yourself to the next level.
Very true, need to push myself next level.
Need to set myself a higher goal
TSHappyA_Q
post Jun 23 2023, 07:13 PM

869 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 22 2023, 05:41 PM)
Try to change jobs or company

comfort zone too long..
True, need to take some actions.
TSHappyA_Q
post Jul 12 2023, 03:02 PM

869 posts

Anyone in their 30s or 40s feel the same here?
TSHappyA_Q
post Jul 17 2023, 05:35 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 16 2023, 07:04 AM)
Or, create a midlife crisis and pull the trigger on that dream sport car. That’ll give you a reason to want to drive to work everyday…
In fact, I have just done that last year by buying a BMW 3 series M-sports.
It is really fun driving everyday, but still I think I need to do something about my career/job.

I need to tell myself to stay positive, and be blessed and happy that I am employed as there are a lot of retrenchment in the IT industry these days!
I also schedule myself to travel outstations to meet up with customers etc. Keep myself busy
TSHappyA_Q
post Jul 17 2023, 05:42 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 16 2023, 07:07 AM)
Actually no. If I had my way, I’d work for as long as I can (but then I work as a physician in my own medical practice), but I’m now semi-retired at 50 because my wife wants to slow down and enjoy life… and I want to do that with her.
That's awesome! Also since you run your own medical practice, you don't have to be there full-time as can hire other GPs.
Then, you get more time to spend with wife.

If you have kids, I guess they would be in university soon or have graduated and started working.

TSHappyA_Q
post Jul 17 2023, 10:27 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 17 2023, 06:07 AM)
Unfortunately, it doesn't work that way. My patients have repeatedly and decisively made their preference clear in the past - they're not interested in seeing a replacement doctor, as I don't run a general practice. And in the past, I used to accede to their request as I felt responsible for their wellbeing. Well, a lot of things changed thanks to COVID, and also personal health isn't as good as it was say, 20 years ago (after all, I'm no spring chicken anymore), and so another mindset slowly crept into play: "I'm not going to be of any use to anybody if I'm sick, or worse, dead".

That mean giving permission to myself to take more time off, as I need, and also to scale back at work.

I've not made any active attempts to grow my practice - I've restricted the number of new patients I wish to take in daily, even my Indonesian and other ASEAN country patients (where as in the past, I'd run down and get the surgery open even if they flew in on one of my rest days!), and I take a month off on alternate months to return to Australia, where I keep my MID LIFE CRISES in Sydney.

I find this has helped me reduce my own boredom at work (as exciting as medicine is, human beings are such that we'll fall into a routine and get bored at times).

I'm not advocating that you adopt the same approach, but perhaps vary your routine on & off work - take a longer drive in your BMW to work, drive a different route, find the enjoyment in the journey - all this to charge you up BEFORE you start the day, and then discover new things about your colleagues while at work, make friends with the barista at your favourite cafe and have a bit of a chin wag with him or her at lunch, whatever it take, to keep things fresh and get you looking forward to getting to work.

Just some random ideas tossed over your side for your consideration - I've just turned 50, so I can safely say I've been there, done that and bought the T-shirt, insofar as where you're coming from smile.gif

Good luck!
Nice 911! I love Cayenne shape.
You're right bout the routine, sort of bored of routine if doing the same thing again and again.

TSHappyA_Q
post Jul 17 2023, 10:35 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 17 2023, 06:13 AM)
I didn't ask whether you're married - I assume you are, and with kids?

If so, then my advise wouldn't be complete without mentioning the same variation of routine with the family members that mean the most to you.

In my case, it's just my wife and I, so we incorporate a lot of activities with our classmates (primarily in Australia, where I spent a lot of time studying) and also with our favourite nieces and nephews. Luckily for us, they are all of different ages, so it's like a never-ending sushi train of variety. AND, the best thing is that I get to live out my childhood (which was obviously a lot less fortunate than theirs) through presents and toys that I get to buy for the younger ones!

These things, as seemingly irrelevant as they may read on the surface, actually help with how I perceive work too - a life outside of work that is fresh and exciting keeps me energized for the tedium that invariably comes with the routine of work.
Yeah married and have 2 kids - one in primary and another in intermediate.
Target to fully retire once both kids started working which will be another 10-15 years to go.

Hopefully can live in both Auckland and KL by then, and possibly Australia! :-D

TSHappyA_Q
post Jul 18 2023, 01:40 PM

869 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Jul 17 2023, 11:16 AM)
I also feel kinda mundane with my job. Earlier i though change of environment will be good and i jump 2 company.

Got the raise but after a while feel empty again. Am not sure if its just pure lazyness setting or taking things for granted. Went on a few holidays but still feeling meh

Still finding my purpose in life. Trying to change to things im passionate about but no idea to start where yet
After you have read this thread, you will find out you're not alone!

I am trying a few things here as some forumers mentioned. Just to list out mine:-
1) Engage in sports activities, for me, it's badminton.
2) Engage with family friends, or kids' family, have some gatherings
3) Try to do different things at work, talk to more colleagues, engage with more customers, make new friends
4) Get into building passive income/retirement funds thinking mode.
5) Set a goal - can be health, wealth, family, travel any goals.
6) If you are a religious person, can seek answer on life purpose in your religion.

Hope this helps
TSHappyA_Q
post Jul 20 2023, 04:24 PM

869 posts

QUOTE(mainboard @ Jul 18 2023, 03:01 PM)
45 now - long way to go before retirement due to commitment and young kids.

feeling the same too - hopefully a change of job might give it a last push towards 50s.
Perhaps reduce your commitment will be more relaxing, and allow you to retire earlier

TSHappyA_Q
post Jul 24 2023, 03:28 PM

869 posts

After this post, I have a couple of things to make me feel excited and not bored. Hence sharing here too

1) Meet more customers, help them resolve their problems - this helps to make me feel valuable and can provide values to customers.
2) Help colleagues - again this help provide values to teammates
3) Plan financially - like what other forumers mentioned, plan for retirement.
4) Leisure travel plans - have just done local trip and planning overseas trip
5) Hobby - play badminton competitively as a team. You can also do sports or hobbies you like. I am thinking of picking up Gundam model building again
6) Spend time on taking care of my own health
TSHappyA_Q
post Jul 28 2023, 09:08 PM

869 posts

QUOTE(bristlebb @ Jul 28 2023, 05:04 PM)
I can feel you, but i'm currently in between jobs. I was mentally exhausted + anxiety due to toxic work environment.

Been in this state for months, I've attended few interviews only since earlier of this year due to my job is very niche..rejected 1 job offer.. I can feel the passion is no longer there, but I know I could not stay like this forever still i feel kinda lost.

is it a good idea to pursue postgraduate study locally/oversea while looking for job that sparks my interest?
Seems like you need a break. Take a couple weeks off traveling to place that is in your to go list. Turn off work emails, get your mind off the grid.

Pursuing postgraduate depends on what you want to achieve.. you can work and take part time MBA or other post grad course, that might spark you.

Also suggest to leave toxic work environment, it's not good for long term health. Try interviewing everywhere you can.

TSHappyA_Q
post Aug 3 2023, 11:28 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Aug 1 2023, 11:43 PM)
Wow found this interesting  topic middle age crisis mostly 40+++
Bravo everyone at least we all still surviving man. From my point of view get retrenchment  is actually good option you know at least worth the compensation  package especially  those work more than 10 years and above .

Don't be afraid to keep looking up for new job because our long accumulated experience not something easy can be replaced by youngster

I see many youngster they actually no idea what they doing just purely execute base on instruction or the maturities is not there so many boss out there still looking up age 40 +++ to fill up the position and they not expecting people to leave after 2 or 3 years

Conclusion 40++ still high demand in the market. Hope this help and keep fighting everyone and thanks
Yeah bro!
Time flies and already in 40s!

I like your post, positive, energetic! Keep the spirit fighting! Just another 10+ years to go before retirement! :-D
TSHappyA_Q
post Sep 15 2023, 12:38 PM

869 posts

QUOTE(JUSTmee @ Sep 15 2023, 10:31 AM)
Hey, glad to know I'm not alone with these feelings. I'm 40+, married with a child still studying in primary school. Started to save for retirement fund....
That feeling like lost of passion/getting bored at work kicks in since last year....
hmmm.... still trying to figure things out like how/what could make things better/improving????
See if the following helps....
If you're an employee, imagine if one day your employer doesn't need you anymore, how are you doing financially?

+ Are you mortgage free now? At least your current house is mortgage free?
+ Are there anything else that excites you or that you are passionate to do? (Keyword here is passionate)
+ Think about your child's future, he/she still in primary school, still there are many years to go before going to Univ or started working. Meaning you will have to support him/her financially. What if your child is capable and wanted to study overseas? Needs a lot of money too.

Hope that this gives you clarity in mind.
TSHappyA_Q
post Sep 25 2023, 05:48 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Sep 24 2023, 01:04 PM)

Just want to drop hello here to all those who are in 40s and still working....I am in my mid 40s and going to be 50s soon..The nature of my job is quite technical. I have been asked if I want to become peoples manager before and I flatly said No...I have never been interested in managing other ppl....I rather be a technical SME than ppls manager...Surprisingly my brain is still active..I still can absorbed technical knowledge rapidly and I am still taking certification, upgrading my knowledge over these years...I do sit for at least 2 exam papers every year for the past 4 - 5 years...
This is motivating! Keep going bro, thanks for sharing!
TSHappyA_Q
post Nov 4 2023, 04:17 AM

869 posts

**** Updates****
I have taken company's redundancy package and have gone to interviews with 5 companies.
Blessed enough, 3 companies offered me and managed to negotiate a better package compare to previous company.

I have now joined the company for a few weeks now. Somehow, I feel a bit lost still.

Any suggestions?

This post has been edited by HappyA_Q: Nov 4 2023, 04:18 AM
TSHappyA_Q
post Nov 6 2023, 02:43 PM

869 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Nov 4 2023, 02:19 PM)

Changing job is never easy as you hit 40s...I have experienced it several times...Anxiety and lack of self confidence can wreck havoc..

To avoid feeling lost, stop thinking about yr job after work..Go play tennis, badminton or do something that makes you forget yr work for a few hours...

I myself is feeling the blues all the time...
I just joined this new company. First week training 9-5pm, second week boss brought me to meet with 8 customers. Very overwhelming. And after that get back to family, kids wanted to play with me, I am exhausted mentally and physically. Didn't sleep well also because of sleeping in hotel during training. I can't sleep well in hotel.

Probably need to step back and get myself relax a bit.
TSHappyA_Q
post Nov 7 2023, 02:51 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Nov 7 2023, 12:37 AM)
Hotel should be better play to sleep or maybe our life is different.
Not used to hotel's beds. Own beds are the best.

0.0245sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:37 AM