Total lightning strike/hr in KL is just ridiculous

TSchromatino_hex
post May 1 2023, 08:16 PM, updated 3y ago

176 posts

I just moved to KL one year ago and I am new to the lightning strikes in KL. But they are literally so annoying and I am scared to walk outside at night due to the extremely frequent lightning strikes. I currently don't have a car so I have to walk some distance to buy something at a supermarket nearby. And I can't even do it because of the danger of being struck by lightning. How do KL people survive walking on the streets at night without cover all this time? I am very curious. Just bring car is it?

Also, I just know that Kuala Lumpur is one of the most lightning-intensive capitals in the world. Lol

"Asia
The three regions in Asia with the most thunderstorms are all in Pakistan. Violent thunderstorms with intense electrical activity develop there in July and August, especially in Daggar in the Hindu Kush foothills. The highest monthly lightning frequency in the world has been observed here in August, exceeding even that of the most thunderstorm-prone months in the Congo. In Rajouri, in the far west of the state of Jammu and Kashmir, violent thunderstorms with tornadoes, heavy hailstorms and flooding are also observed during the monsoon. These regions are located at the foot of the Himalayas and have the greatest amount of electrical activity during the monsoon months between May and October, and especially in August and September. Again, the most violent thunderstorms occur at the foothills. In these regions, the warm, moist air of the southwestern monsoon from the Arabian Sea meets the cold, dry air descending from the Tibetan Plateau.

The lightning climatology of Kuala Lumpur, the capital of Malaysia, is also interesting. With an FRD of 93 lightning strikes per km2 per year, it ranks only tenth in Asia, but it is the world’s most lightning-prone capital city. Overall, Kuala Lumpur ranks number 52 in the 500 most lightning-prone regions of the world."

This post has been edited by chromatino_hex: May 1 2023, 08:17 PM
Lucas0323
post May 1 2023, 08:17 PM

808 posts

Char Siew
smallbug
post May 1 2023, 08:18 PM

874 posts

To get your answer, go to the top floor and fly a kite.
TSchromatino_hex
post May 1 2023, 08:18 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ May 1 2023, 08:18 PM)
To get your answer, go to the top floor and fly a kite.
" With an FRD of 93 lightning strikes per km2 per year, it ranks only tenth in Asia, but it is the world’s most lightning-prone capital city. Overall, Kuala Lumpur ranks number 52 in the 500 most lightning-prone regions of the world."

You will see me tomorrow on the news if I do that tonight.

This post has been edited by chromatino_hex: May 1 2023, 08:19 PM
kcchong2000
post May 1 2023, 08:19 PM

189 posts

Lel. How many ppl killed by lightning strike in KL per year?
JohnL77

1,887 posts

TSchromatino_hex

176 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ May 1 2023, 08:19 PM)
Lel. How many ppl killed by lightning strike in KL per year?
Would you trust government statistics though?
Optizorb

1,261 posts

dont worry, just walk or stand under trees.

confirm you will be safe.
jaycee1
post May 1 2023, 08:20 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(Lucas0323 @ May 1 2023, 08:17 PM)
Char Siew
Fail science too.

With so many tall buildings around, you must have your number really due to get hit by lighting.
Raddus

239 posts

Just drive lah

Axia only under 50k
TSchromatino_hex

176 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ May 1 2023, 08:19 PM)
I know building got safety protection measures. I am talking about walking on streets at night to buy groceries at a nearby supermarket for those without cars.
lopo90

695 posts

QUOTE(chromatino_hex @ May 1 2023, 08:16 PM)
I just moved to KL one year ago and I am new to the lightning strikes in KL. But they are literally so annoying and I am scared to walk outside at night due to the extremely frequent lightning strikes. I currently don't have a car so I have to walk some distance to buy something at a supermarket nearby. And I can't even do it because of the danger of being struck by lightning. How do KL people survive walking on the streets at night without cover all this time? I am very curious. Just bring car is it?

Also, I just know that Kuala Lumpur is one of the most lightning-intensive capitals in the world. Lol

"Asia
The three regions in Asia with the most thunderstorms are all in Pakistan. Violent thunderstorms with intense electrical activity develop there in July and August, especially in Daggar in the Hindu Kush foothills. The highest monthly lightning frequency in the world has been observed here in August, exceeding even that of the most thunderstorm-prone months in the Congo. In Rajouri, in the far west of the state of Jammu and Kashmir, violent thunderstorms with tornadoes, heavy hailstorms and flooding are also observed during the monsoon. These regions are located at the foot of the Himalayas and have the greatest amount of electrical activity during the monsoon months between May and October, and especially in August and September. Again, the most violent thunderstorms occur at the foothills. In these regions, the warm, moist air of the southwestern monsoon from the Arabian Sea meets the cold, dry air descending from the Tibetan Plateau.

The lightning climatology of Kuala Lumpur, the capital of Malaysia, is also interesting. With an FRD of 93 lightning strikes per km2 per year, it ranks only tenth in Asia, but it is the world’s most lightning-prone capital city. Overall, Kuala Lumpur ranks number 52 in the 500 most lightning-prone regions of the world."
Chill

This frequent lightning strikes will subside soon as the la Nina weather phenomena is ending

Next year weather will be less erratic

Just enjoy the cool weather while it last
kcchong2000

189 posts

QUOTE(chromatino_hex @ May 1 2023, 08:19 PM)
Just answer me. There will rumours if someone died. So did u hear any rumour?
munak991
post May 1 2023, 08:21 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

How did you survive in tropical country?
Syie9^_^
post May 1 2023, 08:21 PM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

Dont forget to buy 0233 :0
Syie9^_^
post May 1 2023, 08:22 PM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(lopo90 @ May 1 2023, 09:50 PM)
Chill

This frequent lightning strikes will subside soon as the la Nina weather phenomena is ending

Next year weather will be less erratic

Just enjoy the cool weather while it last
how you know so well wub.gif
JohnL77
post May 1 2023, 08:23 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(chromatino_hex @ May 1 2023, 08:20 PM)
I know building got safety protection measures. I am talking about walking on streets at night to buy groceries at a nearby supermarket for those without cars.
Lightning rods on buildings diverts the lightning away from people la.

9m2w
post May 1 2023, 08:25 PM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

Look if you work in an industry where the underlying infrastructure is affected somewhat by lighting strikes say telecommunications and broadcasting towers then yes. Lighting storm really brings the cold sweat

But walking to buy grocery in downtown KL with all the tall attractive buildings making juicy targets, nah you're pretty safe

This post has been edited by 9m2w: May 1 2023, 08:25 PM
Chanwsan
post May 1 2023, 08:25 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

Why would lightning strike a random nobody in KL, a place with countless tall objects?
SUSMuchafaka
post May 1 2023, 08:26 PM

Damn ts weak hearted ... Waste the daddy cum inside mummy
JohnL77
post May 1 2023, 08:27 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(Muchafaka @ May 1 2023, 08:26 PM)
Mummy should have took it up the....
loon90
post May 1 2023, 08:27 PM

172 posts

Lightning strikes means the city is very active
cassian948
post May 1 2023, 08:28 PM

931 posts

lightning only strikes idiots people who do idiot things.

if you do what common people does, youre unlikely to be strike by a lightning.
TiramisuCoffee
post May 1 2023, 08:29 PM

1,256 posts

go play golf at open field la… safest place during time like tis… 🤫
feekle
post May 1 2023, 08:29 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

Unless you are wearing pure copper clothing with 50m high air terminal dangling on your head, lightning have no interest with u
loserguy
post May 1 2023, 08:30 PM

500 posts

Nightstalker93
post May 1 2023, 08:30 PM

74 posts

The hell, so lame for what? first time i see someone scared to go on with their daily lives because of lighting doh.gif

All Malaysians chill only going about their lives
TiramisuCoffee
post May 1 2023, 08:31 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ May 1 2023, 08:30 PM)
trump enter White house?
TiramisuCoffee
post May 1 2023, 08:32 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker93 @ May 1 2023, 08:30 PM)
The hell, so lame for what? first time i see someone scared to go on with their daily lives because of lighting doh.gif

All Malaysians chill only going about their lives
V even go swimming… flex.gif
samjet
post May 1 2023, 08:32 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ May 1 2023, 08:19 PM)
Lightning will strike the rod instead of people?
loserguy
post May 1 2023, 08:33 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(TiramisuCoffee @ May 1 2023, 08:31 PM)
trump enter White house?

Zemeckis stopped at mayor lol
Capt. Marble
post May 1 2023, 08:34 PM

221 posts

You might turn into The Flash.
JohnL77
post May 1 2023, 08:35 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(samjet @ May 1 2023, 08:32 PM)
Lightning will strike the rod instead of people?
More likely to strike the rod instead of people. In a city full of buildings with lightning rods...
diffyhelman2
post May 1 2023, 08:39 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ May 1 2023, 08:35 PM)
More likely to strike the rod instead of people. In a city full of buildings with lightning rods...
Stobeli. I swim in thunderstorm all the time owai.
JohnL77
post May 1 2023, 08:41 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ May 1 2023, 08:39 PM)
Stobeli. I swim in thunderstorm all the time owai.
TiramisuCoffee
post May 1 2023, 08:41 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ May 1 2023, 08:33 PM)

Zemeckis stopped at mayor lol
D world is a STage, v r merely players? Actors bestest players… US got so many actor presidents
kitzai
post May 1 2023, 08:42 PM

172 posts

One of my bil friend just died from lightning strike while playing football a few weeks back
tik
post May 1 2023, 08:43 PM

59 posts

This post has been edited by tik: May 1 2023, 08:47 PM
JohnL77
post May 1 2023, 08:45 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(kitzai @ May 1 2023, 08:42 PM)
One of my bil friend just died from lightning strike while playing football a few weeks back
Where? In the middle of KL city?

JohnL77
post May 1 2023, 08:46 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(tik @ May 1 2023, 08:43 PM)
All strike the buildings.

SUSbananajoe
post May 1 2023, 08:47 PM

PhotoPhag
661 posts

Dont be so kiasi la
DDG_Ross
post May 1 2023, 08:48 PM

27 posts

in kl falling trees from storm is more dangerous as they are news about it
never heard ppl got killed by lightning in kl
g5sim
post May 1 2023, 08:49 PM

5,756 posts

"Asia

The chances of you hitting jackpot is lesser getting hit by lightning just to add. Now pls balik kampung n work from home only. Advice is FOC

Deltacron
post May 1 2023, 08:52 PM

use common sense if you have any

it helps a lot
diffyhelman2
post May 1 2023, 08:53 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ May 1 2023, 08:45 PM)
Where? In the middle of KL city?
Football field and open space field are dangerous areas
Imp Bron
post May 1 2023, 08:56 PM

143 posts

Yeah I'm driving for the past hour
I think today one of strongest lighting storm I seen in 20+ years
Bendot
post May 1 2023, 08:56 PM

46 posts

You can just move out of kl. Nobody will.miss you
rcracer
post May 1 2023, 09:07 PM

?????
3,772 posts

Especially when lightning fak a tree up nicely
kamfoo
post May 1 2023, 09:09 PM

847 posts

Its just lightning
Mr.Robert
post May 1 2023, 09:26 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(Muchafaka @ May 1 2023, 08:26 PM)

This post has been edited by Mr.Robert: May 1 2023, 09:27 PM
Chisinlouz
post May 1 2023, 09:34 PM

849 posts

Strike fake alim pipu. What to do.
cempedaklife
post May 1 2023, 09:59 PM

Master Decoy
4,361 posts

The fark kl lightning every few seconds now. Lights out want sleep baru realized.
ruffy_z
post May 1 2023, 10:16 PM

17 posts

"Asia

Wow just knew about this too. Singapore wins then
lawliet88
post May 1 2023, 10:16 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(chromatino_hex @ May 1 2023, 08:19 PM)
sohei, even if u dun trust gov, trust the public
if ppl see lightning strike hit a branch oso they insta social media it
kiddokitt
post May 1 2023, 10:27 PM

606 posts

TS only moved to KL not long ago, but we KL-ites have stayed here whole life. We know our lightning better than you, TS. Be brave and do venture out in the rain, thunderstorms or not.
FusionXY
post May 1 2023, 10:28 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

I kena once but managed to survive.
Oltromen Ripot
post May 1 2023, 10:31 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

Crossed Penang Bridge 1 just now. Within short timespan of being between midspan and island, roughly 20 lightning seen (both immediately visible and "reflection" on cloud).
iGamer
post May 1 2023, 10:33 PM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

Sin city, that’s why more frequent lightning strikes…owai
netmatrix
post May 1 2023, 10:37 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

Lightning can also fix nitrogen. The high temperature of a lightning bolt can break the bonds of atmospheric nitrogen molecules. Free nitrogen atoms in the air bond with oxygen in the air to create nitrogen oxides, which dissolve in moisture to form nitrates that are carried to Earth's surface by precipitation.

You would not believe me if I told you the last 2 weeks constant lightning made the rain water nitrogen rich that my plants are super green and healthy. Suggest people store some of these nitrogen rich water to water their indoor plants.
Optizorb
post May 1 2023, 10:37 PM

1,261 posts

QUOTE(tik @ May 1 2023, 08:43 PM)

Confirm there is at least 1 The Flash born out of this.

Owai
knumskul
post May 1 2023, 10:42 PM

784 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ May 1 2023, 08:23 PM)
Lightning rods on buildings diverts the lightning away from people la.
TS is godzilla. Taller than the 2734673 buildings in KL.
tik
post May 2 2023, 01:43 AM

59 posts

Knnbuccb
post May 2 2023, 02:36 AM

118 posts

Hold an umbrella with metal tip high high

0.0232sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled