Samsung Fold 3

TSCarlos_Santan
post May 21 2023, 06:07 PM, updated 3y ago

112 posts

is it worth buying? thinking of buying fold 3 instead since fold 4 is virtually the same. fold 5 too expensive.
maybe if i buy fold 3 after fold 5 release the price of fold 3 will go down even more.
Baconateer
post May 21 2023, 06:10 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

Z Fold 4 has a much better chip

Would recommend getting tht instead
Arvinaaaaa
post May 21 2023, 06:15 PM

Peace :D
3,930 posts

QUOTE(Carlos_Santan @ May 21 2023, 06:07 PM)
is it worth buying? thinking of buying fold 3 instead since fold 4 is virtually the same. fold 5 too expensive.
maybe if i buy fold 3 after fold 5 release the price of fold 3 will go down even more.
wait for the fold 5 with the new hinge mechanism. tq
-kytz-
post May 21 2023, 06:16 PM

12,573 posts

You miss out a 1-2 years on Samsung's 4-5 year o/s updates for every new flagship phone
TSCarlos_Santan
post May 21 2023, 06:21 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ May 21 2023, 06:10 PM)
Z Fold 4 has a much better chip

Would recommend getting tht instead
how much more power do you actually need to be honest, the fold 3 is more than adequate for normal use.
i use my phone mainly for work, watch videos and browse the internet.
even fold 3 camera is pretty good.
if we keep chasing the bestest and greatest model, it will never end. if i buy fold 5, comes next year fold 6 or 7 my fold 5 becomes the thing of the past.
Baconateer
post May 21 2023, 06:22 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(Carlos_Santan @ May 21 2023, 06:21 PM)
how much more power do you actually need to be honest, the fold 3 is more than adequate for normal use.
i use my phone mainly for work, watch videos and browse the internet.
even fold 3 camera is pretty good.
if we keep chasing the bestest and greatest model, it will never end. if i buy fold 5, comes next year fold 6 or 7 my fold 5 becomes the thing of the past.
Tht depends on how often u change a phone

But Z fold 4 can easily last u min 4 years if taken good care of.
TSCarlos_Santan
post May 21 2023, 06:23 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ May 21 2023, 06:15 PM)
i cant justify the additional 1-2k more than fold 3 just for better hinge
i may buy fold 5 instead if it can go 5 meters underwater

This post has been edited by Carlos_Santan: May 21 2023, 06:24 PM
TSCarlos_Santan
post May 21 2023, 06:26 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ May 21 2023, 06:22 PM)
Tht depends on how often u change a phone

But Z fold 4 can easily last u min 4 years if taken good care of.
my current phone is note10+ thats in 2019. dropped the phone on concrete floor cracked the screen. cost to change new screen is bangwall.gif

Baconateer
post May 21 2023, 06:35 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(Carlos_Santan @ May 21 2023, 06:26 PM)
my current phone is note10+ thats in 2019. dropped the phone on concrete floor cracked the screen. cost to change new screen is  bangwall.gif
Well...foldable phone needs extra care..
TSCarlos_Santan
post May 21 2023, 06:53 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ May 21 2023, 06:35 PM)
Well...foldable phone needs extra care..
agreed. was going to buy S series but price more or less the same and fold series can unfold to a bigger screen is what attract more the most.
if not fold 3 then maybe i'll try to get xiaomi 12s ultra since im into casual photography as well
Baconateer
post May 21 2023, 06:56 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(Carlos_Santan @ May 21 2023, 06:53 PM)
agreed. was going to buy S series but price more or less the same and fold series can unfold to a bigger screen is what attract more the most.
if not fold 3 then maybe i'll try to get xiaomi 12s ultra since im into casual photography as well
The nxt samsung event is happening around end of July..

Should wait abit longer for fold 5 to release and thn get fold 4.
outstarman
post May 22 2023, 02:37 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(Carlos_Santan @ May 21 2023, 06:23 PM)
i cant justify the additional 1-2k more than fold 3 just for better hinge
i may buy fold 5 instead if it can go 5 meters underwater
mind to share how much is fold 3 compare to fold 4 that u can get?
TSCarlos_Santan
post May 22 2023, 08:27 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(outstarman @ May 22 2023, 02:37 PM)
mind to share how much is fold 3 compare to fold 4 that u can get?
fold 3 & fold 4
https://shopee.com.my/product/342344213/183...rm=9abkhy7v5mg3
badboy77
post May 22 2023, 08:30 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ May 21 2023, 06:15 PM)
Waiting for your sales haha.
SUSNo Wear Mask
post Jun 6 2023, 11:32 AM

30 posts

Fold phones normally quite bulky and heavy.
TSCarlos_Santan
post Jun 6 2023, 12:54 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(No Wear Mask @ Jun 6 2023, 11:32 AM)
Fold phones normally quite bulky and heavy.
not true as i just bought fold 4 new few days ago and in my opinion not even as bulky as ppl saying. just slightly thick.. just slightly.
it fits in my pocket just as nicely as my previous note 10+
the front screen is actually quite nice to use albeit slimmer than my note phone.
the real reason you buy fold is when you unfold it then only you will understand what the rave is all about.
it's really the future of smartphones in my opinion. the day of getting a tablet is the thing of the past 😊
i use phone for my work email, do some design on canva, watch YouTube/movies and read books. this device is absolutely perfect for those.
-kytz-
post Jun 6 2023, 12:56 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Carlos_Santan @ Jun 6 2023, 12:54 PM)
not true as i just bought fold 4 new few days ago and in my opinion not even as bulky as ppl saying. just slightly thick.. just slightly.
it fits in my pocket just as nicely as my previous note 10+
the front screen is actually quite nice to use albeit slimmer than my note phone.
the real reason you buy fold is when you unfold it then only you will understand what the rave is all about.
it's really the future of smartphones in my opinion. the day of getting a tablet is the thing of the past 😊
i use phone for my work email, do some design on canva, watch YouTube/movies and read books. this device is absolutely perfect for those.
Grats. So you went for the Fold 4! How much did you get it new?

TSCarlos_Santan
post Jun 6 2023, 01:06 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 6 2023, 12:56 PM)
Grats. So you went for the Fold 4! How much did you get it new?
it was displayed for 6k+ but i told the person in charge at the gallery that i saw Samsung Malaysia doing promotion selling for RM5699 256GB and i wanted to buy online but phantom black was out of stock just the day i wanted to purchase and their online representative says to check back later, so i went to Samsung gallery thinking they also selling same price but didn't.
so they matched the price but didn't get the buds and casing. no big deals as i don't need those. 😊
-kytz-
post Jun 6 2023, 01:32 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Carlos_Santan @ Jun 6 2023, 01:06 PM)
it was displayed for 6k+ but i told the person in charge at the gallery that i saw Samsung Malaysia doing promotion selling for RM5699 256GB and i wanted to buy online but phantom black was out of stock just the day i wanted to purchase and their online representative says to check back later, so i went to Samsung gallery thinking they also selling same price but didn't.
so they matched the price but didn't get the buds and casing. no big deals as i don't need those. 😊
Ehh I was checking, shopee preferred seller selling it at 5,299 but you can get 15k coins cashback which kinda makes it to be about RM5,150.
chtan
post Jun 6 2023, 01:39 PM

2,353 posts

Not recommending a fold unless you wanna pamper the phone like your precious baby. This phone is just too fragile. When in intensive usage, you can the original screen protector bubbled up and need a change. If you really wanna a folding phone, go with the water-dropped hinge design instead of the Samsung type.

I am a Fold 3 user. The crazy thing is your phone warranty is totally useless and you need to buy separate insurance to cover the phone screen. Worse is even with insurance, you still make to pay if the screen needed a replacement. This is getting crazier with each release.

0.0180sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:31 PM