[AMA] I immigrated to Australia early 2022, Ask me anything!

gashout
post Jun 12 2023, 05:05 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ Jun 11 2023, 01:07 PM)
No, but we plan to. In order to withdraw, we will need to give up our Malaysian citizenships. We won’t be able to renounce our Malaysian citizenships until we’ve gotten our Australian citizenships.

The reason why we’d like to withdraw is because all our annual KWSP dividends are included as part of our taxable incomes in Australia. Mine’s being taxed at 45% which is pretty painful.
First 4 years is non taxable for NZ. Australia may be the same, you may want to have a look.

I am keeping my KWSP so I get double retirement fund.

Also keeping my Malaysian citizenship, the best country you can be in, as a Malaysian.

When nearing retirement, spend 5 months in Malaysia and 7 months overseas, perfect plan.

This post has been edited by gashout: Jun 12 2023, 05:08 AM
gashout
post Jun 12 2023, 11:19 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ Jun 12 2023, 11:17 AM)
I can choose to keep my KWSP as well, but then half of the dividends will go towards tax. Combined with the falling ringgit, not worth it for me to keep it in Malaysia.
i dont get this now, what does it mean

that only applies if you are australian citizen, right?

gashout
post Jun 13 2023, 08:36 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jun 13 2023, 12:19 AM)
So there is no subsidised housing (flats/landed) for the poor in Oz, unlike MY and SG? As far as I know housing is also not cheap in other major cities like Brisbane, Perth or Adelaide.
To me SG has more pluses than OZ except work-life balance, SG is a good stepping stone to built one's qualification(education) n accumulate wealth for retirement  in cheaper countries at old age. AUD is only slightly stronger than MYR but depreciated a lot if compare with SGD. Weather wise MY n SG is more livable than South OZ for the whole year. I never like the 40C summer there.
not everything is about money

qualify of life, work life balance, job satisfaction

gashout
post Jun 13 2023, 11:36 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(mezanny @ Jun 13 2023, 09:05 AM)
no wonder.

Oil and Gas pretty big in Australia, I know a few personally migrated with OnG experience.

Its all about the fit between the prospector and what Australia is looking for.

if we happen to be at the wrong place and wrong time, not having matched skillset, migration could become a disaster.

i also known several migrants who failed, they went to australia couldn't find a job for 2 years, burnt their savings and have to return secretly, their tails between their legs.
i am a huge advocate for hard work, but we have to admit

luck is a huge part whether a person is b40 or t20, i agree.

you choose the right career, born in the right family, mix with the right people, all stars aligned.

some struggle their whole life and never lucky.

i consider myself blessed. born a b40, never able to study overseas but now working overseas.
gashout
post Jun 19 2023, 12:27 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 17 2023, 11:16 AM)
If I don't care about future family, better work life balance I won't even consider about moving to Australia. I wont even be on this thread. Yes I want best of both world. No tax on investment and the Australia lifestyle for my kids and myself. But like they said you cant have your cake and eat it. I know there's a way to get both but I will need to be a private banking level and not normal people level.
No one's door.

Reason is I can FIRE if I dont move to Australia. With all the taxes I don't think I can FIRE. Maybe yes but take longer (which I don't want to wait). The reason for FIRE is to have early retirement and enjoy life.

I agree and I already start seeing the changes in Malaysia even though it's still cheap for now. 3% tax Vs say 32.5% tax.
I get you. I can FIRE in Malaysia and I am overseas now, with my most recent intention to get a property here, I won't be FIRE anytime soon. Maybe in 10+ years' time when nearing retirement. Plus, my work gets more valuable as I age, so I am most likely not retire. Now I can't contribute to EPF at all as I need to build my finance profile here.

Excited for a new phase in life, but also dread the monthly payment, but can't get best of both world. But definitely excited.
gashout
post Jul 9 2023, 07:43 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 8 2023, 08:42 PM)
Australia has no problem with dual citizenship...but Malaysia does not allow....

The tricky part is how you travel between the two....you can leave Australia with any passport, but you can only enter Australia with an Aussie passport....because you will not have an eligible visa on your Malaysian passport....

You can enter and leave Malaysia with the Aussie Passport, as long as they do NOT know you are Malaysian.].You cannot enter and then leave with the Malaysian passport, because of the above....you need a valid visa to even check in....

The way out is to travel through a 3rd country that does NOT practice API with Malaysia....
My friend says

Just use aussie passport. Why bother having Malaysian passport and create headache.

You're still Malaysian right. Being Malaysian doesn't mean you need to have a passport.

But if you've 2 passports. So enter and leave Malaysia aussie passport. Then enter leave aussie how.. Use what passport

This post has been edited by gashout: Jul 9 2023, 07:45 AM
gashout
post Jul 9 2023, 12:43 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 9 2023, 12:31 PM)
Not an issue for short stays, but if you enter with your Oz passport you will only get a restricted period visa as for the usual Oz tourists....so you cannot stay long....
Yup. Those who have dual and go back Malaysia usually only for a short while.

So how if I've dual passport. How should I manage my entrance and exit

0.0366sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:08 AM