Investment First property buyer - need some advice

Cavatzu
post May 30 2023, 08:10 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(coconutxyz @ May 30 2023, 05:43 AM)
Thanks for the advices, previously I have researched a bit on the rental rate for nearby ativo suite but I have a hard time believing that people are willing to pay for example 1.5 to 2k for monthly rental where those can be used for instalment.

What are some rule of thumbs for investment properties, such as is it bad for rental to not be able to cover the instalment
Ok you’ve done some research yourself. So ask yourself is it worth whatever instalment you are paying as well as amount you need to top up for this “investment”. Is there any upside in terms of rent going up in the future or capital appreciation? If yes, why and if no, also why?

Strong opinions are apparent all throughout the forum but the most important is your own but please don’t be delusional. And throughout the history of investment there’s always been bulls and bears.

The dominant consensus is the rental market is strong in either places of employment or where there is little supply and high demand. Be realistic if your targeted property fits this criteria and imagine who your target tenant profile is and if they would pay above the odds for your property. Convenience and social standing are the 2 intangible factors that create perceived property value.

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: May 30 2023, 08:11 AM
Cavatzu
post May 30 2023, 09:33 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ May 30 2023, 08:26 AM)
Even iherg said if u managed to get 80% cover ur monthly also considered good liao

Caz essentially ur tenant is paying the interest for u

Of course do your own DD

If u have extra cash monthly then why not

Also check if there are any lelongs from ur project. Thats a bad sign if too many lelongs
Are expectations so low now? What about maintenance fees, taxes? Regionally every other property market in ASEAN is trucking along so why is KL - the capital city struggling? Another question to posit.

Just remember the only thing on your side is to buy smartly.
Cavatzu
post May 30 2023, 11:28 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ May 30 2023, 09:56 AM)
Thats the scene for most subsale projects

Unless u can cut out the middleman fees aka agent, good friend with owner than probably can get true below market value

Dont forget the cost to reno, free wifi, and repairing cost

So even after deduct all that u get 80% thats quite good already

Thats like maybe 4 to 5% roi
Hmm I think the 80% figure only applies to paying for bank interest. You add in the other costs and capitalise renovations then you’re looking at something like 50-60% coverage.

There are projects that have exceeded expectations - South Brooks DPC was launched under the 700 psf mark which was comparable to everything else being released in KV and is now hitting the 1k psf mark after VP in 2021.

In short, places that do well have to be desired by affluent locals and expats. If you base it on the common man on the street then can wait forever for appreciation.

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: May 30 2023, 11:28 AM
Cavatzu
post May 30 2023, 01:39 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(coconutxyz @ May 30 2023, 01:18 PM)
That's reassuring that not everyone can cover their instalment with rental, unless good property or those with really good judgement and experience.

I did some evaluation and for a 3.5k instalment, assuming if I can rent it out for around 1.5k for 1k sqf , 2k per month is still manageable since it is below 1/3 of my nett salary. But that is if someone is renting and the worse would be paying for 3.5k per month

I've asked my friends who lives around the area and the demographic seems like meant for families but the htc is concerning..and also the disposable income of the targeted tenant
Umm u just pointed out a nightmare scenario. A mortgage of 3.5k with 1.5k rental meaning a top up of 2k which is pretty much an entry level salary. That is barely 50% loan coverage. This is not an investment, it’s called subsidising your tenant or a Lelong scenario already. Please rework your numbers.
Cavatzu
post May 30 2023, 08:59 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ May 30 2023, 02:07 PM)
To further add on the the 50-80% of monthly instalment covered by rental: This only applies if the monthly instalment does not exceed 1.8k - 2.5k, and even then it's still far from ideal.

The idea is that you can collect rental to cover interest rate and then later a decade later you flip the property (sell it off) and get a decent chunk of profit from the subsale.

This is somewhat risky and only works if you're not financially burdened elsewhere+have healthy savings and investment to fall back on in the event you're forced to sell at far below market value/sell early/get no tenants for too long.

For something like Livista which is a high end, high price property, the subsale for that kind of price moves too slow + your comment about your salary means the monthly instalment is priced far above your affordability to make it a sensible investment.
Let’s just say TS numbers are completely off. Somehow he’s gotten the idea that 1.5k rent is ok for a mortgage of an 800k+ property. That describes a 1k sqft property in Sqwhere. It indicates there has been a failure of some kind and people will still buy whatever.
Cavatzu
post Jun 2 2023, 01:30 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(coconutxyz @ May 31 2023, 06:39 PM)
great advices.

but are there condo with 700-800k value and still can cover at least 80% of the instalment now?
Well yea that’s location specific. So your usual suspects like MK, DPC, Bangsar South, KL city etc. A 3.5k mortgage equates to roughly 800k++ property.

Otherwise you have to reverse engineer the rent to solve for the maximum purchase price. If units in an area can only rent for 1.5k then you wouldn’t want to pay more than 500k for it. If you die die want to buy something that is 800k then buy in prime location where u can guarantee strong rental otherwise u should just buy cheaper.

0.0175sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:19 PM