Loke: Good idea to bring back Bas Mini
9m2w
Jun 15 2023, 12:55 PM
Mini bus succeeded not just because of size but because of free market. It was in the interest of the bus driver and conductor to be as efficient as possible to maximise profit. Alot of ppl also say this model is the best. But I bet once they realise this model also leads to overloading and speeding bus drivers they will then say Rapid KL number one and ban mini bus QUOTE(jurkflash @ Jun 15 2023, 12:55 PM) not sure everyone aware or not that most buses in KL are big, cant even drive thru those taman. mini bus or smaller bus can solve this problem. Actually this. The older suburbs in PJ were well served by the mini busses. When they switched to the bigger busses they had to relocate most of the bus stops to the bigger and busier roads. So yeah this is potentially one good point This post has been edited by 9m2w: Jun 15 2023, 12:57 PM
9m2w
Jun 15 2023, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(30624770 @ Jun 15 2023, 12:58 PM) You can follow HK style of mini bus. Don’t allow standing and they must follow designated routs only Have to monitor if its private sector free enterprise. If its run by Rapid you can have some assurance they will adhere to SOP If full for profit need to keep a close eye
9m2w
Jun 15 2023, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(Hobbez @ Jun 15 2023, 01:16 PM) Current RapidKL bus only 1 hour once. Very bad. But much less passengers now. So maybe that is their excuse. But when you need to use the bus, yilek. So yes, bring back bus mini. Actually as a guy who passes by some LRT stations that doubles as Rapid depots i can tell you during peak its not their fault All of them are stuck at the station. They cant budge kek. Kesian also the driver during those times Now if mini busses can ply the less busier roads and served the suburbs better i see got some potential here
9m2w
Jun 15 2023, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jun 15 2023, 02:01 PM) nah, I belip less women will take gojek in kl ( due to security issues ), but we need this gojek as last mile service easier for me to go to pu-cheong on gojek rather than to drive there Can consider scooters as well. Like those beam for rents. But have to regulate or come up with some guidelines else they also become roadkill But you'd be surprised, I've actually seen a young lady use a non electric one regularly take it from her office to the LRT station. Every evening when I fetch my kids, timing is right can see her pushing off her scooter. Topkek I cut her earlier she cuts me back later when I'm waiting in the jam This post has been edited by 9m2w: Jun 15 2023, 03:39 PM
9m2w
Jun 15 2023, 08:32 PM
QUOTE(loserguy @ Jun 15 2023, 07:59 PM) This is the worst thing that can happen to public transport. Back in the 80s, Penang used to have pretty efficient public transport. Buses would pass by certain routes on schedule, mostly hourly. Then these "free market" buses came along. It was a nightmare. Drivers sitting in half full buses waiting for more passengers, refusing to move. Outside of peak hours, forget about taking buses. The Gerakan led Penang state govt back then had to beg Pak Lah to bring in Rapid Penang to save the public transport system. edit: sos kicap http://lib.perdana.org.my/PLF/Malaysiakini...ini/2/65454.pdfIn KL not all busses waited for passengers. The mini busses that plied the PJ KL routes would keep on moving. That route always will have ppl. So for them its speeding and overloading Its at the old Bangkok Bank and Kota Raya stops where you had the Sri Jaya busses heading into places like Cheras and Hulu Langat that waited abit. Usually from ppl alighting off the mini busses. Anywhere from 15 minutes to 45 minutes. But yeah got good got bad with free market. Have to find a balance. Rapid is bleeding and dont have the capacity to server the smaller roads. Free enterprises...well you just mentioned their dark side
9m2w
Jun 15 2023, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(LamboSama @ Jun 15 2023, 08:36 PM)  those buses were still around outside of KL until Najib time. Are you talking express bus or town bus? People talking about these bus   That isn't a mini bus either.
9m2w
Jun 15 2023, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(LamboSama @ Jun 15 2023, 09:06 PM) They are the same private buses company that also run the smaller buses. They phase out the small bus for a reason. If you think mini buses are only pink in colour really shows you never use them before. We are talking about the mini buses specially the ones that plied the routes between KL to it's surrounding suburbs You are so hard up on proving who rode and didn't ride on it until colour scheme also come out Kek. How the heck is that relevant Got prize is it? And no. I don't subscribe to cronyism that doomed the mini busses in KL and ushered in the Intrakota Complaints were too many especially safety. This post has been edited by 9m2w: Jun 15 2023, 09:11 PM
9m2w
Jun 15 2023, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(LamboSama @ Jun 15 2023, 09:12 PM) Maybe you should read the post I was replying to rather than suddenly jumping in. KL isn't the only place with mini buses and private bus company. I reply to you based on what you reply to me chief
9m2w
Jun 15 2023, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(LamboSama @ Jun 15 2023, 09:15 PM) The first post you reply to me wasn't a reply to you dear. But my reply to you was chief. Cos it wasn't a mini bus. But I also don't know why colour scheme and badge of honor for riding mini bus came out kek
9m2w
Jun 15 2023, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(LamboSama @ Jun 15 2023, 09:19 PM) And the guy I replied to was talking about express bus and claiming it's efficiencies babe. Those buses were pretty much the same size and runs the same method as minj buses. Fill up first then only move. Those companies also has mini buses, yet they phase it out. RapidKL also tried it and still phase it out. Dunno why people still think it's a good idea. Yup fair point Another pitfall of free enterprise I guess But mini busses plying the city to suburbs route never bothered to wait. Unlike the bigger bas kilang size counterparts that plied the longer routes. Downtown to Cheras, Hulu Langat and also Rawang. Their problem was overloading and speeding So its possible for mini busses to solve some of our problems provided there are oversight
9m2w
Jun 17 2023, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(viole @ Jun 17 2023, 11:32 AM) Then you can only tackle those lrt around the neighbourhood. Good luck try to reach mrt kajang for example, with 2 schools nearby, 1 college, few condos in the vicinity. Lrt subang at the back of subang parade and etc etc. imagine bus also need to brace through usj and the likes. Jam + so many bus stop + so many lrt station. End up people still go back to driving. Same like Bahagia and KJ lines. They also double as bus depots and during peak hour the buses are trapped. Can't even exit the depot But with some planning mini buses may work. Have them ply the smaller roads to serve the suburbs. The roads that the bigger rapid KL buses avoid due to their size. Have passengers board the buses at the smaller roads. This post has been edited by 9m2w: Jun 17 2023, 11:37 AM