[AMA] I immigrated to Australia early 2022, Ask me anything!

Virlution
post Jun 13 2023, 03:07 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ Jun 12 2023, 11:34 AM)
Not in Melbourne or Sydney, that's all I can say - I'm in one of the other smaller cities. Without taking into account my mortgage and holidays, we're spending on average around $3k per month + $2.5k for daycare (after subsidy). It's usually around 2k per month for groceries + utilities + going out + entertainment etc, but taking into account insurances, car registration renewal, home council rates, water rates etc, we average out at around $3k.

For job search, I use SEEK and LinkedIn primarily, but keep in mind that most jobs are not advertised. I've managed to recommend some friends for some roles that weren't advertised and they've managed to secure them without any competition. Employers here place a lot of value in referred candidates.

My free-time's mostly spent outdoors - hiking, kayaking, fishing etc.

To start over? Anything in the medical profession, no doubt. Nursing, medicine, etc. - that will guarantee you a long-term job. Engineering isn't too bad too (I'm biased, as I'm in engineering). Blue-collar jobs (i.e. electrician, carpenter etc) are great as well if you're willing to put in the hours and slog it out. It really depends what you're looking for and where your interest lies.
TS stuck in South Australia ka?

no wonder nothing to do after 5pm....
Virlution
post Jun 13 2023, 03:58 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ Jun 13 2023, 03:38 PM)
Out of curiosity, other than hanging out at mamak stalls, what do you do after 5pm that you can’t do in Australia?  hmm.gif
You hang out at Cafes in the bigger cities.
Small towns go to RSLs, pubs and bars for a drink or two, beers are cheap.
Virlution
post Jun 14 2023, 08:30 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ Jun 13 2023, 04:28 PM)
You didn’t really answer my question though, but sounds like what most Malaysians would do in Malaysia after 5pm anyway, so yeah, quite a few things to do after 5pm haha.
What most Malaysians would do in Malaysia after 5pm?

Depending on the age demographics...

Older folks - Restaurants, Shopping or at home watch tv
Family - Shopping center, Restaurants
Young adults/couples - drinking at cafe, kopi shop, mamak, see movie, pub bars clubs

Like I say earlier, most of these can be done in Australia, maybe not at the smaller cities, NT, SA or OLD where most shops close very early, but sure got some place that are still open till late....

Use to lepak at Southbank/Crown area and chinatown during the weekends in Melb back in the days as most other place close early or just visit the surburb pokies for a cheap or free drinks due to limited budget.

Virlution
post Jun 14 2023, 09:12 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ Jun 11 2023, 12:51 PM)

3. Yes. I do all my transfer using Wise and they’ve been great so far. I did transfer a significant amount (7 figures) using Wise during my initial move - RM60k max per day between me and my wife over a period time. No issues.

Is Wise the best way to transfer money?

- MY Bank to WISE (MYR) - Pay bank fees transfer and wise fee take a small sum
- Wise (MYR to AUD) - Pay wise fee
- Wise AUD to AU bank - Pay wise fee

End up paying lot of misc fees

compare to traditional bank transfer

MY Bank to AU Bank Pay one time SWIFT&Forex Fee

Virlution
post Jun 14 2023, 12:02 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 14 2023, 11:40 AM)
Don't look at fees. Look at final amount received. Eg cimb always promote the have zero fees but when use cimb to transfer, you find that you received less foreign currency per ringgit used.

I saw it myself with RM--> SGD. Hence didn't go though with the transfer.

Btw your concept is wrong.

You are not storing AUD in wise. You are using wise as transfer. It should look something like that.

MYR -> WISE -> AU bank account which is cheaper than MYR -> Malaysian banks -> AU bank account. You can always try Sunway money. They are way cheaper than Wise for SGD transfer. Not sure about AUD transfer (get more foreign currency with Sunway money Vs using WISE)
In wise, your money is in MYR until you convert to AUD
After convert the money is in Wise until you transfer to your bank hence the steps I listed.

- Wise (MYR to AUD) - Pay wise fee
- Wise AUD to AU bank - Pay wise fee

Unless you can MYR convert to AUD and Bank directly (maybe save a bit of fees) This option I have not checked if I can do it or not.
- Wise (MYR to AUD) and bank - Pay wise fee

At the end of the day, I would want final amount received to be the most like you had mentioned, but its hard to figure out which as all have fees all over the place.
Since TS did multiple of transactions and a big sum at that, I am sure he had done his home work as well.
Virlution
post Jun 16 2023, 08:09 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(askingquestion @ Jun 15 2023, 07:10 PM)
Can give example of how much more expensive vs KL?

Because almost every country in the world would say their property are overpriced etc etc etc
property is a 2 way street... you buy one every expensive property now.... provided the price you pay is not over priced nor you get a massive property crash, it is going to go up, usually more then inflation, so you buy expensive, you sell expensive at the end of the day.

Cars or vehicles on the other hand dont. so cars in First world (except little island) are cheap while houses are expensive.

Syd/Mel/Perth are very expensive... but Perth pricing are inflated due to miners are being paid top dollars... once mining stops its going to crash as nothing is able to sustain the high prices there as the major economies are in Syd/Melb

How much property will $US1 million buy you across the world?

Virlution
post Jun 16 2023, 08:23 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ Jun 15 2023, 10:09 PM)
There’s only a single fee involved, which is charged by Wise and is incredibly reasonable. Their exchange rates are market exchange rates, and even factoring in their fees, I can still get better rates than anywhere else in Malaysia. I’m not sure how you ended up with three separate fees as the first and third fee you mentioned don’t exist.

Using bank transfer is the worst - on top of fees, their exchange rates are horrible. The best option I had was to use HSBC Premier, but even then Wise still works out to be much cheaper. The savings adds up especially when transferring 7 figures.
After talking to Ramjade, I went and play around with WISE and found out I can skip on step so its is all good, I can save a few bucks this way.
- Wise (MYR to AUD) and bank - Pay wise fee

The First Fee is charged by the bank (not all country have same fee structure) which is like $25 and wise take a $4 fees.

Some banks overseas charge you a bank account fee, so if you just keep $100 in the bank and every year they charge you $15 fee, you will eventually end up with no money in the account.

Virlution
post Jun 16 2023, 02:13 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ Jun 16 2023, 08:35 AM)
I’ve not paid any bank fees using Wise in all my transfers both to and from Malaysia.
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 16 2023, 10:57 AM)
There's no bank fees. I do not know what fees are you talking about. Unless you TT from bank to wise then yes there is fees. If you login  directly via wise you only pay fees once. I am talking about Malaysian side (using Malaysian bank to transfer money via wise)

Do not login or send money via your bank account. Only login to wise. Then wise will ask you to pay using FPX (Malaysian side). When you pay with FPX, then only you login to your bank account.

Find banks which dont charge those fees. Like in Malaysia, all banks charged you RM8-15/year for the debit/ATM card. You can easily find acocunt without such fees. All my bank account in Malaysia and sg does not have any fees.

The correct flow is Wise -> select currency you want to send and the amount -> Make payment in RM via FPX or bank transfer. That's it. There's no extra charges apart from wise charges as you are paying via FPX in RM. Even your bank transfer is also in RM. IBFT/Duitnow is basically free. Yes there are banks which charge RM0.53/IBFT if you move more than RM5k. But essentially IBFT/duitnow is free.
Kindly read back his reply.
For better future for his kids.
its a foreign bank. there are a lot of fees....
hence why some people dont put money in bank laugh.gif

0.0295sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:23 PM