GOT MY FIRST MACBOOK PRO!, Going from Windows to Mac
acbc
May 6 2023, 11:08 AM
I used the Mac mostly for work.
These days, I also used older ThinkPads which I restored from piles of junk parts for media consumption and some work. For example, I have the X230, 13 Gen 2, X230T, and L440. I thought these from Carousell were in either non-working condition or just piles of useless parts.
I never need to buy new laptops ever again as I get other ThinkPad and Latitude models monthly from friends, and families plus great offers from Carousell.
acbc
May 6 2023, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(corad @ May 6 2023, 11:20 AM) why would you use old ThinkPads for media ? the screen and speakers are pretty bad .... I used the X250 and even with a self-upgrade 1920x1080 screen its no where near any recent displays. I even had the 72kwh battery pack, supposedly good for 12h ... but in real world only saw about 5h on simple web browsing + email and documents. Stock speakers are not loud enough but I'm using Mi HiFi headphones so it is negligible. As for the screen, did u opt for IPS ones? I did this for both X230 and X230T. Heck, even my E6540 also went through the IPS mod. The display is damn nice.
acbc
May 26 2023, 07:34 AM
Torrenting on SSD will kill it faster.
Don't forget, the SSD on M2 is not removable.
Be warned.
acbc
May 28 2023, 07:33 PM
QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ May 28 2023, 07:04 PM) oh well, nothing i can do. already start torrenting. LOL! Never, i havent gone and collected it. If u torrenting 24x7, the SSD will die after 3-4 years. Better u torrenting onto an external HDD instead. Cheaper and better.
acbc
May 28 2023, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ May 28 2023, 09:18 PM) i do have an external SSD ... so.. these days SSD is quite resilient i think. Not like old technology lah! but thanks for the advice! I will definitely pay attention to this!  Not really. My Mac Mini 2012 SSD died after 7 years of 24x7 boot up and light usage. I never turned it off since upgraded to SSD back in 2015. Just this year, the Mac Mini won't boot and after removing the SSD, CrystalDisk reported the SSD health is 1% or 69876 hours. Now, a 2012 Mac Mini can easily replace the SSD but newer M1 or M2 no such luck. So, good luck in your adventures.