5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

GOT MY FIRST MACBOOK PRO!, Going from Windows to Mac

kanz1986
post May 10 2023, 05:23 PM

108 posts

15-inch MacBook Air is rumoured to be announced in WWDC next month. Perhaps a good option for those that are using for office works and not too much in media production?
TSmiyakochan89
post May 10 2023, 05:42 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ May 10 2023, 05:16 PM)
laugh.gif  Congrats! Remember to get at least the 1tb one as the 512gb has slower read/write speed.

And yes you can get Applecare later, as long as it is within your 1 year warranty period.
No la, 512 is all I can afford and I don’t really care for the speed. I don’t think it’s that slow anyways.
Lego Warfare
post May 10 2023, 06:04 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ May 10 2023, 05:42 PM)
No la, 512 is all I can afford and I don’t really care for the speed. I don’t think it’s that slow anyways.
Then you can consider the 2021 version, it's going for RM7.9k from Switch. Faster SSD and better thermals than the 2022 version.
darkmusses
post May 10 2023, 06:44 PM

595 posts

Ahh, the good ol' days where I buy my MBA before GST kicks in for travel use only ...
TSmiyakochan89
post May 10 2023, 06:57 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ May 10 2023, 06:04 PM)
Then you can consider the 2021 version, it's going for RM7.9k from Switch. Faster SSD and better thermals than the 2022 version.
No la, I’m just gonna go for the latest version. Hehe!
darkmusses
post May 10 2023, 10:56 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ May 10 2023, 06:57 PM)
No la, I’m just gonna go for the latest version. Hehe!
Tell me what you buy ya in the end .. I'm considering but I just bought a win based laptop not long ago TT.TT
TSmiyakochan89
post May 10 2023, 11:47 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

UPDATE: I GOT MY FIRST MACBOOK PRO!
In the end I decided to plunge into the deep well and got myself a 14" MacBook Pro M2.

I have so many considerations when it comes MacBook Air, cause I was afraid that it would break down easily without the fan even though plenty of forumers have assured me that there is no heat. And after a lot of consideration, I decided to fuck it get the 14" MacBook Pro since it comes with 16GB RAM and a fan design!

And I am now enjoying its amazing speaker and beautiful screen! Totally worth it!!!
farkingdom
post May 11 2023, 02:56 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ May 6 2023, 11:40 AM)
MacBook Air is about RM4000+.

I was looking at decent gaming laptops and they easily cost RM6K, so I’m thinking, if I get the cheapest MacBook Pro, it’s just RM5699? I don’t need the extra storage as I already have external ssd.

And also I’m wondering if the gaming laptop actually lasts that long? MacBook Pro might easily last me 5 years or so? I know a friend who is still using her 10 years old MacBook Pro for streaming shows only. Haha
My Legion 5 with RTX3060 cost around 4.5k
So it’s not really all in the 6k league.
andrewtho
post May 11 2023, 06:01 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ May 10 2023, 11:47 PM)
In the end I decided to plunge into the deep well and got myself a 14" MacBook Pro M2.

I have so many considerations when it comes MacBook Air, cause I was afraid that it would break down easily without the fan even though plenty of forumers have assured me that there is no heat. And after a lot of consideration, I decided to fuck it get the 14" MacBook Pro since it comes with 16GB RAM and a fan design!

And I am now enjoying its amazing speaker and beautiful screen! Totally worth it!!!
Ah congrats!

16GB is always a safer bet although they said that it is a unified memory, i still think that for future use it is always better to get 16GB so you can have a peace of mind. Welcome to the 14 inci club! the screen and speakers alone is worth the splurge, trust me.

btw for applecare - as long as it is purchased within 12 months should be alright. personally i don't need it, not sure if its the same for you tongue.gif
TSmiyakochan89
post May 11 2023, 09:28 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ May 11 2023, 06:01 PM)
Ah congrats!

16GB is always a safer bet although they said that it is a unified memory, i still think that for future use it is always better to get 16GB so you can have a peace of mind. Welcome to the 14 inci club! the screen and speakers alone is worth the splurge, trust me.

btw for applecare - as long as it is purchased within 12 months should be alright. personally i don't need it, not sure if its the same for you  tongue.gif
Yes the speaker is amazing!!! But I’m also very scared of virus since I’m going to download things so I’m going to get an antivirus too. Hehe
andrewtho
post May 12 2023, 12:27 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ May 11 2023, 09:28 PM)
Yes the speaker is amazing!!! But I’m also very scared of virus since I’m going to download things so I’m going to get an antivirus too. Hehe
You don't really need one actually. Just be wary of where you download contents from - in most cases, antivirus for Macs are not compulsory. I never had an antivirus software for either Windows or Macs for over 10 years tongue.gif
shinichi88
post May 12 2023, 12:33 PM

Holy Crusader
984 posts

antivirus are not compulsory..
But i think you might need anti-malware..

You never know when you will fell into malware/ransomware trap when you downloading too much "stuff"
LDP
post May 12 2023, 12:52 PM

638 posts

Somehow I felt nostalgic after reading this post..I still remember when I switched to MBP for the first time several years ago...The only difficult part is shopping for accessories...as it is going to be pricier compared to Windows...

This post has been edited by LDP: May 12 2023, 12:52 PM
TSmiyakochan89
post May 12 2023, 02:08 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ May 12 2023, 12:27 PM)
You don't really need one actually. Just be wary of where you download contents from - in most cases, antivirus for Macs are not compulsory. I never had an antivirus software for either Windows or Macs for over 10 years tongue.gif
QUOTE(shinichi88 @ May 12 2023, 12:33 PM)
antivirus are not compulsory..
But i think you might need anti-malware..

You never know when you will fell into malware/ransomware trap when you downloading too much "stuff"
Yes i dont need it but its never too safe in the internet these days. Viruses dont target macbook only because the percentage is smaller, there is not point for them to do that, doesnt mean its not penetrable. As i download torrents for shows and books so better be safe than sorry!

QUOTE(LDP @ May 12 2023, 12:52 PM)
Somehow I felt nostalgic after reading this post..I still remember when I switched to MBP for the first time several years ago...The only difficult part is shopping for accessories...as it is going to be pricier compared to Windows...
What other accessories do you really need though?
shinichi88
post May 12 2023, 07:53 PM

Holy Crusader
984 posts

After I got my MBP 14, the very first accessories I got are the adapter..
USB type C to USB A 3.0, RJ45, DP, & DP..
then next are macbook transparent cover. 😅
Arvinaaaaa
post May 13 2023, 01:47 PM

Peace :D
3,930 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ May 6 2023, 10:41 AM)
Recently I’m on the hunt for a new laptop, because I want some portability and lately I realise that I don’t seem to be that interested in gaming anymore.

I have been looking at windows gaming laptops, cause I want that ‘just in case’ moment when I feel like playing, but likely not? Not sure… the price points seem very similar with MacBooks, so I’m wondering if I should just make the switch.

My main usage is just purely surfing and torrenting to watch tons of shows. Having a nice beast that won’t lag me while I open multiple tabs and some Microsoft office works IF I NEED (usually only when I’m about to change jobs.. lol) sounds perfect to me, on top of that I would love to have that device to last for longer than 4 years at least.

What do you think?? Will it be an issue if I just jump ship? Will I have buyer remorse or something? I assume that these days and age a lot of apps like VLC for an example are well optimised for Mac OS too?

Speaking of which, what is the equivalent ram sizes for MacBook? I try checking on the websites, can’t seem to find any.

Thanks in advance for your input.

U are the one who asked about the macbook air kan? 😅☺️☺️
Arvinaaaaa
post May 13 2023, 01:50 PM

3,930 posts

QUOTE(corad @ May 6 2023, 11:17 AM)
I use my laptop for emails, powerpoint, excel and word. Switched from a 2014 Thinkpad to M2 MBA last year.

Pros from MBA, great battery life, good screen and speakers (don't feel like I have to use earphones when I'm alone).

Cons is the MacOS itself. After 6+ months of using, still miss windows. Especially the taskbar where on Mac I can't see all the tabs at once. Mac fans would say use "Mission Control" but honestly with the tabs always moving around it's pretty useless especially when shifting between more than 5 PDFs and Excel / Word.

Microsoft 365 is buggy on MacOS, with a runtime error everytime it starts but apart from that runs normally. Keyboard is also meh but trackpad is good.

Have Parallels since one of the software I use only runs on Windows but the constant "upgrade" offers are annoying.

Due to this, I'm looking to go back to a Windows laptop, and get combo it a iPad instead for media.
Dun waste money on an ipad bro, trust me on this

U might as well get a super thin and portable windows laptop for both work and media usages. Ie hp envy or dell xps or hp spectre, those are beautiful windows laptops 😄

This post has been edited by Arvinaaaaa: May 13 2023, 01:53 PM
Arvinaaaaa
post May 13 2023, 01:52 PM

3,930 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ May 6 2023, 11:03 AM)
You can also game on macbook thanks to cloud gaming..

Just sign up for GeForce Now.
What internet speed ya is recommended?
Baconateer
post May 13 2023, 02:08 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ May 13 2023, 01:52 PM)
What internet speed ya is recommended?
min 15mbps

Arvinaaaaa
post May 13 2023, 02:26 PM

3,930 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ May 13 2023, 02:08 PM)
min 15mbps
Then no need dedicated graphics card dy la 😂

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0311sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:13 AM