find somewhere in between, even within the same country
there's places/region/rural area that can be describe differently
for example within malaysia itself there's different city with less crime

cloudwan0
post May 25 2023, 09:52 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(quebix @ May 25 2023, 09:40 AM)
one thing i wanna add to my previous comment though....
malaysia is safe, but not as safe as it was, lets say, 30,40 years ago.

I can only say that because im 40 plus now.

last time kids can go do a lot of things themselves. safe.
now pergi sekolah jalan kaki for 5 minutes pon worry kena kidnap.
naik basikal 5 minit to go anywhere pon dangerous because too many bikes/cars etc.

i guess a lot of things were safer to do many many years back.

and i guess those that say malaysia is not safe are also comparing malaysia to the olden days.
i agreed on this, when im primary, i go school by myself, walk to tuition
now i need to always keep my eye on my kids when outside...
MR_alien
post May 25 2023, 09:52 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

if wanna compared to south africa...it's like heaven and earth already

we're literally can be 1 of the safest already
TScalodin
post May 25 2023, 09:54 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(quebix @ May 25 2023, 09:40 AM)
one thing i wanna add to my previous comment though....
malaysia is safe, but not as safe as it was, lets say, 30,40 years ago.

I can only say that because im 40 plus now.

last time kids can go do a lot of things themselves. safe.
now pergi sekolah jalan kaki for 5 minutes pon worry kena kidnap.
naik basikal 5 minit to go anywhere pon dangerous because too many bikes/cars etc.

i guess a lot of things were safer to do many many years back.

and i guess those that say malaysia is not safe are also comparing malaysia to the olden days.
I am also 40 plus, so there is just one point I would like to add, the kids nowadays are very sheltered, so I guess they don't have the street smart that we used to have also (how to ponteng sekolah..go out which route then cannot be spotted) and when we were kids, there are less traffic, things will and have to change, can you imagine if now we still with our 56k modem, then you connect to TM got the iconic sound.

Back in the days, kidnapping all still happen, but we dont know about it, because news dont travel so fast and far, now even small stuff happen in new mexico you also can know.
Rusty Nail
post May 25 2023, 09:59 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

Was mugged at knife point at age 17

What kind of grown ass man would mug a 17yo in school uniform?
Ttbatdtptsm
post May 25 2023, 10:01 AM

80 posts

According to global peace index 2022 we are no 18 out of 163 countries in the world

https://www.visionofhumanity.org/wp-content...mibextid=Zxz2cZ
TScalodin
post May 25 2023, 10:13 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ May 25 2023, 09:59 AM)

Easy target, mugging is a crime of opportunity, they will always choose easy targets.
quebix
post May 25 2023, 10:17 AM

Gelato Director
1,238 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ May 25 2023, 09:54 AM)
I am also 40 plus, so there is just one point I would like to add, the kids nowadays are very sheltered, so I guess they don't have the street smart that we used to have also (how to ponteng sekolah..go out which route then cannot be spotted) and when we were kids, there are less traffic, things will and have to change, can you imagine if now we still with our 56k modem, then you connect to TM got the iconic sound.

Back in the days, kidnapping all still happen, but we dont know about it, because news dont travel so fast and far, now even small stuff happen in new mexico you also can know.
as much as i agree that kids nowadays are very sheltered, i do believe that it is also because nowadays it is not as safe as before.

im not saying 40 years ago no kidnapping.
i personally experience it myself.
from my school to the main road to take bus, i got followed by a chinese uncle on a bike. after i walk a few simpang, there he is again, just staring at me.
this was in primary school.
anyway, i sorok2 use other roads and made sure its not secluded and then made my way to the main road. (i agree our generation also more street smart)
one of my friends also kena kidnap with a lady in purdah (convenient way of disguising yourself).

but looking at the crime rate nowadays also we can see that it is not as safe as before.

higher population means more people.
more people also means more bad people, more crime as well.
hence not as safe.

last time i can go to tuition center nearby central market all the way from hulu kelang by public bus. and this was in primary school.
of coz we know not to lepak at secluded stairwas at Central market where people will call you and force u to give them money.
i also kept some money hidden in case i kena pau. (again, i agree we are more street smart, as we do live in the "street" )

nowadays if primary school children naik public bus thats full of low class foreign workers, then go to central market, confirm kena con, kena pau, kena cabul etc.

imagine seeing a 10 year old naik public bus to Kotaraya, chowkitt or Central market by himself.
not as many as it used to be i can tell you.

Natsukashii
post May 25 2023, 10:19 AM

^^
1,084 posts

Because the past 60 years the majority liked the gomen that won.

They kecam because of corruption or stupid policies or unfairness (helang/pipit) also, they still support because those party convinced them, janji olang kito.

However, now since Mahadi, there is no guarantee.

In other places, people there fight gomen. Like you see when they made vaccine mandatory, people there fight. People here will accept anything the gomen says. Give teh tarik and say akhirat lebih penting also they'll vote for you.

Maybe we should look at the bright side, I would say we're safe so it's really something to be thankful about. Rather here than Paris.

This post has been edited by Natsukashii: May 25 2023, 10:20 AM
adam71
post May 25 2023, 10:24 AM

88 posts

lol...my daughter get robbed @ Puchong jaya....... 6pm.....near maybank

lol...my house masuk pencuri...lol

lol...my bike missing.....already 7 years....no news.......2nd bike tayar kena curi.....lol

lol....my factory hostel masuk pencuri.....barang bangla gold...money gone...lol

This post has been edited by adam71: May 25 2023, 10:26 AM
darosha
post May 25 2023, 10:29 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(Ttbatdtptsm @ May 25 2023, 10:01 AM)
According to global peace index 2022 we are no 18 out of 163 countries in the world

https://www.visionofhumanity.org/wp-content...mibextid=Zxz2cZ
within asia pacific, malaysia not bad
safer than australia
TScalodin
post May 25 2023, 10:29 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(quebix @ May 25 2023, 10:17 AM)
as much as i agree that kids nowadays are very sheltered, i do believe that it is also because nowadays it is not as safe as before.

im not saying 40 years ago no kidnapping.
i personally experience it myself.
from my school to the main road to take bus, i got followed by a chinese uncle on a bike. after i walk a few simpang, there he is again, just staring at me.
this was in primary school.
anyway, i sorok2 use other roads and made sure its not secluded and then made my way to the main road. (i agree our generation also more street smart)
one of my friends also kena kidnap with a lady in purdah (convenient way of disguising yourself).

but looking at the crime rate nowadays also we can see that it is not as safe as before.

higher population means more people.
more people also means more bad people, more crime as well.
hence not as safe.

last time i can go to tuition center nearby central market all the way from hulu kelang by public bus. and this was in primary school.
of coz we know not to lepak at secluded stairwas at Central market where people will call you and force u to give them money.
i also kept some money hidden in case i kena pau. (again, i agree we are more street smart, as we do live in the "street" )

nowadays if primary school children naik public bus thats full of low class foreign workers, then go to central market, confirm kena con, kena pau, kena cabul etc.

imagine seeing a 10 year old naik public bus to Kotaraya, chowkitt or Central market by himself.
not as many as it used to be i can tell you.
For some reason, I never kena "PAU'ed" before, even when I went to places that all my friends kena "PAU'ed". Same thing, I never kena bullied in school (I am also not a bully ar)...I made sure I wasn't a victim

Jv8888
post May 25 2023, 10:38 AM

82 posts

it depends, where u stay, where u work, and how u travel from 1 place to 1 place..still remember last time cycling back from cybercafe, suddenly a car drive near me, and cause me to fall down, and then few of them come down from the car and ask for money.
mushigen
post May 25 2023, 10:41 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ May 25 2023, 09:59 AM)

Are you still suffering from PTSD due to this?
Rusty Nail
post May 25 2023, 10:45 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 25 2023, 10:41 AM)
Are you still suffering from PTSD due to this?
nope, but i do worry for my kids tho
mushigen
post May 25 2023, 10:46 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ May 25 2023, 10:45 AM)
nope, but i do worry for my kids tho
Understand, especially people think kids now carry more money and hp.
Boy96
post May 25 2023, 10:48 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Street became alot safer when foodpanda and grabfood was introduced
DSV4600
post May 25 2023, 10:49 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ May 25 2023, 09:24 AM)
A lot of times, when you see news like gangster gaduh, people getting shot (basically targeted assassinations') , those bike muggers and etc, then everyone come and say Malaysia not safe lar, that lar, or whatever.

My own 2 cents after travelling extensively in my 24 year career, Malaysia is a safe enough country, public safety is not comparable to Japan or Singapore or China, but we are much better than the rest of our Asean neighbours and also of course we are much better than places like UK, States, lotsa country from Europe. We are of course way way better than Latin America, Africa.

So safety is basically a perception, if a person has live all his life in Malaysia, then he wont have any thing to compared too. I think a lot of Malaysians do not know what is "No Safe". When you walk down certain streets in Rio..that is not safe, when you go to certain areas in London during the wrong time, you are not safe. The not safe in this case is probably gonna get mug and killed.

Just bincangkan......and if can keep it cordial lar, not everything need to kow peh...betul tak.
No need to bincang. Malaysia's neighbour is Singapore. Last time independence at the same time.
Why is Singapore 3.4x safer vs. Malaysia? So Malaysia is not really that safe in comparison.
SUSbananajoe
post May 25 2023, 10:49 AM

PhotoPhag
661 posts

U walk behind chow kit at dark also not safe
Rusty Nail
post May 25 2023, 10:54 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ May 25 2023, 10:48 AM)
Street became alot safer when foodpanda and grabfood was introduced
this i kinda agree. when there's easily accessible and legal means of earning a living, one won't simply turn to crime.
like it or not, tipping culture may contribute to the positive factor. of course not the full retard mandatory tipping like in the US

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0170sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:49 PM