Friends Un-friending you on SocMed, Thoughts ?

TSwatabakiu
post May 13 2023, 03:47 PM, updated 3y ago

1,572 posts

So I have been struggling with this for quite a while. I know, I know, it is petty, but it does bother me. It bothers me that my 'friends' are un-friending me on social medias. Well, I say friends, but yes sure some of them are officemates, some schoolfriends etc. Well, every once in a while, you'd see your counter like turun, by say 1. & following week like two more un-friend. Not too sure why, which made me struggle with the idea even more. I suspect that maybe they were approached by a fake account imposing to be me, but I can't be too sure. Or maybe because I wasn't engaging with them (like liking their photos regularly) but I do read their postings

Anyone else struggling with this ? Or any thought on how I should go about handling this ?
Tullamarine
post May 14 2023, 12:00 AM

Validating
163 posts

Follow can be unfollowed, friend can be unfriended, like can be unliked, starred can be unstarred...... This is within expectation, but in reality, it may upset us.
This is one of the reason I stay away from social media, I prefer web forum more.

cklimm
post May 14 2023, 11:20 AM

2,337 posts

ah, i had one dude unfriended me years back then, only to add me again, and announce his wedding. duhh
TSwatabakiu
post May 14 2023, 09:29 PM

1,572 posts

QUOTE(Tullamarine @ May 14 2023, 12:00 AM)
Follow can be unfollowed,  friend can be unfriended, like can be unliked, starred can be unstarred...... This is within expectation, but in reality, it may upset us.
This is one of the reason I stay away from social media, I prefer web forum more.
I tried SocMed detox, but somehow I needed to use it. I normally find the information I needed from there. But yeah it is upsetting to see people removing from their friends list. Especially if they have a lot of friends, yet they somehow find that I am not worthy, and removed me. Which is a bummer. I mean, it is fine if we hardly talk, but there are those who I am active with in the same FB groups, like all good but suddenly it turned sour. not sure where I did wrong, but yeah got removed.
FlierMate
post Jun 2 2023, 06:44 PM

Validating
543 posts

One article says:
The term “social media” suggests that users have friends or are connected to the people they know. Often, though, that connection is superficial.

Perhaps you can cultivate more off-line friendships.

“People often ‘put their best foot forward’ on social media. They make it seem as if they had a problem-free and blissful life, and this can make friendship rather superficial. We meet this challenge by maintaining communication that is more private—phone calls, texts, and emails, for example—with those who are closest to us.”

This post has been edited by FlierMate: Jun 2 2023, 06:46 PM
nihility
post Jun 2 2023, 07:00 PM

1,595 posts

Seriously, just don't take it to personally. They unfriend because they only want their posts to be visible to their closed immediate family only.
TSwatabakiu
post Jun 10 2023, 08:56 PM

1,572 posts

QUOTE(FlierMate @ Jun 2 2023, 06:44 PM)
One article says:
Perhaps you can cultivate more off-line friendships.
I am, but still don't negate the fact that my online friends are removing me from their friends list. I get it if they are closing down their accounts, but to remove me only hits hard.
hazleen08 P
post Jun 11 2023, 10:59 PM

Probation

Is the person who unfriend you from their social media also a friend in the offline world? Do you guys still talk to each other?
TSwatabakiu
post Jun 20 2023, 01:52 PM

1,572 posts

QUOTE(hazleen08 @ Jun 11 2023, 10:59 PM)
Is the person who unfriend you from their social media also a friend in the offline world? Do you guys still talk to each other?
Yes on both accounts - We are officemates, and we still talk to each other (mostly through Teams)
hihihehe
post Jun 20 2023, 05:40 PM

13,773 posts

maybe you post uninteresting/annoying stuff that they dun like to see?

i will unfriend those who keep sharing 'rubbish' contents
kiddokitt
post Jun 20 2023, 05:44 PM

603 posts

Why do you based your life quality on someone else? On external matters? On how many FB friends you have? No wonder you are a MESS!

Stop , breathe & let go of irrelevant nonsense like that.
Pikichu
post Jun 20 2023, 08:01 PM

2,278 posts

Lots of people do not like me.
Lots of people are racists, religionist, corrupt or as they say rasuah budaya.
Lots of colleagues think they're right until outcome then hate that I am right.
Lots of friends are married, own life, jelly of me, dont want to see my posts.
Lots of people I do not like because they are RRRR and arrogant.
Climate change is evident humanity are mostly polluters.
Actually its capitalism that deforest & pollute at industrial scale.
Capitalism also create lots of shit heads. So I learn to understand.
Chuck those garbage in the bin or let them go. Not all zodiacs get along.
And keep good friends close.

0.2093sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:33 AM