QUOTE(stupidbump @ Dec 2 2007, 08:30 AM)
ooo...okok...but then one friend of mine claimed that pups tend to bite more because their teeth are growing and are quite itchy in the mouth? true?
And another thing, does pups' teeth drop of like human babies?
Is true... you don't call it itchy in the mouth la.... hahaha... sounds weird. We call it teething period.
Yes, they drop their baby teeth to get adult teeth. That is why called teething period lah. Don't expect your dog to spit out the baby teeth coz dogs cannot spit. Sometimes if lucky, it would fall off but sometimes the teeth drops during eating and it would then be swallowed. No worries as it is perfectly natural.
When a pup is teething, he would like to chew. Normally teething period is around 4 months to 5 months and it would go on till the pup is 8 or 9 months.... some take longer, it depends lah.
Now, your pup tear up news paper is not coz teething period lah.... he just wanna play. Newspaper or any paper base product is nice to chew. Is something like a crunchy crispy object to play with. To avoid such behaviour, get toys for your dog. Then you train your dog.
Put newspaper on the floor. When he go and tear the newspaper, scold him no. Pull him aside and give him his toy to chew. Repeat this on and on. When he ignores the newspaper, praise him and give a treat or something.
For pee and poo, normally not every dog is successful with newspaper if they have never been trained to use newspaper properly since young. So the best place for such things is actually grass. All dogs favour grass or other places better than newspaper.
If you wanna train your pup to use the newspaper to pee and poo, you must understand and learn his pee and poo time. Normally puppies pee and poo after play, after they wake up and after food. So everytime you think he wanna pee and poo, quickly bring him to the newspaper. Make sure the newspaper got some old pee smell so your pup can recognize it. Then be patient, wait till the pup wanna pee and poo. Once successfully done, praise and give a treat. Positive training, never hit a pup during it's growing months.... it can do more harm than good.