AMDŽ Socket-AM2/AM2+ Overclocking thread (V3), Phenom... Here AMD goes

afosz
post Nov 1 2007, 08:31 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Nov 1 2007, 02:25 PM)
I'm upgrading an old system (socket A Sempron).  I plan to get an athlon64 x2 4000 plus a mobo.  The choice either the Biopstar TA690G or 560 A2(AM2).  Which is more OC'able as I also have some future proof in mind.
560 A2 not a bad choice either. which gc are you planning on using? nvidia goes to 560 A2, ati goes to TA690G. i'm not sure it is related or not, but some of my friends having problem on using ati card on nforce board

p/s: it's been a long time since my last visit this thread, and now v3 already? congrats rclxms.gif nice 1st post too
afosz
post Nov 1 2007, 10:45 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

how about Phenom X4 score on Crysis demo benchmark? is it true?

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=13854108

because if it is, Phenom X4 is not that good compared to QX sweat.gif i hope AMD can rise again, with some reasonable price too thumbup.gif
afosz
post Nov 2 2007, 08:30 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

cooler master extreme, is it a good choice to replace ayam brand psu there? i'm having the same problem too, but then when i think of it, kinda waste for me to spend rm300+ just to increase 0.1-0.2ghz. so far it is stable, and still working

btw any news regarding phenom?
afosz
post Nov 2 2007, 09:22 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Nov 2 2007, 09:11 PM)
Using better quality PSU isnt only meant for overclocking. Basically, 3 major factors that make people consider getting higher end PSU, mainly due to having many power hungry components (GFX,HDD,Optical Drives). And as well as getting a more stable and reliable PSU than those of unbranded ones which flunctuates alot which also heavily influence overclocking result.
Understand that, thank you very much notworthy.gif it just for my purpose, current psu is good enough. It just not good enough to reach higher MHz in OCing. at least i'll buy better ones until it dead or new setup tongue.gif

Just realize coz it has been a while since my last visit, and X2 3800+ F3 already 3.5GHz? shocking.gif Can any Brisbane reach like that? And look at that vcore, is it safe or is it for suicide OC only?
afosz
post Nov 2 2007, 11:11 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

@CV6149: it is a poison to me too sweat.gif i'm not the type of "ehh it didn't happen to me" or something like that. i always seek out advice and read up posts from all sifu here. for the mean time, yes it is good enough for me. but i will get better psu for future proof, and to supply more juice to my system once i got the money. it is a problem for me as i'm only a student tongue.gif
afosz
post Nov 5 2007, 01:56 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

i see F3 can reach up to 3.5~3.7GHz, in air cooling or water? is it safe for daily usage? i mean like 24/7. and HTL, no more keeping under 1GHz is it?
afosz
post Nov 5 2007, 07:09 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Nov 5 2007, 05:58 PM)
someone pls test it out if it is already in malaysia icon_idea.gif oh wait, better wait for the board to test with the real phenom brows.gif

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 5 2007, 06:03 PM)
Wow...HT 5.2G rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

@davidletterboyz
Know the price range already??

-pWs-
what's the meaning of 5.2G of HTT?
afosz
post Nov 5 2007, 08:25 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 5 2007, 07:29 PM)
Hyper Transport Technology up to 5.2G  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif

-pWs-
i know but what does it mean? current boards HTT 2G, is it the HTL? i'm confused rclxub.gif
afosz
post Nov 7 2007, 02:22 AM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 6 2007, 11:11 PM)
No problem bro. Last time i oso struggle, but at last, give it a try tongue.gif
Yea...almost 1k.
IIANM, it is cheaper than Q66.  wink.gif

-pWs-
the price might be around Q6600. direct convert it should be RM800+, plus shipping and so on as we all know, might be around RM950 nod.gif
afosz
post Nov 13 2007, 08:17 AM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

just curious, i usually keep my HTL below 1GHz but is it ok for daily usage 24/7 that HTL exceeds 1GHz?
afosz
post Nov 17 2007, 11:28 AM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

i just realize something on my system. x2 3600+ with ram div 533, isn't it suppose to be /7? currently displayed in everest ultimate and latest cpu-z as /8
afosz
post Nov 17 2007, 01:15 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Nov 17 2007, 12:36 PM)
ur rams is 667 right?? if u set cpu/6, the speed will be 667. if u set cpu/8, then it will be 533mhz...
i know that, but isn't 533 for 3600+ suppose to be /7 ? that's the question
afosz
post Nov 18 2007, 08:24 AM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

anyone care to explain? we all previously uses 533 ram div as /7, but now it is /8 already rclxub.gif
afosz
post Nov 18 2007, 11:31 AM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Nov 18 2007, 09:19 AM)
why u open two cpuz but different div??

r u using both different ram?
Nope, not different RAM but rather different version of cpuz. One is 1.40 and the other is 1.41

1.40 stated /7 just like previous OCer who already submitted their benchies. 1.41 is the latest ones, stated /8 which making me confuse on which divider should I rely on while using 533 RAM divider
afosz
post Nov 18 2007, 12:25 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(ongbs @ Nov 18 2007, 11:57 AM)
latest CPU-Z is v1.42 smile.gif
uik ya? but http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php latest version only 1.41

anyway i've downloaded the 1.42 and it stated /8 too. so does that mean previous readings for those who are using 3600+ with 533 ram div is wrong? at least mine are wrong sweat.gif
afosz
post Nov 18 2007, 03:04 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(seanlimys @ Nov 18 2007, 02:18 PM)
i m using amd athlon x2 am2 3800+ windsor f2, asus m2n-e, 1gb corsair ddr2 667 vs ram, palit 7900gs 236mb ddr3..can anyone teach me to overclock mine please?
basic idea of OCing AM2 before increasing the bus speed

- disable Cool n Quiet feature
- lower HTL multiplier to X4 or X3 if necessary
- lower RAM divider to 533
- increase bus speed little by little

i hope i give the right idea to do so flex.gif
afosz
post Nov 18 2007, 03:30 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(seanlimys @ Nov 18 2007, 03:09 PM)
oh..ok..i m using tt bt vx btw...
you should try 1st before tweaking other stuff. for X2 3800+ F2 version, getting 2.3~2.4GHz is a proud already rclxms.gif
afosz
post Nov 18 2007, 06:37 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Nov 18 2007, 05:50 PM)
I dont know whats happening to my super PI,when i used 2.2Ghz,it run 33secs for 1MB,then when i  clocked my proc to 2.6Ghz,it runs 38secs super PI 1MB.

Really blur on whats happening. sweat.gif
you're using 667 ram div? try to run it again in 2.6GHz. sometimes got delay. but then 2.2GHz for 33 secs really fast. mine need to reach 2.8GHz

QUOTE(seanlimys @ Nov 18 2007, 06:21 PM)
thank you rainingzero..can u b my teacher?well xixo-12 willing to show sum guide which i really appreaciate..now my pc at 2200mhz, ddr2 400, 5-5-5-18-2 timings
how about showing some screenshots of what you got already. post 2 cpuz, 1 cpu tab and 1 memory tab in one shot is enough. no need to put everything sweat.gif
afosz
post Nov 18 2007, 07:33 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(alive88 @ Nov 18 2007, 07:05 PM)
ur cpu speed?mine can achieve 30.xxscnds  with 2.9ghz and ram @970mhz
play with ur timing...u can use memset in windows, play wif the timing and do super pi 1m..u can c different result...obviously icon_rolleyes.gif
i don't understand how to play ram timing part. the tightest timing i get to use is 4-4-4-12 for 2.8GHz and i don't understand the trfc part on how to tweak and so on. they say tighter ram timings give quicker response eh?
afosz
post Nov 20 2007, 08:10 AM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

certain functionality such as HTT 3.2GHz i suppose unsure.gif because Phenom HTT 3.2 while AM2 HTT 2.0

0.0187sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:46 AM