How 0% installment work?

KineticKill
post Oct 1 2023, 09:17 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Oct 1 2023, 02:12 PM)
Thanks for the clarification. I'm trying to avoid personal loan to purchase 15K Workstation Desktop ... seems no choice then.
Can always ask the bank to increase your credit limit.

Or get new CC with cash promo and 0% interest in repayment.
KineticKill
post Oct 1 2023, 09:28 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Oct 1 2023, 02:21 PM)
It seems this can work ... personal loan interest is too crazy for me to absorbed
If you do have a steady and high income, applying to increase credit limit or applying for a new card shouldn’t be a problem.

Current Ringgitplus promo ends on 2nd October and none gives 0% cash upfront. Wait for next round
KineticKill
post Oct 2 2023, 02:25 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(viktorherald @ Oct 2 2023, 06:56 AM)
What he means is that the 3799 is already priced in the interest cost.

For example, I dunno what the term, but say the retail willing to pocket RM3600 for the sales, so just mark up the price till 3799 that 199 goes to bank, 3600 goes to retail

The price is masked that yes, for consumer like us, the end price is what matters. But he is explaining the possible reason of Zero Installment plan items tend to be more expensive than the items without this offered

So if you cash buy an item with zero installment plan option, you may be letting the retail pocket the 199 for no reason, hence it is wise to at least sought for discount
You never bought iphone is it?

You can’t nego the retail price. Can’t get cheaper by cash. The 0% instalment is literally taking the retail price and dividing it by financing tenure. Bank is making money from late/minimum payment. Guess what is the minimum payment for 0% instalment?
KineticKill
post Oct 2 2023, 02:37 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Oct 2 2023, 07:34 AM)
Latest comment only shows how stupid ppl are.

That's why I say. Dun waste your time explaining to stupid ppl.

For the iPhone example, the price is already marked up to include the interest price. Whether you pay upfront or pay by installment, you are still paying the same marked up price.

No wonder ppl say apple fanboys are retards.
If there’s no difference, why would you not take the 0% instalment?

And where do you get the “non-marked up” iphone?
KineticKill
post Oct 2 2023, 02:38 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Oct 2 2023, 07:27 AM)
Orang tua kot, ingat macam zaman phone dulu beli individually from random shop kat lowyat where each shop lain lain harga.

Now semua jual ikut harga RRP provided by brand.
Entah.

Kadang aku masuk dalam ni rasa makin kurang IQ aku. Nasib baik la ada juga waras.
KineticKill
post Oct 2 2023, 02:44 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(blackamikaze @ Oct 2 2023, 07:40 AM)
ni quote paling bodoh setakat ni. First time i heard i phone retail price actually include interest price. top kek
Aku rasa betul la apa emino cakap tu
KineticKill
post Oct 2 2023, 06:55 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Oct 2 2023, 07:50 AM)
It's ok. You still dun get it.
You see Apple takes advantage of ppl like you who thinks there really is such a thing as zero percent payment.

No I dun buy overpriced stuff. Maybe apple sheep like you does.
QUOTE(viktorherald @ Oct 2 2023, 07:55 AM)
Actually i didnt use apple as an example, just the numbers only

Apple can get away with it because Apple is the only one that sells iOS phones, thus have a monopoly on iOS market and have stronger negotiation power.
You dont like the high price? oh yea boo hoo go buy your android yeah

whereas like for the normal electrical shops, you have more leverage on this as there are vast amount of brands

and also, i also didnt claim that asking for discount always work if the item doesnt have zero-interest installment plan, but hey, why not try it?
----
the point is, bank doesnt give 0% installment for free, the cost is surely charged to retail, then its passed on to consumers
Ok, let’s use other example.

I can also pay my car insurance in 0% instalment for 12 months. Same price if I pay lump sum. Now what?
KineticKill
post Oct 2 2023, 07:00 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Oct 2 2023, 08:50 AM)
Could it be the bank absorb/waive the fee as marketing/promo expenses to be more competitive?
It’s statistics.

Look at insurance. How do insurance companies cover a lot of money when you pay very little? Because they calculate risk and how much they can cover over premium and still have profit.

Similarly, they calculate likelihood of people missing payment from 0% instalment and they find that they can still make profit.
KineticKill
post Oct 2 2023, 07:02 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(sexysarah1992 @ Oct 2 2023, 09:21 AM)
Because for 0% interest, u need a credit card which alot of ppl dont qualify.
It’s not that difficult to get. RM30k/year income already can get.
KineticKill
post Oct 2 2023, 10:41 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(viktorherald @ Oct 2 2023, 12:04 PM)
Installment using your credit card right? Then it still apply, bank will charge insurance agency.

Hmm, the point is not everything is clear cut that if a thing has zero installment plan, then there is surely another cheaper variant of it. Its more to as long the business is offering zero installment plan, then the fees will be part of its operation cost. Then it's up the business to absorb the cost or to pass the cost to consumers

I'm not sure the industry norm for insurance

It's just that the zero installment plan might not be as free as we thought, the fees may be already priced into the nett price of the product. That's why 0% installment can be offered.

Bank have to make money somewhere, won't so good giving people 0% loan for 12 months. Hence the bank will charge merchant. Then it is up to the merchant to decide what to do with the additional coating

That is all
The cc charge is service provider charge. Visa, AMEX etc. Those cannot escape. It will eat into the profit a bit, but giving some convenience to customer to have a bit less profit is acceptable to the business than losing that customer.

Now coming back to the 0% instalment, that is financing by the bank and risk held by the bank. So how do they get profit? Because they look at statistics and find that they can profit from the late charges from people defaulted on their minimum payment, even if some of us pay on time.

Unlike other spending on cc of which minimum payment is five percent of the outstanding balance or RM50 (whichever is higher), the minimum payment of 0% instalment is exactly what you have to pay monthly for your financing tenure.

For example:
Normal - outstanding monthly balance (RM2000), minimum payment (RM100)

0% instalment - outstanding monthly balance (RM2000), minimum payment (RM2000)

So, enough people pay late/less than minimum amount that they can give 0% instalment to those who can pay that monthly amount and still profit.

Again, the financing and risk of the 0% instalment are borne by the bank, not merchant. Merchants only pay for the service provider charge.

0.0248sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:45 PM