Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Faulty item, Postage charge, who should bear ?, I should bear postage to send back ?

kmf123
post Oct 18 2007, 08:20 PM, updated 19y ago

397 posts

I've bought a small item, worth RM15 according to seller. It's a audio jack converter for handphones.

I checked the item as soon as i received it. Now the problem is that the Right channel isn't working, only the Left side is producing sound, therefore the item is faulty. I've checked with 3 devices i own, my main speakers, my headphones and my earphones.

Now the problem is I've paid the seller RM20 to have the item, including courier postage. But the item turned out to be faulty so he's asking me to send it back to him to check.

My dilemma here is :
Since the item is worth RM15, it really isn't feasible to send it back on my own cost. I just got to know that shops are selling it at RM10.
Since the seller didn't check the item properly before sending, it's the seller's fault. He should bear the postage of the faulty item to him and send a new working unit to me at his own cost. Do you agree ?

What should I do now ? rclxub.gif

Added on October 19, 2007, 9:20 pmAh, no replies ? Don't just read, tell me what you think !! What should i do ?

This post has been edited by kmf123: Oct 19 2007, 09:20 PM
NaMyzarC
post Oct 22 2007, 05:29 PM

1,140 posts

does he give warranty on the item ? if yes, then the seller should pay for the charges..
zhen^wei
post Oct 22 2007, 06:04 PM

4,057 posts

normally i wil pay extra to buyer for the postage.
kmf123
post Oct 23 2007, 07:41 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(NaMyzarC @ Oct 22 2007, 05:29 PM)
does he give warranty on the item ? if yes, then the seller should pay for the charges..
But it's faulty the moment i got it, maybe he wants to clear stock...

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Oct 22 2007, 06:04 PM)
normally i wil pay extra to buyer for the postage.
That's common courtesy isn't it ?
Doomsday
post Oct 23 2007, 07:47 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

Have you tried discuss with the seller? Mostly seller will have to bear the shipping charges. Alternatively, both parties bear half of the shipping charges.
morgan
post Oct 24 2007, 09:39 AM

Perfumeries
520 posts

Bear half is fair for both parties because this is POSTAGE utility.
yourgadget
post Oct 24 2007, 10:08 AM

468 posts

is it DOA? Delivery On Affective!!! or u oledi used for 1 months then u found got problem?
kmf123
post Oct 24 2007, 02:50 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Oct 23 2007, 07:47 PM)
Have you tried discuss with the seller? Mostly seller will have to bear the shipping charges. Alternatively, both parties bear half of the shipping charges.
His terms are i pay the cost to return it, he pays the cost to send a new one to me.

QUOTE(yourgadget @ Oct 24 2007, 10:08 AM)
is it DOA? Delivery On Affective!!! or u oledi used for 1 months then u found got problem?
It's DOA, tested the first 10 minutes after arriving, straightaway i found out that the output has problems...
JasonSky
post Oct 25 2007, 10:58 AM

Spectre
757 posts

QUOTE(kmf123 @ Oct 24 2007, 02:50 PM)
His terms are i pay the cost to return it, he pays the cost to send a new one to me.
Actually thats sounds very fair to me
morgan
post Oct 25 2007, 03:45 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(JasonSky @ Oct 25 2007, 10:58 AM)
Actually thats sounds very fair to me
That's right. which makes hassle free.
SUSbudakdegilz
post Oct 26 2007, 06:10 AM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(yourgadget @ Oct 24 2007, 10:08 AM)
???? from what i know..DOA in warranty terms means DEAD ON ARRIVAL!!! thumbup.gif
@TS
any proof that the item have been tested before send it to u??? or did u tell buyer to test it first before post it to u??
kmf123
post Oct 26 2007, 02:05 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(budakdegilz @ Oct 26 2007, 06:10 AM)
???? from what i know..DOA in warranty terms means DEAD ON ARRIVAL!!! thumbup.gif
@TS
any proof that the item have been tested before send it to u??? or did u tell buyer to test it first before post it to u??
No proof... he said he wouldn't know if the item is faulty or not... means he didn't check.

Anyway, I've paid my part to send back to him, and he's sending it back to me on his expenses.

Thanks for the replies. smile.gif

0.0163sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:56 PM