Online gambling syndicates protected, by politicians?

TSpokemon
post Jun 15 2023, 04:15 PM, updated 3y ago

2,717 posts

KUALA LUMPUR: Illegal online gambling syndicates are receiving protection from certain politicians, which makes it difficult to eradicate the issue, says Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail.

"I can confirm that there are elements of political protection for online gambling (syndicates), said the Home Minister, adding that this was the biggest challenge faced by the Home Ministry, police and government.

"How can politicians watch over such criminal activities for the sake of money when it has caused social and economic destruction? " he said.

Saifuddin said political will is needed to address the issue and to amend the Common Gaming Houses Act 1953 as well as the Betting Act 1953 to cover offenses related to online gaming.

"The Act from 1953 has never been amended and who should amend this? Parliament and the politicians. There were efforts in 2019, but it was slow," said Saifuddin.

"I will discuss with Tambun (Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim) because the Act is under the Finance Ministry," he said in Parliament during Question Time on Thursday (June 15).
Saifuddin was replying to a question from Datuk Ramanan Ramakrishnan (PH-Sungai Buloh) on measures taken by the Home Ministry to address online gambling, its negative impact on the community and whether the ministry had a database of those involved.

Saifuddin said amending the 70-year-old law to cover illegal online gambling would allow proper enforcement against culprits.

"In 1953, gambling or betting involved things like cockfighting. Now when the police want to take action they lose the case. There are many loopholes and the highest penalty under the Act is only RM50,000," said Saifuddin.

He added that the sentence is incompatible with the multi-billion ringgit industry.

Saifuddin said the authorities had blocked 2,119 websites from 2021 until May 2023, but mirror sites keep popping up to replace them.

He also said authorities have an integrated police reporting system, which is a database used to monitor cybercrimes and includes data such as the types of online games and platforms used.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2023...firms-saifuddin

brkli
post Jun 15 2023, 04:19 PM

592 posts

want finger pointing just say out the name la diu..
Nanti Sekejap
post Jun 15 2023, 04:20 PM

409 posts

the ultimate solution is, we sendiri setup our own local legal online gambling website, kenakan high tax

This post has been edited by Nanti Sekejap: Jun 15 2023, 04:20 PM
SUSKaya Butter Toast
post Jun 15 2023, 04:20 PM

325 posts

Just legalize? Bodoh
Lucas0323
post Jun 15 2023, 04:21 PM

806 posts

QUOTE(Nanti Sekejap @ Jun 15 2023, 04:20 PM)
the ultimate solution is, we sendiri setup our own local legal online gambling website
Protek protek. Free and easy tax collection goyang kaki tamau all monies goes to the dark.
MrBaba
post Jun 15 2023, 04:22 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(Nanti Sekejap @ Jun 15 2023, 04:20 PM)
the ultimate solution is, we sendiri setup our own local legal online gambling website, kenakan high tax
U forgot fruit like hold 50% share of company . Not legal only got chance songlap , legal less way to songlap .
Randomization
post Jun 15 2023, 04:23 PM

460 posts

Can't delete internut
SUSWahlberg
post Jun 15 2023, 04:23 PM

144 posts

even so , what they gonna do a bout it
haturaya
post Jun 15 2023, 05:12 PM

2,551 posts

Even legal one also being protected... ask certain state... Meoooowwww
Pikichu
post Jun 15 2023, 05:16 PM

2,278 posts

memalukan pulis tak tangkap penjenayah
Szzz
post Jun 15 2023, 05:18 PM

120 posts

Home Minister giving this kind of statement

Hello, you are one of the most powerful in Malaysia, entire police force under you. Who is this politician that you can't resolve this problem? The only person has more power than you is the PM. Unless you saying he is the problem ke?
ShadowR1
post Jun 15 2023, 05:19 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Szzz @ Jun 15 2023, 05:18 PM)

Hello, you are one of the most powerful in Malaysia, entire police force under you. Who is this politician that you can't resolve this problem? The only person has more power than you is the PM. Unless you saying he is the problem ke?
This.
bill11
post Jun 15 2023, 05:21 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Szzz @ Jun 15 2023, 05:18 PM)

What if that politician is one of the unity party president...
Boomwick
post Jun 15 2023, 05:22 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Jun 15 2023, 04:19 PM)
Unity government mao pergi election.. susah buka mulut
yhtan
post Jun 15 2023, 05:22 PM

8,650 posts

What he said is correct also, u ban them another mirror link website pop out, then spread through telegram. There is no way to counter them unless the act is amend to tackle it.

legalized online betting is the best alternative way, i'm sure Genting will be happy to do that.

tkn0811
post Jun 15 2023, 05:23 PM

40 posts

macam Gotham City before Batman, semua crime syndicates dan polis sangat corrupt dan untouchable...
NathanJeans
post Jun 15 2023, 05:25 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Jun 15 2023, 04:19 PM)
Usually this kind of news without name is like warning shot for some party to pay more money as bribe.
geelim77
post Jun 15 2023, 05:32 PM

181 posts

"I can confirm that there are elements of political protection for online gambling (syndicates), said the Home Minister,
so who is it?.......why no drop any name if you so sure?......so you the same lar, protecting them as well.
zoozul
post Jun 15 2023, 05:37 PM

98 posts

Sudah berapa lama dah merdeka. Syndicate kaya and bergaya sampai.. hahaha. Tangkap mana ada?

0.0159sec    0.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:57 PM