Are roaches a fact of life in KL high rises?

nelienuxe_sara
post Jun 2 2023, 06:44 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

QUOTE(Cowislembu @ Jun 2 2023, 08:59 AM)
As someone moving from a landed property to a rented unit in a high rise building in KL for work, i noticed that roaches (especially fully adult roaches  shocking.gif ) will appear no matter how clean i keep my unit.

Is this true for all high rise buildings in KL or am i unlucky in choosing my unit? Peope living in KL, please advise. rclxub.gif
cek the refuse room mesti tak letak racun lipas
WebDpot
post Jun 2 2023, 06:47 PM

1,026 posts

They can fly & survive inside your unit sewer system, be it landed or highrise.
Xccess
post Jun 2 2023, 06:52 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

Stayed in my unit for 7yrs, we kept all rubbish sealed at night and so far no sign of cockroaches.
SUSRich Dad
post Jun 2 2023, 07:48 PM

27 posts

Kill one and two shall take its place...

Hail hydra....
mushigen
post Jun 2 2023, 09:36 PM

4,954 posts

No issue with my unit. But we don't have rubbish room on every floor. All rubbish is to be brought down to ground floor rubbish collection point.
orient123
post Jun 2 2023, 09:51 PM

its from your waste thing you keep at bin
SUSvalerie0821
post Jun 2 2023, 09:53 PM

28 posts

i stay 36 also got because neighbours very dirty. condo management do pest killing every month. since then no more.

This post has been edited by valerie0821: Jun 2 2023, 09:54 PM
atilla
post Jun 7 2023, 06:12 PM

241 posts

In my case, the roaches were coming up from the sewer pipes up through the sink because the pop up sink drain stopper was damaged and could not close and the outlet pipe doesn't have a water trap. After I replaced the sink drain with a normal strainer and plugged the overflow hole there were no roaches any more.
Another case was the kitchen drain grate cover which was pushed up because accumulated cooking fat and other stuff was blocking the pipe. After unclogging the pipe, roaches couldn't climb up anymore because the normal water level and the grate cover will stop them.

I've seen a roach coming out of the shower grate which could not properly close in a friend's house, so thats one way roaches can get inside, that had to be fixed by changing the shower drain to an insect proof one. Condos also have to worry about air vents and improperly sealed piping.

I don't believe most houses should have roaches if they are kept clean and well maintained.
pisces88
post Jun 7 2023, 08:06 PM

3,970 posts

Jus buy those pest control products n catch as many as u can..
dest9116
post Jun 7 2023, 09:13 PM

495 posts

Buy the cockroach bait the one ridset one that bring the poison back to family.

Last time I move to one condo got this issue, tot got 2-3 only, once but bait, next morning saw more than 10

Since then I just leave the poison bait there and never have cockroach issue anymore, 10 years d, and yes my unit near to trash area. Also I bought the strap that slide under door one to prevent pests entering
Roadwarrior1337
post Jun 7 2023, 09:16 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(Cowislembu @ Jun 2 2023, 08:59 AM)
As someone moving from a landed property to a rented unit in a high rise building in KL for work, i noticed that roaches (especially fully adult roaches  shocking.gif ) will appear no matter how clean i keep my unit.

Is this true for all high rise buildings in KL or am i unlucky in choosing my unit? Peope living in KL, please advise. rclxub.gif
At my condo, for the past 5 years I have never seen a single cockroach or lizard. Only sometime which is very rare I see mosquito which I am amaze how high the mofo can climb

I’ve seen more dogs than cockroach

Credit I guess goes to the pest control that is frequently done. Even garbage room despite the smell can’t find a single cockroach or lizard

This is one reason why I choose high rise
jimbet1337
post Jun 10 2023, 02:05 PM

meh
2,672 posts

Buy roach bait

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0230sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:06 PM