why shopping mall car park size is kinda small?

silverhawk
post Jun 21 2023, 06:36 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(keybearer @ Jun 21 2023, 04:29 PM)
Cause parking space is considered non-revenue generating space, unlike office/commercial floors.
Is this how they really think? Surely damn sohai if they think this way. Each car carries 1-4 people who are going to spend money in the mall laugh.gif

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jun 21 2023, 04:53 PM)
Looks tight but actually not la. They draw an extra box in between cars so it gives an illusion that the parking spot is small.
I prefer lines like this, then people will actually park with sufficient space between cars. Otherwise you get people parking like babi and squeeze the next bays
silverhawk
post Jun 21 2023, 07:07 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(keybearer @ Jun 21 2023, 06:47 PM)
Used to work in a company providing parking solutions for buildings (think double decker car park machine, etc.). Single floor need to have higher height than normal but can sumbat double capacity.

Word is developer could remove 2 whole carpark floors and replace them with shopping mall floors vs design without the parking solution. The spending they made for the parking solutions must make sense somehow right to have that 2 extra commercial floors?
From parking solution standpoint, that sales pitch makes sense.

Realistically speaking though, I don't think it really makes sense. If you have a parking problem (too many customers), then expanding parking size makes sense because that means there's more traffic and money flowing into your mall which helps keep your shops alive.

Expanding shops without expanding parking doesn't make sense because the inflow of customers remains pretty much the same but now spread out into even more shops. Which might kill some of your current tenants.

silverhawk
post Jun 21 2023, 09:25 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(keybearer @ Jun 21 2023, 07:22 PM)
Think of it this way. DBKL no. of parking requirement might not be the most optimal from a business perspective. Pretty sure the devs have a more accurate historical data on ideal no. of parking (for example optimally only 70% of DBKL's standard no. is occupied at most in any given time), so might as well make a space where you can collect long term rent.

Just my presumption though. There's also the matter of having extra basement floors / upper floors can lead to expensive costs beyond certain threshold, so it'd make sense if they did it not to cross that.
I think if devs are really data oriented (which from my experience they are not). So many malls wouldn't be built in the same area, and so many malls wouldn't be dead malls now.

Malls like 1Utama has more parking than shops I think.

0.0125sec    2.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:26 AM