Your suggestions and feedbacks are greatly appreciated as I’m doing my some sort of homework before putting money into it
Investment MELBOURNE SQUARE OSK
May 29 2023, 06:36 PM, updated 3y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
629 posts Joined: Jan 2023 |
Hi All, looking to venture into MELBOURNE property. Came across this project and would like to seek opinions and some thoughts from the experienced sifu and si jies.
Your suggestions and feedbacks are greatly appreciated as I’m doing my some sort of homework before putting money into it |
May 30 2023, 09:59 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
Anybody who invested in overseas property…like in Australia and UK can share the process of getting a mortgage for off shore properties/asset purchases? Thanks.
Jun 15 2023, 07:04 PM
Hi All,
It seems like majority of sifu here are more towards local real estate market. Trying to seek help on advices on getting into Melbourne property market. Anyone can advice newbies here? Thanks. |
Jun 16 2023, 09:21 AM
120 posts Joined: Aug 2018 |
I have 2 apartment in Melbourne CBD, based on current value, property price dropped approx AUD 100-150K per unit vs Purchase price after a few years.
I dont think CBD is a good place to invest in |
Jun 16 2023, 11:54 AM
2,137 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
QUOTE(thongyj93 @ Jun 16 2023, 09:21 AM) I have 2 apartment in Melbourne CBD, based on current value, property price dropped approx AUD 100-150K per unit vs Purchase price after a few years. Thong, what about rental income, sufficiently ok to cover most of installment?I dont think CBD is a good place to invest in |
Jun 16 2023, 01:05 PM
320 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
Jun 16 2023, 01:08 PM
320 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
QUOTE(IronManz @ Jun 16 2023, 11:54 AM) If capital values dropped by 100-150k in a space of a few years, no amount of good rental yield is enough to justify this drop . Especially if u borrow from banks. I think rental yield is sufficient to cover instalments, maintenance costs, and perhaps a bit of principal. bennomin liked this post
Jun 16 2023, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(swiss228 @ Jun 16 2023, 01:08 PM) If capital values dropped by 100-150k in a space of a few years, no amount of good rental yield is enough to justify this drop . Especially if u borrow from banks. I think rental yield is sufficient to cover instalments, maintenance costs, and perhaps a bit of principal. That's true in a sense, but if rental can basically cover, then the current price and eventual selling price (when you want to sell it) will differ, just depends on how long you can keep it. If rental can support, can hold on to it and not sell. Pass to kids etc who can hold on to it forever since rental can cover. Sell only when want to, or just keep bennomin liked this post
Jun 17 2023, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(IronManz @ Jun 16 2023, 11:54 AM) Australia especially Melbourne and Sydney are experiencing housing shortage. Not sufficient of homes which boost the rental market. Those who bought or own one can receive quite decent rental yield. But minus all costs of owing ie utilities, maintenance should be able to cover instalment ngam ngam. |
Jun 17 2023, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(IronManz @ Jun 16 2023, 05:21 PM) That's true in a sense, but if rental can basically cover, then the current price and eventual selling price (when you want to sell it) will differ, just depends on how long you can keep it. If rental can support, can hold on to it and not sell. Pass to kids etc who can hold on to it forever since rental can cover. Sell only when want to, or just keep Yes BossAs long you’re not exit, there’s still hope. Just like in share market. Who will ever know when is the lowest and highest point. As long you have the capital to hold should be fine. |
Jun 17 2023, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(thongyj93 @ Jun 16 2023, 09:21 AM) I have 2 apartment in Melbourne CBD, based on current value, property price dropped approx AUD 100-150K per unit vs Purchase price after a few years. Do you think suburbs could be an more ideal place for investment?I dont think CBD is a good place to invest in As CBD is flooded with ppl so demand for space no doubt. For MSQ Stage 1 which is completed, have vacancy rate of less than 2% which is quite impressive. For suburbs, rly hv to be caution on the land height above sea levels as some places in point cook, southwest of CBD get flooded occasionally. (But infrastructure improved in that area) |
Jun 17 2023, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(bennomin @ Jun 17 2023, 11:44 AM) Australia especially Melbourne and Sydney are experiencing housing shortage. Not sufficient of homes which boost the rental market. Those who bought or own one can receive quite decent rental yield. But minus all costs of owing ie utilities, maintenance should be able to cover instalment ngam ngam. Ngam ngam is good enough |
Jun 17 2023, 03:21 PM
Jun 17 2023, 03:25 PM
1,185 posts Joined: Nov 2020 |
QUOTE(bennomin @ May 29 2023, 06:36 PM) Hi All, looking to venture into MELBOURNE property. Came across this project and would like to seek opinions and some thoughts from the experienced sifu and si jies. We have one property in Melbourne cbd. Property value has been declining steadily in Australia, but rental rates increasing. Your suggestions and feedbacks are greatly appreciated as I’m doing my some sort of homework before putting money into it Depends on what your end game is I have one apartment in Newcastle UK and there property price and rental price increases proportionally together. But can’t compare because it is student city and Melbourne is similar to London who’s market I don’t know |
Jun 17 2023, 05:44 PM
88 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
Agreed the rental has came down following the influx of Chinese developer which built mega skyscrapers with high density.
Jun 17 2023, 11:28 PM
2,006 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KLANG |
What’s the price range like per sqft
| Change to: | 0.0178sec
5 queries
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:27 PM |