SPM National Sponsorship '23 Candidates Statistics, 298 Listed: M:I:C:O = 152:17:125:4

TSiSean
post Jun 13 2023, 12:57 AM, updated 3y ago

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

Data is extracted from government website.
Since no one is doing this, and I have too much time, on my hands, I data processed the statistics of the lists of SPM 9A+ (as long you get 9A+ you get a SPM Sponsorships)

[Source of Data Extraction]
https://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/

[Methodology]
I just extract all the names in order for data cleaning process
1. Filter by Malays First through bin/binti syntax
2. Filter by Indians then A/L A/P
3. Filter by Chinese
4. Filter by Others/Bumi that doesn't belong in the Chinese List.
5. Statistically count is using the keyword =COUNTIF("RaceList", "Keys of Race" )
6. Plot bar chart.

Lists of Students.

Anyhow sekian congrats all those SPM peeps.

Will do another Data Extraction for another Candidates Lists for other scholarship category - " PERMOHONAN PROGRAM KHAS LEPASAN SPM DALAM NEGARA (LSPM) TAHUN 2023 "
For 583 Candidates (Not sure overlapped)

Attached File  SENARAI_CALON_PROFILING_PPN_2023.pdf ( 205.87k ) Number of downloads: 81

Attached File  FAQ_PPN_2023.pdf ( 343.98k ) Number of downloads: 31

Attached File  Iklan_PPN_2023.pdf ( 492.42k ) Number of downloads: 24

This post has been edited by iSean: Jun 13 2023, 01:28 PM
TSiSean
post Jun 13 2023, 07:21 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 13 2023, 06:46 AM)
how come SPM results just released last week already know who will get the scholarship 🤔
This is the just a list of eligible of Candidates for the Sponsorship.
Candidates have the options to turn down the offer.
TSiSean
post Jun 13 2023, 07:24 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(trojandude @ Jun 13 2023, 03:29 AM)
Sorry but I thought the criteria has been changed? In the past this scholarship is much easier to be awarded, but now you need to qualify for Top 10 University only for the field you're in (UK/US)

I think now they sponsor you to study in Kolej Yayasan UEM (24month A-levels program which is RM100k if you self pay). If you do get into the listed universities then they continue paying for your university scholarship. Otherwise I think no more further sponsorship I think.

doc - https://pocketdatav2.jpa.gov.my/public/pdf/...0PPN%202022.pdf

KYUEM is just the boarding school.
But they can apply for STPM/A-Levels/IB/AUSMAT(SACE/WACE)/Foundation.
Then sponsor you study locally study.
TSiSean
post Jun 13 2023, 07:33 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Jun 13 2023, 07:25 AM)
Indians and other are worringly low
hmm.gif Well lower numbers of As produced.
Should just reflect on birth rate, family background, resources to education.

Others in the lists, from the news, Karim Wael is from Mesir.
Phildenia seems folks from Sabah/Sarawak.

Aisha Maul and Samieer Anas I can't really tell is these names are even Local.

AISHA MAUL
KARIM WAEL MARZOUK ABOU EL SOUD HASHEM
PHILDENIA SHIAVONIE ANAK PAULUS
SAMIEER ANAS

TSiSean
post Jun 13 2023, 07:34 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Jun 13 2023, 07:25 AM)
Seems like half malays and half others

Anyway hope they get scholarships in useful degrees not that poli science stuff
This is Pre-U scholarship, if they do well again, they will receive another scholarship of their choices for their Malaysian Degrees.
TSiSean
post Jun 13 2023, 08:41 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(oM41GoD_ @ Jun 13 2023, 08:23 AM)
Ada bin/binti tidak semestinya melayu
Tidak bin/binti tidak semestinya bukan melayu

Just saying
Understand your concern, but I'm not from Malay heritage.
Also MOE doesn't release race data.

They have, but they die die won't release.
TSiSean
post Jun 13 2023, 08:42 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Super2047 @ Jun 13 2023, 08:21 AM)
Out of 300 candidates who qualify, how many seats are offered in total for this sponsorship?
If I'm not mistaken, no interview process involved,
Just fill in their details, go to scholarship briefing these few days.

Should be auto-entitled to study in KYUEM/KTJ
TSiSean
post Jun 13 2023, 08:44 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(TruboXL @ Jun 13 2023, 07:54 AM)
Maybe can sort by state using IC / school location

Maybe I will do it if have time
I mean, State identifier isn't the best option.
Since kids can be born from other states and moved to other states.

TSiSean
post Jun 13 2023, 08:46 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(lagenda110 @ Jun 13 2023, 08:45 AM)
this one for overseas study?
Yes. Will go overseas studies. If they wanted to.
Otherwise can choose local if they dont want to leave/miss home.
TSiSean
post Jun 13 2023, 11:22 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Jun 13 2023, 11:20 AM)
Filter by Indians then A/L A/P

not necessarily applicable for Indians only
ahhh. very rare lo.
You mean Chindians?

I do need to filter out Indians who went full Christians who didn't follow A/L A/P scheme
TSiSean
post Jun 13 2023, 01:15 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Jun 13 2023, 12:47 PM)
iSean,
From the achievers listing of 298 names, all will be offered JPA scholarship?

Is that what you mean?
Will be first selected batch of students who will be "eligible" for scholarship.
They candidates names listed there can either accept or decline the JPA scholarship, after they registered first for a scholarship slot, then go to some JPA scholarship briefing.
TSiSean
post Jun 13 2023, 01:29 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(billy08 @ Jun 13 2023, 01:25 PM)
this list does it mean sudah approve ke.. or pending interview?
Name listing Eligible for Entry requirement.

The listed can either accept or reject the scholarship, after the briefing. [from my knowledge]
Can refer to the PDF / eSilaV2 website listed infront.
TSiSean
post Jun 13 2023, 01:38 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Super2047 @ Jun 13 2023, 01:32 PM)
iSean, the 9As students will be notified about their entitlement for this scholarship?
Technically as long you achieved 9 subjects get A+, you should automatically eligible/entitled for the scholarship, and the name should appear here or the other JPA scholarship.
They don't care if you gotten A/A-/B+/B/B-... for the remaining 10th/11th/12th subject.

So that's why last time people keep taking more than 12th subject, because they know they can buy insurance for A+ for the scholarship.
And our government put a stop to this by placing 12 subject limit cap.

This post has been edited by iSean: Jun 13 2023, 01:39 PM

0.0244sec    0.65    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:00 PM