Opportunity to work in UK, is it worth it?

TSKakistok
post May 7 2023, 11:49 PM, updated 3y ago

201 posts

I'll be attending an interview next week conducted by a UK-based company, the hiring manager is a good friend of mine (a European) we used to work and hang out in the US many years ago.
Recently he contacted me and asked if I'm willing to join his team in the UK, he seems to be very keen on bringing me there. We had an unofficial chat about the role before the actual interview.

Currently, I also work in a UK company based in Malaysia. Salary around rm11k. I have no significant commitments, house (in KL) and car paid off. Married with a child.
Though I own a house, I'm renting so I could stay nearby work. After minus all my critical expenses (rent,grocery,family,utilities) I can save about 3-4k a month ( I invest half of it).

Now about the UK work, I didn't really ask my friend about the salary just yet but from what I got to know from Glassdoor, for the same exact position the salary is about 5200 pounds a month.
After-tax, that's around 3.7k. Unit rental, to have similar convenience that I have now, i.e large house, close to work... I may need to fork out around 1.2-1.5k.
Now that leaves me about 2.5k for the rest. I may need a car. And for the rest of the expenses I might be down to 1-1.5k in savings --> which equates to rm6-7k.

With all the negative economic news surrounding the UK, I'm no expert but everything just not pointing in the right direction. Inflation, rental hikes, recession.
I don't know if this is something I should be pursuing. I love the work, it's something I'm good at and no doubt - the company is an 'elite' brand in its industry - like Rolex for watches. It would be great for the CV. But I don't know if it's worth the trouble of moving there, leaving the life I have here. Do I leave for that extra rm2-3k, leaving behind my friends and family - starting all over again? I worked in the US for 7 years before and came back to Malaysia 3 years ago thinking I may not get another oversea opportunity. But here we are... if this was just another company, I might have just said no thank you - but its like a dream company to work with because of its brand.

Something for me to think about but I would like to know your thoughts about the move or experience working in the UK, any piece of advice.

UPDATE:
Just attended the interview, my friend was one of the interviewer but his colleague was whom I'd be reporting to if I'm selected. The interview went well, personally,I felt good, I think I scored well without my friends help. biggrin.gif
I still haven't decided yet, just waiting for the offer before I make my decision. Thanks to all who have given feedback.

This post has been edited by Kakistok: May 11 2023, 11:44 PM
SUSSihambodoh
post May 7 2023, 11:58 PM

436 posts

What do you want in the long run? Migrate to UK? Just make the money?

What's important to you right now? Money? Family or career?

How old are your parents? Are you happy being away from parents? How long is the contract?

Personally, family and parents are important to me. When I'm young, I will go. But now that I am in my 30s, I want to be near my parents. I may not earn as much but at least I get to spend time with parents. These kind of things, even money can't buy. Once they are gone, there is nothing you can do to bring them back.

There are ways to make money in Malaysia too. Also I've been in the UK for a while, their lifestyle is not my cup of tea. Rather be here.
Roadwarrior1337
post May 8 2023, 12:17 AM

979 posts

Current economic situation in UK is like a time bomb. Shits way expensive when my aunt plan to come back after 20 years there

To be honest 2k pound is enough for grocery and living expense and cars are generally cheap there but you are a foreigner and when lay off comes the foreigners get the boot first
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 12:56 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 7 2023, 11:49 PM)
I'll be attending an interview next week conducted by a UK-based company, the hiring manager is a good friend of mine (a European) we used to work and hang out in the US many years ago.
Recently he contacted me and asked if I'm willing to join his team in the UK, he seems to be very keen on bringing me there. We had an unofficial chat about the role before the actual interview.

Currently, I also work in a UK company based in Malaysia. Salary around rm11k. I have no significant commitments, house (in KL) and car paid off. Married with a child.
Though I own a house, I'm renting so I could stay nearby work. After minus all my critical expenses (rent,grocery,family,utilities) I can save about 3-4k a month ( I invest half of it).

Now about the UK work, I didn't really ask my friend about the salary just yet but from what I got to know from Glassdoor, for the same exact position the salary is about 5200 pounds a month.
After-tax, that's around 3.7k. Unit rental, to have similar convenience that I have now, i.e large house, close to work... I may need to fork out around 1.2-1.5k.
Now that leaves me about 2.5k for the rest. I may need a car. And for the rest of the expenses I might be down to 1-1.5k in savings --> which equates to rm6-7k.

With all the negative economic news surrounding the UK, I'm no expert but everything just not pointing in the right direction. Inflation, rental hikes, recession.
I don't know if this is something I should be pursuing. I love the work, it's something I'm good at and no doubt - the company is an 'elite' brand in its industry - like Rolex for watches. It would be great for the CV. But I don't know if it's worth the trouble of moving there, leaving the life I have here. Do I leave for that extra rm2-3k, leaving behind my friends and family - starting all over again? I worked in the US for 7 years before and came back to Malaysia 3 years ago thinking I may not get another oversea opportunity. But here we are... if this was just another company, I might have just said no thank you - but its like a dream company to work with because of its brand.

Something for me to think about but I would like to know your thoughts about the move or experience working in the UK, any piece of advice.
Since he is your friend. Have you checked with him how much you will actually be getting?
Maybe you can tell us what you will be actually getting then we can advice better.
But the thing is, there is going to be an economic crisis soon and i dunno. If say things do not work out, what is the probability of you getting a job over here?
At least when the economic crisis do happen over here, you will most probably be compensated for this.

So what happen to your current house? Are you renting it out?

How old are you BTW?

This post has been edited by BrookLes: May 8 2023, 01:06 AM
koja6049
post May 8 2023, 01:12 AM

615 posts

UK is so big, you never say which part. Definitely you cannot survive London on 3.7k with family smile.gif
Iceman74
post May 8 2023, 01:34 AM

1,407 posts

The most important question is
Do you ask your partner about this, are she and yr kid up to this changes?
How about both sides of parents?

The rest is up to you. Good prospect are hard to come by but if it doesn’t work out, do you have plan B?
If all are ok and well plan, then I don’t see why not give it a try.

This post has been edited by Iceman74: May 8 2023, 01:35 AM
LamboSama
post May 8 2023, 04:11 AM

769 posts

Economic uncertainty are happening everywhere.
Since you worked in US before you would know that being in another country gives you different perspective and experiences in life.
Proximity to EU alone can be a pro in travelling for leisure.
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 04:15 AM

394 posts

Hi TS, I am living in UK for almost 10 years now.

The negative economic news by youtube and western media are often way over exaggerated because GBP is still strong so it isn't that bad

I personally think it is very good opportunity and never regretted moving over

But you have to get used to the weather, the food. Salary isn't the biggest issue normally, cars are cheap. You have to take driving license again

Most importantly, which part of UK?
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 04:18 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ May 8 2023, 01:12 AM)
UK is so big, you never say which part. Definitely you cannot survive London on 3.7k with family smile.gif
survive can. two bed flat £1.5k , £200 transport, £300 utilities and bills. Still got £1.7k for food and other expenses

a lot of people survive in London for way less
sadlyfalways
post May 8 2023, 04:26 AM

1,185 posts

Really depends on your plan for life. I'm in the UK now and I can talk a bit about the current situation.

First of all, may we know what field your job is in? A lot of fields in the UK,US,Europe are preparing for economic downturn. Don't want to move here and become redundant soon.

As for salary, UK salary has historically been very low. Started in 2008, to stop recession they stopped salary increase. So basically we are getting 2008 salary with 2023 prices here.

Rental I have never seen 1.2-1.5k for large house anywhere in the UK, so you must live really far from London or in the countryside or somewhere hahah. Make sure you don't accidentally book old folks home or council estate housing.

Speaking of council, you have to pay council tax on property even if you rent. Most places it is around 300gbp a month, but depends on the price and band of the land your house sits on.

62K is a lot for UK standards shockingly. Most people here earn 30K, and live full, happy lives with their families.

I don't think you can do much with 62 too, but i also dont think you can go higher as fast in the UK.

I know in comparison it is much higher than 11k ringgit, but remember you dont live in malaysia, so you will be spending in gpb.

just imagine it as rm5200.

I am also in the midst of making a decision of staying here in the UK or going back to malaysia, and it is. hard.

I love public services here, i love the countryside, i love that i can be myself, i love that i am protected against discrimination by law, and not a second class citizen constitutionally even though i am a foreigner

But my parents rich in malaysia, all my money and wealth there too. if bring here it'll divide by 5.5
sadlyfalways
post May 8 2023, 04:28 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 04:18 AM)
survive can. two bed flat £1.5k , £200 transport, £300 utilities and bills. Still got £1.7k for food and other expenses

a lot of people survive in London for way less
actually utilities also depend on the person haha. for me since i came here i never use heater.

but yesterday i couldn't sleep because 14c was too hot for me outside, and i cried myself to sleep longing my air con back in malaysia
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 04:45 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ May 8 2023, 04:28 AM)
actually utilities also depend on the person haha. for me since i came here i never use heater.

but yesterday i couldn't sleep because 14c was too hot for me outside, and i cried myself to sleep longing my air con back in malaysia
i've included council tax under utilities as well wink.gif

now is quite decent weather. not too hot or cold, should not have problems sleeping

no need air cond, just open window will do biggrin.gif
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 04:54 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ May 8 2023, 04:26 AM)
Really depends on your plan for life. I'm in the UK now and I can talk a bit about the current situation.

First of all, may we know what field your job is in? A lot of fields in the UK,US,Europe are preparing for economic downturn. Don't want to move here and become redundant soon.

As for salary, UK salary has historically been very low. Started in 2008, to stop recession they stopped salary increase. So basically we are getting 2008 salary with 2023 prices here.

Rental I have never seen 1.2-1.5k for large house anywhere in the UK, so you must live really far from London or in the countryside or somewhere hahah. Make sure you don't accidentally book old folks home or council estate housing.

Speaking of council, you have to pay council tax on property even if you rent. Most places it is around 300gbp a month, but depends on the price and band of the land your house sits on.

62K is a lot for UK standards shockingly. Most people here earn 30K, and live full, happy lives with their families.

I don't think you can do much with 62 too, but i also dont think you can go higher as fast in the UK.

I know in comparison it is much higher than 11k ringgit, but remember you dont live in malaysia, so you will be spending in gpb.

I am also in the midst of making a decision of staying here in the UK or going back to malaysia, and it is. hard.

I love public services here, i love the countryside, i love that i can be myself, i love that i am protected against discrimination by law, and not a second class citizen constitutionally even though i am a foreigner

But my parents rich in malaysia, all my money and wealth there too. if bring here it'll divide by 5.5
Actually if you say ppl earn 30k there. Minus the tax, it's still about the same as Malaysia. But remember Malaysia standard of living is much lower.
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 05:08 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 8 2023, 04:54 AM)
Actually if you say ppl earn 30k there. Minus the tax, it's still about the same as Malaysia. But remember Malaysia standard of living is much lower.
But UK buying power is high. eating out is definitely more expensive, but shopping at supermarket is cheaper. car is relatively cheap, but insurance and maintenance not so

Also UK tax is put to good use. NHS is free and if get PR will have access to benefits

I prefer working in UK. More competitive and learn more. Retire maybe might pick Malaysia. My pension in GBP can go a long way in Malaysia
sadlyfalways
post May 8 2023, 06:00 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 04:45 AM)
i've included council tax under utilities as well wink.gif

now is quite decent weather. not too hot or cold, should not have problems sleeping

no need air cond, just open window will do biggrin.gif
I too scared open window, I live on ground floor and my window opens directly to dark back alley where people normally sell and consume drugs before night out

Hell I’ve done the same back there lol
sadlyfalways
post May 8 2023, 06:04 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 05:08 AM)
But UK buying power is high. eating out is definitely more expensive, but shopping at supermarket is cheaper. car is  relatively cheap, but insurance and maintenance not so

Also UK tax is put to good use. NHS is free and if get PR will have access to benefits

I prefer working in UK. More competitive and learn more. Retire maybe might pick Malaysia. My pension in GBP can go a long way in Malaysia
Yeah this would be ideal, but I really don’t want to set up life in uk, bring children up and everything then retire overseas

Grandchildren for life lmao. Need to make sure can retire happily with passive income in uk too.

On the other hand, I know if I have children in Malaysia, by the time they are adults and PN has ravaged the country into Afghanistan, they would also leave and never come back. And I’ll be alone in Malaysia

So yeah a lot to think about

UK at least I am not constitutionally less than the whites, even if in practice racism is still there
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 06:27 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 05:08 AM)
But UK buying power is high. eating out is definitely more expensive, but shopping at supermarket is cheaper. car is  relatively cheap, but insurance and maintenance not so

Is groceries really cheaper compared to Malaysia. Like say if I buy chicken, eggs etc. Because I still think those things are cheap in Malaysia but in Britain, it's expensive especially after the price hike.

Well. Public Hospital is also cheap so.

I really still do not buy that supermarket in UK is cheaper but of course you can give me actual real life example. Wages in UK supermarket is more expensive. I dunno. And also I think with worldwide food shortages, food prices is probably increasing. But I do not see this so much over here.
kenji1903
post May 8 2023, 06:39 AM

3,785 posts

2 things bro, you cannot convert your UK savings in to MYR, if you are there for a couple of years, you will need that money for stuff like travel and education

And on education, I am unsure how old your child is and how much education is subsidised by the UK gov and what kind of residency status you have, something to ponder on

What I know about Australia is you pay international student fees if you are not a permanent resident, plus you don’t get subsidised public health care. UK might be a bit different as they only give out PRs to people working in the UK for x number or years

This post has been edited by kenji1903: May 8 2023, 06:41 AM
TSKakistok
post May 8 2023, 07:45 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 8 2023, 12:56 AM)
Since he is your friend. Have you checked with him how much you will actually be getting?
Maybe you can tell us what you will be actually getting then we can advice better.
But the thing is, there is going to be an economic crisis soon and i dunno. If say things do not work out, what is the probability of you getting a job over here?
At least when the economic crisis do happen over here, you will most probably be compensated for this.

So what happen to your current house? Are you renting it out?

How old are you BTW?
No I didn't ask him, I would like to attend the interview first. But based on 5 glassdoor report - the average salary is around there. I don't think I would be getting way higher than this number.

My job is very niche, fewer opportunities in Malaysia, that too looking for experience roles. The current job I got from a recommendation of a former colleague.
So that is another risk to consider - if things don't work out in UK, it will be hard for me to find something again in Malaysia

Im renting out to my cousin. its only rm700.

I'm 35

TSKakistok
post May 8 2023, 07:52 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ May 8 2023, 04:26 AM)

RnD Engineering

ABout an hour from London, I just quickly googled house for rent in that area and I saw one-two bedroom flats in that price region 1-1.5k

Yeap, a simple calculation show its just enough sweat.gif

TSKakistok
post May 8 2023, 07:59 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 04:15 AM)

The negative economic news by youtube and western media are often way over exaggerated because GBP is still strong so it isn't that bad

That good to hear

But you have to get used to the weather, the food. Salary isn't the biggest issue normally, cars are cheap. You have to take driving license again

Surrey
I've had experience working in the US before for 7 years at the age of 27, went there single. Salary from rm3500 which I could barely save anything to earning USD8k there, US4800 after tax,
still can save about 2k (rm8k) after all expenses (including entertainment). The living cost was comparatively low in the US because of its strong currency and high purchasing power. House rental, and labour services (i.e plumbing, car service etc) are expensive but other than, they are all affordable. So I don't know if the UK falls in the same bracket. I'm aware the salary in the UK is nowhere as high in the US.
TSKakistok
post May 8 2023, 08:00 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ May 8 2023, 01:12 AM)
Surrey
TSKakistok
post May 8 2023, 08:10 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ May 7 2023, 11:58 PM)

How old are your parents? Are you happy being away from parents? How long is the contract?

Personally, family and parents are important to me. When I'm young, I will go. But now that I am in my 30s, I want to be near my parents. I may not earn as much but at least I get to spend time with parents. These kind of things, even money can't buy. Once they are gone, there is nothing you can do to bring them back.

There are ways to make money in Malaysia too. Also I've been in the UK for a while, their lifestyle is not my cup of tea. Rather be here.
I don't want to migrate but Im open to work overseas and return. I lived and worked in the US for 7 years, I never felt home though the money was great. I came back just to be home. I want my kid to grow with my family members around her. My family is big and tight-knit.

Clearly my family is important, but if I could go for couple of years, build a little more wealth and come back with a much better CV. Now what I'm unsure now if that wealth and CV really going to make a big difference by going to the UK
MegaCanonF
post May 8 2023, 08:29 AM

880 posts

This. However TS, I would go if there's no filial duty on your shoulder. you can always find new friends but not your parents. If your parents is already in good care (by another sibling ) then I would take the opportunity.
hZa23
post May 8 2023, 08:39 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 8 2023, 08:10 AM)
I don't want to migrate but Im open to work overseas and return. I lived and worked in the US for 7 years, I never felt home though the money was great. I came back just to be home. I want my kid to grow with my family members around her. My family is big and tight-knit.

Clearly my family is important, but if I could go for couple of years, build a little more wealth and come back with a much better CV. Now what I'm unsure now if that wealth and CV really going to make a big difference by going to the UK
Im older and have stayed overseas quite awhile…time with family is something i cant get back..wealth if you smart enough there is always opportunity. The only problem in msia now is its too hot lol..
knwong
post May 8 2023, 08:45 AM

3,567 posts

Just go. There's many big companies setup their base in Surrey

I was there for study and now working with a British company in Malaysia. I get to go to UK for business meeting 2-3 times a year. Groceries expenses doesn't change much from when I was a student. It's affordable. But can't say so for accommodation and energy bills. Pity my colleagues have to fill up GBP100 for a full tank of diesel into her Volvo XC60 :-(

Is your friend the decision maker in your hiring? If yes, you are likely to confirm getting the job. The interview is just a formality. If the company has business entity setup here, instead of physically move to UK, you can try negotiate to be based in Malaysia, to be paid in GBP equivalent, work in same UK time zone remotely (many jobs transformed thanks to COVID). It's only 7-8 hrs different, not as bad as USA where you need to be night owl to serve their territory.

If you do get to move to Surrey and decide to come back later (must stay at least 3 years), can apply for Returning Expert Program (REP) from government. You'll get lower income tax, can buy CKD car tax free, etc
mezanny
post May 8 2023, 09:19 AM

709 posts

think about your child, going there, would save you a bomb in education costs and you get world class IGSCE education.

Here parents have to borrow and beg to pay 45k to 100k a year for each kid to study in private schools for IGSCE.

Imagine how much your kid can save.

working hours in UK is 830 to 530pm, they don't do OT. This is why my USA colleagues always complain how lazy UK counterparts are.

London has wonderful parks, museums, theatres and cultural centers. Very nice place for holiday and weekend break. You can holiday around UK or travel to Europe.

Childcare there is world class. My cousin's son there is taken care very well in their nurseries. Their ratio for day care worker to child is like 1 to 3/4 if I not mistaken.

Downside is the high tax and your net income. I am not sure about rental, please check it out, if you wanna save you may have to live with middle eastern migrants in 2 room apartments and go shopping groceries at Asda.

but overall, Just Do It. Very few people get this type of opportunity !

Pewufod
post May 8 2023, 09:32 AM

1,537 posts

Pr firm?
Bendot
post May 8 2023, 10:35 AM

46 posts

I used to stay there 10 years ago and i did retaje the Driving Test for uk's driving license. There were many friends did not retake driving test...they got hong kong's driving license and once in uk, they converted to uk's driving license. No need to spend lots of money attending driving class. And dont take driving test in london as many rates of failure there
The Retailer
post May 8 2023, 01:05 PM

43 posts

If your child less than 7yo.
Go.

If more than that.. Not so good.

But eventually you will regret if you no go.

Like the poem The road not taken.

I will pass this decision to my wife. 😂
The Retailer
post May 8 2023, 01:14 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ May 8 2023, 06:04 AM)
Yeah this would be ideal, but I really don’t want to set up life in uk, bring children up and everything then retire overseas

Grandchildren for life lmao. Need to make sure can retire happily with passive income in uk too.

On the other hand, I know if I have children in Malaysia, by the time they are adults and PN has ravaged the country into Afghanistan, they would also leave and never come back. And I’ll be alone in Malaysia

So yeah a lot to think about

UK at least I am not constitutionally less than the whites, even if in practice racism is still there
In malaysia Chinese are constitutionally less than bumi, but financially? 😅
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 02:38 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(Bendot @ May 8 2023, 10:35 AM)
I used to stay there 10 years ago and i did retaje the Driving Test  for uk's driving license. There were many friends did not retake driving test...they got hong kong's driving license and once in uk, they converted to uk's driving license. No need to spend lots of money attending driving class. And dont take driving test in london as many rates of failure there
That loophole doesn't work anymore: https://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/article...-agreement-hong

I took my driving test in London and passed first time
DupeIkan
post May 8 2023, 03:09 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 8 2023, 07:59 AM)
I've had experience working in the US before for 7 years at the age of 27, went there single. Salary from rm3500 which I could barely save anything to earning USD8k there, US4800 after tax,
still can save about 2k (rm8k) after all expenses (including entertainment). The living cost was comparatively low in the US because of its strong currency and high purchasing power. House rental, and labour services (i.e plumbing, car service etc) are expensive but other than, they are all affordable. So I don't know if the UK falls in the same bracket. I'm aware the salary in the UK is nowhere as high in the US.
How were you able to transfer from MY to US
then back to MY?
SUSSihambodoh
post May 8 2023, 03:11 PM

436 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 8 2023, 08:10 AM)

Family is important to you. You doubt your wealth will increase much if any if you take the contract. You don't plan to migrate.

The way I see it, the answer is clear my friend.

mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 03:30 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ May 8 2023, 08:29 AM)
This. However TS, I would go if there's no filial duty on your shoulder. you can always find new friends but not your parents. If your parents is already in good care (by another sibling ) then I would take the opportunity.
I have migrated over to UK and brought my parents visit most of Europe. Iceland, Spain, France, Italy, Netherlands, Latvia, Germany, Denmark, Austria, Switzerland etc

Something they would not do on their own, and very happy to get to travel. My sibling is taking care of them but I provide financially

Before covid they come visit 3-4 months each year, but these days I travel back instead (no longer that keen to travel due to age)
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 03:39 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 8 2023, 06:27 AM)
Is groceries really cheaper compared to Malaysia. Like say if I buy chicken, eggs etc. Because I still think those things are cheap in Malaysia but in Britain, it's expensive especially after the price hike.

Well. Public Hospital is also cheap so.

I really still do not buy that supermarket in UK is cheaper but of course you can give me actual real life example. Wages in UK supermarket is more expensive. I dunno. And also I think with worldwide food shortages, food prices is probably increasing. But I do not see this so much over here.
https://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/compa...patchComparison

Rice (white), (1kg) 6.12 RM
(1.09 £) 10.78 RM
(1.92 £) +76.0 %

Eggs (regular) (12) 8.19 RM
(1.46 £) 17.03 RM
(3.03 £) +107.9 %

Chicken Fillets (1kg) 18.32 RM
(3.26 £) 39.53 RM
(7.04 £) +115.7 %

Average prices for those items in UK are approx doubled after conversion. However, average salary is approx tripled after conversion

Average Monthly Net Salary (After Tax) 5,647.98 RM
(1,005.99 £) 17,700.44 RM
(3,152.71 £) +213.4 %

To me, it is cheaper because I spend less % of my salary on groceries
xajimx
post May 8 2023, 03:49 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 03:30 PM)
I have migrated over to UK and brought my parents visit most of Europe. Iceland, Spain, France, Italy, Netherlands, Latvia, Germany, Denmark, Austria, Switzerland etc

Something they would not do on their own, and very happy to get to travel. My sibling is taking care of them but I provide financially

Before covid they come visit 3-4 months each year, but these days I travel back instead (no longer that keen to travel due to age)
Just curious, how long did it take you to become financially stable and able to afford going back home (Malaysia) often?
I am kinda stuck financially because we just moved to Germany a year ago and I easily send back 600-800€ monthly to clear off my debt from initial expenses we have in my Credit Card and my wife's cry.gif
I wanna save up at least 3000€ annually so we can fly back to visit the family every summer. At least that's the goal so my kids will be able to catch up with their cousins and relatives sad.gif
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 03:59 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(xajimx @ May 8 2023, 03:49 PM)
Just curious, how long did it take you to become financially stable and able to afford going back home (Malaysia) often?
I am kinda stuck financially because we just moved to Germany a year ago and I easily send back 600-800€ monthly to clear off my debt from initial expenses we have in my Credit Card and my wife's  cry.gif
I wanna save up at least 3000€ annually so we can fly back to visit the family every summer. At least that's the goal so my kids will be able to catch up with their cousins and relatives  sad.gif
If have double income (wife working), should have no problem being stable. I have no kids so that is a difference. I lived in germany as well before (even got my Niederlassungserlaubnis). Germany I only got 55% of my gross pay after deductions, but in UK I get closer to 67%

But to answer your question, should not be more than 1 year
Virlution
post May 8 2023, 04:04 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ May 8 2023, 06:00 AM)
I too scared open window, I live on ground floor and my window opens directly to dark back alley where people normally sell and consume drugs before night out

if its not safe, why are you still staying there? people can break the window climb in taking everything away with them.
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 04:21 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ May 8 2023, 06:00 AM)

you need to stay somewhere else bro
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 04:28 PM

1,354 posts

With your 11k.salary. you can save quite a bit too right?
I think looking at the situation. Until things really stabilise, I will stick to a more familiar situation right now.

You see how things change so much and they can easily introduce a new mandate to make your life tough..

I think you can still save more then that amount if you stay here. Provided you start preparing food for yourself etc. It's still more comfortable here as over there you probably have to prepare food often and share a place with others.

What are the working hours there? Lesser then here?

And with food inflation being a major issue in the west. Better to stay here.

But it depends on whether you think this will improve your career significantly. From a savings point, I dun see the point. And most likely you will probably have to spend more since you need to familiarise with the environment.

This post has been edited by BrookLes: May 8 2023, 04:57 PM
xajimx
post May 8 2023, 04:47 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 03:59 PM)
If have double income (wife working), should have no problem being stable. I have no kids so that is a difference. I lived in germany as well before (even got my Niederlassungserlaubnis). Germany I only got 55% of my gross pay after deductions, but in UK I get closer to 67%

But to answer your question, should not be more than 1 year
ah ok that's nice. i would imagine you have been there for quite sometime. does it takes long for your wife to adapt and build up her profile/proficiency to be able to work too?
do you still go back Malaysia often?
haha yea I think with kids you get a lot of tax breaks. any plans for kids? laugh.gif
sadlyfalways
post May 8 2023, 04:48 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(The Retailer @ May 8 2023, 01:14 PM)
In malaysia Chinese are constitutionally less than bumi, but financially? 😅
No use being rich but hated by the majority race
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 04:51 PM

1,354 posts

I also want to add one more thing. If there is a major recession or crash. Foreigners will be the first to be asked to leave. I think it's better you stay at the moment.

Even if you lose your job, you will still be compensated for this. You can even get tax cuts in the compensation you received.

At least if you go to say sg, anything happens you can come back immediately. And it's a more familiar environment anyway

Oh btw. I think crime is a major issue in UK. Correct me if I am wrong.

This post has been edited by BrookLes: May 8 2023, 05:08 PM
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 05:12 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(xajimx @ May 8 2023, 04:47 PM)
ah ok that's nice. i would imagine you have been there for quite sometime. does it takes long for your wife to adapt and build up her profile/proficiency to be able to work too?
do you still go back Malaysia often?
haha yea I think with kids you get a lot of tax breaks. any plans for kids?  laugh.gif
Nah, not going to have kids. Tax breaks not useful because childcare costs. In Germany, the problem is always language barrier. Need like 1 year to learn it full time. In UK, it's because it's too competitive, have to compete with so many foreigners as well

Went back last year, going back this year too. This is in addition to my other holidays:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5362211&hl=
xajimx
post May 8 2023, 05:28 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 05:12 PM)
Nah, not going to have kids. Tax breaks not useful because childcare costs. In Germany, the problem is always language barrier. Need like 1 year to learn it full time. In UK, it's because it's too competitive, have to compete with so many foreigners as well

Went back last year, going back this year too. This is in addition to my other holidays:
yea, I'm just thankful that my company doesn't require me to learn up Deutsch but on the other hand it's always nice to learn it for day-to-day conversation.
especially for my wife and kids to integrate better. damn, my 6 yo now speaks Deutsch already albeit very basic.
i need to catch up cry.gif

eh nice one! happy that you found the rhythm to living the ideal life.
may i know how old are you?
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 06:30 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(xajimx @ May 8 2023, 05:28 PM)
yea, I'm just thankful that my company doesn't require me to learn up Deutsch but on the other hand it's always nice to learn it for day-to-day conversation.
especially for my wife and kids to integrate better. damn, my 6 yo now speaks Deutsch already albeit very basic.
i need to catch up  cry.gif

eh nice one! happy that you found the rhythm to living the ideal life.
may i know how old are you?
early 40s. worked in Malaysia till I moved to europe in my early 30s. i'm sure in company is fine, but dealing with gov agencies is a pain without some language fluency like when doing Anmeldung
mesothelium
post May 8 2023, 06:47 PM

105 posts

I would go and not look back. I made the mistake of coming back to Malaysia 15 years ago and regret it immensely.

Truth be told, socioeconomically speaking, Malaysia has gone nowhere since I got back. And since all the political chaos we’ve been through, it feels like Malaysia has regressed from where it was in the 2000s.

Think of the bigger picture. Do you want to stay here and risk another generation of stagnation? Yes, the UK might not be in the best shape politically or economically, but career-wise, you have a lot more upside there. And that means you still have the option of moving elsewhere later on in case things don’t work out.

Think of the UK as a stepping stone, rather than the final destination.
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 07:34 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 06:30 PM)
early 40s. worked in Malaysia till I moved to europe in my early 30s. i'm sure in company is fine, but dealing with gov agencies is a pain without some language fluency like when doing Anmeldung
I dunno. I talk to some of my friends in Europe.
They say they hardly have any savings and they are living mostly salary pay check by salary pay check.
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 07:43 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 8 2023, 07:34 PM)
I dunno. I talk to some of my friends in Europe.
They say they hardly have any savings and they are living mostly salary pay check by salary pay check.
depends on what they do, and how they live. if they eat out everyday, sure very hard to save. or if they stay in city centre instead of outskirts rental will be more expensive

you can see the thread below some of my holidays, and i go back to malaysia almost every year as well
and i'm just a regular salary earner in the UK

The Retailer
post May 8 2023, 08:08 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ May 8 2023, 04:48 PM)
No use being rich but hated by the majority race
They dont hate us la..

Some do envy us..

But some happy to work together..

Only some politicians use us as bait
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 08:17 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 07:43 PM)
depends on what they do, and how they live. if they eat out everyday, sure very hard to save. or if they stay in city centre instead of outskirts rental will be more expensive

you can see the thread below some of my holidays, and i go back to malaysia almost every year as well
and i'm just a regular salary earner in the UK

I think the high tax environment just do not support savings in general. Also the low interest or even negative rates that bank gives does not incentivize people to save in the first place.

So how much do you actually save per year?
Knnbuccb
post May 8 2023, 08:25 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 8 2023, 08:17 PM)
I think the high tax environment just do not support savings in general. Also the low interest or even negative rates that bank gives does not incentivize people to save in the first place.

I voiced that I wanna try UK most of my peers told me lol why go there celery low and tax high.....

Guess Ayam just bored of the same environment
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 08:38 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ May 8 2023, 08:25 PM)
I voiced that I wanna try UK most of my peers told me lol why go there celery low and tax high.....

Guess Ayam just bored of the same environment
Normally, I would encourage if someone wants to go overseas. But not at this time.
You see. During the pandemic things can change so rapidly. And with the economic uncertainty. It's not worth the risk to be honest.
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 08:46 PM

1,354 posts

One thing that most people forget to calculate is the company contribution to EPF etc.

When I was in Singapore, I realized that I was not that highly paid actually when I actually take into account the EPF that is being paid.
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 09:26 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 8 2023, 08:17 PM)

around £10k per year. not focusing so much on savings because I got private and public pension funds. still got a few hundred k in EPF too

rather spend travelling like what brits do. if lose job, can just claim housing benefits, universal credit, job seeker allowances etc
SUSBrookLes
post May 8 2023, 09:36 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 09:26 PM)
around £10k per year. not focusing so much on savings because I got private and public pension funds. still got a few hundred k in EPF too

rather spend travelling like what brits do. if lose job, can just claim housing benefits, universal credit, job seeker allowances etc
So what is going to happen if say government decided not to give out those benefits anymore.

of course 10K is quite a lot. But then the mentality over there is not a savers mentality.
mystalyzer
post May 8 2023, 09:51 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 8 2023, 09:36 PM)
So what is going to happen if say government decided not to give out those benefits anymore.

of course 10K is quite a lot. But then the mentality over there is not a savers mentality.
the gov will be replaced with another one that does biggrin.gif

these benefits are normal for countries that practise high taxes (as benefits is one of the reasons why taxes are high)

if they want to remove benefits, the taxes needs to be reduced in tandem it will be more like Singapore style (low taxes and low benefits)

feynman
post May 9 2023, 12:29 AM

4,781 posts

I'll let others speak about living and working in the UK but talk about relocating abroad.

Without a wife and kids, you can do anything without the need to think too much. While your age may be a factor on making big decisions, you're generally footloose. You probably know that

At this stage in life, what are you looking to achieve? Are you looking for more money? More career growth? Settlement abroad? Yours answers will dictate what actions should take.

If you're looking for more money, then what you have described, this role of yours is not the right thing. It's a meagre global salary and it only looks good if your intent and purpose is to return to msia after 3 years....and that, it's a stretch, you won't be able to save enough. So that 3 years is kinda wasted, no significant savings and you're back in msia. This only makes sense if the relo results in a true growth of income....and there are only a few countries where this is possible....namely, Singapore, HK, middle east, US and maybe Australia, everywhere else is really swapping an environment for the same pay. GBP 60k a year is not what many would consider a good global salary, in the UK, yeah, you'll be firmly in the upper middle class but with runaway inflation, you gotta be very very careful with money.

If career growth is what you are looking for, will sticking in msia eventually lead to a director role for you? If there's a high chance for it, then why do this detour to the UK? Things can go horribly wrong in the UK, you may even lose that friendship if things don't turn out well. Relo will also slow down your career growth, unless you're moving to level above, if it's just a lateral move, it will set you back several years

If settlement is what you want, then you have to stick to the plan, no matter what happens. High pay or low pay, you'll just go. I don't think they is what you are looking for as you returned from the US.

hopefully this helps you think about it.
Knnbuccb
post May 9 2023, 01:43 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ May 9 2023, 12:29 AM)
I'll let others speak about living and working in the UK but talk about relocating abroad.

Without a wife and kids, you can do anything without the need to think too much. While your age may be a factor on making big decisions, you're generally footloose. You probably know that

At this stage in life, what are you looking to achieve? Are you looking for more money? More career growth? Settlement abroad? Yours answers will dictate what actions should take.

If you're looking for more money, then what you have described, this role of yours is not the right thing. It's a meagre global salary and it only looks good if your intent and purpose is to return to msia after 3 years....and that, it's a stretch, you won't be able to save enough. So that 3 years is kinda wasted, no significant savings and you're back in msia. This only makes sense if the relo results in a true growth of income....and there are only a few countries where this is possible....namely, Singapore, HK, middle east, US and maybe Australia, everywhere else is really swapping an environment for the same pay. GBP 60k a year is not what many would consider a good global salary, in the UK, yeah, you'll be firmly in the upper middle class but with runaway inflation, you gotta be very very careful with money.

If career growth is what you are looking for, will sticking in msia eventually lead to a director role for you? If there's a high chance for it, then why do this detour to the UK? Things can go horribly wrong in the UK, you may even lose that friendship if things don't turn out well. Relo will also slow down your career growth, unless you're moving to level above, if it's just a lateral move, it will set you back several years

If settlement is what you want, then you have to stick to the plan, no matter what happens. High pay or low pay, you'll just go. I don't think they is what you are looking for as you returned from the US.

hopefully this helps you think about it.

damn this post has a lot of wisdom

Actually my friend moved to another country to work also hoping could get more money and career progression but as you alluded to it's easier to grow career in marehsia ( despite all the policies against NB) ... Rather than go to a foreign land where you'll be disadvantaged . But then he managed to save a lot and also built up his CV , such that he would be able to return to marehsia with a promotion.

So actually unknowingly , he had created an escape route for himself..... plan A to get both money and promotion overseas partially failed , only got lots of money .... But now plan B opened up, he brought his foreign currency back to marehsia and he is living a T20 life there with a promotion. Or course can argue if he didn't go detour overseas and stayed put in marehsia instead, he could have been promoted earlier, but hey , can't say he gained nothing overseas ( money and work experience , life abroaf experience )

This post has been edited by Knnbuccb: May 9 2023, 01:44 AM
mystalyzer
post May 9 2023, 03:33 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ May 9 2023, 01:43 AM)
damn this post has a lot of wisdom

Rather than go to a foreign land where you'll be disadvantaged .
The main disadvantage is at the start, when need company sponsorship to get visa, when the company doesn't know if you are capable to do the job.

Speaking from personal experience, some people in Malaysia may think they are a star performer, but in reality a lot of companies just treat Malaysia as a cheaper place to offshore less important work.

In London, I learned it isn't so much about implementing, but about designing a more comprehensive solution, something I won't get exposed to when in Malaysia.

Once gained some experience overseas, it is much easier to get other jobs, or return to Malaysia with a wealth of experience. Staying in Malaysia doesn't necessarily help career advancement
Knnbuccb
post May 9 2023, 03:40 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 9 2023, 03:33 PM)
The main disadvantage is at the start, when need company sponsorship to get visa, when the company doesn't know if you are capable to do the job.
Speaking from personal experience, some people in Malaysia may think they are a star performer, but in reality a lot of companies just treat Malaysia as a cheaper place to offshore less important work.

In London, I learned it isn't so much about implementing, but about designing a more comprehensive solution, something I won't get exposed to when in Malaysia.

Once gained some experience overseas, it is much easier to get other jobs, or return to Malaysia with a wealth of experience. Staying in Malaysia doesn't necessarily help career advancement
in some countries they need to give priority to locals etc. Sometimes even need to show that they have tried but failed to get locals before they promote foreigners.

Prior to Brexit they need to give priority to EU first even. So Marehsian lowest of the totem pole.

In marehsia, u r a local so u will be given the chance to go up in rank as first choice.

The things that can be done sometimes relate to the posts that you hold.e.g if u r exec , u can't say u have done a manager's job etc so Ur CV can't say that. So maybe Ur friend in marehsia alrdy become manyzer due to less competition and status as citizen , but overseas u have to stay longer as exec , plus they view Ur previous Malaysian work experience as nothing.

So if wanna go overseas actually best to go as fresh grad because it's better than working in marehsia then going over , then Marehsian work experience is considered half of the duration. E.g work 2 years but consider 1 year seniority only etc.

This post has been edited by Knnbuccb: May 9 2023, 03:42 PM
mystalyzer
post May 10 2023, 02:52 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ May 9 2023, 03:40 PM)
in some countries they need to give priority to locals etc. Sometimes even need to show that they have tried but failed to get locals before they promote foreigners.

Prior to Brexit they need to give priority to EU first even. So Marehsian lowest of the totem pole.

In marehsia, u r a local so u will be given the chance to go up in rank as first choice.

The things that can be done sometimes relate to the posts that you hold.e.g if u r exec , u can't say u have done a manager's job etc so Ur CV can't say that. So maybe Ur friend in marehsia alrdy become manyzer due to less competition and status as citizen , but overseas u have to stay longer as exec , plus they view Ur previous Malaysian work experience as nothing.

So if wanna go overseas actually best to go as fresh grad because it's better than working in marehsia then going over , then Marehsian work experience is considered half of the duration. E.g work 2 years but consider 1 year seniority only etc.
Which is why the first hurdle is the hardest. Have to be better than the locals, and the EU (before Brexit) and not to forget all other foreigners from all over the world. So if you succeed it means you have sufficient talent/skill that you can compete even with a disadvantage

After a few years in the local market, then you are essentially the local and have the benefits of the local people you were competing with when you first started

SUSBrookLes
post May 10 2023, 05:19 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 10 2023, 02:52 AM)
Which is why the first hurdle is the hardest. Have to be better than the locals, and the EU (before Brexit) and not to forget all other foreigners from all over the world. So if you succeed it means you have sufficient talent/skill that you can compete even with a disadvantage

After a few years in the local market, then you are essentially the local and have the benefits of the local people you were competing with when you first started
Well. This applies to every country. And unless you managed to gain citizenship or residency status. You are still considered 2nd class. But heck. Even if you managed to gain citizenship, you are still 2nd class by virtue of race

This post has been edited by BrookLes: May 10 2023, 07:09 PM
DSV4600
post May 10 2023, 05:22 PM

432 posts

Since it's a good friend of yours, why not ask for expat terms to move to the UK? Pay-scale will beat Malaysia, and with expat terms, you are basically getting net pay with much more benefits.
TSKakistok
post May 10 2023, 07:43 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ May 8 2023, 06:39 AM)
2 things bro, you cannot convert your UK savings in to MYR, if you are there for a couple of years, you will need that money for stuff like travel and education

And on education, I am unsure how old your child is and how much education is subsidised by the UK gov and what kind of residency status you have, something to ponder on

What I know about Australia is you pay international student fees if you are not a permanent resident, plus you don’t get subsidised public health care. UK might be a bit different as they only give out PRs to people working in the UK for x number or years
Why cant I convert my money? hmm.gif
kenji1903
post May 10 2023, 07:54 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 10 2023, 07:43 PM)
Why cant I convert my money? hmm.gif
Depends on how long you work in that country… if it’s a contract, then yes, you need to return to Malaysia hence the conversion

But if you are looking at longer term, you work in that country, you spend in that country, How often you go back to spend in MYR?

Most people I know, once they work overseas, they won’t go back to Malaysia

Plus if you have kid, health care and education will eat a big part of your savings, the savings you convert look syok sendiri at the figure only, you won’t get to use it in MYR

This post has been edited by kenji1903: May 10 2023, 07:56 PM
TSKakistok
post May 10 2023, 08:03 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 8 2023, 08:45 AM)
Just go. There's many big companies setup their base in Surrey

I was there for study and now working with a British company in Malaysia. I get to go to UK for business meeting 2-3 times a year. Groceries expenses doesn't change much from when I was a student. It's affordable. But can't say so for accommodation and energy bills. Pity my colleagues have to fill up GBP100 for a full tank of diesel into her Volvo XC60 :-(

Is your friend the decision maker in your hiring? If yes, you are likely to confirm getting the job. The interview is just a formality. If the company has business entity setup here, instead of physically move to UK, you can try negotiate to be based in Malaysia, to be paid in GBP equivalent, work in same UK time zone remotely (many jobs transformed thanks to COVID). It's only 7-8 hrs different, not as bad as USA where you need to be night owl to serve their territory.

If you do get to move to Surrey and decide to come back later (must stay at least 3 years), can apply for Returning Expert Program (REP) from government. You'll get lower income tax, can buy CKD car tax free, etc
Yes, my friend is one of the two decision makers. But he seems to be the one filtering the candidates.
No the company is only based in the UK , it's a product dev and RnD center with in-house testing facilities so no chance to work remotely.

My only worry to return to Malaysia is if I can get an equivalent job as my expertise is quite a niche, only a few companies offer it - and I've already worked for them biggrin.gif Even if they want me back, it's a question of if they have headcounts and salary.
When I was job hunting after coming back from US, hardly any companies can offer >rm7k. Finally, after 4 months, found an MNC company that offered me 10k which I think is a fair amount for the work and industry I'm in.

This post has been edited by Kakistok: May 10 2023, 08:41 PM
TSKakistok
post May 10 2023, 08:07 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(DupeIkan @ May 8 2023, 03:09 PM)
How were you able to transfer from MY to US
then back to MY?
Initially was company transfer for 6 months, but I had a visa for 5 years, so the US company asked if I want to continue working for them. of course I want to. That initial 6 months I was getting travel allowance more than my Malaysia salary. LOL

After 5 years, I got my green card.
After 8 years, decided to return.
sundancekid
post May 10 2023, 08:17 PM

36 posts

I came back to Malaysia in 2019 after living in the UK for more than 20 years. To me, Malaysia is still the best.

At the moment, I work a UK company and salary is based on UK, so I can save a lot now compare to when I was working in the UK.

To be honest with you I nearly fell off my chair when I heard about your salary! £5000+ is a lot of money in the UK. The tax bracket is also higher at 40% if your pay is at that rate (need to be verified). The norm salary is between £30-40K for a senior managers position. The top 10% earns £60K and above.

In any case, I think you should move. No need to think long term. Just go for 1 year initially and see how you get on. I think for 1 year you can leave your wife and kids here in Malaysia. At least by doing this you are not tying yourself down to a number of years there and if you only stay for 1 year you will get the experience which may be useful when you come back to Malaysia.

TSKakistok
post May 10 2023, 08:20 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 8 2023, 04:28 PM)
With your 11k.salary. you can save quite a bit too right?
I think looking at the situation. Until things really stabilise, I will stick to a more familiar situation right now.

You see how things change so much and they can easily introduce a new mandate to make your life tough..

I think you can still save more then that amount if you stay here. Provided you start preparing food for yourself etc. It's still more comfortable here as over there you probably have to prepare food often and share a place with others.

What are the working hours there? Lesser then here?

And with food inflation being a major issue in the west. Better to stay here.

But it depends on whether you think this will improve your career significantly. From a savings point, I dun see the point. And most likely you will probably have to spend more since you need to familiarise with the environment.
I can easily save about 50% if I want to, but I save about 30% currently (20% enjoy la)

At this point, comfort and space are important to me, don't see myself sharing places with others, especially if I'm going to bring my family as well.

from career point of view, though I would be in the same position but the company is "elite", a dream brand to work for. a jaw dropper surely. I don't think its a company affected by global economy because they only deal with wealthy people.
I would like to see it as a stepping stone for something better in the future, but unfortunately, it's something you can't foresee. One thing for sure, I will return back to Malaysia if I did go, just don't know when. Maybe even for retirement.
TSKakistok
post May 10 2023, 08:26 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 8 2023, 08:46 PM)
One thing that most people forget to calculate is the company contribution to EPF etc.

When I was in Singapore, I realized that I was not that highly paid actually when I actually take into account the EPF that is being paid.
why is that, Singapore doesn't have a pension fund? Or you are not entitled for one?
SUSBrookLes
post May 10 2023, 08:33 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 10 2023, 08:26 PM)
why is that, Singapore doesn't have a pension fund? Or you are not entitled for one?
Well. I was there under work permit as a professional and they dun give CPF for these. It's a good thing though because I get a salary hike and I can use that salary hike in my future job.

I dun think the company would have hired me, if they have to pay for my CPF.

But I also had another offer at that time with a similar pay to Singapore. And I am pretty sure they would have given me EPF on top of my salary. It was a contract job but still. But I decided to go to Singapore at that time because I had some investment there. Anyway my Singapore boss was good enough to pay me a good bonus so it still payed off.

Also I wanted to use Singapore as a stepping stone but for some reason it did not work out.

This post has been edited by BrookLes: May 10 2023, 08:34 PM
knwong
post May 10 2023, 08:42 PM

3,567 posts

QUOTE(sundancekid @ May 10 2023, 08:17 PM)
I came back to Malaysia in 2019 after living in the UK for more than 20 years. To me, Malaysia is still the best.

At the moment, I work a UK company and salary is based on UK, so I can save a lot now compare to when I was working in the UK.

To be honest with you I nearly fell off my chair when I heard about your salary! £5000+ is a lot of money in the UK. The tax bracket is also higher at 40% if your pay is at that rate (need to be verified). The norm salary is between £30-40K for a senior managers position. The top 10% earns £60K and above.

In any case, I think you should move. No need to think long term. Just go for 1 year initially and see how you get on. I think for 1 year you can leave your wife and kids here in Malaysia. At least by doing this you are not tying yourself down to a number of years there and if you only stay for 1 year you will get the experience which may be useful when you come back to Malaysia.
Nice. Getting GBP equivalent but spend in Malaysia

TSKakistok
post May 10 2023, 08:49 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(sundancekid @ May 10 2023, 08:17 PM)

Really? I know its in upper-income category, not sure if its brow-raiser. I used to earn way more in US for the same job, around gbp8000.

This is the dream isn't it, 1st world salary in 3rd world country.

No doubt, Malaysia is the best. Tanah air ku.
SUSBrookLes
post May 10 2023, 08:54 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 10 2023, 08:20 PM)
I can easily save about 50% if I want to, but I save about 30% currently (20% enjoy la)

At this point, comfort and space are important to me, don't see myself sharing places with others, especially if I'm going to bring my family as well.

from career point of view, though I would be in the same position but the company is "elite", a dream brand to work for. a jaw dropper surely. I don't think its a company affected by global economy because they only deal with wealthy people.
I would like to see it as a stepping stone for something better in the future, but unfortunately, it's something you can't foresee. One thing for sure, I will return back to Malaysia if I did go, just don't know when. Maybe even for retirement.
Of course anything can happen.
But I dunno. For me, from a monetary point of view. You can probably save more here considering the same kind of lifestyle. I think over there you have to sacrifice time cooking and doing most of the things by yourself. And I think you are brining your family there so expect more unexpected spending.

And the inflation is already happening.

Prior to pandemic, you never expect that countries all over the world will take such strong measures. But now anything goes. They can just make unexpected policies just like that.

But you seemed to have made up your mind. But if you think that this company represents a career change and that you can probably come back to Malaysia in 3 years time with a better bargaining power, then I have nothing much to say.
wanna be hi-tech
post May 11 2023, 05:15 PM

Any self respecting GEEK, certainly owns more than a single rig
1,598 posts

Wow, direct feedback from UK.

i wish i was young. I got unfinished matter to settle in UK. PI would go if i am not unker 😂
SUSfuzzy
post May 11 2023, 06:19 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

It really depends on what you want. I would like to say its worth it for the money, but I see you are married and have a kid, so long term wise you family will have to move there as well so I don't think there's much 'savings' per say.

And if your plan is not to build a life there, what else is the advantage of going? Career-wise, it seems like this will be a great move. Even if it does not last, the name on your resume will be helpful and I do not believe you won't find something similar given how niche your skillset is (based on what you say).

But company name aside, is it a bigger / higher role? Because given the nature of London, you might be a big fish here but going over there, you will be a small one and unless you are darn sure you have to capability to grow to be big, it might be a waste and detrimental to your current growth in your role.

TSKakistok
post May 11 2023, 11:40 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ May 11 2023, 06:19 PM)
It really depends on what you want. I would like to say its worth it for the money, but I see you are married and have a kid, so long term wise you family will have to move there as well so I don't think there's much 'savings' per say.

And if your plan is not to build a life there, what else is the advantage of going? Career-wise, it seems like this will be a great move. Even if it does not last, the name on your resume will be helpful and I do not believe you won't find something similar given how niche your skillset is (based on what you say).

But company name aside, is it a bigger / higher role? Because given the nature of London, you might be a big fish here but going over there, you will be a small one and unless you are darn sure you have to capability to grow to be big, it might be a waste and detrimental to your current growth in your role.
its niche and rare is what I meant, very2 few companies that offer that kind of job (rnd engineering), its more popular in US,EU and China.
Im going for a similar level I have now, just that I'm going back to an industry I'm familiar.

Well not sure about big or small fish, when I first went to US, I thought I was a small fish too but I think I did quite well there. However,after starting a family, my career seems to have stagnated, guess it was just me, I switched my focus. Im not as career oriented as I used too, just want to go back when its 5. No more taking extra courses, or trying out new things (work related) after work. And I compete with guys who are still single and live in the office.

mystalyzer
post May 12 2023, 02:41 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 11 2023, 11:40 PM)
its niche and rare is what I meant, very2 few companies that offer that kind of job (rnd engineering), its more popular in US,EU and China.
Im going for a similar level I have now, just that I'm going back to an industry I'm familiar.

Well not sure about big or small fish, when I first went to US, I thought I was a small fish too but I think I did quite well there. However,after starting a family, my career seems to have stagnated, guess it was just me, I switched my focus. Im not as career oriented as I used too, just want to go back when its 5. No more taking extra courses, or trying out new things (work related) after work. And I compete with guys who are still single and live in the office.
You said your family is important, so you should be where your family is. If your family wants to move with you to the UK, then move. If they don't then stay in Malaysia.

TSKakistok
post May 12 2023, 09:26 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 12 2023, 02:41 AM)
You said your family is important, so you should be where your family is. If your family wants to move with you to the UK, then move. If they don't then stay in Malaysia.
Yes they are.
But they want me to go if I get it , they are more excited than I am.
subdroid
post May 12 2023, 09:29 AM

139 posts

Salary around rm11k
wrongly read.

go for it TS

This post has been edited by subdroid: May 12 2023, 09:30 AM
TSKakistok
post May 12 2023, 12:00 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ May 8 2023, 01:34 AM)
The most important question is
Do you ask your partner about this, are she and yr kid up to this changes?
How about both sides of parents?

The rest is up to you. Good prospect are hard to come by but if it doesn’t work out, do you have plan B?
If all are ok and well plan, then I don’t see why not give it a try.
My partner is more excited than I am. She is up for the move. Kid is still 3yo.
No ones else knows about it just yet. Sure parents wont be happy, have to leave them again.

I dont know what plan B is, come back and job hunt again in Malaysia maybe.
SUSfuzzy
post May 12 2023, 12:18 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 12 2023, 12:00 PM)
No ones else knows about it just yet. Sure parents wont be happy, have to leave them again.

If the wife and kid is coming along, you will have to do a review of your COL with the family in tow, rather than individual.

I think its a good move career-wise, but not really sure financial wise it's much of a difference.
mystalyzer
post May 12 2023, 03:32 PM

394 posts

Word of advice. It's almost impossible to bring your parents long term to UK, they probably won't want to anyway. Parents can stay up to 6 months a year in the UK though

Wife and kids no problem. Money doesn't seem to be a problem for you so why bother saving so much?

Just enjoy life in europe, so many places to visit. Link below is some of my recent trips:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5362211

Iceman74
post May 12 2023, 03:48 PM

1,407 posts

well, if your wife is up to it and know the risk. Why not give it a try!
Parents might be sad but we need to look further into future especially you already got young kid that can and will adopt to the lifestyle there.
If the kid any older, they might not like it.

If me, i will give it a try since financially and everyone are ok with it and still young if really not work out to come back.

I miss the chance to go either SG or Australia when me and partner was younger cos she not up to it especially Australia.
SG, she also hesitate cos need to start everything from zero but got commitment. Me too need to start from zero cos i need to close down my business here.
As time pass, the opportunities closed up as our business picking up and kids grow up.
There always something inside me reminding me, what if hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Iceman74: May 12 2023, 03:49 PM
romuluz777
post May 13 2023, 12:52 AM

2,225 posts

The offered package is crap. I wont even bother. Relocating this far and with family along takes so much more.
Stay back and look for something else.
TSKakistok
post May 13 2023, 05:09 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ May 13 2023, 12:52 AM)
The offered package is crap. I wont even bother. Relocating this far and with family along takes so much more.
Stay back and look for something else.
whats your "acceptable" package then?
TSKakistok
post May 13 2023, 05:33 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 8 2023, 09:26 PM)

the private and public pension fund from UK? Is it compulsory to contribute to pension fund. And have you got your PR?
When I was in the US, I did not sign up for 401k Because I know I'm not going to settle down in the US. I invested my money into stocks and the rest send back to Malaysia to pay off debts. Though Im debt free now and own a home (probably the best investment Ive made while working in the US), still worried about my future finance.
I only have about rm100+k investment in the US from my time there, EPF not so much because I only worked in Malaysia for 4 years in total.

TSKakistok
post May 13 2023, 05:41 PM

201 posts

Been simply exploring Surrey for property rentals, 2B units are at least 1.5k gbp and they look so ugly, macam rumah zaman peaky blinders biggrin.gif
so the rental would be potentially 40-50% of nett pay.

Currently, I'm only paying 17% of my nett pay for rent, 3B spacious condo unit in JB.
mystalyzer
post May 13 2023, 08:36 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 13 2023, 05:33 PM)
the private and public pension fund from UK? Is it compulsory to contribute to pension fund. And have you got your PR?
When I was in the US, I did not sign up for 401k Because I know I'm not going to settle down in the US. I invested my money into stocks and the rest send back to Malaysia to pay off debts. Though Im debt free now and own a home (probably the best investment Ive made while working in the US), still worried about my future finance.
I only have about rm100+k investment in the US from my time there, EPF not so much because I only worked in Malaysia for 4 years in total.
Yes, you can probably opt out. Yes, I have PR here. The problem I have working in 3 different countries is the pensions are scattered across 3 countries. You can always pay into EPF with your earnings from abroad if you want to retire in Malaysia

you need to think long and hard where you want to settle down before making your decision
TSKakistok
post May 13 2023, 08:41 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 13 2023, 08:36 PM)
Yes, you can probably opt out. Yes, I have PR here. The problem I have working in 3 different countries is the pensions are scattered across 3 countries. You can always pay into EPF with your earnings from abroad if you want to retire in Malaysia

you need to think long and hard where you want to settle down before making your decision
Don't mind me asking how much you're earning? I know you mentioned you save about 10k gbp a year, I'm assuming that's after all your travelling or buying/enjoying things you want?
AfraidIGotBan
post May 13 2023, 10:37 PM

246 posts

I finally un-SUS to join this tered.

Career wise, I would say that UK might be a good place, but family-wise, it depends.

My experience, I came to the UK almost fifteen years ago, and I come here by giving up everything I had in Malaysia. Managed to survive tho.

Nowadays, it might be difficult, because of how things changed here.
AfraidIGotBan
post May 13 2023, 10:43 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 13 2023, 09:41 AM)
Been simply exploring Surrey for property rentals, 2B units are at least 1.5k gbp and they look so ugly, macam rumah zaman peaky blinders biggrin.gif
so the rental would be potentially 40-50% of nett pay.

Currently, I'm only paying 17% of my nett pay for rent, 3B spacious condo unit in JB.
Living actually can be arranged at ease once you have a proper permit to work/stay here in the UK. (My line is more to jimat cermat style, and would be even friendlier if you're a Chinese)

But again, I dunno why you would choose Surrey. Is that location close to your workplace?

Houses in the UK is always had the odd design, ugly I would emphasize. They loves rounded, corners, full of edges, terrible window built in, awful design, and cramping stuff into spaces, for example, putting a stairs right in front of you after opening the main door, to putting a wall between your kitchen to living room etc.

I notice you mentioned you're coming to the UK with your family in consideration, so might as well choose a place good and accessible, not too rural. (traffic is shyte here, with many hidden cost)
TSKakistok
post May 13 2023, 11:00 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(AfraidIGotBan @ May 13 2023, 10:37 PM)
I finally un-SUS to join this tered.

Career wise, I would say that UK might be a good place, but family-wise, it depends.

My experience, I came to the UK almost fifteen years ago, and I come here by giving up everything I had in Malaysia. Managed to survive tho.

Nowadays, it might be difficult, because of how things changed here.
From a career perspective, I think it will open up more options for me in the future. During the interview, I did ask about the state of the company during covid and with possible global recession/inflation -
according to them, they have a new CEO and he brought in new investments that have set them for the next 7 years, at least the plan for next 3 to 4 years is clear what needs to be delivered. Hence why they are expanding.
Plius during covid, the company did lay-off people but their team was not affected (RnD engineering)

May I ask, have you regretted the decision to go to UK?

QUOTE(AfraidIGotBan @ May 13 2023, 10:43 PM)
Living actually can be arranged at ease once you have a proper permit to work/stay here in the UK. (My line is more to jimat cermat style, and would be even friendlier if you're a Chinese)

But again, I dunno why you would choose Surrey. Is that location close to your workplace?

Yes, the company is in Surrey. Or any location you may want to recommend around Surrey. Would be great if there are Asian/Malaysian community in the area

Houses in the UK is always had the odd design, ugly I would emphasize. They loves rounded, corners, full of edges, terrible window built in, awful design, and cramping stuff into spaces, for example, putting a stairs right in front of you after opening the main door, to putting a wall between your kitchen to living room etc.

I notice you mentioned you're coming to the UK with your family in consideration, so might as well choose a place good and accessible, not too rural. (traffic is shyte here, with many hidden cost)

Yea, not sure yet if I would be going first and they would join later or we all go together. However that's something to think about if Im selected. My friend (one of the interviewer) told me he will update me by end of next week.
AfraidIGotBan
post May 13 2023, 11:28 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 13 2023, 03:00 PM)
From a career perspective, I think it will open up more options for me in the future. During the interview, I did ask about the state of the company during covid and with possible global recession/inflation -
according to them, they have a new CEO and he brought in new investments that have set them for the next 7 years, at least the plan for next 3 to 4 years is clear what needs to be delivered. Hence why they are expanding.
Plius during covid, the company did lay-off people but their team was not affected (RnD engineering)

May I ask, have you regretted the decision to go to UK?
Yea, not sure yet if I would be going first and they would join later or we all go together. However that's something to think about if Im selected. My friend (one of the interviewer) told me he will update me by end of next week.
No regret so far. I'm not any overachiever or whatever expertise fella after all. I graduated from Master in Molecular Gastronomy, swiss master degree, come back malaysia become a retail assistant manager, a regional manager for certain 7-11-like retail company, and fail in my own kopitiam business, habis all my savings and marriage fund.

Coming to the UK was a great eye opener honestly. (After failure and had to hidup to die later)

As long you feel the company is good, reliable, and you're a challenger, I don't see why not to come here and have a try. After all, there's a word says that a dying camel is still taller and bigger than a healthy horse. From outside view, UK is bombarded with inflation, terrible NHS reliability, Brexit, higher cost of living, braindrain, career and whatever, but its all from the outsider's view. We're looking at China with the same mindset too, but my wife side family in China all cari makan shiok shiok, house bigger than mine, car bigger than mine, life better than mine, but income worst than mine.

I hardly mingle with Malaysian, but from my ex-information, places like Leyton/Leytonstone used to have loads of Malaysian, as well as Lewisham/Grove Park, which is slightly greater london. (Sorry but I got big hatred and prejudice over Malaysian in the UK...)

Oh, btw, before coming, always always make sure that you got all your stuff done. You don't want the banks, the house, the insurance, the shits, to come and bug you with "oh you gotta come back and sign or see us to get things handled. You're not in malaysia? Not my concern, now go die thanks" reply.
mystalyzer
post May 14 2023, 05:06 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 13 2023, 08:41 PM)
Don't mind me asking how much you're earning? I know you mentioned you save about 10k gbp a year, I'm assuming that's after all your travelling or buying/enjoying things you want?
salary P&C biggrin.gif . but yes, it's after all of that. i got post where i work before:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4650037&hl=
pinpanpuchi
post May 19 2023, 08:32 AM

UPDATE:
Just attended the interview, my friend was one of the interviewer but his colleague was whom I'd be reporting to if I'm selected. The interview went well, personally,I felt good, I think I scored well without my friends help. biggrin.gif
I still haven't decided yet, just waiting for the offer before I make my decision. Thanks to all who have given feedback.
Your friend was one of the interviewer? Was he an active participant in the interview or just sitting in as an observer? It's a conflict of interest if your friend knowing you personally and having worked with you before being the one to interview you. Most professional companies will not do that but at most just let your friend sit in as a passive observer.

Sorry not related to your question...

infiniti123
post May 19 2023, 11:35 AM

560 posts

wife colleague (28m) quitted last year and when over london. analyst with a pay of 7kGBP (before deductions). company was talking about diversity, hiring more asians etc. same time came up with a similar offer for my wife to go over together. however after a few weeks of discussion, we decided it was better to stay put in malaysia (which we did not regret till now).

had a good catch up with him last month when he was back and he told me he really enjoyed working there, good work life balanace. the wife also enjoys the place, u have weekend market, parks etc.

intially, his plan was to get employed there, can get stationed in malaysia, hence earning GBP while able to stay in MY. however financially, that's not working out and he's planning to move back to malaysia this year.
rental in london is atleast 50% of his income, staying not too near and not too far from central london. and with all the tax deduction, the bring home income isnt a lot. nowadays they have to re-consider if they wanna go out on the weekend.
secondly is inflation is very serious over there. their ultility bills are off the roof. so in the end he's trying to get a job back in Malaysia or SG, but his sector is facing large retrenchment.

so this is just a close friend story i would wanna share. i do believe the work life balance is amazing and if you can get stationed here with you being employed there is even better! hoping you all the best !
whydoikeep doingthis
post May 19 2023, 11:37 AM

40 posts

Also I've been in the UK for a while, their lifestyle is not my cup of tea. Rather be here.
may i know in what aspect
max_cavalera
post May 19 2023, 12:12 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 12 2023, 10:26 AM)
Yes they are.
But they want me to go if I get it , they are more excited than I am.
If you are still young and not yet married and settled in Msia. My advice is to go for it. It gives you more option in life.

Dont old later like unker age 41 edi later will ponder and regret what moght have been.

You can become a PR and retire there or once reach retirment age there come back to Msia and enjoy a very confortable retirement life.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: May 19 2023, 12:13 PM
cms
post May 19 2023, 12:23 PM

763 posts

Live life without regret. Think, consider and then take action.

Dark Lord
post May 19 2023, 12:28 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ May 19 2023, 11:35 AM)
wife colleague (28m) quitted last year and when over london. analyst with a pay of 7kGBP (before deductions). company was talking about diversity, hiring more asians etc. same time came up with a similar offer for my wife to go over together. however after a few weeks of discussion, we decided it was better to stay put in malaysia (which we did not regret till now).

had a good catch up with him last month when he was back and he told me he really enjoyed working there, good work life balanace. the wife also enjoys the place,  u have weekend market, parks etc.

intially, his plan was to get employed there, can get stationed in malaysia, hence earning GBP while able to stay in MY. however financially, that's not working out and he's planning to move back to malaysia this year.
rental in london is atleast 50% of his income, staying not too near and not too far from central london. and with all the tax deduction, the bring home income isnt a lot. nowadays they have to re-consider if they wanna go out on the weekend.
secondly is inflation is very serious over there. their ultility bills are off the roof. so in the end he's trying to get a job back in Malaysia or SG, but his sector is facing large retrenchment.

so this is just a close friend story i would wanna share. i do believe the work life balance is amazing and if you can get stationed here with you being employed there is even better! hoping you all the best !
I have good work-life balance in MY too. Most of my colleagues cabut very fast when it is home time. Within 10 minutes, the office is almost empty. I am sure there are a lot of companies in MY that does not treat their employees inhumanly.

Btw, why do they want to hire someone in MY with GBP? From business point of view, it doesn't make any sense. There are many ways to get the talents they want while hiring more Asians, instead of hiring someone outside UK while paying them GBP.
SUSBrookLes
post May 19 2023, 03:09 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(AfraidIGotBan @ May 13 2023, 11:28 PM)
No regret so far. I'm not any overachiever or whatever expertise fella after all. I graduated from Master in Molecular Gastronomy, swiss master degree, come back malaysia become a retail assistant manager, a regional manager for certain 7-11-like retail company, and fail in my own kopitiam business, habis all my savings and marriage fund.

Coming to the UK was a great eye opener honestly. (After failure and had to hidup to die later)

As long you feel the company is good, reliable, and you're a challenger, I don't see why not to come here and have a try. After all, there's a word says that a dying camel is still taller and bigger than a healthy horse. From outside view, UK is bombarded with inflation, terrible NHS reliability, Brexit, higher cost of living, braindrain, career and whatever, but its all from the outsider's view. We're looking at China with the same mindset too, but my wife side family in China all cari makan shiok shiok, house bigger than mine, car bigger than mine, life better than mine, but income worst than mine.

I hardly mingle with Malaysian, but from my ex-information, places like Leyton/Leytonstone used to have loads of Malaysian, as well as Lewisham/Grove Park, which is slightly greater london. (Sorry but I got big hatred and prejudice over Malaysian in the UK...)

Oh, btw, before coming, always always make sure that you got all your stuff done. You don't want the banks, the house, the insurance, the shits, to come and bug you with "oh you gotta come back and sign or see us to get things handled. You're not in malaysia? Not my concern, now go die thanks" reply.
Problem with having lots of money is, if say you decide to migrate to other country, how much of those money's can you take after tax and fees etc.
mystalyzer
post May 19 2023, 03:34 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 19 2023, 03:09 PM)
Problem with having lots of money is, if say you decide to migrate to other country, how much of those money's can you take after tax and fees etc.
Almost all of it, if tax is already paid in the origin country. I transferred > RM 100k when buying a house in UK, no problem at all. Won't get taxed twice. Transfer fee is minimal
infiniti123
post May 19 2023, 04:10 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(Dark Lord @ May 19 2023, 12:28 PM)
I have good work-life balance in MY too. Most of my colleagues cabut very fast when it is home time. Within 10 minutes, the office is almost empty. I am sure there are a lot of companies in MY that does not treat their employees inhumanly.

Btw, why do they want to hire someone in MY with GBP? From business point of view, it doesn't make any sense. There are many ways to get the talents they want while hiring more Asians, instead of hiring someone outside UK while paying them GBP.
its actually very common practice in our industry (oil and gas) . i'm actually employed in SG but stationed in Johor (paid in SGD). so what my wife's colleague was aimming for was the same thing, hired as a consultant in london who specialise in asian market and get stationed in MY but get paid in GBP
Dark Lord
post May 19 2023, 05:00 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ May 19 2023, 04:10 PM)
its actually very common practice in our industry (oil and gas) . i'm actually employed in SG but stationed in Johor (paid in SGD). so what my wife's colleague was aimming for was the same thing, hired as a consultant in london who specialise in asian market and get stationed in MY but get paid in GBP
I see. Is this common even before covid?

Still look strange to me.
Won't it be cheaper if they just pay you with MYR rate?
Or they are actually paying you less than those who are in UK even though you are paid in their currency?
Perhaps it is only applicable to those with exceptional skills or capable of making a lot of profit for the company?

Just curious.

For your case, SG and MY always have very special relationship. Geographically, we are very close too.
I am not a management or financial person but probably there are advantages for SG-MY cases.

This post has been edited by Dark Lord: May 19 2023, 05:05 PM
AfraidIGotBan
post May 19 2023, 05:08 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(Dark Lord @ May 19 2023, 04:28 AM)

My time, I was hired as a purchaser because I can speak English / Canto / Mandarin / Melayu / Korean / Jepunis / French. Almost insta pass no need 2nd 3rd 4th interview. (or perhaps because I got good cable? The company that hire me is like half sdn bhd type grocer, and my two older cousin bro was their staff in the past when studying in the UK, my older cousin sis even piap the boss son back then when she's studying in the UK.

I guess that's where my cable comes from. But again, work-life balance, yes.

Even now, I am busy and work daily (never once no go office, even weekend or public holiday) I think my work-life balance is better than back in malaysia. Malaysia is you public holiday also has to work, but you whole bunch mofo stay outside office wait some humgarchan with no life-work quality come open office door.

QUOTE(BrookLes @ May 19 2023, 07:09 AM)
As answered by Mystalyzer bruh below, tax is already paid in the origin country. As long paperwork ngam, everything is fine from head to toe. But apparently, some still double tax you, for example, you buy a watch in UK with no tax-free scheme, and the Malaysia custom still die die wanna chop 9 you a piece of flesh. Jokes aside, my time when leaving Malaysia, I sold my car (Kia optima K5), my 1 bedroom studio in segambut (I think I bought for 340 or 350k that time?) and other small stuff (in garage sale, mudah, facebook) and accumulated around 70k ringgit liddat.

But I cheapskate. That time exchange I think 5+ ringgit per pound? Felt like I spend close to 20k for 3k pound in cash. The rest I save in my Harimau card, and the card gave to my mom. I didn''t bring them to the UK. Instead, to earn abit here n there, after reaching London, I find the Malaysian that need remit money urgently or use pounds urgently to sell my ringgits. (Nothing beats the feeling that you get 6000 ringgit for 1000 pounds you gib them, while you only get like 5k plus from Bank. Of coz this is illegal la)

Of course, fee is minimal. But there's some when it comes to inheritance tax which means later when I gib my assets to my kids, they'll kena a big chop. This one even myself tatau how it works.

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ May 19 2023, 07:34 AM)
Almost all of it, if tax is already paid in the origin country. I transferred > RM 100k when buying a house in UK, no problem at all. Won't get taxed twice. Transfer fee is minimal
archief
post May 19 2023, 06:26 PM

106 posts

TS, same situation with u. I worked in SG more than 10 yrs ago salary S$14k that time rate only 2.2x came back to msia after found a job paying higher (obvious choice at that time, but not when SGD hit 3.3x)

married, had a family with kids in malaysia, bought a semiD, new cars, etc. late last year a global brand with RHQ in Singapore approached me, they are willing to pay the same number i am getting dollar to dollar.. meaning if i'm getting rm30k now, they are willing to pay me S$30k + schooling for my kids in SG (i can choose public or international school) + housing/relocation package. it was no brainer, i applied, and because they have interviewed a lot of ppl for this role, it's a management role in a very niche field, my win rate is rather high. Interviewed with multiple MDs from other country, and on my 3rd round discussion with the HR director I was asked a critical question, i wont reveal the question here for privacy reason, but that question made me think long and deep. after that interview, i told them i'm withdrawing from the job application. the reason i did not continue is, my family, my life, my parents and everything here. RM100k salary won't be able to compensate what I have now. If i got this job, i'm sure to stay there for a longggg time already.

once a while I'll think back about this decision, and everytime I also choose to stay in Msia. no regret ever since... but damn... 1.2mil salary per annum... sighh..
feynman
post May 19 2023, 10:37 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Dark Lord @ May 19 2023, 05:00 PM)

Or they are actually paying you less than those who are in UK even though you are paid in their currency?
Perhaps it is only applicable to those with exceptional skills or capable of making a lot of profit for the company?

Just curious.

For your case, SG and MY always have very special relationship. Geographically, we are very close too.
I am not a management or financial person but probably there are advantages for SG-MY cases.
This sort of jobs do exists....it's not usually advertised. These are usually very specialist roles, something that a local resources cannot/do not have the finesse to do. You'll only know about them through headhunters or through networks.
knwong
post May 20 2023, 01:20 AM

3,567 posts

QUOTE(archief @ May 19 2023, 06:26 PM)
TS, same situation with u. I worked in SG more than 10 yrs ago salary S$14k that time rate only 2.2x came back to msia after found a job paying higher (obvious choice at that time, but not when SGD hit 3.3x)

married, had a family with kids in malaysia, bought a semiD, new cars, etc. late last year a global brand with RHQ in Singapore approached me, they are willing to pay the same number i am getting dollar to dollar.. meaning if i'm getting rm30k now, they are willing to pay me S$30k + schooling for my kids in SG (i can choose public or international school) + housing/relocation package. it was no brainer, i applied, and because they have interviewed a lot of ppl for this role, it's a management role in a very niche field, my win rate is rather high. Interviewed with multiple MDs from other country, and on my 3rd round discussion with the HR director I was asked a critical question, i wont reveal the question here for privacy reason, but that question made me think long and deep. after that interview, i told them i'm withdrawing from the job application. the reason i did not continue is, my family, my life, my parents and everything here. RM100k salary won't be able to compensate what I have now. If i got this job, i'm sure to stay there for a longggg time already.

once a while I'll think back about this decision, and everytime I also choose to stay in Msia. no regret ever since... but damn... 1.2mil salary per annum... sighh..
What interview question made you u-turn?
archief
post May 20 2023, 01:13 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 20 2023, 01:20 AM)
What interview question made you u-turn?
addressing the white elephant that previous interviewers didnt asked, or rather.. i think she is performing her duty as HR quite well.
this is a senior role and they've been recruiting since last year. they want someone to stay long term because this role is key to expand to APAC region so they cant afford to have leadership keep changing. she asked in detail my kids, my family, my arrangement in SG, my wife's job (wife is a VP of a MNC in msia) and she cant join me here in SG, my parents, etc. she know i wont last long if i go SG alone. it's an expat package where they sponsor family relocation, housing, children education and medical plan for entire family. if i go SG alone, then it defeats the purpose. She hint me to reconsider my plan thoroughly. my answer wasnt convincing anyway, i said i'll bring my kids over to SG when they reach high school. even i couldn't convince myself...
infiniti123
post May 20 2023, 03:33 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(Dark Lord @ May 19 2023, 05:00 PM)

Just curious.

yeap even before covid it was common. especially for this Local o&g company we work at (guess also know which local one la haha). 5 year bond locally, request transfer to UK branch, then 6months in request to be station in MY based on the experties you have of local market. guess now market is low demand and like you say, cost cutting measures everywhere. maybe that's why wife colleague struggling.
TSKakistok
post May 20 2023, 04:27 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(pinpanpuchi @ May 19 2023, 08:32 AM)
Your friend was one of the interviewer? Was he an active participant in the interview or just sitting in as an observer? It's a conflict of interest if your friend knowing you personally and having worked with you before being the one to interview you. Most professional companies will not do that but at most just let your friend sit in as a passive observer.

Sorry not related to your question...
Yes, he was one of the interviewers and he is the hiring manager. His boss was also in the meeting and asked more higher-level technical questions and he was too aware of my relationship with my friend.
It's not solely my friend's decision.

This post has been edited by Kakistok: May 20 2023, 05:30 PM
TSKakistok
post May 20 2023, 05:30 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(archief @ May 19 2023, 06:26 PM)

Inspiring, to say the least. I'm only at 11k, slowly working my way up.

I may need to create another topic. Just this week I got a call from my ex MD (my first company I worked for, 3 years Malaysia, 5 years in US)
He said a lot of seniors recently left company, there was a movement - ( one ex employee joined a startup in Saudi, pulled all the seniors from the company)

He wants to know if I'm interested to take up the HOD role, a team of 22 engineers. I gave it a go, we had an interview with rest of the group i.e MD, HR, current temporary expat HOD
This will be based in KL (my hometown) which is perfect.

Just don't know how much they would offer yet, probably will know next week if I'm selected. It's a business with similar technical skills to the one in UK, but UK I would be a lead/senior engineer and here HOD. UK company is OEM, MY is an engineering consultant.

I know is out of the actual thread topic, but from what you've written, I think you've no alien to a situation like this.
They seem desperate for a person to get hold of the team. I have no idea what the previous HOD was earning, they currently have a temporary ex-pat from Germany in that role, he will be leaving soon.
How much can I demand?

A big next week. If I'm not selected for both, then business as usual biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Kakistok: May 20 2023, 06:38 PM
archief
post May 20 2023, 07:35 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(Kakistok @ May 20 2023, 05:30 PM)
Inspiring, to say the least. I'm only at 11k, slowly working my way up.

I may need to create another topic. Just this week I got a call from my ex MD (my first company I worked for, 3 years Malaysia, 5 years in US)
He said a lot of seniors recently left company, there was a movement - ( one ex employee joined a startup in Saudi, pulled all the seniors from the company)

He wants to know if I'm interested to take up the HOD role, a team of 22 engineers. I gave it a go, we had an interview with rest of the group i.e MD, HR, current temporary expat HOD
This will be based in KL (my hometown) which is perfect.

Just don't know how much they would offer yet, probably will know next week if I'm selected. It's a business with similar technical skills to the one in UK, but UK I would be a lead/senior engineer and here HOD. UK company is OEM, MY is an engineering consultant.

I know is out of the actual thread topic, but from what you've written, I think you've no alien to a situation like this.
They seem desperate for a person to get hold of the team. I have no idea what the previous HOD was earning, they currently have a temporary ex-pat from Germany in that role, he will be leaving soon.
How much can I demand?

A big next week. If I'm not selected for both, then business as usual  biggrin.gif
u can ask them what's the prevailing rate la for the role, and what's the OTE package. usually p&l ownership/management role dont just draw basic salary. best if there's HR to interface so u can ask these kinda questions. i always ask upfront, otherwise dont waste my time.
TSKakistok
post May 21 2023, 01:08 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ May 19 2023, 11:35 AM)

had a good catch up with him last month when he was back and he told me he really enjoyed working there, good work life balanace. the wife also enjoys the place,  u have weekend market, parks etc.

yea the rental and inflation do sound scary. I've checked the rental prices around the UK company, and it's close to 50% of the possible take-home salary.
my current rental in Johor is only 17% biggrin.gif
my friend that invited me for this job also told me the work-life balance there is amazing. nobody works after 5. It's a work-from-home role but need to come to the office maybe one or two days a week. So no opportunity to be stationed in Malaysia full time. However, he told me I can work from Malaysia like for a month, say twice a year taking vacation days in between. He said some of his foreign colleagues do that.
If I'm selected, and once I know the offer - I'll discuss it with him in terms of living cost and all that stuff to make sure it aligns with my needs. Money is not my main priority (the company is a huge pull), but at least should be able to save/invest more than what I currently have and not think twice to buy something which is actually affordable.

This post has been edited by Kakistok: May 21 2023, 01:09 PM

0.0610sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:42 PM