Digi in Kuching, Sarawak getting worse?

TScarvajal18
post May 20 2023, 04:08 PM, updated 3y ago

97 posts

As per title, anyone from kuching encounter the same?
moiskyrie
post May 20 2023, 04:45 PM

3,212 posts

Yup...
Very bad....
Sometime can suddenly no signal....
Sometime got signal but can't data....
YoungMan
post May 21 2023, 04:25 PM

6,785 posts

I already notice since last year. Even my house in the middle of Kuching city also can only get 1 or 2 bar 4g when indoor. Inside office hardly get 5G. That is when I decide to switch my main line to Hotlink. I still have 1 digi prepaid line, hardly use so not sure how it is now.
TScarvajal18
post May 22 2023, 02:03 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ May 21 2023, 05:25 PM)
I already notice since last year. Even my house in the middle of Kuching city also can only get 1 or 2 bar 4g when indoor. Inside office hardly get 5G. That is when I decide to switch my main line to Hotlink. I still have 1 digi prepaid line, hardly use so not sure how it is now.
was thinking hard want to switch to maxis or not leh cos I think if celcom should be same with dig since they already merge but my home wifi using digi 300mbps, if switch then no discount for both my mobile and wifi. doh.gif but how was maxis for you so far?
YoungMan
post May 22 2023, 10:12 PM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(carvajal18 @ May 22 2023, 02:03 PM)
was thinking hard want to switch to maxis or not leh cos I think if celcom should be same with dig since they already merge but my home wifi using digi 300mbps, if switch then no discount for both my mobile and wifi.  doh.gif but how was maxis for you so far?
Which is why I don't quite like the idea to combine with fibre, unless a close and trusted family member want to use the postpaid line and i use home fibre.
In terms of coverage, it is consistent at where I stay, speedtest can hit over 100mbps. In the office, it is hit and missed, sometimes 4G sometimes E, thanks to no booster antenna in the high rise building. I have not travel out of town, so can't comment on the performance of Maxis throughout Sarawak.
Things I missed about Digi: can receive SMS even on airplane mode (wifi calling), while Maxis cannot.
Piers
post May 23 2023, 12:41 AM

1,900 posts

digi wifi calling can be use even travel aboard
digitalifelesss
post May 23 2023, 09:16 AM

238 posts

yup, definitely not the usual speed I got before (easilly 30mbps), now average just 10mbps. Sometime no service for no reason, despite no storm weather / blackout.
suggest to set custom DNS as well, such as google DNS, otherwise things may not run / respond at all.
don't use speedtest.net, it's totally rigged, reporting speed that you won't get when doing anything else.
ever since the speed slow down since march/april, things hasn't recovered to former performance.

unfortunately there is no other plan alternative for Infinite 150 (the original, not the later watered down ones).
pretty much got bullied by corporation and nothing I can do about it. ranting.gif bangwall.gif mad.gif bangwall.gif ranting.gif

This post has been edited by digitalifelesss: May 23 2023, 09:17 AM
JLA
post May 23 2023, 10:00 AM

2,768 posts

QUOTE(digitalifelesss @ May 23 2023, 09:16 AM)
don't use speedtest.net, it's totally rigged, reporting speed that you won't get when doing anything else.
ever since the speed slow down since march/april, things hasn't recovered to former performance.

telco control speedtest is to diagnosis network speed from your device to telco network.
change band 1 3 7 8 28 5G and the speed will change.

https://godigital.sarawak.digital/speedtest/
https://speedtest-sarawak.tm.com.my/
SleeplessEyes
post May 23 2023, 10:07 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(digitalifelesss @ May 23 2023, 09:16 AM)

CC: JLA

Agree, digitalifelesss
For me, I would choose to run either NPerf or Cloudfare test.
Both give a very thorough test, and unlike Speedtest which gives the last "end" result,
meaning if it ends at 1Mbps instead of earlier on it goes up to 10MBPs for 1 second, the end result will be 1Mbps.

Both of this website gives an "average" speed. This is real world.
The only thing is : You need to wait longer for these tests.

I only use Speedtest for quick diagnostic (which sometimes I will terminate halfway), and not to serve as actual speed.
TScarvajal18
post May 23 2023, 02:57 PM

97 posts

I always use fast.com for speed test, felt more accurate than speedtest.
mlamlam
post May 23 2023, 04:37 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(Piers @ May 23 2023, 12:41 AM)
digi wifi calling can be use even travel aboard
charge as local rate?
Piers
post May 23 2023, 06:08 PM

1,900 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ May 23 2023, 04:37 PM)
charge as local rate?
yup 😊
GameSky
post May 24 2023, 07:30 PM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

which area? i know satok area not only digi, most telco either slow or crawling.
TScarvajal18
post May 26 2023, 05:03 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ May 24 2023, 08:30 PM)
which area? i know satok area not only digi, most telco either slow or crawling.
green road area still okay, but infront of forda sucks big time.. I always jam there wait traffic light and cannot watch tiktok very slow.

0.0174sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:33 AM