Is WISE legit
TSshaniandras2787
May 25 2023, 07:02 PM, updated 3y ago
was recommended by a friend to WISE when i asked whether are there any alternative payment channels which i could use for online transactions and at the same time, be kept separate from my other principal accounts. https://wise.com/my/anyone currently using it? any pros/cons?
ZeneticX
May 25 2023, 07:06 PM
yes its legit pros - competitive exchange rate - intuitive app - allows you to have multiple foreign currency account cons - there's transfer and withdrawal limits there's a discussion thread at Finance section https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4953197/+1580This post has been edited by ZeneticX: May 25 2023, 07:10 PM
gashout
May 25 2023, 07:09 PM
legit, if you are transferring money between countries of your bank accounts.
or if you wish to go to a country to travel, you can use wise card which has that currency that you have topped up prior so you dont have to be charged horrible rates by local banks
max_cavalera
May 25 2023, 07:11 PM
Legit.
My fren working offshore using it
alexkos
May 25 2023, 07:18 PM
Me using it for foodpandan
X10 better than credit kad
cucumber
May 25 2023, 07:59 PM
Legit, using it to transfer money to Singapore bank & trading accounts.
Good stuff! Can't think of any cons for what I'm doing.
PATAR
May 25 2023, 08:15 PM

Yes, have used it several times to transfer money to Malaysia. Very competitive fees compared to other services, and very fast as well.
MR_alien
May 25 2023, 08:16 PM
not sure if it's a direct competitor/direct alternative or not
but i'm now using merchantrade money multi-currency wallet
AthrunIJ
May 25 2023, 08:17 PM
Legit.
Using it myself for IBKR funding
👀🍿🍷🤤
Lembu Goreng
May 25 2023, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(alexkos @ May 25 2023, 07:18 PM) Me using it for foodpandan X10 better than credit kad X10 better than credit card in what sense?
PATAR
May 25 2023, 08:52 PM

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ May 25 2023, 08:41 PM) X10 better than credit card in what sense? I have "normal" bank issued cc, I have some niche cc, with no extra fee for currency conversion, only use Mastercard official rate with no extra surcharche. Now when I go abroad naturally the latter card with no conversion fee is a lot better than that normal bank issued cc with conversion fees. But, transfering the money with Wise to a local bank account actually has an even lower cost than that "no fees" cc. As long as the amount is fairly high, like above RM5000. Wise fees are even lower than the official MC/Visa conversion rate.
Lembu Goreng
May 25 2023, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(PATAR @ May 25 2023, 08:52 PM) I have "normal" bank issued cc, I have some niche cc, with no extra fee for currency conversion, only use Mastercard official rate with no extra surcharche. Now when I go abroad naturally the latter card with no conversion fee is a lot better than that normal bank issued cc with conversion fees. But, transfering the money with Wise to a local bank account actually has an even lower cost than that "no fees" cc. As long as the amount is fairly high, like above RM5000. Wise fees are even lower than the official MC/Visa conversion rate. I get the conversion fees, many mentioned it But i’m surprised that you could use credit card to transfer to local bank account
mowlous
May 25 2023, 09:07 PM
Legit for quite some time lo ... better then paypal. International conman always prefer paypal. For wise the dispute tribunal support is WAY better then paypal.
MrBaba
May 25 2023, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(alexkos @ May 25 2023, 07:18 PM) Me using it for foodpandan X10 better than credit kad Not till food panda screw u over then u know why cc is better
kenji1903
May 25 2023, 09:32 PM
just used Wise for my travel, very convenient and the exchange rates are as per XE.com
MrBaba
May 25 2023, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ May 25 2023, 09:01 PM) I get the conversion fees, many mentioned it But i’m surprised that you could use credit card to transfer to local bank account Not all bank ya , some bank do charge cash advance fee to use wise . Alot ppl kena dy so pandai pandai read the TNC
Lembu Goreng
May 25 2023, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(MrBaba @ May 25 2023, 09:33 PM) Not all bank ya , some bank do charge cash advance fee to use wise . Alot ppl kena dy so pandai pandai read the TNC So it’s cash advance. Crazy to use credit card for that purpose, should not even be in consideration in the first place Anyway I doubt wise has cash advance This post has been edited by Lembu Goreng: May 25 2023, 09:59 PM
Lembu Goreng
Double
This post has been edited by Lembu Goreng: May 25 2023, 09:58 PM
Lembu Goreng
Triple
This post has been edited by Lembu Goreng: May 25 2023, 09:58 PM
TSshaniandras2787
May 26 2023, 09:38 AM
thanks for all the replies, great to know that it is legit.
already registered and account!
awol
May 26 2023, 09:42 AM
use it on my xbox to buy game.
UserU
May 26 2023, 10:45 AM
CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
Thanks to WISE, that thing's a godsend. Gone were the days of having to bring manual cash and being subjected to horrendous rates.
ikanbilis
May 26 2023, 11:05 AM
Been using wise to transfer btw my sgd n rm account. Receive fund in my bank within seconds compared to traditional bank transfer 1 to 2 days
t3n
May 26 2023, 11:31 AM
Legit.. use it to receive my salary..
TSshaniandras2787
May 26 2023, 01:01 PM
UPDATE: just used WISE to make 2 online overseas transactions and it felt good.
was using CIMB's KWIK card before this but they nonchalantly just discontinued it. Applied for the OCTOSAVERS account where they promised a separate debit card will be issued but they ended up saying they cannot issue 2 debit cards for one customer (total BS).