Malaysia purchase ATR-72 Maritime Patrol Aircraft, To monitor south china sea

TSRaddus
post May 28 2023, 08:52 PM, updated 3y ago

239 posts

The contract follows the selection of the aircraft by Malaysia, announced in October 2022
Malaysia’s choice reflects the ATR special mission aircraft’s status as an effective, capable platform, perfectly suited to the country’s operational needs
The ATR 72 MPA is a leading maritime patrol aircraft that integrates advanced security and surveillance systems developed by Leonardo

Today the Ministry of Defence of Malaysia signed a contract with Leonardo to supply two ATR 72 MPA (Maritime Patrol Aircraft) platforms. A signing ceremony took place at LIMA 2023, a key maritime and defence exhibition in the Asia-Pacific region held in Langkawi, Malaysia.

This contract follows the selection of the solution offered by Leonardo announced last October, and includes the supply of two ATR Special Mission aircraft in Maritime Patrol configuration plus the related integrated logistic support and training services.

The ATR 72 MPA is a twin-turboprop aircraft designed for complex maritime patrol missions. It is the latest specialized variant of the ATR regional transport aircraft, part of a wide range of types developed by Leonardo for missions including maritime surveillance, Anti-Submarine Warfare (ASW), Anti-Surface unit Warfare (AsuW), Search & Rescue (SAR), environmental monitoring, medical evacuation and transport of personnel and materials.

The aircraft chosen by Malaysia retains the reliability, maintainability, low lifecycle costs and comfort features of the baseline ATR 72-600. They will also be equipped with a flexible mission system, advanced sensors and a complete communications suite for Command, Control, Communications, Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance (C4ISR) missions over land and sea. The sensors and mission systems will be able to operate in stand-alone and net-centric modes, enabling the collection, processing and sharing of strategic data among operators, while providing complete situational awareness about the operational scenario. The ATR 72 MPA is optimised for maritime patrol, electronic intelligence (ELINT) gathering, sea surface and submerged target detection and tracking, SAR, countering illegal activities (drug trafficking, piracy and smuggling) and protecting territorial waters. There is growth potential for it to evolve into a fully-fledged Anti-Submarine Warfare (ASW) and Anti-Surface unit Warfare (AsuW) platform.

Variants of the ATR 72 MPA, in service with military and law enforcement organisations, are equipped with the modular Leonardo ATOS (Airborne Tactical Observation and Surveillance) mission system, which will also be included in the Malaysian configuration.

The ATOS manages the aircraft’s on-board sensors, fusing the information gathered and presenting a comprehensive and continuously updated tactical picture to the mission system operators. With a commercial heritage, the ATR 72 MPA features an ergonomic design that supports the efficiency and effectiveness of the crew during missions that can typically last more than 8 hours.

The ATR-based Special Mission aircraft are able to meet a wide range of customer requirements across the APAC region, with many local operators of the ATR regional turboprop already benefitting from extended logistics support.

Dario Marfè, SVP Aircraft Commercial & Customer Services at Leonardo, said: "We are proud that the Malaysian Government has chosen our ATR 72 MPA, an aircraft which represents Leonardo's advanced technological capabilities in the design and integration of platforms and systems at the highest levels. The ATR 72 MPA combines reliability and low operating costs, all the advantages of the ATR 72-600 regional passenger transport aircraft, and features a state-of-the-art Leonardo mission system. It is positioned on the market as a tremendously effective solution for the security and defence of its customers”.

This post has been edited by Raddus: May 28 2023, 08:58 PM
differ
post May 28 2023, 09:03 PM

404 posts

Fireflyz!
nasiputih
post May 28 2023, 09:04 PM

256 posts

Malindo!!
TSRaddus
post May 28 2023, 09:06 PM

239 posts

Maswings
mrcg
post May 28 2023, 09:27 PM

235 posts

good choice..since everybody use it then spare parts must be everywhere..
haturaya
post May 28 2023, 09:34 PM

2,558 posts

Can recruit back Firefly pilot... many of them from our airforce.
vasculio82
post May 28 2023, 09:36 PM

153 posts

will it be the invisible version ?
anakkk
post May 28 2023, 09:44 PM

2,119 posts

2 cukup ka?
anakkk
post May 28 2023, 09:44 PM

2,119 posts

QUOTE(vasculio82 @ May 28 2023, 09:36 PM)
will it be the invisible version ?
stealth will be very expensive :X
yongku99
post May 28 2023, 09:51 PM

83 posts

Looks like a maritime spy plane potential.
KLthinker91
post May 28 2023, 09:54 PM

227 posts

TWO

doh.gif
caksz
post May 28 2023, 09:56 PM

42 posts

Cn-235 conversion to MPA paid by Murica do what? C-130 still got MPA version?
Brotherjoe
post May 28 2023, 10:29 PM

2,216 posts

QUOTE(differ @ May 28 2023, 09:03 PM)
Fireflyz!
Firefly upgrading to B737 d.
Avex
post May 28 2023, 10:33 PM

570 posts

same as bangladesh and pakistan
moiskyrie
post May 28 2023, 10:38 PM

3,217 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 28 2023, 09:54 PM)
TWO

doh.gif
fuel mahal la...
nanti govt pull off subsidy tak tahan....
2 sudah cekik darah liao....
icecreamcake
post May 28 2023, 10:43 PM

307 posts

Can just borrow from Fireflyz or Batik Air ?
Knnbuccb
post May 28 2023, 11:15 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ May 28 2023, 10:29 PM)
then why they dont buy from fireflyz. right pocket masuk left pocket.

pasang some radar then voila we have more patrol aircraft

mount a machine gun on top then we got a gunship. perfect for suluk

atreyuangel my idea bernas?

This post has been edited by Knnbuccb: May 28 2023, 11:16 PM
differ
post May 29 2023, 05:44 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ May 28 2023, 10:29 PM)
Still operating ATR out of SZB. The 737 are out of PEN hub.
vexus
post May 29 2023, 05:57 AM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

Wasting $$$$. Keep the $$$ to finance fuel subsidy better
SUSAccord2018
post May 29 2023, 06:05 AM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ May 29 2023, 05:57 AM)
Wasting $$$$. Keep the $$$ to finance fuel subsidy better
According to MINDEF, the contract has a value of MYR789.6 million (USD171.9 million). The contract partly fulfils a long-standing Malaysian requirement to improve its manned maritime surveillance and anti-submarine warfare (ASW) capabilities.

Spend money like water...
KLthinker91
post May 29 2023, 06:17 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ May 28 2023, 11:15 PM)

It will cost more to self-develop an MPA
no, you can't just mount shit on top
it's like saying "haha I just buy car subcomponents pasang on my kereta kerbau voila national car"

anyway atreyuangel probably pissed cause no P-8 biggrin.gif
takbodoh722
post May 29 2023, 08:43 AM

strangely thats what happens. sell as cots

same thing happen with king air. same thing happen with cn235.
68 others
post May 29 2023, 08:48 AM

105 posts

i thought they bought it to shoot the rainbow with glitters?
cloudwan0
post May 29 2023, 09:56 AM

236 posts

i tot msia no money...
Halas
post May 29 2023, 10:07 AM

Forced to spend to counter China 9 dash line otherwise one day Tioman also within some CCP drawn line.
ayanami_tard
post May 29 2023, 10:19 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(caksz @ May 28 2023, 10:56 PM)
Cn-235 conversion to MPA paid by Murica do what? C-130 still got MPA version?
malaysia eez is huge. scs alone need at least 3 aircraft to patrol. then need to consider sulu sea and malacca strait oso

oso if you want to maintain at least one plane one in the sky at any given time, I need 3 aircraft; one flying, one on service, one on the ready to fly out.

the plan for tudm is to get 3 mpa this rmk and then topup another 3 next rmk but since ringgit gone to shit it was cut to 2

all these mpa(cn235, atr-72, the turkish ucav) will be used to patrol scs while sulu sea and malacca strait they will continue to use helo and smaller uav or even dji commercial drone
TSRaddus
post May 29 2023, 10:31 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(Halas @ May 29 2023, 10:07 AM)
Forced to spend to counter China 9 dash line otherwise one day Tioman also within some CCP drawn line.
all this because of ccp military build up

force us to spend more on military

if china is truly our friend they wont put military at our doorstep
atreyuangel
post May 29 2023, 10:53 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ May 28 2023, 11:15 PM)

Not bad, but MPA is best comes with fresh frame. Plus MPA frames will be strengthen due to its nature of operating long hours in the open sea. Even the engine is not the same with the normal commercial specifications.

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ May 29 2023, 06:05 AM)
According to MINDEF, the contract has a value of MYR789.6 million (USD171.9 million). The contract partly fulfils a long-standing Malaysian requirement to improve its manned maritime surveillance and anti-submarine warfare (ASW) capabilities.

Spend money like water...
Long due,
If I am the top of the command I will prioritise MPA and AEW any days

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 29 2023, 06:17 AM)
It will cost more to self-develop an MPA
no, you can't just mount shit on top
it's like saying "haha I just buy car subcomponents pasang on my kereta kerbau voila national car"

anyway atreyuangel probably pissed cause no P-8 biggrin.gif
2 unit dulu pun ok +3 conversion and there is a possibility addition in the future if we play our card right with Uncle Sam. brows.gif
TSRaddus
post May 29 2023, 10:54 AM

239 posts

Has china donated any military equipment to Malaysia?
KLthinker91
post May 29 2023, 10:55 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ May 29 2023, 10:53 AM)

2 unit dulu pun ok +3 conversion and there is a possibility addition in the future if we play our card right with Uncle Sam. brows.gif
If you play your cards right with Uncle you can get whatever you want at wholesale prices biggrin.gif
SUSepsilon_chinwk86
post May 29 2023, 11:02 AM

603 posts

Monitor apa lancau when vietcong, caina commies been stealing our fishes and harrassing our oil rig daily?
Knnbuccb
post May 29 2023, 11:02 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(Raddus @ May 29 2023, 10:54 AM)
Has china donated any military equipment to Malaysia?
Wumao counted?
Knnbuccb
post May 29 2023, 11:03 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ May 29 2023, 10:53 AM)
Not bad, but MPA is best comes with fresh frame. Plus MPA frames will be strengthen due to its nature of operating long hours in the open sea. Even the engine is not the same with the normal commercial specifications.
Long due,
If I am the top of the command I will prioritise MPA and AEW any days
Install rollcage to strengthen chassis like some ppl mod car

Mod car and moto culture is strong in Malaysia

Should apply to planes also. Don't let that rempit and ah beng experience go to waste.

I belip our budget limitations always make us think our of box and become mcguvyer . Other rich neighbour everything must follow SOP and manufacturer.....to me if buy russki thing , don't need care much about manufacturer because they also don't provide good support, is like buy AP parallel import car and go bawah pokok mechanic.

Unless buy US plane .... Then is like buying official distributor car

Btw patrol also need high stress? isn't patrol like cruising at commercial flight speed?

I saw the Lima su 30mkm flying I was wondering if the chassis willl Tahan how long .., ayam impressed though. It's like bending air at will. Got metal fatigue rite. Pilot body got damage also? If everyday fly like that will mati ? Got such thing as red t and black out? Like too much blood in head because you are nosediving , then blood rush to brain and u see red...

Then blackout if u r climbing and blood goes to legs?

Too many questions but I find it Too fascinating.but tom cruise movie should have made use of this interesting phenomenon....

This post has been edited by Knnbuccb: May 29 2023, 11:16 AM
khusyairi
post May 29 2023, 11:11 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 28 2023, 09:54 PM)
TWO

doh.gif
Cukup la. Consider F/A 18 just 8 unit.
Sukhoi just 18 unit.
KLthinker91
post May 29 2023, 11:16 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ May 29 2023, 11:11 AM)
Cukup la. Consider F/A 18 just 8 unit.
Sukhoi just 18 unit.
Tu pun bodoh
At a certain level you need numbers, not just to look good but because of key factors like fuel capacity ie flight time, maintenance hours, availability, etc

p.s. we got those Sukhois cheap because USSR collapsed

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: May 29 2023, 11:19 AM
Knnbuccb
post May 29 2023, 11:18 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 29 2023, 11:16 AM)
Tu pun bodoh
At a certain level you need numbers, not just to look good but because of key factors like fuel capacity ie flight time, maintenance hours, availability, etc
Zergling rush Vs protoss zealot. Who will win.

In era of dogfight numbers win ? Because 2v 1, a plane can only target one enemy and the other enemy chase him from behind.

but now not too sure since it's BVR

Sauce I play ace combat 4 in 2002. Either that game too easy or I am expert pilot level./s

This post has been edited by Knnbuccb: May 29 2023, 11:22 AM
khusyairi
post May 29 2023, 11:19 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 29 2023, 11:16 AM)
Tu pun bodoh
Duit pun xada la bang.. Bukan xnak beli banyak2. Bukan sebab all key factors juga.
Subsidi pun cut. Skrg ni kerajaan tambah hutang just utk yearly budget, bukan sebab income naik or new tax.

Daripada langsung xada. 2 pun cukup.

This post has been edited by khusyairi: May 29 2023, 11:20 AM
khusyairi
post May 29 2023, 11:24 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ May 29 2023, 11:03 AM)

Should apply to planes also. Don't let that rempit and ah beng experience go to waste.

I belip our budget limitations always make us think our of box and become mcguvyer . Other rich neighbour everything must follow SOP and manufacturer.....to me if buy russki thing , don't need care much about manufacturer because they also don't provide good support, is like buy AP parallel import car and go bawah pokok mechanic.

Btw patrol also need high stress? isn't patrol like cruising at commercial flight speed?

I saw the Lima su 30mkm flying I was wondering if the chassis willl Tahan how long .., ayam impressed though. It's like bending air at will. Got metal fatigue rite. Pilot body got damage also? If everyday fly like that will mati ? Got such thing as red t and black out? Like too much blood in head because you are nosediving , then blood rush to brain and u see red...

Too many questions but I find it Too fascinating.but tom cruise movie should have made use of this interesting phenomenon....
I think we should forget about US plane.
They donwan sell us plane.
Last LCA tender, they invited but not submit any bid.
Kuwait used F/A18, no green light from USA too.
Historically no talk about F15 or F16 too. F35/F22 just in dream.

This post has been edited by khusyairi: May 29 2023, 11:25 AM
KLthinker91
post May 29 2023, 11:26 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ May 29 2023, 11:18 AM)
Zergling rush Vs protoss zealot. Who will win.

In era of dogfight numbers win ? Because 2v 1, a plane can only target one enemy and the other enemy chase him from behind.

but now not too sure since it's BVR

Sauce I play ace combat 4 in 2002
when it comes to fighters, a certain number is required because of calculations of readiness, speed, training time, and how much airspace you intend to cover.

Norwegians for example bit the bullet and broke bank for 64 F-35s based on detailed wargames of how many they needed to cover their country. They burst their budget (originally could only fit about fifty) but deemed it militarily necessary based on the results.
Now, Norway is long, thin country, about 1800km from one end to the other

UK is another example; their air defence requirement is for 48 fighters to cover their country which is about 900km long, from Portsmouth to Inverness

Ours is a long thin country, about 500km one side (Peninsular), 1000km the other (EM)
do the math
KLthinker91
post May 29 2023, 11:29 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ May 29 2023, 11:19 AM)
Duit pun xada la bang.. Bukan xnak beli banyak2. Bukan sebab all key factors juga.
Subsidi pun cut. Skrg ni kerajaan tambah hutang just utk yearly budget, bukan sebab income naik or new tax.

Daripada langsung xada. 2 pun cukup.
true also
you caught me between fanboying and reality I'm afraid
ikut hati nak 10 biji MPA at least and 60 biji Top Gun ace pilot bruce.gif
ikut realiti? lebih baik bina factory jual iPhone
duit takde rakyat menderita, apa nak tempur
TSRaddus
post May 29 2023, 11:39 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 29 2023, 11:26 AM)
when it comes to fighters, a certain number is required because of calculations of readiness, speed, training time, and how much airspace you intend to cover.

Norwegians for example bit the bullet and broke bank for 64 F-35s based on detailed wargames of how many they needed to cover their country. They burst their budget (originally could only fit about fifty) but deemed it militarily necessary based on the results.

UK is another example; their air defence requirement is for 48 fighters to cover their country which is about 900km long, from Portsmouth to Inverness

Ours is a long thin country, about 500km one side (Peninsular), 1000km the other (EM)
do the math
And then there is singapore with 50 fighter jets in small island city

Malaysia seriously for many years neglecting military
khusyairi
post May 29 2023, 11:54 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 29 2023, 11:26 AM)

do the math
U cant compare Norway & UK to Malaysia.
1st- Norway is neutral country. They are not NATO. They never make any military pact.
2nd- UK. They are one of the world military power. They have land in every continents to protect.
3nd- Malaysia have military pact wt UK. Every year we make joint exercise wt them. Let say China attack & invade Malaysia; guarantee UK & ally (Australia, New Zealand etc) will come & protect Malaysia as we consider as their sphere of influence. Their army based just next to us in Brunei anyway..

It's not that I want to say we no need planes, we still need it. But no need to be equal as them.

This post has been edited by khusyairi: May 29 2023, 11:57 AM
KLthinker91
post May 29 2023, 12:48 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ May 29 2023, 11:54 AM)
U cant compare Norway & UK to Malaysia.
1st- Norway is neutral country. They are not NATO. They never make any military pact.
2nd- UK. They are one of the world military power. They have land in every continents to protect.
3nd- Malaysia have military pact wt UK. Every year we make joint exercise wt them. Let say China attack & invade Malaysia; guarantee UK & ally (Australia, New Zealand etc) will come & protect Malaysia as we consider as their sphere of influence. Their army based just next to us in Brunei anyway..

It's not that I want to say we no need planes, we still need it. But no need to be equal as them.
Norway is a founding member of NATO
However it's true that Norway is the richest of the Scandinavian countries
They had oil reserves equivalent to Malaysia, but with 6 times fewer population
Also, they invested their money well, instead of squandering it...

UK is one of the top 10 militaries in the world, true
However, the figures I gave here is the figures given for air defence of these two countries
the UK has more forces in addition

Malaysia has military pacts with UK, but it's not a guaranteed one; FPDA is not the same as NATO
furthermore, all pacts are subject to current political situation
if we act against UK interests, pact or no pact, they may not help us
this is just realpolitik

as for Brunei, the UK has a contractual obligation to defend the Brunei Sultan
he paid them to be there, FYI

anyway as I said... I agree, we are a poor country. (we were not clever and conscientious like the Norwegians.) so we can't afford the stuff we want. the point I was making however is that a certain number of jets to cover a certain area of airspace.
TSRaddus
post May 29 2023, 01:01 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 29 2023, 12:48 PM)
Norway is a founding member of NATO
However it's true that Norway is the richest of the Scandinavian countries
They had oil reserves equivalent to Malaysia, but with 6 times fewer population
Also, they invested their money well, instead of squandering it...

UK is one of the top 10 militaries in the world, true
However, the figures I gave here is the figures given for air defence of these two countries
the UK has more forces in addition

Malaysia has military pacts with UK, but it's not a guaranteed one; FPDA is not the same as NATO
furthermore, all pacts are subject to current political situation
if we act against UK interests, pact or no pact, they may not help us
this is just realpolitik

as for Brunei, the UK has a contractual obligation to defend the Brunei Sultan
he paid them to be there, FYI

anyway as I said... I agree, we are a poor country. (we were not clever and conscientious like the Norwegians.) so we can't afford the stuff we want. the point I was making however is that a certain number of jets to cover a certain area of airspace.
We just make do with fa50 it seems

18 jets plus future addition 18
KLthinker91
post May 29 2023, 01:16 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Raddus @ May 29 2023, 01:01 PM)
We just make do with fa50 it seems

18 jets plus future addition 18
FA50 is a steal tho
36 is not bad

like I said, I can wish for more, but the fact of the matter is that we cannot afford it
atreyuangel
post May 29 2023, 05:10 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 29 2023, 10:55 AM)
If you play your cards right with Uncle you can get whatever you want at wholesale prices biggrin.gif
Yep, we almost got seaguardian ucav at 1/3 of the price of what the Taiwan paid.
To bad the deal did not get thru.

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ May 29 2023, 11:03 AM)

Patrol stress in this term is long hours of operation and loitering
Every time an aircraft takes off and landing it actually contribute to stress to the frame. This is what we call operation hours, thats why usually after long operation commercial aircraft is will go C-Check maintenance that could take up to a year.

On fighter jet, even when they are not doing shows they will still engage in high G maneuver daily basics. In fact airshow maneuver is way safer for frame as all the maneuver is not a demanding during training where the maneuver can be continuous and for long time.

QUOTE(khusyairi @ May 29 2023, 11:24 AM)
I think we should forget about US plane.
They donwan sell us plane.
Last LCA tender, they invited but not submit any bid.
Kuwait used F/A18, no green light from USA too.
Historically no talk about F15 or F16 too. F35/F22 just in dream.
US kene ada juga.
Tu pasal tudm nak ada 2 frontier fighters from 2 different region.

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 29 2023, 01:16 PM)
FA50 is a steal tho
36 is not bad

like I said, I can wish for more, but the fact of the matter is that we cannot afford it
Could be more the 36 in the future.
KLthinker91
post May 29 2023, 05:23 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ May 29 2023, 05:10 PM)

Could be more the 36 in the future.
much as that would be nice, we need to grow our exports too
takbodoh722
post May 29 2023, 06:07 PM

like how 8 hornet was supposed to become 18....

just celebrate 18 first. whether go to 36, when contract sign then celebrate not late.
Mai189
post May 31 2023, 04:34 PM

https://www.janes.com/defence-news/news-det...don-sustainment

Boeing has signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with Singapore's state-affiliated defence company ST Engineering to jointly explore potential areas of co-operation regarding the P-8A Poseidon maritime patrol aircraft (MPA).

The MOU was disclosed by Boeing in a media release on 29 May. Under the MOU, Boeing and ST Engineering will “outline potential areas of collaboration in systems integration, training, local parts distribution, support and sustainment work for the P-8A Poseidon”, said the release.

“Boeing and ST Engineering have identified opportunities to collaborate in a number of areas and will explore these in more detail, including jointly developing a P-8 service centre in Singapore with the provision of engineers and aircraft maintenance technicians to support maintenance and engineering services,” it added.

ST Engineering had not responded to Janes request for a statement on the MOU and for more details on the potential collaboration at the time of publication.

The P-8A is a long-range MPA that is based on Boeing's 737-800 commercial airframe. Besides maritime patrol missions, the aircraft is also capable of carrying out anti-submarine; anti-surface; intelligence, surveillance, and reconnaissance; and humanitarian assistance and disaster relief (HADR) operations.

The P-8A's core suite of sensors includes the Raytheon AN/APY-10 maritime surveillance radar, the L-3 Wescam MX-20HD digital electro-optic/infrared (EO/IR) sensor, the Northrop Grumman AN/ALQ-240(V)1 electronic support measures (ESM) system, and the Terma AN/ALQ-213(V) electronic warfare management system.

------

ahaha. With this new nugget of info, it looks like Sg will most likely go for P8 after all or at least the frame and install her own custom sensors.

Sg is currently in the midst on deciding on the replacement for the Fokker 50 MPA.

Mai189
post May 31 2023, 04:40 PM

Msia rely on FPDA intervention? Youve got to be joking. It is not even binding.

The other countries in the so called agreement have other more important arrangements.

But yes, it is still a useful narrative for Msia.
berzerk
post May 31 2023, 04:51 PM

706 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ May 29 2023, 11:54 AM)
FPDA lol. You better pray PRC accidently drop some bombs over the border in Brunei if you're relying on UK to defend us in a war.
Mai189
post May 31 2023, 04:57 PM

QUOTE(berzerk @ May 31 2023, 04:51 PM)
FPDA lol. You better pray PRC accidently drop some bombs over the border in Brunei if you're relying on UK to defend us in a war.
The only 2 countries which could conceivably come to Msia's aid militarily are Australia and Sg. And Msia has been absolutely pally with them both that they will not think twice to assist.
takbodoh722
post May 31 2023, 05:00 PM

FPDA allows UK, AUS and NZ to help MY and/or sinkie. it does not obligate sinkie to help MY.
Mai189
post May 31 2023, 05:02 PM

QUOTE(takbodoh722 @ May 31 2023, 05:00 PM)
FPDA allows UK, AUS and NZ to help MY and/or sinkie. it does not obligate sinkie to help MY.
It does not obligate UK, Aus and NZ to help My and Sinkie.
TSRaddus
post May 31 2023, 05:02 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(takbodoh722 @ May 31 2023, 05:00 PM)
well depends
does malaysia getting invaded by china/indonesia/thailand benefit Singapore

berzerk
post May 31 2023, 05:04 PM

706 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ May 31 2023, 04:57 PM)
The only 2 countries which could conceivably come to Msia's aid militarily are Australia and Sg. And Msia has been absolutely pally with them both that they will not think twice to assist.
and if the aggressor was PRC then US would get involved, which also gives Aust & Sg the permission to join in.
takbodoh722
post May 31 2023, 05:06 PM

Mai is right. no obligation thats why did not use the word for uk, aus and nz. but it does allow the other 3 to help if they choose to. more like a framework agreement.
Mai189
post May 31 2023, 05:17 PM

Lets be clear about this. The FPDA is not a binding defence treaty on the NATO model, but commits the five members to consult in case of an armed attack on Malaysia or Singapore.

The exact word is "consult".

So nak tolong tak tolong is left to imagination. It does not matter if the help come from any one of the 5 countries or all.

As is, the only 2 militaries strong enough to be able to offer significant militarily "help" are Australia and Singapore. In fact, the militaries of these 2 countries have become quite integrated.

TSRaddus
post May 31 2023, 05:25 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ May 31 2023, 05:17 PM)
Lets be clear about this. The FPDA is not a binding defence treaty on the NATO model, but commits the five members to consult in case of an armed attack on Malaysia or Singapore.

The exact word is "consult".

So nak tolong tak tolong is left to imagination. It does not matter if the help come from any one of the 5 countries or all.

As is, the only 2 militaries strong enough to be able to offer significant militarily "help" are Australia and Singapore. In fact, the militaries of these 2 countries have become quite integrated.
and there is a reason Malaysia didnt "kick out" Australia from Butterworth Airbase

Australia has P8 based in Butterworth, and have made some upgrades to the base so it can park some F35 if needed

This post has been edited by Raddus: May 31 2023, 05:26 PM
takbodoh722
post May 31 2023, 05:27 PM

us model also apply. zero treaty they also intervene. just a question of whether they get anything out of it. kaypoh doctrine.
Mai189
post May 31 2023, 05:28 PM

QUOTE(Raddus @ May 31 2023, 05:25 PM)
and there is a reason Malaysia didnt "kick out" Australia from Butterworth Airbase

Australia has P8 based in Butterworth, and have made some upgrades to the base so it can park some F35 if needed
Right. As if other countries are not aware of the state of things.

Interesting on the F35. Last I check there even restrictions as to where to base them imposed by grandaddy US. Park for short term possible i guess.
Mai189
post May 31 2023, 05:33 PM

It seems that the Ozzies are flying the P8s out of Singapore now..or more frequently out of Singapore.

https://www.australiandefence.com.au/defenc...-from-singapore

Not only that...Global Hawks fly out of Singapore too.
Mai189
post May 31 2023, 06:00 PM

QUOTE(Mai189 @ May 31 2023, 04:34 PM)
https://www.janes.com/defence-news/news-det...don-sustainment

Boeing has signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with Singapore's state-affiliated defence company ST Engineering to jointly explore potential areas of co-operation regarding the P-8A Poseidon maritime patrol aircraft (MPA).

The MOU was disclosed by Boeing in a media release on 29 May. Under the MOU, Boeing and ST Engineering will “outline potential areas of collaboration in systems integration, training, local parts distribution, support and sustainment work for the P-8A Poseidon”, said the release.

“Boeing and ST Engineering have identified opportunities to collaborate in a number of areas and will explore these in more detail, including jointly developing a P-8 service centre in Singapore with the provision of engineers and aircraft maintenance technicians to support maintenance and engineering services,” it added.

ST Engineering had not responded to Janes request for a statement on the MOU and for more details on the potential collaboration at the time of publication.

The P-8A is a long-range MPA that is based on Boeing's 737-800 commercial airframe. Besides maritime patrol missions, the aircraft is also capable of carrying out anti-submarine; anti-surface; intelligence, surveillance, and reconnaissance; and humanitarian assistance and disaster relief (HADR) operations.

The P-8A's core suite of sensors includes the Raytheon AN/APY-10 maritime surveillance radar, the L-3 Wescam MX-20HD digital electro-optic/infrared (EO/IR) sensor, the Northrop Grumman AN/ALQ-240(V)1 electronic support measures (ESM) system, and the Terma AN/ALQ-213(V) electronic warfare management system.

------

ahaha. With this new nugget of info, it looks like Sg will most likely go for P8 after all or at least the frame and install her own custom sensors.

Sg is currently in the midst on deciding on the replacement for the Fokker 50 MPA.
https://breakingdefense.com/2022/02/in-sing...i-mission-uses/

https://www.jacksonville.com/story/news/201...on/64655265007/

No surprises here..
TSRaddus
post May 31 2023, 06:20 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ May 31 2023, 05:33 PM)
It seems that the Ozzies are flying the P8s out of Singapore now..or more frequently out of Singapore.

https://www.australiandefence.com.au/defenc...-from-singapore

Not only that...Global Hawks fly out of Singapore too.
sometimes you can spot Aussie P8 in Penang

BL98
post May 31 2023, 06:23 PM

743 posts

This news not as exciting as SKS airways getting 10 E195-E2.
Can't wait to sit the airplane.
TSRaddus
post May 31 2023, 06:26 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ May 31 2023, 06:23 PM)
This news not as exciting as SKS airways getting 10 E195-E2.
Can't wait to sit the airplane.
they using those jets to fly where
yhtan
post May 31 2023, 06:53 PM

8,653 posts

IINM MAS Wings has 10 ATR-72 operating at East Malaysia, it is cost feasible for them since MAS has their own maintenance team as well
BL98
post May 31 2023, 07:06 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(Raddus @ May 31 2023, 06:26 PM)
they using those jets to fly where
Not mentioned in the news report.
But the planes will be based in SZB
Maybe they will fly to Sabah, Sarawak, Penang, Bangkok, Singapore, Jakarta from SZB? If that is the case, this will be very exciting.
chaosneo
post May 31 2023, 07:20 PM

5,694 posts

if...
the invader is not a nuclear superpower then i believe US may drop troops to assist... otherwise maybe looking arms assistance and consultations is all we are going to get.

we probably ask the international community to aid in defense.

QUOTE(takbodoh722 @ May 31 2023, 05:27 PM)
us model also apply. zero treaty they also intervene. just a question of whether they get anything out of it. kaypoh doctrine.
Mai189
post May 31 2023, 07:49 PM

QUOTE(Raddus @ May 31 2023, 06:20 PM)
sometimes you can spot Aussie P8 in Penang

Could be the same plane deployed to South East Asia.

They ve got 12 P8s to cover large parts of 2 Oceans and I dunno 3 - 4 seas. + 2 more ordered. It may not be enough still..

0.0307sec    1.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:25 AM