Intern. Should they be paid or not?

TSlatipbogiba
post Jun 1 2023, 08:13 AM, updated 3y ago

102 posts

I once pernah jumpa a boss of an intern asking the intern why should the intern get paid because, as long as the intern works under him, the intern get knowledge which is more valuable than money. The boss said lah.
blmse92
post Jun 1 2023, 08:15 AM

603 posts

u go massage ask for hj also need paid la. topkek
accordvtec
post Jun 1 2023, 08:16 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(blmse92 @ Jun 1 2023, 08:15 AM)
how's that related to whatever the discussion here?
trying hard to sound smart and funny?
sparketh
post Jun 1 2023, 08:16 AM

233 posts

Kasi tips sikit la bro. Boss so rich and cannot even afford to pay intern rm20 a day ke ? Boss go restaurant and eat wagyu rm200 and say it’s cheap.
likefunyouare
post Jun 1 2023, 08:17 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(blmse92 @ Jun 1 2023, 08:15 AM)
but the massat lady get my mani which is more valuable than money
MegaCanonF
post Jun 1 2023, 08:18 AM

875 posts

don't be a cheapskate. even intern pls pay since he's doing work. unless he just monitoring stuff (lawatan style) and do nothing.
iSean

iz old liao.
4,503 posts

QUOTE(latipbogiba @ Jun 1 2023, 08:13 AM)

I once pernah jumpa a boss of an intern asking the intern why should the intern get paid because, as long as the intern works under him, the intern get knowledge which is more valuable than money. The boss said lah.
Why not be paid?
>> No SOCSO/Insurance covered by the company
>> Mostly become underpaid PA, even PA earns more
>> Haven't include Labour Laws doesn't apply to Interns.
accordvtec

107 posts

personally i think they should be paid or cover partially for maybe the transport and meals.
500-800 sounds fair
ketupatlazat
post Jun 1 2023, 08:19 AM

555 posts

bosses liddat mohon sumbat kepala ke dalam jamban

exploitasi of workers
balambgarden
post Jun 1 2023, 08:19 AM

Never heard intern that didnt get paid in my industry, at least lowest paid rm300
Even that like 10 years ago
smallcrab
post Jun 1 2023, 08:20 AM

140 posts

He thought this is zaman sistem barter ke

anakkk
post Jun 1 2023, 08:20 AM

2,119 posts

usually chinaman company pay around 500 only
isr25
post Jun 1 2023, 08:21 AM

1,263 posts

My company give RM20/day only to intern.
Capt. Marble
post Jun 1 2023, 08:22 AM

221 posts

Last time no one paid me. Tol, parking, petrol, makan, semua I keluar sendiri.

This post has been edited by Capt. Marble: Jun 1 2023, 08:22 AM
HikayatSalju
post Jun 1 2023, 08:22 AM

773 posts

Intern should pay company instead. Consider tuition fee.
Why^Me
post Jun 1 2023, 08:24 AM

551 posts

they also human, got basic necessity need. if we dont pay intern, they want to eat what ? grass and sand ?

internship is where they apply their knowledge after study and we mentor them at the same time. they also spend their time working 8-5 like us. we should pay them.

they should make akta minimum to pay intern rm1,500.00 per month.
elm0001
post Jun 1 2023, 08:26 AM

I'm Tyrion Lannister's whore
998 posts

yes
Nightstalker93
post Jun 1 2023, 08:26 AM

74 posts

Simple: if you are working for a company, you get paid. Regardless of position

cursetheroad01
post Jun 1 2023, 08:30 AM

55 posts

Ah so he admits the interns work under him right?
I mean, Malaysians employers do like slavery subsidised labor.
kurangak

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

Ipohmali gonna rage
iamSUSUman

get knowledge?
lol
most of the interns i see are being used as waterboy equivalents.

they hardly learn shit and sometimes had to teach other employees how to do excel and ppt.
even if they learn stuff, they should be compensated like a normal employee but at a huge discounted rate because of the brief period stay.

msia are not short of complacent and narcissistic employers, so what your boss said is not surprising considering the shitty condition and ministers we have to protect the rights of employees. that's why they dare to do and dare to say things which is utterly ridiculous.
TSlatipbogiba
post Jun 1 2023, 08:31 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(HikayatSalju @ Jun 1 2023, 08:22 AM)
Intern should pay company instead. Consider tuition fee.
ahhh so you are the boss i jumpa tu
romuluz777
post Jun 1 2023, 08:32 AM

2,220 posts

Should la, at least to cover meals and transportation to the office.
Rusty Nail
post Jun 1 2023, 08:34 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

University didn't pay students to teach them.
Why should companies pay intern to teach them?

If I'm boss I'll charge interns to do internship
Jasonist
post Jun 1 2023, 08:38 AM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

of coz la.. they are also sacrificing their time and effort to work for the company tasks also mah..
KekTart
post Jun 1 2023, 08:38 AM

147 posts

Intern gaining knowledge and not getting paid is not a strong argument. Since if that’s the case, the boss can argue that he doesn’t need to pay anybody since everybody is ‘gaining free knowledge’ at the company brows.gif
cursetheroad01
post Jun 1 2023, 08:39 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Jun 1 2023, 08:34 AM)
University didn't pay students to teach them.
Why should companies pay intern to teach them?

If I'm boss I'll charge interns to do internship
Macam tak pernah intern.
Interns are not just students.
They also do work.
Rusty Nail
post Jun 1 2023, 08:42 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(cursetheroad01 @ Jun 1 2023, 08:39 AM)
Macam tak pernah intern.
Interns are not just students.
They also do work.
How isnit different? Kat uni buat research utk prof, basically doing his work.
ciwi1166
post Jun 1 2023, 08:42 AM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

If you give them FTE works then pay la. Greedy capitalist. laugh.gif
Timber
post Jun 1 2023, 08:43 AM

484 posts

When I interning, I wasn't paid - but I was fully grateful to be given an interning position at one of the coveted company.

I ate the cheapest, slept on couches, eventually I found there is a hidden spot in the building that one hardly goes go to sleep for the night. Place was open for 24hrs, by then the security recognize me. So I would pretend to leave at 7pm, go to the cheapest jiken rice stall with most generous portion, then come back at 9-10pm when everyone left, shower and slept. Wake up at 7am before everyone else comes in, and I am seen as the very first who arrives at the place.

My ruse was discovered after a few weeks, but the bosses ignored it.

This was 20 years ago. It's common intern is not paid back then, AFAIK. But this made me stronger, not weaker.
Matchy
post Jun 1 2023, 08:43 AM

1,327 posts

not like they are getting full salary... just enough cover their basic expenses.
cursetheroad01
post Jun 1 2023, 08:44 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Jun 1 2023, 08:42 AM)
How isnit different? Kat uni buat research utk prof, basically doing his work.
And they are often hired as research associate, paid for by the research grant.
RazanZen
post Jun 1 2023, 08:45 AM

13 posts

if intern do any kind of work, then pay la cibai
kitsunegeisha
post Jun 1 2023, 08:48 AM

250 posts

me no pay during my intern..sad.
wong_86

DUDE
565 posts

they also same like normal employee provide service to company, pay la
slaveone

1,231 posts

pay laa some elaun, many intern are given menial tasks to do because staff do not want to invest time training them for the actual work. the next good thing that they can learn is the soft skill of office environment.
toughguy
post Jun 1 2023, 08:49 AM

105 posts

My opinion is must pay a minimum that can cover their travel expenses. For extra money, depend on industry. Those can perform right away, should pay like codings, software stuffs. they deserve more paid
LamboSama
post Jun 1 2023, 08:51 AM

769 posts

Inb4 salahan strawberry gen cannot provide free labour.
lawliet88
post Jun 1 2023, 08:55 AM

995 posts

now even car workshop ah beng pay intern la
dun pay how to survive or even travel
SUSskyblu3
post Jun 1 2023, 08:58 AM

157 posts

let me guess
this boss works in a cinapek style company

andyng38
post Jun 1 2023, 09:00 AM

2,402 posts

they should at least be given an honorarium of equivalent value to the work performed.
Zaazuu
post Jun 1 2023, 09:02 AM

50 posts

Internship is supposed to be where interns apply their knowledge in the workplace, and also an exposure to working environments.

Unless the interns sit around all day do nothing, then interns should be paid, although they come to learn, they also work at the companies.
MishimaZ
post Jun 1 2023, 09:12 AM

269 posts

To not compensating to interns is stupid (other than cruel) as interns have the capabilities of a fresh graduates but given lesser responsibilities.

Given if a freshie was paid Rm3k monthly, 30% of the amount for a freshie is actually fair enough considering you are still giving interns tasks to help out freshgrads and oldfags in the company.

Of course, the reason such question appears is because many bajingan (insert political party) bosses wannabe think they are intelligent by abusing interns and trying to refuse paying shit while they use the money for downpayment to their new luxury car.

Malaysia fair for all konon.
Taikor.Taikun
post Jun 1 2023, 09:15 AM

1,019 posts

Depends. Sometime i get intern that has no capacity to learn n perform jobs, too many mistakes, makes ppl more jobs to supervise n crosscheck their works. Worst is intern with mentality to pass the time due to course requirement. So the attitude is very bad, no heart to do work.

Should they get paid?
blanket84
post Jun 1 2023, 09:16 AM

1,521 posts

It’s all about conscience.
edan1979
post Jun 1 2023, 09:19 AM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,517 posts

ko ingat intern tu pegi opis pakai kaki je. naik moto pun minyak kene isi. Makan pun pakai duit. lahnat kedut taik hidung masin betul.
ticke
post Jun 1 2023, 09:22 AM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

the same can be said for his employees. no need to pay, all learn from him.
Silfer
post Jun 1 2023, 09:32 AM

1,053 posts

pay la the intern. worst than bangla if no pay.
dunno bout u guys but ayam had to pay for the intern semester.
apa2 lanjiao employer MY tak pandai but exploit worker employer MY is numbawan.
tehoice
post Jun 1 2023, 09:45 AM

5,529 posts

lai lai, my company intern gets paid 1500 per month
TSlatipbogiba
post Jun 1 2023, 09:51 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(Taikor.Taikun @ Jun 1 2023, 09:15 AM)
Depends. Sometime i get intern that has no capacity to learn n perform jobs, too many mistakes, makes ppl more jobs to supervise n crosscheck their works. Worst is intern with mentality to pass the time due to course requirement. So the attitude is very bad, no heart to do work.

Should they get paid?
yes. plus with lecturing to their ears
hotdayum
post Jun 1 2023, 09:57 AM

195 posts

Pay la. They work wat.
submergedx
post Jun 1 2023, 10:02 AM

1,132 posts

learn? learn what? bancur kopi or use faks machine/printer?
Maknusia
post Jun 1 2023, 10:03 AM

997 posts

QUOTE(Why^Me @ Jun 1 2023, 08:24 AM)
they also human, got basic necessity need. if we dont pay intern, they want to eat what ? grass and sand ?

internship is where they apply their knowledge after study and we mentor them at the same time. they also spend their time working 8-5 like us. we should pay them.

Totally sokong!

We have a minimum salary range and that should be followed. Currently the industry standard is around rm400-700, which is way too low and some companies dont even pay, as many said above, the mgmt feels they are giving free know-how.

Most f the interns period is 3-6months, these are kolej students who dont have an income. Last 2 years couple of my niece and nephews been going to internships. So I understand their pain.

First, they need to get formal clothing, that it self they had to spend from 500-600 (Long sleeve shirt, pants, shoe, and some even need to get ties as well; girls office dress and shoes)

And then, transport is another factor, they spend somewhere around 200-300 a month, then comes food around 200/mth

All these are thier adhoc expensive they need to fork out during the 3-6mths stint.

They are basically in the office rendering the job/task been given for 8hrs or more, hence they should be eligible for basic minimum salary.

These is where the whole bodies do classify us as forced labor, slavery.
iammasivers
post Jun 1 2023, 10:04 AM

361 posts

the very least pay for meal and transport allowance lar.. rm500 minimum.
SUSandylyc
post Jun 1 2023, 10:06 AM

27 posts

Elaun minima berapa? Gji minima RM1,500.
loserguy
post Jun 1 2023, 10:09 AM

500 posts

No.

These interns are there to learn something.

They pay money to the universities. They pay nothing to these companies.

Some allowance for daily expenses, maybe. But it should not be mandatory.

SUSEfalex
post Jun 1 2023, 10:11 AM

361 posts

Can the boss sure all the task given will part useful knowledge to the intern? So no "make me a cup coffee" type of task, right?
haturaya
post Jun 1 2023, 10:15 AM

2,556 posts

QUOTE(MishimaZ @ Jun 1 2023, 09:12 AM)
To not compensating to interns is stupid (other than cruel) as interns have the capabilities of a fresh graduates but given lesser responsibilities.

Given if a freshie was paid Rm3k monthly, 30% of the amount for a freshie is actually fair enough considering you are still giving interns tasks to help out freshgrads and oldfags in the company.

Of course, the reason such question appears is because many bajingan (insert political party) bosses wannabe think they are intelligent by abusing interns and trying to refuse paying shit while they use the money for downpayment to their new luxury car.

Malaysia fair for all konon.
Start with Malaysian givernment department / agencies. They pay RM0 for interns. whistling.gif
SUSAzurues
post Jun 1 2023, 10:15 AM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

last time i work intern pun ada rm 800

not much but at least is $

how the fark we have this conversation today about not paying them
skloda
post Jun 1 2023, 10:17 AM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

many ppl go for intern just to complete their courses lol .
mowlous
post Jun 1 2023, 10:18 AM

542 posts

Boss that don't pay intern or pay below minimum wage are active slave masters. Back in the day big strong slave rear naked choke them to death after they where free.
matrix88
post Jun 1 2023, 10:18 AM

2,236 posts

intern no need to eat? no need transport to go to the office?
work not done by them?
really cheapskate want to take advantage of others
hello. you will also have children in the future, karma will bite back.
Zaazuu
post Jun 1 2023, 10:20 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jun 1 2023, 10:09 AM)
No.

Stupid take.

They are interns, not students at your company. By definition, they are trainee at your workplace. Even a job as petty as bancuh kopi is still a job.

They learn to work. I help you - there’s the word “Work” in there.

ycs
post Jun 1 2023, 10:20 AM

4,234 posts

no elaun, later kena ransomware, pay BTC laugh.gif
SUSifourtos
post Jun 1 2023, 10:22 AM

2,256 posts

u can teach me.
i can learn.

if u dont pay
i just sit down learn like a student
zairee2580
post Jun 1 2023, 10:22 AM

385 posts

No poll?
tkyong1
post Jun 1 2023, 10:24 AM

640 posts

this kind of boss quality......shame on him

at least must pay to cover the Transport + Meal.
Ichibanichi
post Jun 1 2023, 10:24 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(Taikor.Taikun @ Jun 1 2023, 09:15 AM)

Should they get paid?
lel
either you lazy or bad in supervision skill. Everything just dump to intern and expect them deliver it by hook or crook.

btw.....karma is bitch
you maybe sceptical
for my case, I make my ex-internship company went bankrupt

loserguy
post Jun 1 2023, 10:25 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(Zaazuu @ Jun 1 2023, 10:20 AM)
Stupid take.

They are interns, not students at your company. By definition, they are trainee at your workplace. Even a job as petty as bancuh kopi is still a job.

They learn to work. I help you - there’s the word “Work” in there.
Let me put it this way. The companies do not NEED these interns.

It is more a CSR thing. If you were to add in minimum wage requirements, what do you think will happen? Instead of taking 2 interns, maybe they will take 1, or maybe just go without.

There was a tered recently where someone complained about charities asking for a minimum amount for donation.

Same thing here. Beggars should not be choosers.

edt: see post above mine for a good reason. these interns are not long term employees looking to grow together with the company, they can fark up the company just for the lulz.

This post has been edited by loserguy: Jun 1 2023, 10:27 AM
GHBZDK
post Jun 1 2023, 10:26 AM

173 posts

last time i not paid.
i request the evaluation form done and evaluated by myself.
i worked on my own thing only.

This post has been edited by GHBZDK: Jun 1 2023, 10:27 AM
Zaazuu
post Jun 1 2023, 10:28 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jun 1 2023, 10:25 AM)

It is more a CSR thing. If you were to add in minimum wage requirements, what do you think will happen? Instead of taking 2 interns, maybe they will take 1, or maybe just go without.

There was a tered recently where someone complained about charities asking for a minimum amount for donation.

Easy.

Don’t take interns if you can’t afford/unable to teach/mentor, unless if there’s a certain regulations or laws that require companies to take interns?

Or probably because to exploit and cheap labour.
ileys
post Jun 1 2023, 10:28 AM

41 posts

The interns NEED the company to learn, to get a degree.
The company DOES NOT NEED the intern AT ALL.

The intern SHOULD PAY THE COMPANY.

:-)
Jedi3815
post Jun 1 2023, 10:30 AM

238 posts

Easy "Yes".
alepfx
post Jun 1 2023, 10:33 AM

34 posts

Last time being an intern 11 yrs ago, I did an engineer job, doing programming, product testing, prepare documentation, the part I didn't do was dealing with clients, gm, and shareholders. So yeah they should be paid as a staff should be paid OR paid partially, plus the company provide the accommodation, transport, meals. UNLESS you assign them as coffee boy, photocopy machine attendees
loserguy
post Jun 1 2023, 10:33 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(Zaazuu @ Jun 1 2023, 10:28 AM)
Easy.

Don’t take interns if you can’t afford/unable to teach/mentor, unless if there’s a certain regulations or laws that require companies to take interns?

Or probably because to exploit and cheap labour.
Actually it is more a CSR thing. Our employees will just include this in their monthly reports as a CSR contribution. Or for low priority projects. Nothing much. We used to pay the interns as well, but I can see where a minimum number will be off putting to most employers. There is really nothing much that companies get from these interns.

Put a minimum number on it, and I can almost guarantee it will backfire. Expect undergraduates complaining about lack of places to do their internships.

edit: exception for ipohmali lulz

This post has been edited by loserguy: Jun 1 2023, 10:34 AM
christ14
post Jun 1 2023, 10:37 AM

1,567 posts

most kecam or complaints really cant see the bigger picture eh

again its based on budi bicara or what kind of work
zenix
post Jun 1 2023, 10:39 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

there are two types of interns

1) observing only - some companies do not want to disrupt their flow to cater for interns but HR have facilities like internal learning rooms, thus HR will bring the intern around to observe only the department their studies are related to then setup a short workshop session with the department head. the intern does nothing but observe and learn, doesn't get paid, it is usually just a 1-2 day thing. consider it as a seminar/training workshop but free. that company considers it part of their CSA.

2) free labour - most companies will fall into this category. they think of uni/college as an unlimited supply of fresh meat for the grinder, they filter out the weak and only offer jobs to those they want. many pay these interns pittance, not enough to even cover their daily food and transport. is no specific law mandating payment for interns so some HR trying to act smart will always give wrong advise to bosses. for me i just offer a daily wage to them, just like any other part-time worker.
letitsnow
post Jun 1 2023, 10:44 AM

23 posts

recently more and more companies only wanna take interns. no opening for entry level job. cilakak more companies follow ipohmali.
Ayambetul
post Jun 1 2023, 10:47 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(likefunyouare @ Jun 1 2023, 08:17 AM)
U can always tapao back, since she just throw your valueble mani into dustbin anyway
emino
post Jun 1 2023, 10:50 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

I ok intern getting paid. What I am not okay company accepting intern in a dept where they cant do shit. In my dept they need special access privilege and special id which they never grant to interns tapi insist us to keep intern in dept. In the end intern just duduk lepak minum kopi all day long, jadi glorified coffee fetcher and tukar photostat.
likefunyouare
post Jun 1 2023, 10:51 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(Why^Me @ Jun 1 2023, 08:24 AM)

if they can survive in uni without pay

then surely then can do 6 more months right?
Phoenix_KL
post Jun 1 2023, 10:52 AM

156 posts

industrial training is not work.
iEatCuteDogs
post Jun 1 2023, 10:53 AM

my boss also same lol.
then still got the audacity to "head hunt" them lepas their convocation. offering them min wages

and since my company no proper HR eventho it's a 200+ employee medium sized company, middle level managers/executives yang buat interview and head hunt. i dunno how many interns ghosted, maki saya.
I grew a thick face, so thick that my skin can withstand gun shots

EDIT: oh yeah, i remembered my CEO once said "hire interns la, why hire those with experience? we can easily train them to do this job. interns are free or cheap labour, dont pass up on slaves wanting to work."

This post has been edited by iEatCuteDogs: Jun 1 2023, 10:57 AM
Sha91
post Jun 1 2023, 10:57 AM

236 posts

Should be paid.

I did real work during my internship before and didn't get paid for it.

My previous company that I worked, did not pay intern, used them to the max including coding, website handling, exclude them from company dinner (include them for the arrangement) and refuse to give certificate.

I needed to fight for my intern certificate and got nothing other 'why is she so special?'
matrix88
post Jun 1 2023, 11:02 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Sha91 @ Jun 1 2023, 10:57 AM)
Should be paid.

I did real work during my internship before and didn't get paid for it.

My previous company that I worked, did not pay intern, used them to the max including coding, website handling, exclude them from company dinner (include them for the arrangement) and refuse to give certificate.

I needed to fight for my intern certificate and got nothing other 'why is she so special?'
kind of stupid to stinge for small money but create the impression that is long lasting, where you hate the company for the rest of your life.
and word of mouth can spread, telling everyone to avoid such companies

end of the day, when their reputation drops, they blame mother father and ask govn for tongkat. hahaha
mrcg
post Jun 1 2023, 11:06 AM

235 posts

wait until u find company that looking for interns to do some petty stuff in name of training like filling/document converting/copying without paid then when 1st batch done he open for next one so by full year the company saving like 3-4 position for free.
marfccy
post Jun 1 2023, 11:12 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(likefunyouare @ Jun 1 2023, 10:51 AM)
if they can survive in uni without pay

then surely then can do 6 more months right?
lol with this logic imagine your boss said this to you with your salary sweat.gif
iZuDeeN
post Jun 1 2023, 11:15 AM

3,466 posts

and if you are intern dont be a fool la ; find company that pays compensation.. why work for free if you know they not going pay you?

unless you agreed in first place dont get paid..then dont complaint
andrewtho
post Jun 1 2023, 11:37 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

this kind of mindset, good luck la.

the bare minimum that an intern should be getting, as an allowance that is sufficient to cover the cost of traveling (i don't mean grab / taxi) / food etc. interns are here to gain knowledge and experience, but at the same time it is additional support to the business / organization.

This post has been edited by andrewtho: Jun 1 2023, 11:38 AM
pobox
post Jun 1 2023, 11:38 AM

551 posts

No need to eat meh?
Taikor.Taikun
post Jun 1 2023, 12:13 PM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(latipbogiba @ Jun 1 2023, 09:51 AM)
yes. plus with lecturing to their ears
Give some allowance is fine, should not be a pay. Depending on areas, some rm500 should be enough. Those that are good can get paid. Those that only want to pass the day, should not be paid

This post has been edited by Taikor.Taikun: Jun 1 2023, 12:14 PM
Landwhale
post Jun 1 2023, 12:54 PM

wow so my company bg intern byk la yeh rm 1k - 1.2k
Maknusia
post Jun 1 2023, 07:23 PM

997 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jun 1 2023, 10:25 AM)

edt: see post above mine for a good reason. these interns are not long term employees looking to grow together with the company, they can fark up the company just for the lulz.
QUOTE(ileys @ Jun 1 2023, 10:28 AM)
The interns NEED the company to learn, to get a degree.
The company DOES NOT NEED the intern AT ALL.

The intern SHOULD PAY THE COMPANY.

:-)
There is always returns to this companies! The college basically do a free advertisements for these company that they are affiliated with. Many company use interns to do basic day-to-day job as well since they dont want to to hire full time.

My sis is at a job hunter companies, tons of company contacts them for interns placements.

Look at the world governance/standards, AU, UK, US, pays their interns the basic minimum salary stipulated by their law....
loserguy
post Jun 1 2023, 08:15 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Jun 1 2023, 07:23 PM)
There is always returns to this companies! The college basically do a free advertisements for these company that they are affiliated with. Many company use interns to do basic day-to-day job as well since they dont want to to hire full time.

My sis is at a job hunter companies, tons of company contacts them for interns placements.

Look at the world governance/standards, AU, UK, US, pays their interns the basic minimum salary stipulated by their law....
Not really la, you can check with most HR people. In most cases, they get more resumes than they can deal with.

As I mentioned before, these interns are only there for a few months, not really reliable in most cases. For most cases, it is easier and safer to assign jobs to the normal staff.

Not sure about contacting job hunter companies, I know it is common to look for graduate trainees, but interns not really lah. If they want they can come, if not we won't miss them.

Do interns get paid?
Depending on the position, interns may or may not be paid. Unpaid internships are common, especially when the internship counts as academic credit toward graduation. For an internship to qualify as unpaid, according to the U.S. Department of Labor, both the employer and intern must agree upfront that the internship will be unpaid. There must also be a clear connection between the intern's educational program and job responsibilities.

That said, many employers do pay their interns. Some companies recognize there is value in training someone who could become an employee after they graduate college. The majority of Fortune 500 companies pay interns, as do jobs in the private sector. Industries where aspiring interns can find paid internships include banking, accounting, advertising, public relations, IT, government and fashion.

The national average salary for paid interns is $12.88 per hour, although the salary can range from $7.25 to $30.15 depending on the industry and geographic location.

https://www.indeed.com/career-advice/pay-sa...nterns-get-paid

edit: I am not trying to lowball these interns. I am already retired. Just hoping that these youths don't get an overinflated sense of importance.

This post has been edited by loserguy: Jun 1 2023, 08:22 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 1 2023, 08:19 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jun 1 2023, 08:15 PM)

Not sure about contacting job hunter companies, I know it is common to look for graduate trainees, but interns not really lah. If they want they can come, if not we won't miss them.
Job search platform Indeed to cut 2,200 jobs
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/business/jo...nchment-3367221

loserguy
post Jun 1 2023, 08:24 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 1 2023, 08:19 PM)
Job search platform Indeed to cut 2,200 jobs
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/business/jo...nchment-3367221

just the first link that popped up when I did a search, you can do your own search if you want.
https://duckduckgo.com/?va=v&t=ha&q=do+inte...get+paid&ia=web
hcmalaya
post Jun 1 2023, 08:25 PM

61 posts

MNC: CSR
SME: Cheap kuli
Cinapek: What pay? Intern pay to come here!
Kekwa
oe_kintaro
post Jun 1 2023, 08:30 PM

2,222 posts

As long as people think it is acceptable to exploit interns and not pay minimum wage, we will not advance as a society.

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 1 2023, 08:31 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jun 1 2023, 08:24 PM)
just the first link that popped up when I did a search, you can do your own search if you want.
https://duckduckgo.com/?va=v&t=ha&q=do+inte...get+paid&ia=web
Glassdoor
https://www.glassdoor.com/Salaries/hong-kon...631_KO10,16.htm

22yo M’sian Intern in Hong Kong Gets Paid RM7K
https://worldofbuzz.com/22yo-msian-intern-i...darin-language/

So need to pay a not?
loserguy
post Jun 1 2023, 08:34 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 1 2023, 08:31 PM)
Just saying, if they can get a good salary go ahead. Just don't complain about difficulty finding places to do their internships later on.

I would rather hire 2 banglas than an intern at 7k lol.
cursetheroad01
post Jun 1 2023, 08:34 PM

55 posts

Not really la, you can check with most HR people. In most cases, they get more resumes than they can deal with.

As I mentioned before, these interns are only there for a few months, not really reliable in most cases. For most cases, it is easier and safer to assign jobs to the normal staff.

edit: I am not trying to lowball these interns. I am already retired. Just hoping that these youths don't get an overinflated sense of importance.
These youngsters think too highly of themselves.
I know! Let's Rob then off their rightful pay.

Dah tua pun bodoh
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 1 2023, 08:36 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jun 1 2023, 08:34 PM)
Just saying, if they can get a good salary go ahead. Just don't complain about difficulty finding places to do their internships later on.

I would rather hire 2 banglas than an intern at 7k lol.
Malaysian employers cheap skate deserved to get monkeys while other countries lure all our best talents and keep them with care until retirement.
HafeesFadil
post Jun 1 2023, 08:39 PM

170 posts

My opis intern 1K being paid. Good value. Belajar dapat duit dapat. Win liao lor.
loserguy
post Jun 1 2023, 08:41 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(cursetheroad01 @ Jun 1 2023, 08:34 PM)
These youngsters think too highly of themselves.
I know! Let's Rob then off their rightful pay.

Dah tua pun bodoh
Nope. A youngster being hired as part of the staff is different. An intern is only there for a few months.

You don't really have to be someone doing the hiring to understand that.
cursetheroad01
post Jun 1 2023, 08:44 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jun 1 2023, 08:41 PM)
Nope. A youngster being hired as part of the staff is different. An intern is only there for a few months.

You don't really have to be someone doing the hiring to understand that.
Part timer dont get paid too huh
loserguy
post Jun 1 2023, 08:46 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Jun 1 2023, 08:25 PM)
MNC: CSR
SME: Cheap kuli
Cinapek: What pay? Intern pay to come here!
Kekwa
More like:

unpaid/pay as you like: suka hati u la, u nak datang, datang la. tak nak pun tak apa.
minimum pay: hmm, ok let us get back to you on that. <thinking baik hire full time staff. gila ke mamat ni. lol.>
ZforZebra
post Jun 1 2023, 08:47 PM

172 posts

some poeple. intern are just free labor
loserguy
post Jun 1 2023, 09:00 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(cursetheroad01 @ Jun 1 2023, 08:44 PM)
Part timer dont get paid too huh
Well, let's just say I am not a fan of the gig economy. It is very disadvantageous to the worker in the long run.
brkli
post Jun 1 2023, 09:18 PM

592 posts

so the boss agree that the intern is working la, not learn under him.. whistling.gif
haroldz123
post Jun 1 2023, 11:00 PM

1,062 posts

Bayar lumpsum cheaper
nelson969
post Jun 1 2023, 11:02 PM

321 posts

topkekw , even u are big 4 or big mnc , these company at least pay money, intern should be pay 1000 max, but i know IT field is 2k at least
nihility
post Jun 1 2023, 11:31 PM

1,596 posts

It is more toward Corporate & Social Respinsibity (CSR) as stated. Those companies who takes the interns want the undergraduates to complete their industrial training & to let them have the exposure of the working enviroment.

To pay or not pay ? I say pay for them to cover the meals & transportation. At the same time train them / let them face the real working pressure within the training period.

If you want our nation to progress, the whole industrial landscape need to be transformed. There are need to be have more collaborations between universities & industries, so that the tertiary education are producing the work force that our industries needed without having to retrain them.
Thebestscammer
post Jun 1 2023, 11:37 PM

311 posts

if im the intern - yes
if im the boss - no

SotongBiru
post Jun 1 2023, 11:42 PM

200 posts

Interns do for the experience and it cost the company money. Hence, it does not make sense for interns to get paid.

Companies do it as a social responsibility and lately for assessment for future hiring. There are however, part time jobs that can be used as internship and in those cases, it makes sense to provide a reasonable pay.
focusrite
post Jun 1 2023, 11:44 PM

409 posts

interns in taiwan get paid more than 3k
SotongBiru
post Jun 1 2023, 11:46 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jun 1 2023, 11:31 PM)
It is more toward Corporate & Social Respinsibity (CSR) as stated. Those companies who takes the interns want the undergraduates to complete their industrial training & to let them have the exposure of the working enviroment.

To pay or not pay ? I say pay for them to cover the meals & transportation. At the same time train them / let them face the real working pressure within the training period.

If you want our nation to progress, the whole industrial landscape need to be transformed. There are need to be have more collaborations between universities & industries, so that the tertiary education are producing the work force that our industries needed without having to retrain them.
Would like to say that there are different tertiary education. To be immediately productive, that would be skills based training whereas to be able to adapt and learn on their own, foundational knowledge should be the focus. Because we focus too much on "industry ready", the nation actually won't progress. No innovators.

SUSBrookLes
post Jun 1 2023, 11:48 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(SotongBiru @ Jun 1 2023, 11:46 PM)
Would like to say that there are different tertiary education. To be immediately productive, that would be skills based training whereas to be able to adapt and learn on their own, foundational knowledge should be the focus.  Because we focus too much on "industry ready", the nation actually won't progress.  No innovators.
And how many actual innovators are there. Sorry most ppl are just cogs in the machine.
bukankhadam
post Jun 2 2023, 12:04 AM

19 posts

bodo ka?
you gib work, pay lah
kedekut mampoi
open company kenot/donwan pay for pipu work, work by yourself la
knumskul
post Jun 2 2023, 12:08 AM

784 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jun 1 2023, 10:09 AM)
No.

Any many companies don't assign them meaningful work because

these interns are only there for a few months, not really reliable in most cases. For most cases, it is easier and safer to assign jobs to the normal staff.
I have seen many who think like you. How are they supposed to learn if nothing meaningful is assigned to them because "they are temporary and not reliable"? Isn't that rather contradictory?

Even more so for those bosses who assume all interns aren't reliable before even testing them by assigning simple tasks.
hantu1911
post Jun 2 2023, 01:31 AM

83 posts

haha....my neighbour daughter complain her company treated her like slave

make coffee, buy food, send agrement document to client...etc without reimburse her anything
AfraidIGotBan
post Jun 2 2023, 04:11 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(likefunyouare @ Jun 1 2023, 12:17 AM)
Agree. Couldn't agree to it more.

Imagine if you instead of one das, you pancut few das for here. Maybe overpaid lol!
narf03
post Jun 2 2023, 04:13 AM

4,547 posts

so if you get prostitute, you should get paid cause she enjoy more ?
trojandude
post Jun 2 2023, 05:01 AM

117 posts

If don't want to pay intern please don't hire intern then

The same folks who say intern should not be paid, will probably complain their own salary not good enough too coz boss cheapskate
wawasan2200
post Jun 2 2023, 06:14 AM

189 posts

10 years ago i got rm40/day

after food x3 and transport still got balance

now inflation harga naik but intern pay no naik, pity ...
ixaRA
post Jun 2 2023, 06:41 AM

91 posts

Last time i intern at gov.. didnt get pay.. feel kinda rugi lol
Roadwarrior1337
post Jun 2 2023, 06:45 AM

979 posts

Interns should get paid something to offset transport cost, time , and food

I’ve seen some company pay intern 500 bucks which to me sounds okay
IamBlind
post Jun 2 2023, 07:22 AM

20 posts

mesti lah bayar....
Skylinestar
post Jun 2 2023, 07:25 AM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 1 2023, 08:18 AM)
Why not be paid?
>> No SOCSO/Insurance covered by the company
>> Mostly become underpaid PA, even PA earns more
>> Haven't include Labour Laws doesn't apply to Interns.
Wait till u see jobs that are not covered by labor laws. Gomen basically allows slavery.
Skylinestar
post Jun 2 2023, 07:28 AM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Jun 1 2023, 09:18 PM)
so the boss agree that the intern is working la, not learn under him.. whistling.gif
In my workplace, boss considers intern as workforce. If intern on leave, company in emergency state. Topkek HR planning.
loserguy
post Jun 2 2023, 10:18 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(knumskul @ Jun 2 2023, 12:08 AM)
Any many companies don't assign them meaningful work because
I have seen many who think like you. How are they supposed to learn if nothing meaningful is assigned to them because "they are temporary and not reliable"? Isn't that rather contradictory?

Even more so for those bosses who assume all interns aren't reliable before even testing them by assigning simple tasks.
The problem is accountability. Who do you get back to with any questions or follow ups?

It is not a matter of ability. We will also slowly transition projects or jobs off anyone who is leaving the company. Think of the intern as someone who has already tendered his resignation and is just serving out the notice period.
loserguy
post Jun 2 2023, 10:19 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jun 2 2023, 07:28 AM)
In my workplace, boss considers intern as workforce. If intern on leave, company in emergency state. Topkek HR planning.
topkek, this one is exploitation liao. but your boss also bodo one, penny wise pound foolish.
knumskul
post Jun 2 2023, 04:06 PM

784 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jun 2 2023, 10:18 AM)
The problem is accountability. Who do you get back to with any questions or follow ups?

It is not a matter of ability. We will also slowly transition projects or jobs off anyone who is leaving the company. Think of the intern as someone who has already tendered his resignation and is just serving out the notice period.
If you're assigning task with high degree of accountability to interns without oversight, management style is already questionable.

Pretty sure there are many simple but not menial tasks interns can do. You say its not ability, yet mention reliability.

If you're thinking of intern as outgoing staff, not much point to hire them in that case. That's like saying no point to eat since gonna be ejected out of body in a couple of hours.
culvers
post Jun 2 2023, 04:09 PM

92 posts

entry-level also learning so no need pay also? Wtf logic
loserguy
post Jun 2 2023, 04:32 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(knumskul @ Jun 2 2023, 04:06 PM)
If you're assigning task with high degree of accountability to interns without oversight, management style is already questionable.

Pretty sure there are many simple but not menial tasks interns can do. You say its not ability, yet mention reliability.

If you're thinking of intern as outgoing staff, not much point to hire them in that case. That's like saying no point to eat since gonna be ejected out of body in a couple of hours.
Yes. They are mostly there as a sort of social initiative. They tag along with our permanent staff, but we rarely give them access to sensitive info.

There are companies who do exploit these interns, but the companies I have been with so far have not. It is just not worth it.

Also, the word I used was accountability, I believe. Sorry if I mistyped in an earlier post, but that is what I mean.

edit: also, if simple tasks we just push to our regular staff la, why bother with interns lol

This post has been edited by loserguy: Jun 2 2023, 04:42 PM
miromiro
post Jun 2 2023, 04:49 PM

560 posts

Vroooooom
knumskul
post Jun 2 2023, 04:56 PM

784 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jun 2 2023, 04:32 PM)
Yes. They are mostly there as a sort of social initiative. They tag along with our permanent staff, but we rarely give them access to sensitive info.

There are companies who do exploit these interns, but the companies I have been with so far have not. It is just not worth it.

Also, the word I used was accountability, I believe. Sorry if I mistyped in an earlier post, but that is what I mean.

edit: also, if simple tasks we just push to our regular staff la, why bother with interns lol
Can offload some workload. My previous company tried to get interns in during high workload 'season'. Smart way to manage workload imo, but half the teams had the "they are interns, don't give them stuff to do".

There are many tasks that don't require access to sensitive info or high/long term accountability. Depends on department also I suppose.
Also the oversight I mention would have to borderline be micro managing.

Eg. Ask intern to prepare purchase order or quotation. Either superior sends it themselves, or checks & approves it and allows intern to send it. If done through email, cc other staff in for future accountability.
If seen this happen in sales, procurement and IT depts. Meaningful yet simple tasks, and they learn the flow of tasks instead of fetching coffee and operating photocopy machine for 3 months.
loserguy
post Jun 2 2023, 05:07 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(knumskul @ Jun 2 2023, 04:56 PM)
Can offload some workload. My previous company tried to get interns in during high workload 'season'. Smart way to manage workload imo, but half the teams had the "they are interns, don't give them stuff to do".

There are many tasks that don't require access to sensitive info or high/long term accountability. Depends on department also I suppose.
Also the oversight I mention would have to borderline be micro managing.

Eg. Ask intern to prepare purchase order or quotation. Either superior sends it themselves, or checks & approves it and allows intern to send it. If done through email, cc other staff in for future accountability.
If seen this happen in sales, procurement and IT depts. Meaningful yet simple tasks, and they learn the flow of tasks instead of fetching coffee and operating photocopy machine for 3 months.
I think that was a department level decision. Normally we will want somebody to be accountable e.g. if there are any questions about your purchase order or technical queries, we want the guy who signed off to answer. Checking over the intern's work for this? Might as well do it himself. He can hand it over to the intern, but if there are any issues, the questions will be coming back to him because the intern will not be around in a few months time.

Normally we get our interns to tag along with our more experienced guys. Less complaints from the intern and other staff as well.
SUSTanahGagal
post Jun 2 2023, 05:15 PM

146 posts

Some mnc give 2k for interns
knumskul
post Jun 2 2023, 05:33 PM

784 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jun 2 2023, 05:07 PM)
I think that was a department level decision. Normally we will want somebody to be accountable e.g. if there are any questions about your purchase order or technical queries, we want the guy who signed off to answer. Checking over the intern's work for this? Might as well do it himself. He can hand it over to the intern, but if there are any issues, the questions will be coming back to him because the intern will not be around in a few months time.

Normally we get our interns to tag along with our more experienced guys. Less complaints from the intern and other staff as well.
Checking over is still way less work then doing it himself. Highly depends on the product as well. For very technical products, agreed on the enquiries down the road.
But for simple items, being in the loop is required for follow ups down the road.

It wasn't department level but across the entire company. I didn't manage to find out what engineering/finance side assign to their interns. Logistics they got interns to handle some simple operational tasks.
All got tagged along to senior exec level as a minimum, except for high turnover teams.

Well different company/people, different styles. Just sharing that I've seen it done and many interns did learn stuff during their stint. Accountability is covered by not giving interns full autonomy like regular staff. Their tasks were taken from the seniors, who were accountable for it prior to interns' hire.
loserguy
post Jun 2 2023, 05:38 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(knumskul @ Jun 2 2023, 05:33 PM)
Checking over is still way less work then doing it himself. Highly depends on the product as well. For very technical products, agreed on the enquiries down the road.
But for simple items, being in the loop is required for follow ups down the road.

It wasn't department level but across the entire company. I didn't manage to find out what engineering/finance side assign to their interns. Logistics they got interns to handle some simple operational tasks.
All got tagged along to senior exec level as a minimum, except for high turnover teams.

Well different company/people, different styles. Just sharing that I've seen it done and many interns did learn stuff during their stint. Accountability is covered by not giving interns full autonomy like regular staff. Their tasks were taken from the seniors, who were accountable for it prior to interns' hire.
So it comes back to the question, will your company hurt if there are no interns? And does it justify a minimum allowance?

From my personal experience, it doesn't hurt to have them there, but we won't exactly go out of our way to hire interns.
Donchay
post Jun 2 2023, 05:43 PM

324 posts

Kampeni want to fullfill CSR , yet dont want to pay.

Pay them allowance , not salary + epf.

Patutlah msia so full of SME cause all of their margins is the results of squeezing employees , not actual productivity kek.

Intern is human being, kampeni xde common sense gi mampos jela
knumskul
post Jun 2 2023, 05:53 PM

784 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jun 2 2023, 05:38 PM)
So it comes back to the question, will your company hurt if there are no interns? And does it justify a minimum allowance?

From my personal experience, it doesn't hurt to have them there, but we won't exactly go out of our way to hire interns.
Not about hurt or headcount requirement. Doing their part for CSR, while also giving the interns actual work. This way there won't be debate about paying them or not since having meaningful work meets the purpose of the placement. Intro to working world 101, in a way.

Also if they like the interns, can offer them a position as you have worked with them for several months for cheaper. Can stretch the trial period brows.gif
Intern - 3 months
Probation - 3 months
SUSBlackscreamerz
post Jun 2 2023, 06:00 PM

121 posts

The problem with internship in Malaysia is, most of the time it is not used to form talent pool. This is very similar to how most of employers are basically not sustainable, waiting to get outdated by the world.

Example, if an industry keep shouting not enough talents, but they themselves didnt offer paid internship program, who will go to the sector wor.

Since internship is not used as a talent pool, there is no incentive to pay them anyway. Afterall, it is fire-and-forget mode.

Beggar doesnt get to choose. If you need an intern position urgently, then you need to pick 1 even if they dont offer any allowance. But same thing, fire-and-forget about the company later. Most of the time, you need to pay for your expense, be it during study week or internship semester. So, generally it doesnt differ too much.

PS: My company offers 1k for intern. We appreciate talent.

This post has been edited by Blackscreamerz: Jun 2 2023, 06:03 PM
loserguy
post Jun 2 2023, 06:17 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(knumskul @ Jun 2 2023, 05:53 PM)
Not about hurt or headcount requirement. Doing their part for CSR, while also giving the interns actual work. This way there won't be debate about paying them or not since having meaningful work meets the purpose of the placement. Intro to working world 101, in a way.

Also if they like the interns, can offer them a position as you have worked with them for several months for cheaper. Can stretch the trial period  brows.gif
Intern - 3 months
Probation - 3 months
It is usually ok for big companies. For small companies hmm.gif Wonder if these guys will be so happy once they figure out that internship allowances are actually coming from their year end bonus pool laugh.gif

Employment offers work if they are available directly after the internship period. Most cases they need to go back to the universities for a year after that. So ...

Before I retired, they had graduate trainees for this purpose. The main benefit is they are available immediately.

0.0429sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:11 PM