AMD® Socket-AM2/AM2+ Overclocking thread (V3), Phenom... Here AMD goes

dj.eRicZzz
post Oct 27 2007, 02:05 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(CV6149 @ Oct 26 2007, 12:27 AM)
No thermal interface material will help you here.
Suggest you follow pws recommendation 1st to minimize unnecessary voltage use to achieve ur target speed.
Then only can settle temp prob.Always use 3rd party hsf when overclock.idle temp at around 58c will kill ur proc when it full load.
X2 temp change when full load is soo unbelieveable fast!!
yeah thats so damn true...i on abt 5 prime95 then wait awhile then the temp fly up 41degrees..then later i off all the prime95 the temp can drop to 30degrees within seconds and later few minutes to 25degrees
lohwenli
post Oct 27 2007, 06:32 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Damn, I 1 week not online tambah 7-9 pages..read until pening rclxub.gif

QUOTE(baok @ Oct 22 2007, 11:42 AM)
uiks.. dont post phone no here laarr.. later everyone call you want to tease your pc.. wink.gif
No prob..I memang got no harapan to have the best PC..what I want is to be very inovative in making the most out of what I can get..

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Oct 23 2007, 01:14 AM)
bro i want to ask you something...i should trust cpu-z or my T-utility overclock software to check the voltage...coz both seems to be different

after i OC, my temp max goes to 30+ only
I've long since lost my trust in any board-based voltage monitoring, whether its bios, everest, speedfan or any other program..whenever I take out my digital multimeter and test the board directly I get very different results from what I see in software. Either the value is outright wrong, it fluctuates when its supposed to be fairly constant. Even if most of the values are vaguely correct, there is always at least one which is completely screwed up. Can't find any reason except that the monitoring chip on the motherboard has f***ed accuracy.

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Oct 23 2007, 09:57 PM)
Arrr...dun poison me la.  laugh.gif
IIANM, higher wattage supported PSU do save electric right?? hmm.gif

-pWs-
Not really, depends on the PSU design. Typically most (80-90%) of reliable PSUs have good efficiency (75-80%) from 20% load to 80% load. Below 20% and above 80%, efficiency is typically worse, around 65-75% Which means,

450W PSU
Efficient range 90-360W

600W PSU
Efficient range 120-480W

1000W
Efficient range 200W-800W

Of course this may vary, highly depends on the design of the PSU. Some rare ones have good efficienty (70-85%) at even very low (=<10%) and very high load (90-120% -120 is overloaded) while some have abyssmally bad (<60%, I've even seen one as bad as 40 something %) efficiency at those high and especially low loads. To be sure, check out reviews by jonnyguru and silentpcreview, they record the efficienty of PSUs thoughout the operating range.

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Oct 23 2007, 11:18 PM)
OT meant??
I see. The power consumption will be high or not?
Who here got the wattage reader device? Pinjam guna kejap?

-pWs-
I have a friend who has a Kill-a-watt meter, and another meter which is slighly better. I haven't tried either yet, currently I'm just using my digital multimeter's AC current measurement function to measure my PC'sower consumption. One day I'll borrow his meters and make a comparision, if possible with an osciloscope as well (have to drag PC to physics lab; heavy le..).

QUOTE(jy14 @ Oct 25 2007, 05:16 PM)
Black Edition X2 for anyone ?

Thats really nice, but damn its out of my reach (financially) cry.gif

QUOTE(betaiso @ Oct 25 2007, 11:27 PM)
which of the following is better..? all about two years old  tongue.gif

1) artic silver 2
2) artic silver ceramic
3) thermalright SI97 supplied compound

ok..

i bought:-
- AMD x2 6000+
- ASUS M2A-VM HDMI
- 2x 1GB 667 Corsair ValueSelect

i adjust the chipset vcore to 1.4v, ddr2 vcore to 2.0v and processor vcore to 1.5v and set the bus speed to 220mhz and the system run at 3300mhz beautifully, the only problem is the CPU temp hovering around 56-58, is it a bit high?

i am using AMD stock cooler with the stock compound, will the above mentioned compound help? pls advise..  notworthy.gif
Those compounds will help, but only a few degrees at most. From best to worst, Artic silver ceramique, Artic silver 2, thermalright supplied compound.

Added on October 27, 2007, 6:39 pmDamn, just read through the Black edition review..I want a brisbane G2 for my HTPC (must be cheap la)..no need fast to hold any performance records..even at 3.1GHz the power consumption is damn low..can passive cool if necessary..

Added on October 27, 2007, 7:00 pmFound out how to idenify the new Brisbane G2 processors, OPN ends with DO.

Someone faster find the price..

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Oct 27 2007, 07:00 PM
CV6149
post Oct 27 2007, 07:32 PM

La Furia Roja!!
1,347 posts

wow..a new revision brisbane???
Any review??
xixo_12
post Oct 27 2007, 07:36 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Oct 26 2007, 09:22 PM)
4.1GHz......ish, use LN2 also dunno can make it or not  sweat.gif
hehe just tease ur la.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(CV6149 @ Oct 26 2007, 11:00 PM)
really impress with your mobo dblooi.
damn kaw!

my dfi only can achieved 370HTT and 1850mhz for HT link
no need cpu z laaa coz lower than taiko already...
wut the higher HTT can set?? the result is combined rite??

will impress if this G2 is overclockable

This post has been edited by xixo_12: Oct 27 2007, 07:37 PM
TS-pWs-
post Oct 27 2007, 07:44 PM

8,545 posts

IMO, G2 is as overclockable as G1.

QUOTE("informal from xtremesystem forum")
The important thing about G2,aside the much better OC potential ,is the fact that AMD did make some changes to mem. controller and L2 latencies!L2 latencies went down while mem.bandwidth went up considerably when compared with G1!
Also mark03's CPU test(obviously CPU bound test,doh ) shows nice improvement of 6% going from G1 to G2 5000+,thanks to mem. contrl. improvement.

xtremesystem link

-pWs-

This post has been edited by -pWs-: Oct 27 2007, 07:51 PM
CV6149
post Oct 27 2007, 08:00 PM

La Furia Roja!!
1,347 posts

Seems like G2 is some sort like F3...
With a improved memory latency and improve memory controller..hehehehhe
lohwenli
post Oct 27 2007, 08:04 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

That tomshardware review of the 5000 Black Edition counts as a Brisbane G2 review. Read it in full detail. G2 has improved overclockability and greatly lowered power consumtion even at high frequencies. 3.0GHz on stock voltage should be possible for most G2, and if the voltage is kept that low it will only take 7* watts at most, which allows it to compete with C2D even in full load power consumption and performance (it pulls up even with the E6550 when OC to 3.1GHz). Things are looking good for AMD's 65nm processors, even Barcelona has a new stepping, B2 (original release is A0), hopefully it might resolve the clockspeed issues that plagued the original Barcelona release.

Btw, before you fire me about the known fact that Brisbane is slower than Windsor, there hasn't been any comparision between the G1 and G2 stepping in terms of clock for clock performance. In the tomshardware review though, at 3.1GHz it beats the 3.0Ghz Windsor F3 by roughly 1.5% in non-cache size sensitive applications with a 3.33% difference in clock speed(in cache sensitive applications it gets pawned by the 6000's and the E6550 large caches;1MBx2 and 4MB respectively). So yes, its most likely it will never beat the Windsor F3s in overclocked performance, but it now can be clocked up to high enough speeds while remaining really cool.
CV6149
post Oct 27 2007, 08:09 PM

La Furia Roja!!
1,347 posts

emm this would be a good replacement for F3..since the F3 supplies is very scarce..BUt Im sure we would see a more benchamrk btw G1,G2 and F3 soon..
TS-pWs-
post Oct 27 2007, 08:24 PM

8,545 posts

And for the B2, I saw somewhr with 2.4GHz overclocked speed. And it score 24s IIANM for SPI 1M.
Kinda impressive nod.gif

Editted: It is 32s for SPI 1M

-pWs-

This post has been edited by -pWs-: Oct 27 2007, 09:15 PM
xixo_12
post Oct 27 2007, 09:05 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Oct 27 2007, 08:24 PM)
And for the B2, I saw somewhr with 2.4GHz overclocked speed. And it score 24s IIANM for SPI 1M.
Kinda impressive nod.gif

-pWs-
got link.. want see..
tachlio
post Oct 27 2007, 09:09 PM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Oct 27 2007, 08:24 PM)
Kinda impressive nod.gif

-pWs-
2.4Ghz with 24s??

really hmm.gif rclxms.gif
TS-pWs-
post Oct 27 2007, 09:12 PM

8,545 posts

I am sorry. It is B1 sweat.gifsweat.gif
Even w our best K8. We cannot do 32s w 2.4GHz
But k10 does improve if compare w k8

Edited: It is 32s not 24s for SPI 1M.

Barcelona 2350 B1

Ermm...i dun think it is a suitable place to discuss barcelona. Better keep to the topic smile.gif
So anyone here got his/her G2?

-pWs-
tachlio
post Oct 27 2007, 10:47 PM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Oct 27 2007, 09:12 PM)
I am sorry. It is B1 sweat.gifsweat.gif
Even w our best K8. We cannot do 32s w 2.4GHz
But k10 does improve if compare w k8

Edited: It is 32s not 24s for SPI 1M.

Barcelona 2350 B1

Ermm...i dun think it is a suitable place to discuss barcelona. Better keep to the topic smile.gif
So anyone here got his/her G2?

-pWs-
LYP having G2 ady??

or current new stock all is G2...

next week going back AMD factory doing my FYP... hehe may have chance to try~~
xixo_12
post Oct 27 2007, 11:03 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Oct 27 2007, 10:47 PM)
LYP having  G2 ady??

or current new stock all is G2...

next week going back AMD factory doing my FYP... hehe may have chance to try~~
giv me one la.. wah. which one u want bro?? F3 or G2?? whistling.gif
tachlio
post Oct 28 2007, 12:03 AM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Oct 27 2007, 11:03 PM)
giv me one la.. wah. which one u want bro?? F3 or G2?? whistling.gif
haha~~ i only know it is opteron or dual core or for laptop proc~~

but i i don know what speed it is~~ coz need send to Sg to print the code above the proc~~ and test in Sg too~

Pg here only manufacturer only~~~

But i know currently AMD Penang is busy about Quad Core also~~ icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by tachlio: Oct 28 2007, 12:04 AM
TS-pWs-
post Oct 28 2007, 12:30 AM

8,545 posts

Yea...Phenom coming out soon in parallel w ATI new card brows.gif
IMO, i think F3 still win G2.

-pWs-

This post has been edited by -pWs-: Oct 28 2007, 05:47 AM
TS-pWs-
post Oct 28 2007, 05:47 AM

8,545 posts

First page editted.
If anything wrong, please PM me.
I am more than willing change for u guys.

If new entry, please follow the rules.

-pWs-
xixo_12
post Oct 28 2007, 09:39 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

wah.. quite interesting with new edited page
dblooi
post Oct 28 2007, 09:58 AM

1,404 posts

oc just now, finally make it to 21s zone rclxm9.gif
also , able to hit 3981MHz clock speed rclxm9.gif
thanks to CV6149 for the fish pump suggestion laugh.gif

@ongbs
you are right about something , one step to 4GHz brows.gif
almost a 100% oc ..what a wonderful day

Pi 1M 21.953s
cpu-z validation: http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=260412

clock speed 3981MHz cpu-z validation: http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=260411

finally i make it cry.gif

tachlio
post Oct 28 2007, 11:43 AM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Oct 28 2007, 09:58 AM)
oc just now, finally make it to 21s zone  rclxm9.gif
also , able to hit 3981MHz clock speed  rclxm9.gif
thanks to CV6149 for the fish pump suggestion  laugh.gif

@ongbs
you are right about something , one step to 4GHz brows.gif
almost a 100% oc ..what a wonderful day

Pi 1M 21.953s
cpu-z validation: http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=260412

clock speed 3981MHz cpu-z validation: http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=260411
finally i make it  cry.gif
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

drool.gif drool.gif 4ghz rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by tachlio: Oct 28 2007, 11:43 AM

108 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:49 PM